Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

PariaMan

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby PariaMan » September 23rd, 2024, 7:31 am

So I borrow 20000 which I did not get but paying interest on while they investing that 20000 and getting more returns?

Postby hover11 » September 23rd, 2024, 7:35 am

PariaMan wrote:So I borrow 20000 which I did not get but paying interest on while they investing that 20000 and getting more returns?
By the time you pay off the loan, when you finally have access to it the value of that 20k is not the same as it is now due to inflation. Sounds like a scam to me.

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2024, 7:42 am

well just borrow more if you really needed 60k
borrow 80 or 100k and they would then have you get 60k in hand

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 23rd, 2024, 7:53 am

What about paying interest on money I did not get to use

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2024, 8:01 am

that’s what you call the cost of doing business

PariaMan wrote:What about paying interest on money I did not get to use

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 23rd, 2024, 9:06 am

Well as I said I went to TTMF got the full amount in my account and roughly the same monthly payment

So I guess we can say the cost of doing bad business lol

Postby Dizzy28 » September 23rd, 2024, 9:23 am

I put in a request for US$ for a trip next month.
In August I was able to have received £300 which was almost 400USD.

Capture.PNG

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 23rd, 2024, 9:26 am

For a while now FCB giving the 240 per adult limit for USD.
Can't remember how much euro they limited me to last year, but it was higher than the USD amount

Postby hover11 » September 23rd, 2024, 9:39 am

How long will this black market for US thrive or is it that this will be the new norm?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 23rd, 2024, 10:10 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:For a while now FCB giving the 240 per adult limit for USD.
Can't remember how much euro they limited me to last year, but it was higher than the USD amount

They have my main bank account but b/c my CC is with them I usually never ask them for US$ as I always viewed that they paying for a lot of my travel anyhows.

However since the market is tightening I say lemme start taking from them too. Scotia hasn't even responded to my request for US$ and I messaged them first. Normally they let me know within one day to come in.

Postby zoom rader » September 23rd, 2024, 1:29 pm

All dis and PNM still in power.

Keep complaining but vote PNM

Never seen a bunch of dumb cunnies before

Postby hover11 » September 23rd, 2024, 1:36 pm

zoom rader wrote:All dis and PNM still in power.

Keep complaining but vote PNM

Never seen a bunch of dumb cunnies before
They like it so imagine men willing to accept the excuse for artificial shortage of US meanwhile Syrian owned companies have no shortage, getting first preference but will continue to vote PNM. Some hold Rowley have over them.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 23rd, 2024, 3:10 pm

They have my main bank account but b/c my CC is with them I usually never ask them for US$ as I always viewed that they paying for a lot of my travel anyhows.

However since the market is tightening I say lemme start taking from them too. Scotia hasn't even responded to my request for US$ and I messaged them first. Normally they let me know within one day to come in.

Wait so you just using your travel as an excuse to gather us cash?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 23rd, 2024, 3:37 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

I'm using my travel to gather US$ for my travel.
Whether I spend it or not on that travel is immaterial.

Postby hover11 » September 23rd, 2024, 3:40 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

Dizz ,

Question,

How come other Caribbean countries such as those low-end ones on the economic scale, don't have this forex issue?

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2024, 3:50 pm

it’s a good question
when jamaica was in real hard times in 90s
many things were openly traded in us dollars
basically a parallel currency
even now ppl sell real estate in us dollars very commonly, many jamaicans abroad bring back their usd

here for some reason ppl don’t trust the govt and prefer to hoard and ship out their usd

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 23rd, 2024, 3:59 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

And that's why the bank doesn't want to give people cash, you could take that money and sell it Chinese at a higher rate and deposit that same cash into your bank account

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 23rd, 2024, 4:01 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Went to FCB to borrow money to build an apartment below my house they said ok, they will lend me 60 to build, but they will keep 20 in a fixed deposit

I said, "How will I finish the apartment and rent it out to pay back the loan if you keep 20?"

That, to me, is predatory behavior.

I ended up getting a home equity loan from TTMF with the full amount in my account and roughly the same installment

They tried that with me also during the "more the merrier" promotion two years ago. Wanted 80k borrow for renovations, they said no problem, all my docs in order, to tell me i am "approved" but you can only get 68k cash, 2k or so would go to fees and they keep 10k in an account to "build up my savings" :?

Why you didn't go credit union?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 23rd, 2024, 4:06 pm

Had a good relationship with them was not expecting that dutty behavior

Postby Dizzy28 » September 23rd, 2024, 4:08 pm

hover11 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Dizz ,

Question,

How come other Caribbean countries such as those low-end ones on the economic scale, don't have this forex issue?

What makes you think other islands don't have foreign exchange issues?
Barbados is charging a 2% "tax" to curb thier Forex demand

Capture.JPG

Postby hover11 » September 23rd, 2024, 4:37 pm

hover11 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Dizz ,

Question,

What makes you think other islands don't have foreign exchange issues?
Barbados is charging a 2% "tax" to curb thier Forex demand

Capture.JPG
Are they imposing the same restrictions similar to us where you can't get more than 300 USD from a bank on a given day, as someone who doesn't have a link.

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » September 23rd, 2024, 5:03 pm

And what you may not know is that the average bajan debit card can be used for online purchases. So I find that that 2% tax isn’t bad given just that advantage. I have a cibc card so I know.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 23rd, 2024, 5:58 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

How many times can you use your travel documents to get us currency?
Also if you get euro can't you exchange it overseas for us currency

Postby paid_influencer » September 23rd, 2024, 6:18 pm

them islands have a way more rational currency system than we. most have put their currency above the govt reach. no prime minister could individually do chit like printing money by giving loan off the central bank. no prime minister could say aye look election coming up lewwe adjust the rate. they cyar even say AS OF MIDNIGHT TONIGHT and change the money system dramatically. when you really look at it we trying to play a "real" country but doing banana republic chit all the time and like it so

Postby hover11 » September 23rd, 2024, 6:21 pm

paid_influencer wrote:them islands have a way more rational currency system than we. most have put their currency above the govt reach. no prime minister could individually do chit like printing money by giving loan off the central bank. no prime minister could say aye look election coming up lewwe adjust the rate. they cyar even say AS OF MIDNIGHT TONIGHT and change the money system dramatically. when you really look at it we trying to play a "real" country but doing banana republic chit all the time and like it so
Is that why no other country will even touch the tt dollar?

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2024, 6:36 pm

so ppl willing to ask this question whilst short man home smiling at ppl who dont want to riot or do anything........

hover11 wrote:How long will this black market for US thrive or is it that this will be the new norm?

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2024, 6:37 pm

when yuh think back about this stunt them clowns pull off on the population
we is really a bunch of stupid silent sheep as zoom say

paid_influencer wrote:them islands have a way more rational currency system than we. most have put their currency above the govt reach. no prime minister could individually do chit like printing money by giving loan off the central bank. no prime minister could say aye look election coming up lewwe adjust the rate. they cyar even say AS OF MIDNIGHT TONIGHT and change the money system dramatically. when you really look at it we trying to play a "real" country but doing banana republic chit all the time and like it so

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 23rd, 2024, 6:37 pm

hover11 wrote:

How useless is the TT Dollar outside of Trinidad and Tobago?

Postby hover11 » September 23rd, 2024, 6:40 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Completely, TTD only valuable in Trinidad and Tobago

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » September 23rd, 2024, 6:55 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Worthless, even Travelex won't buy it.