Trinidad’s Economic Future

centricgtr

Trinidad’s Economic Future

Postby centricgtr » September 21st, 2024, 12:04 am

Hey Tuners,

I just want to get your guys outlook on whats next for the Trinidad economy. Is there hope?….How do we go about turning things around?….Are our hydrocarbon reserves depleted …..How do we fix the current forex problems?

Without playing a political blame game….would love to hear yall thoughts.

Cantmis

Re: Trinidad’s Economic Future

Postby Cantmis » September 21st, 2024, 3:28 am

Wait until 2027

death365

Postby death365 » September 21st, 2024, 3:37 am

There is only 1 way T&T swings back up... and it's a rise in oil and gas prices.

Always have always will be!

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2024, 5:20 am

death365 wrote:There is only 1 way T&T swings back up... and it's a rise in oil and gas prices.

The only way that's happening is if a war breaks out

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 21st, 2024, 7:19 am

Many people in Trinidad do not understand that the defacto government, the 1 percenters led by imbert, does not, in fact, want the population to have easy access to foreign exchange. This forces people to do all their shopping locally and enrich the local elite.

What do you think was the purpose of the online tax?

Why do you think there was a reduction in the age of foreign used vehicles that could be brought into the country ?

As long as PNM is in power and being controlled by the 1 percenters, we will never see an improvement in the foreign exchange situation
Last edited by PariaMan on September 21st, 2024, 7:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby alfa » September 21st, 2024, 7:28 am

death365 wrote:There is only 1 way T&T swings back up... and it's a rise in oil and gas prices.

Aren't oil prices already pretty high?

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2024, 7:34 am

alfa wrote:

Aren't oil prices already pretty high?
No sir, 60-72 dollars is not high for oil. High oil prices are 100 plus per barrel constantly over a prolonged period of time.Like the oil boom days

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 21st, 2024, 7:41 am

Think carefully who are complaining about the foreign exchange situation?

Who continues to bring any amount of goods without restrictions?

Who actually owns financial institutions?

Who, despite 9 years of failure, continues in his position as an untouchable?

How come oil reached 10 a barrel and we did not have this problem but now it's 80 a barrel ?

Think carefully, my friend. The problem is not what you think it is.

Postby zoom rader » September 21st, 2024, 7:56 am

PariaMan wrote:Many people in Trinidad do not understand that the defacto government, the 1 percenters led by imbert, does not, in fact, want the population to have easy access to foreign exchange. This forces people to do all their shopping locally and enrich the local elite.

What do you think was the purpose of the online tax?

Why do you think their was a reduction in the age of foreign used vehicles that could be brought into the country ?

As long as PNM is in power and being controlled by the 1 percenters, we will never see an improvement in the foreign exchange situation

Tuners are finally understanding

Postby zoom rader » September 21st, 2024, 7:57 am

PariaMan wrote:Think carefully who are complaining about the foreign exchange situation?

How come oil reached 10 a barrel and we did not have this problem but now it's 80 a barrel ?

Black Trinidadians dont think, they more concerned of a handout & hussle

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 21st, 2024, 12:01 pm

PariaMan wrote:Think carefully who are complaining about the foreign exchange situation?

9 years of failure for who?
Someone people living real good for the last 9 years under this PNM government.

Postby MaxPower » September 21st, 2024, 12:13 pm

AlphaMan wrote:

9 years of failure for who?
Someone people living real good for the last 9 years under this PNM government.

X3000

And not even some….many.

Broke and taking bull from all angles but living dey best life. Even the unemployed having a time.

Take a good look at T&T.

No starvation
No one dropping like flies from “hard times”
No protesting
No rioting
No vehicles shutting down for fuel

Happy ass Trinis.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » September 21st, 2024, 1:39 pm

Things have to be REAL bad for Trinidad's heavy crude to hit 100 USD a barrel. It's not light or sweet. Trinidad missed the boat on transitioning the economy by a mile. We could have been a Fintech/startup/crypto hub a long time ago with the cheap electricity but no one really looked at attracting any of that or getting it started so I'm not sure Trinidad will ever get back to the glory days. Eventually the real estate bubble is going to pop as well and that will be real hard times.

Postby pugboy » September 21st, 2024, 1:59 pm

many persons still have not transitioned their mindset to a society of little middle class

most of us grow up amongst folks and peers of similar economic pocket or it really didn’t matter
but the stark reality is it happening before our eyes

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2024, 2:20 pm

Middle class members of society don't benefit from anything in this country. Poor and underprivileged receive government handouts and make shift work like URP and Cepep while the elites receive contracts and taxpayers money for rental properties. Middle class too well off to apply for government incentives and not rich so their salaries can't keep up with inflation.

Postby paid_influencer » September 21st, 2024, 3:58 pm

The country has no economic plan. We ent going anywhere but down.

The country did at one time have an economic plan. Under Manning in the 1990's, the government made a decision we would be a small, open economy. The TT dollar itself became a floating currency, but the population has literally forgotten that. The Rowley government actually campaigns on not allowing a floating currency to do what the floating currency was made to do.

In 2017 or 2018 or thereabouts, anybody observant could have checked the papers and see the movement of the currency. It was at 6.25 at the start, then every couple weeks it would move up by a few cents. There were no headlines, no media coverage, no talk show or radio show debates. It was a slow, predictable, managed float of a floating currency. I watched it, and say yes. The steam release valves installed under Manning are working as the policy intended.

Then it hit 6.92, and it stopped. Somebody stopped it. These forkers made a decision not to allow the floating currency policy to do what it was designed to do. That decision was not made by some reformulation of economic vision. It was made for short-term political expediency. Manning would be turning in his grave to see the economic policy he fought so hard for get molested by his successors.

If they had just let that forking thing cross 7, today much of the pressure would be removed. Any price jumps would already have been priced in with a slow, predictable movement to minimise inflation and maximise export competitiveness.

But now the exchange rate is stuck at a level where all the pressure is backed up. The Rowley made band-aids using defacto capital controls and transaction limits. The Rowley govt even made an entire parallel distribution mechanism by molesting the EXIM bank. And the chit still going to collapse and force an extremely painful correction once the election weed smoke clears. Brace allyuh bamcee for that

Postby Dizzy28 » September 21st, 2024, 4:38 pm

paid_influencer wrote:The country has no economic plan. We ent going anywhere but down.

The country did at one time have an economic plan. Under Manning in the 1990's, the government made a decision we would be a small, open economy. The TT dollar itself became a floating currency, but the population has literally forgotten that. The Rowley government actually campaigns on not allowing a floating currency to do what the floating currency was made to do.

In 2017 or 2018 or thereabouts, anybody observant could have checked the papers and see the movement of the currency. It was at 6.25 at the start, then every couple weeks it would move up by a few cents. There were no headlines, no media coverage, no talk show or radio show debates. It was a slow, predictable, managed float of a floating currency. I watched it, and say yes. The steam release valves installed under Manning are working as the policy intended.

Then it hit 6.92, and it stopped. Somebody stopped it. These forkers made a decision not to allow the floating currency policy to do what it was designed to do. That decision was not made by some reformulation of economic vision. It was made for short-term political expediency. Manning would be turning in his grave to see the economic policy he fought so hard for get molested by his successors.

If they had just let that forking thing cross 7, today much of the pressure would be removed. Any price jumps would already have been priced in with a slow, predictable movement to minimise inflation and maximise export competitiveness.

But now the exchange rate is stuck at a level where all the pressure is backed up. The Rowley made band-aids using defacto capital controls and transaction limits. The Rowley govt even made an entire parallel distribution mechanism by molesting the EXIM bank. And the chit still going to collapse and force an extremely painful correction once the election weed smoke clears. Brace allyuh bamcee for that
Literally none of the rates you cited there ever happened.
Screenshot_20240921-163722.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » September 21st, 2024, 5:31 pm

do it week by week bro. not annual average

the movement from 6.25 to the 6.8 did not happen overnight. it shifted week by week gradually. they could and should have let it continue to move slowly instead of not floating a floating currency at all from 2017 to present

Postby adnj » September 21st, 2024, 6:37 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
In 2017 or 2018 or thereabouts, anybody observant could have checked the papers and see the movement of the currency. It was at 6.25 at the start.

Then it hit 6.92, and it stopped. Somebody stopped it.

Literally none of the rates you cited there ever happened.

paid_influencer wrote:do it week by week bro. not annual average

the movement from 6.25 to the 6.8 did not happen overnight. it shifted week by week gradually. they could and should have let it continue to move slowly instead of not floating a floating currency at all from 2017 to present

Postby paid_influencer » September 21st, 2024, 6:53 pm

what a bunch of forking idiots to focus on a couple of cents

you win, forking idiots. i cannot compete with your level of anal retentiveness

i would offer you a cookie but you might insist on shoving it up your

Postby adnj » September 21st, 2024, 7:11 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
In 2017 or 2018 or thereabouts, anybody observant could have checked the papers and see the movement of the currency. It was at 6.25 at the start.

Then it hit 6.92, and it stopped.

paid_influencer wrote:what a bunch of forking idiots to focus on a couple of cents

you win, forking idiots. i cannot compete with your level of anal retentiveness

i would offer you a cookie but you might insist on shoving it up your

The actual weekly exchange rates. The weekly exchange rate ranges were posted prior. Enjoy.

Postby paid_influencer » September 21st, 2024, 7:16 pm

still a little off bro

ideally your graphs should be focused on the subject of interest

in this case the movement from the low around 2015 to the stall point around 2017.

adjust the x-axis scale to illustrate that movement in detail (i.e, the segment from 2018 to 2024 is completely unnecessary).

next adjust the y-axis to show the change relative to scale. Your current graph is zoomed in too much to make the change from 6.3 to 6.8 look way more dramatic than what it actually is

it was a ~7% devaluation over almost 2 years.
most of the population did not even notice happened

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 21st, 2024, 7:29 pm

Don't those charts show the value at the end of each week? Is it possible that it could have gone 6.92 at one point during as day but it closed lower?

Postby adnj » September 21st, 2024, 7:32 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Don't those charts show the value at the end of each week? Is it possible that it could have gone 6.92 at one point during as day but it closed lower?

Weekly exchange rates. The bar marks the high and low with weekly close.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 21st, 2024, 7:35 pm

adnj wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:Don't those charts show the value at the end of each week? Is it possible that it could have gone 6.92 at one point during as day but it closed lower?

Weekly exchange rates.

But that would only tell you the rate at the close, where do you find every price at every time of every day?

Postby st7 » September 21st, 2024, 8:09 pm

paid_influencer wrote:still a little off bro

ideally your graphs should be focused on the subject of interest

in this case the movement from the low around 2015 to the stall point around 2017.

adjust the x-axis scale to illustrate that movement in detail (i.e, the segment from 2018 to 2024 is completely unnecessary).

next adjust the y-axis to show the change relative to scale. Your current graph is zoomed in too much to make the change from 6.3 to 6.8 look way more dramatic than what it actually is

it was a ~7% devaluation over almost 2 years.
most of the population did not even notice happened

present it for us instead of being proven wrong each time you talk and beat up like PEA.

stop the pantyman behaviour

Postby pugboy » September 21st, 2024, 8:13 pm

those exchange rates charts are as good as erla crime stats….
better chart would be the black market street rates
you can trawl the fb usd group to get an idea

Postby adnj » September 21st, 2024, 8:14 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Weekly exchange rates.

But that would only tell you the rate at the close, where do you find every price at every time of every day?

That chart contains all of that. It is an OHLC chart by week. Open. High. Low. Close.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 21st, 2024, 8:37 pm

adnj wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Weekly exchange rates.

That chart contains all of that. It is an OHLC chart by week. Open. High. Low. Close.

Or ok, good

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » September 21st, 2024, 10:48 pm

In Latin American countries with currency controls, they have sites that give the actual street value of the dollar. We need some sort of data aggregator like that for the TTD.