The only way that's happening is if a war breaks outdeath365 wrote:There is only 1 way T&T swings back up... and it's a rise in oil and gas prices.
Always have always will be!
death365 wrote:There is only 1 way T&T swings back up... and it's a rise in oil and gas prices.
No sir, 60-72 dollars is not high for oil. High oil prices are 100 plus per barrel constantly over a prolonged period of time.Like the oil boom daysalfa wrote:death365 wrote:There is only 1 way T&T swings back up... and it's a rise in oil and gas prices.
Aren't oil prices already pretty high?
X2PariaMan wrote:Many people in Trinidad do not understand that the defacto government, the 1 percenters led by imbert, does not, in fact, want the population to have easy access to foreign exchange. This forces people to do all their shopping locally and enrich the local elite.
What do you think was the purpose of the online tax?
Why do you think their was a reduction in the age of foreign used vehicles that could be brought into the country ?
As long as PNM is in power and being controlled by the 1 percenters, we will never see an improvement in the foreign exchange situation
Black Trinidadians dont think, they more concerned of a handout & husslePariaMan wrote:Think carefully who are complaining about the foreign exchange situation?
Who continues to bring any amount of goods without restrictions?
Who actually owns financial institutions?
Who, despite 9 years of failure, continues in his position as an untouchable?
How come oil reached 10 a barrel and we did not have this problem but now it's 80 a barrel ?
Think carefully, my friend. The problem is not what you think it is.
PariaMan wrote:Think carefully who are complaining about the foreign exchange situation?
How come oil reached 10 a barrel and we did not have this problem but now it's 80 a barrel ?
AlphaMan wrote:PariaMan wrote:Think carefully who are complaining about the foreign exchange situation?
9 years of failure for who?
Someone people living real good for the last 9 years under this PNM government.
Literally none of the rates you cited there ever happened.paid_influencer wrote:The country has no economic plan. We ent going anywhere but down.
The country did at one time have an economic plan. Under Manning in the 1990's, the government made a decision we would be a small, open economy. The TT dollar itself became a floating currency, but the population has literally forgotten that. The Rowley government actually campaigns on not allowing a floating currency to do what the floating currency was made to do.
In 2017 or 2018 or thereabouts, anybody observant could have checked the papers and see the movement of the currency. It was at 6.25 at the start, then every couple weeks it would move up by a few cents. There were no headlines, no media coverage, no talk show or radio show debates. It was a slow, predictable, managed float of a floating currency. I watched it, and say yes. The steam release valves installed under Manning are working as the policy intended.
Then it hit 6.92, and it stopped. Somebody stopped it. These forkers made a decision not to allow the floating currency policy to do what it was designed to do. That decision was not made by some reformulation of economic vision. It was made for short-term political expediency. Manning would be turning in his grave to see the economic policy he fought so hard for get molested by his successors.
If they had just let that forking thing cross 7, today much of the pressure would be removed. Any price jumps would already have been priced in with a slow, predictable movement to minimise inflation and maximise export competitiveness.
But now the exchange rate is stuck at a level where all the pressure is backed up. The Rowley made band-aids using defacto capital controls and transaction limits. The Rowley govt even made an entire parallel distribution mechanism by molesting the EXIM bank. And the chit still going to collapse and force an extremely painful correction once the election weed smoke clears. Brace allyuh bamcee for that
Dizzy28 wrote:Literally none of the rates you cited there ever happened.paid_influencer wrote:
In 2017 or 2018 or thereabouts, anybody observant could have checked the papers and see the movement of the currency. It was at 6.25 at the start.
Then it hit 6.92, and it stopped. Somebody stopped it.
paid_influencer wrote:do it week by week bro. not annual average
the movement from 6.25 to the 6.8 did not happen overnight. it shifted week by week gradually. they could and should have let it continue to move slowly instead of not floating a floating currency at all from 2017 to present
paid_influencer wrote:
In 2017 or 2018 or thereabouts, anybody observant could have checked the papers and see the movement of the currency. It was at 6.25 at the start.
Then it hit 6.92, and it stopped.
paid_influencer wrote:what a bunch of forking idiots to focus on a couple of cents
you win, forking idiots. i cannot compete with your level of anal retentiveness
i would offer you a cookie but you might insist on shoving it up your
Mmoney607 wrote:Don't those charts show the value at the end of each week? Is it possible that it could have gone 6.92 at one point during as day but it closed lower?
adnj wrote:Mmoney607 wrote:Don't those charts show the value at the end of each week? Is it possible that it could have gone 6.92 at one point during as day but it closed lower?
Weekly exchange rates.
paid_influencer wrote:still a little off bro
ideally your graphs should be focused on the subject of interest
in this case the movement from the low around 2015 to the stall point around 2017.
adjust the x-axis scale to illustrate that movement in detail (i.e, the segment from 2018 to 2024 is completely unnecessary).
next adjust the y-axis to show the change relative to scale. Your current graph is zoomed in too much to make the change from 6.3 to 6.8 look way more dramatic than what it actually is
it was a ~7% devaluation over almost 2 years.
most of the population did not even notice happened
Mmoney607 wrote:adnj wrote:Mmoney607 wrote:Don't those charts show the value at the end of each week? Is it possible that it could have gone 6.92 at one point during as day but it closed lower?
Weekly exchange rates.
But that would only tell you the rate at the close, where do you find every price at every time of every day?
adnj wrote:Mmoney607 wrote:adnj wrote:Mmoney607 wrote:Don't those charts show the value at the end of each week? Is it possible that it could have gone 6.92 at one point during as day but it closed lower?
Weekly exchange rates.
But that would only tell you the rate at the close, where do you find every price at every time of every day?
That chart contains all of that. It is an OHLC chart by week. Open. High. Low. Close.