Re: Dengue Fever Outbreak - death in South Trinidad

Postby redmanjp » July 13th, 2024, 5:43 pm

paid_influencer wrote:more of my inlaws get dengue

sick bad

SoE declare in my house even if govt doh care

your yard clean and free of stagnant water?

Postby Chimera » July 13th, 2024, 7:26 pm

I went psmart to buy them mosquito zapper lights but all sold out

Postby pugboy » July 13th, 2024, 9:22 pm

them ting doh work
mosquitoes are only attracted to the body heat and co2 emissions from skin and mouth

Chimera wrote:I went psmart to buy them mosquito zapper lights but all sold out

Postby Chimera » July 14th, 2024, 9:59 am

I use to have one that use to real work
Use to take off all the lights and have that alone and hundreds of mosquito dead every night

KWW

Re: Dengue fever death in South Trinidad

Postby KWW » July 14th, 2024, 3:40 pm

Chimera wrote:a time i had dengue about 10+ years ago

Same time period I catch it, was told there was nothing they can do for you in hospital unless it progresses to the severe hemorrhagic form.

Chikungunya was far worse than dengue, those muscle aches lasted for a month+ lol

KWW

Re: Dengue fever death in South Trinidad

Postby KWW » July 14th, 2024, 3:43 pm

redmanjp wrote:i had it as a teenager- is it true that if u had it already it would be worse the 2nd time?

There are 4 variants of dengue, and you are immune to a specific variant if you have had it before. Not sure how many variants are present in TT though.

Postby paid_influencer » July 14th, 2024, 6:58 pm

pugboy wrote:them ting doh work
mosquitoes are only attracted to the body heat and co2 emissions from skin and mouth

Chimera wrote:I went psmart to buy them mosquito zapper lights but all sold out

they does like warm slippers under the bed too

take orf slippers and swing the zapper racket PAX PAX PAX

Postby pugboy » July 14th, 2024, 7:05 pm

they like to hangout in shadows

Postby redmanjp » July 17th, 2024, 1:32 pm

303 cases. and that's only counting public labs not private ones

https://guardian.co.tt/news/303-confirmed-dengue-cases-says-deyalsingh-6.2.2053651.1908f92bb1

Postby Chimera » July 17th, 2024, 1:39 pm

lol it could easily be 10x and 20x that

most people going to ride it out or just drink pawpaw leaf rather than go suffer in hospital or spend $$ behind private testing in this timing

Postby redmanjp » July 17th, 2024, 1:49 pm

with all d rain that falling today ppl better make sure water not collecting in their yard somewhere and making things worse.

Postby gastly369 » July 17th, 2024, 6:27 pm

Few famz and friends have dengue atm

Postby nervewrecker » July 17th, 2024, 7:12 pm

gastly369 wrote:Few famz and friends have dengue atm
While they inside these snails wreaking havoc outside.

Postby redmanjp » July 17th, 2024, 7:32 pm

gastly369 wrote:Few famz and friends have dengue atm

a coworker sick with fever and diarrhea -not sure if dengue causes that.

Postby paid_influencer » July 17th, 2024, 7:36 pm

in-laws say they fed up with everybody being sick

Postby sMASH » July 17th, 2024, 9:36 pm

Deyalsingh say, once two or more cases are close enough , they will fog the area.
He said a distance but I csnt recall accurately ..

So, all allyuh suppsed to be getting fogged..

Postby pugboy » July 17th, 2024, 9:56 pm

it used to be any case results in surrounding premises being fogged

assassin

Postby assassin » July 17th, 2024, 10:17 pm

I cannot remember when last I saw fogging being done in my area

It used to be a periodic thing, in the absence of dengue outbreaks

Postby redmanjp » July 18th, 2024, 12:57 am

Re: Dengue Fever Outbreak - 3 deaths

Postby pugboy » July 18th, 2024, 5:35 am

fogging is not a long term solution
it only kills whatever mosquitoes present

but why is it not being done if we have a serious outbreak?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 18th, 2024, 6:16 am

pugboy wrote:fogging is not a long term solution
it only kills whatever mosquitoes present

but why is it not being done if we have a serious outbreak?

Terence say it does destroy the environment

Regional corps saying lack of resources... I spoke to a guy from insect vector... Man said they only spraying where have confirmed cases because $ low to get malathion...

On the other hand, it's been a while since I saw people drinking that young paw paw leaf... That sheit be nasty

Postby pugboy » July 18th, 2024, 7:56 am

so do nothing
okaaaayy

Postby sMASH » July 18th, 2024, 8:04 am

Regular exercise, fresh breeze and sunlight are good to boost the immune system to fight off viruses , but they kept people indoors for a virus with a trumped up excuse.

They say spraying more harmful , but lacking resources ...

Spin for spinning sake

Postby Les Bain » July 18th, 2024, 9:33 am

pugboy wrote:so do nothing
okaaaayy

Not saying to do nothing, but your best efforts are weakened if your neighbors stink yard matches their personality. I have one does just put things in their yard as an alternative to putting it in the garbage. The plastic receptacles eventually dry rot and fall apart, but there's other things that can house insects and vermin. They even had a foot tall anthill growing in the backyard and left it there. They does ignore me since i asked them to move a garbage bag they left in their yard that burst and was encouraging big cockroach.

I dunno if things were different when whoever ministry reps used to pass around, put crystals in suspect bodies of water and sign your house card, but I last saw one of those in the mid 2000s when I worked in POS environs.

Postby Chimera » July 18th, 2024, 12:54 pm

Les Bain wrote:
okaaaayy

Not saying to do nothing, but your best efforts are weakened if your neighbors stink yard matches their personality. I have one does just put things in their yard as an alternative to putting it in the garbage. The plastic receptacles eventually dry rot and fall apart, but there's other things that can house insects and vermin. They even had a foot tall anthill growing in the backyard and left it there. They does ignore me since i asked them to move a garbage bag they left in their yard that burst and was encouraging big cockroach.

I dunno if things were different when whoever ministry reps used to pass around, put crystals in suspect bodies of water and sign your house card, but I last saw one of those in the mid 2000s when I worked in POS environs.

ent you could call corporation for those kind of situations?

Postby pugboy » July 18th, 2024, 12:57 pm

pos corp workers are jokers
they don’t examine anything
all they do is stand by road and ask if you have rats or mosquitos then say somebody will come and check back

Postby Chimera » July 18th, 2024, 1:04 pm

i not saying to do this....but it will work with minimum headache

make a rubber/self inking stamp for a $200

put whatever corporation it is for your area on the stamp

print a letter and mail it to your neighbour, stamp the envelope and the letter

with progressive warnings about their yard threatening fines if they dont clean up

Postby Dizzy28 » July 18th, 2024, 1:20 pm

Chimera wrote:
Les Bain wrote:
okaaaayy

I live on the same road as the regional corporation for my area and they either don't take you on or bother to come when you report an issue (could be any thing from broken pavement to clogged drains).

Good luck getting them to come inspect your neighbour yard.

Postby Les Bain » July 18th, 2024, 1:26 pm

Chimera wrote:
Les Bain wrote:
okaaaayy

Here's the thing: I did. That was long before COVID and I took the time off from work for them to come and they never did.

I have a theory why the neighbor ignoring me is because the corporation eventually showed up when the neighbour was home and I was not. So like I said, your best efforts is weakened by your nasty neighbours.

Postby alfa » July 18th, 2024, 1:35 pm

I called cooperation on a neighbor with an apartment block whose tenants had the bin overflowing with bottles and loose garbage for years. They did call me many months after but by then I got someone to call the landlord pretending to be from the cooperation and threatening to shut down the apartments if he doesn't clean said bin which he promptly did.
Sometimes unorthodox solutions are required