Is Property Development a Lucrative Investment

centricgtr

Is Property Development a Lucrative Investment

Postby centricgtr » June 11th, 2024, 10:46 pm

Hey All,

I recently inherited a 5 acre parcel of residential land in central. I am seriously looking at developing it. However i have no idea where to start. I see home solutions, dg homes, dreamon etc etc making an absolute killing.

1)Is property development as lucrative as it seems?

2)Is it as easy as it seems?

3) Should I just reach out to one of the bigger developers to partner?

Any help, Im grateful.

Re: Is Property Development a Lucrative Investment

Postby The_Honourable » June 12th, 2024, 1:17 am

In short:

1. Very lucrative but pitfalls are numerous, wait time from statutory agencies varies and rachifee with contractors is galore.

2. Not easy. It would be "easier" if you already have capital for land development.

3. Not necessarily. Most will dig out your eye once they realize you are inexperienced.

Now the long part, these are the most important things:

1. Is the deed/title for the 5-acre parcel fully under your name? If yes, 1/2 of your problem is over. You might think I am exaggerating but you would not believe how much properties out there have defective and encumbered titles.

2. Apply for a status letter from Town & Country. They will tell you if the parcel is bonafide, have any approvals, and the purpose (agricultural or residential). Sometimes, the neighborhood is physically residential, but T&C have it on their records as agricultural.

Read more here: https://www.developtt.gov.tt/ttacps_app ... elines.pdf

3. When you receive your status letter, I suggest you visit Town & Country on "Public Days" which is usually a Wednesday where you can ask questions to Officers, Planners, etc. Your main question is if the status of your lands can be changed. As in, if the letter states your parcel is Agricultural, you can ask if it can be changed to Residential. Or if your status is Residential, change to Commerical or mixed use (residential and commercial). You will also know if Outline Approval would be given and to what type of development.

4. If you know for certain that the parcel is residential or can be changed to residential, you then go to a licensed surveyor. The parcel would be surveyed and a plan drawn up to show subdivisions according to T&C policy. It's then submitted to T&C for outline approval. Since you already spoke to T&C and know what you would receive approval for, you have less chance of your request being refused. Make sure and get a surveyor who actually goes into T&C and have discussions. Those that don't usually send in plans instead and "hope" it gets outline approval while charging you money. If it's refused, T&C is blamed, money gone and yuh wasting time. Since you take in front by going T&C first and gaining knowledge of your parcel, you will know if the surveyor knows what he/she is doing.

5. Once you get Outline Approvals, it's usually details conditions such as the development of roads, drainage, utilities, reserves, fire hydrant, etc. That's when you get a contractor involved. Some surveyors can help you put out a tender. There are some good small-medium sized contractors out there, but most are trouble.

6. After you are finished, inspections will be done by Regional Corporation and County Ministry of Health (CMOH) where upon approval your plans are stamped. It is then sent back to T&C where you have final approval with a signature from the Director of Surveys.

If your lands were already T&C approved before you inherited it, well done to the previous owner. All you have to do is retrieve the T&C plan to verify if it has full approvals. If yes, congratulations. If no, just reapply for outline approval and continue the process.

Since the parcel or subdivided parcels of your 5 acre is now fully approved, you are in control as fully approved lands are in HIGH demand. You can sell all your parcels making bank, sell some and use the funds to build for example townhouses making more bank in sales or rentals, or use one or more of the parcels as collateral from the bank to build on your other parcels where the proceeds from future unit sales or rents pays off the loan/mortgage.

Of course, when you are building you have to go through the T&C process again for the structure (house, building, development, etc). Once you get a completion certificate from regional corporation for your structure, you set.

If you find this intimidating, you can get an experienced consultant or consultancy company who will do "everything". It will cost you but if they know what they are doing, they are an asset for your property to be a success and a trusted partner in any other properties you decided to invest in.

Postby 88sins » June 12th, 2024, 6:00 am

Is it lucrative? Yes. But how much money you can make will depend on the type of development project you have in mind.
Subdivision and sale is a way to go for quick cash, but you make the least generally speaking.
Development of houses on lots you can make much more than if you were to simply subdivide and sell, but is costly and time consuming with more than a few headaches.
For the most return on your investment, development of housing units for rent is what makes the most money in the long term. If done correctly and planned properly, you can make a couple hundred thousand annually. By housing units I mean apartments, not single homes.

The problem most people face is capital to get these projects started. As an option, you can subdivide a section, and mortgage it for the capital. Or mortgage the whole thing.
Avoid local developers like the plague unless you in the mood to get shafted

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 12th, 2024, 7:59 am

Yes but it's a full time job, make sure you budget properly

Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2024, 8:43 am

you need to know the ropes or you will be robbed blind by contractors, workmen and frustrated by the various bureaucratic systems

Postby alfa » June 12th, 2024, 10:04 am

Nothing said here sounding encouraging at all lol. Another option would be to just sell the whole thing to a developer

Postby j.o.e » June 12th, 2024, 10:40 am

Very lucrative but you really need to have experience in the construction business to jump through all the hoops and smart man schemes. Also very capital intensive.
Most people are frustrated by building one house so imagine developing an entire area.

Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2024, 11:06 am

it’s plenty ropes to figure out
not that it is impossible

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 12th, 2024, 12:36 pm

The first name you called is successful because of having connections in the right place!

Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2024, 1:10 pm

them come here from vene and literally hit the ground running, big project after big project
all them local corps must be so glad for the greasing

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The first name you called is successful because of having connections in the right place!

Postby Chimera » June 12th, 2024, 6:55 pm

Good luck.
Hadda have real cash to develop that and if you don't have the links to get things passed you gonna get screwed and blocked by other developers.

Certain zones you have to go through other developers to get your stuff passed.

Otherwise you might spend a set of money and be waiting 10 years for approvals

Postby The_Honourable » June 12th, 2024, 7:07 pm

Chimera wrote:Good luck.
Hadda have real cash to develop that and if you don't have the links to get things passed you gonna get screwed and blocked by other developers.

Can you explain how developers block others and zones? I'm guessing they conspiring with persons in TCPD and Municipal Corporations?

Later this decade I might end up being a developer so learning atm.

Postby Chimera » June 12th, 2024, 7:21 pm

When yuh jump in the mix you will see. Make sure you get proper advice before you sink millions into it

Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2024, 7:39 pm

i know somebody who bought a lil piece of land and wanted to put up a tire shop by moka
a 1% with starry pharmacy made sure he would not get commercial approvals
as his big development next door

The_Honourable wrote:
Chimera wrote:Good luck.

Can you explain how developers block others and zones? I'm guessing they conspiring with persons in TCPD and Municipal Corporations?

Later this decade I might end up being a developer so learning atm.

Postby Chimera » June 12th, 2024, 7:49 pm

Take in how bamboo creek villas never get approvals years after their project finish. And that's the Ramhit family who arms long and pockets deep.

Postby The_Honourable » June 12th, 2024, 8:48 pm

Chimera wrote:When yuh jump in the mix you will see. Make sure you get proper advice before you sink millions into it

Jump eeen? dawg i like to prepare so when trouble comes I know how to move.

Of course when I reach that level i'll get sound advice. I'm on the lower level working up and i see BS already.

Chimera wrote:Take in how bamboo creek villas never get approvals years after their project finish. And that's the Ramhit family who arms long and pockets deep.

This one?

https://www.housing.gov.tt/public-priva ... s-cunupia/

Postby Chimera » June 12th, 2024, 8:59 pm

I didn't even know that was one of the hdc partnership programs.

Interesting

Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2024, 9:21 pm

op need to decide what level of development he want to do
split up into lots and just develop infrastructure
or build his own structures eg apt tall building/townhouses/warehouses to sell over like d&d auto
or piecemeal low budget apts for venes and some of the tuners here

Postby Chimera » June 13th, 2024, 6:49 am

Get advice from about 5 different contractors or advisers if u jumping in

Cuz men will guarantee you they can do this and that to get your money and when the time come for favors to be called in....they can't call it in and leave you high and dry after they make off with your payment

Postby Dave » June 13th, 2024, 7:02 am

Also to consider is the "safety payments" depending on where you are building.

Postby pugboy » June 13th, 2024, 7:40 am

and signed contracts reviewed by a civil engineer and or quantity surveyed
assuming op reach so far

Chimera wrote:Get advice from about 5 different contractors or advisers if u jumping in

Cuz men will guarantee you they can do this and that to get your money and when the time come for favors to be called in....they can't call it in and leave you high and dry after they make off with your payment

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 13th, 2024, 8:15 am

Op, take it from me.... Unless your pockets extra deep and you have connections in

T&c
Regional corps
Wasa
Ttec
Mowt

Sell that land as is and call it a day. If you have everything listed above, then by all means. If you do end up developing to an extent, flooding is your major concern in Central (which means your drainage etc has to be on point) not diverting the govt river to your benefit eh!

Postby pugboy » June 13th, 2024, 8:51 am

agreed, try and sell to a developer and cut a deal to get a unit at discounted price later on

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Op, take it from me.... Unless your pockets extra deep and you have connections in

T&c
Regional corps
Wasa
Ttec
Mowt

Sell that land as is and call it a day. If you have everything listed above, then by all means. If you do end up developing to an extent, flooding is your major concern in Central (which means your drainage etc has to be on point) not diverting the govt river to your benefit eh!

Postby Chimera » June 13th, 2024, 11:41 am

yup

when people see u start a development they will come to look for the boss to talk to him to get work for their "people" or to get a monthly payment for the rest of their lives to keep your development safe

refuse and die

not even joking

Postby mero » June 13th, 2024, 11:44 am

Unless you linking with a big dawg or hiring Jamat or something for security

Postby Chimera » June 13th, 2024, 11:51 am

it wud have people saying they could help you and arrange thing for you and then they doing false paperwork and taking your big $$$ and then u get screwed years down the line too eh

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/fraud-s ... c8aaa96aa6

Postby Chimera » June 13th, 2024, 11:54 am

mero wrote:Unless you linking with a big dawg or hiring Jamat or something for security

it have so much different factions of the jamat now

who really in charge since bakr dead?

u cud be paying one and a next one come to insist you pay him instead

daz pressure

Postby 88sins » June 13th, 2024, 8:56 pm

OP, hear the real flick.
1st thing you want to do, is get your ducks in a row regarding the land. Sort out your subdivisions, soil testing, lot approvals, etc, from t&c, your regional corporation, wasa, etc. After all that sorted out, you will know what you doing from there.
A word of advice.
Absolutely zero problem with starting small, and there's real benefits in using so-called "cookie cutter" development projects and developing the site one house/complex/unit at a time. It will take longer, yes, but it will be less stressful, and in some aspects easier.

centricgtr

Postby centricgtr » June 14th, 2024, 11:45 pm

The_Honourable wrote:In short:

1. Very lucrative but pitfalls are numerous, wait time from statutory agencies varies and rachifee with contractors is galore.

2. Not easy. It would be "easier" if you already have capital for land development.

3. Not necessarily. Most will dig out your eye once they realize you are inexperienced.

1. Is the deed/title for the 5-acre parcel fully under your name? If yes, 1/2 of your problem is over. You might think I am exaggerating but you would not believe how much properties out there have defective and encumbered titles.

2. Apply for a status letter from Town & Country. They will tell you if the parcel is bonafide, have any approvals, and the purpose (agricultural or residential). Sometimes, the neighborhood is physically residential, but T&C have it on their records as agricultural.

3. When you receive your status letter, I suggest you visit Town & Country on "Public Days" which is usually a Wednesday where you can ask questions to Officers, Planners, etc. Your main question is if the status of your lands can be changed. As in, if the letter states your parcel is Agricultural, you can ask if it can be changed to Residential. Or if your status is Residential, change to Commerical or mixed use (residential and commercial). You will also know if Outline Approval would be given and to what type of development.

4. If you know for certain that the parcel is residential or can be changed to residential, you then go to a licensed surveyor. The parcel would be surveyed and a plan drawn up to show subdivisions according to T&C policy. It's then submitted to T&C for outline approval. Since you already spoke to T&C and know what you would receive approval for, you have less chance of your request being refused. Make sure and get a surveyor who actually goes into T&C and have discussions. Those that don't usually send in plans instead and "hope" it gets outline approval while charging you money. If it's refused, T&C is blamed, money gone and yuh wasting time. Since you take in front by going T&C first and gaining knowledge of your parcel, you will know if the surveyor knows what he/she is doing.

5. Once you get Outline Approvals, it's usually details conditions such as the development of roads, drainage, utilities, reserves, fire hydrant, etc. That's when you get a contractor involved. Some surveyors can help you put out a tender. There are some good small-medium sized contractors out there, but most are trouble.

6. After you are finished, inspections will be done by Regional Corporation and County Ministry of Health (CMOH) where upon approval your plans are stamped. It is then sent back to T&C where you have final approval with a signature from the Director of Surveys.

If your lands were already T&C approved before you inherited it, well done to the previous owner. All you have to do is retrieve the T&C plan to verify if it has full approvals. If yes, congratulations. If no, just reapply for outline approval and continue the process.

Since the parcel or subdivided parcels of your 5 acre is now fully approved, you are in control as fully approved lands are in HIGH demand. You can sell all your parcels making bank, sell some and use the funds to build for example townhouses making more bank in sales or rentals, or use one or more of the parcels as collateral from the bank to build on your other parcels where the proceeds from future unit sales or rents pays off the loan/mortgage.

Of course, when you are building you have to go through the T&C process again for the structure (house, building, development, etc). Once you get a completion certificate from regional corporation for your structure, you set.

If you find this intimidating, you can get an experienced consultant or consultancy company who will do "everything". It will cost you but if they know what they are doing, they are an asset for your property to be a success and a trusted partner in any other properties you decided to invest in.

Well boy, thank you very much. I dont think I can handle all that, I certainly cant afford to either. Developers usually finance through banks or otherwise?

I noticed these past year or so home solutions and even Dreamon building like they have unlimited funds. How,? considering they are generally new to the game.

wing

Postby wing » June 15th, 2024, 12:50 am

centricgtr wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:In short:

Well boy, thank you very much. I dont think I can handle all that, I certainly cant afford to either. Developers usually finance through banks or otherwise?

I noticed these past year or so home solutions and even Dreamon building like they have unlimited funds. How,? considering they are generally new to the game.
I can say for certain that dream on has been developing for many years. He just doesn't flaunt, if you know, you know.