shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The first name you called is successful because of having connections in the right place!
Chimera wrote:Good luck.
Hadda have real cash to develop that and if you don't have the links to get things passed you gonna get screwed and blocked by other developers.
Certain zones you have to go through other developers to get your stuff passed.
Otherwise you might spend a set of money and be waiting 10 years for approvals
The_Honourable wrote:Chimera wrote:Good luck.
Hadda have real cash to develop that and if you don't have the links to get things passed you gonna get screwed and blocked by other developers.
Certain zones you have to go through other developers to get your stuff passed.
Otherwise you might spend a set of money and be waiting 10 years for approvals
Can you explain how developers block others and zones? I'm guessing they conspiring with persons in TCPD and Municipal Corporations?
Later this decade I might end up being a developer so learning atm.
Chimera wrote:When yuh jump in the mix you will see. Make sure you get proper advice before you sink millions into it
Chimera wrote:Take in how bamboo creek villas never get approvals years after their project finish. And that's the Ramhit family who arms long and pockets deep.
Chimera wrote:Get advice from about 5 different contractors or advisers if u jumping in
Cuz men will guarantee you they can do this and that to get your money and when the time come for favors to be called in....they can't call it in and leave you high and dry after they make off with your payment
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Op, take it from me.... Unless your pockets extra deep and you have connections in
T&c
Regional corps
Wasa
Ttec
Mowt
Sell that land as is and call it a day. If you have everything listed above, then by all means. If you do end up developing to an extent, flooding is your major concern in Central (which means your drainage etc has to be on point) not diverting the govt river to your benefit eh!
mero wrote:Unless you linking with a big dawg or hiring Jamat or something for security
The_Honourable wrote:In short:
1. Very lucrative but pitfalls are numerous, wait time from statutory agencies varies and rachifee with contractors is galore.
2. Not easy. It would be "easier" if you already have capital for land development.
3. Not necessarily. Most will dig out your eye once they realize you are inexperienced.
Now the long part, these are the most important things:
1. Is the deed/title for the 5-acre parcel fully under your name? If yes, 1/2 of your problem is over. You might think I am exaggerating but you would not believe how much properties out there have defective and encumbered titles.
2. Apply for a status letter from Town & Country. They will tell you if the parcel is bonafide, have any approvals, and the purpose (agricultural or residential). Sometimes, the neighborhood is physically residential, but T&C have it on their records as agricultural.
Read more here: https://www.developtt.gov.tt/ttacps_app ... elines.pdf
3. When you receive your status letter, I suggest you visit Town & Country on "Public Days" which is usually a Wednesday where you can ask questions to Officers, Planners, etc. Your main question is if the status of your lands can be changed. As in, if the letter states your parcel is Agricultural, you can ask if it can be changed to Residential. Or if your status is Residential, change to Commerical or mixed use (residential and commercial). You will also know if Outline Approval would be given and to what type of development.
4. If you know for certain that the parcel is residential or can be changed to residential, you then go to a licensed surveyor. The parcel would be surveyed and a plan drawn up to show subdivisions according to T&C policy. It's then submitted to T&C for outline approval. Since you already spoke to T&C and know what you would receive approval for, you have less chance of your request being refused. Make sure and get a surveyor who actually goes into T&C and have discussions. Those that don't usually send in plans instead and "hope" it gets outline approval while charging you money. If it's refused, T&C is blamed, money gone and yuh wasting time. Since you take in front by going T&C first and gaining knowledge of your parcel, you will know if the surveyor knows what he/she is doing.
5. Once you get Outline Approvals, it's usually details conditions such as the development of roads, drainage, utilities, reserves, fire hydrant, etc. That's when you get a contractor involved. Some surveyors can help you put out a tender. There are some good small-medium sized contractors out there, but most are trouble.
6. After you are finished, inspections will be done by Regional Corporation and County Ministry of Health (CMOH) where upon approval your plans are stamped. It is then sent back to T&C where you have final approval with a signature from the Director of Surveys.
If your lands were already T&C approved before you inherited it, well done to the previous owner. All you have to do is retrieve the T&C plan to verify if it has full approvals. If yes, congratulations. If no, just reapply for outline approval and continue the process.
Since the parcel or subdivided parcels of your 5 acre is now fully approved, you are in control as fully approved lands are in HIGH demand. You can sell all your parcels making bank, sell some and use the funds to build for example townhouses making more bank in sales or rentals, or use one or more of the parcels as collateral from the bank to build on your other parcels where the proceeds from future unit sales or rents pays off the loan/mortgage.
Of course, when you are building you have to go through the T&C process again for the structure (house, building, development, etc). Once you get a completion certificate from regional corporation for your structure, you set.
If you find this intimidating, you can get an experienced consultant or consultancy company who will do "everything". It will cost you but if they know what they are doing, they are an asset for your property to be a success and a trusted partner in any other properties you decided to invest in.
I can say for certain that dream on has been developing for many years. He just doesn't flaunt, if you know, you know.centricgtr wrote:The_Honourable wrote:In short:
1. Very lucrative but pitfalls are numerous, wait time from statutory agencies varies and rachifee with contractors is galore.
2. Not easy. It would be "easier" if you already have capital for land development.
3. Not necessarily. Most will dig out your eye once they realize you are inexperienced.
Now the long part, these are the most important things:
1. Is the deed/title for the 5-acre parcel fully under your name? If yes, 1/2 of your problem is over. You might think I am exaggerating but you would not believe how much properties out there have defective and encumbered titles.
2. Apply for a status letter from Town & Country. They will tell you if the parcel is bonafide, have any approvals, and the purpose (agricultural or residential). Sometimes, the neighborhood is physically residential, but T&C have it on their records as agricultural.
Read more here: https://www.developtt.gov.tt/ttacps_app ... elines.pdf
3. When you receive your status letter, I suggest you visit Town & Country on "Public Days" which is usually a Wednesday where you can ask questions to Officers, Planners, etc. Your main question is if the status of your lands can be changed. As in, if the letter states your parcel is Agricultural, you can ask if it can be changed to Residential. Or if your status is Residential, change to Commerical or mixed use (residential and commercial). You will also know if Outline Approval would be given and to what type of development.
4. If you know for certain that the parcel is residential or can be changed to residential, you then go to a licensed surveyor. The parcel would be surveyed and a plan drawn up to show subdivisions according to T&C policy. It's then submitted to T&C for outline approval. Since you already spoke to T&C and know what you would receive approval for, you have less chance of your request being refused. Make sure and get a surveyor who actually goes into T&C and have discussions. Those that don't usually send in plans instead and "hope" it gets outline approval while charging you money. If it's refused, T&C is blamed, money gone and yuh wasting time. Since you take in front by going T&C first and gaining knowledge of your parcel, you will know if the surveyor knows what he/she is doing.
5. Once you get Outline Approvals, it's usually details conditions such as the development of roads, drainage, utilities, reserves, fire hydrant, etc. That's when you get a contractor involved. Some surveyors can help you put out a tender. There are some good small-medium sized contractors out there, but most are trouble.
6. After you are finished, inspections will be done by Regional Corporation and County Ministry of Health (CMOH) where upon approval your plans are stamped. It is then sent back to T&C where you have final approval with a signature from the Director of Surveys.
If your lands were already T&C approved before you inherited it, well done to the previous owner. All you have to do is retrieve the T&C plan to verify if it has full approvals. If yes, congratulations. If no, just reapply for outline approval and continue the process.
Since the parcel or subdivided parcels of your 5 acre is now fully approved, you are in control as fully approved lands are in HIGH demand. You can sell all your parcels making bank, sell some and use the funds to build for example townhouses making more bank in sales or rentals, or use one or more of the parcels as collateral from the bank to build on your other parcels where the proceeds from future unit sales or rents pays off the loan/mortgage.
Of course, when you are building you have to go through the T&C process again for the structure (house, building, development, etc). Once you get a completion certificate from regional corporation for your structure, you set.
If you find this intimidating, you can get an experienced consultant or consultancy company who will do "everything". It will cost you but if they know what they are doing, they are an asset for your property to be a success and a trusted partner in any other properties you decided to invest in.
Well boy, thank you very much. I dont think I can handle all that, I certainly cant afford to either. Developers usually finance through banks or otherwise?
I noticed these past year or so home solutions and even Dreamon building like they have unlimited funds. How,? considering they are generally new to the game.