The_Honourable wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:wing wrote:Besides Vasant, there's nobody there with the sort of charisma or name power to attract the UNC and PNM dissatisfied and the undecided. See COP 2007.shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So that's
Dinesh
Parray
Anita
Rodney
Ragbir
The already exiled
Devant
Fuad
Vasant
Ramona
That's new party brewing there
Mooks, ah mean Dooks was a real outlier in terms of supporter growth/engagement.
Patriotic Front might start hiring soon as Mickela Panday intends to contest the generals
COP 2.0shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I was putting mickela to lead the discarded UNC members...pick up some new ones along the way
...she would be ready for 2030
wing wrote:COP 2.0shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I was putting mickela to lead the discarded UNC members...pick up some new ones along the way
...she would be ready for 2030
The_Honourable wrote:Waiting for Mmoonilal to say Rodney Charles is ah pnm agent
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So that's
Dinesh
Parray
Anita
Rodney
Ragbir
The already exiled
Devant
Fuad
Vasant
Ramona
Mmoney607 wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So that's
Dinesh
Parray
Anita
Rodney
Ragbir
The already exiled
Devant
Fuad
Vasant
Ramona
A setta dead horse, them can't even throw a birthday party and get 10 people to show up
Persad-Bissessar charged that the politics of her opponents said "nothing of the fact that since 2000 you have lost (two general) elections in 2001, 2007 and a local election in 2003," which reduced the number of regional corporations the UNC controlled. She told more than 200 supporters at the meeting at Prakash Tyre Shop, along the Aranguez Main Road, her opponents failed to make references to the loss of 100,000 voters who "turned their backs away from the UNC in 2007" and joined another political party–the COP.The_Honourable wrote:Mmoney607 wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So that's
Dinesh
Parray
Anita
Rodney
Ragbir
The already exiled
Devant
Fuad
Vasant
Ramona
A setta dead horse, them can't even throw a birthday party and get 10 people to show up
But Kamla is the biggest dead horse. Haven't won an election since 2010, lost two generals since.
VexXx Dogg wrote:While all this bacchanal going on in the yellow corner, the red corner sipping tea and laughing at the crabs in the house of cards.
It's theirs to lose. I guess the UNC will have another 5 years to figure out the issue of leadership, voter base discontent, and the gritty structure that reeks of dysfunctional internal politics. It's easy to say join and change, (or vote for those with membership), but the system itself is rotten as long as those to propagate these negative behaviours are still there. New blood or voices of dissent will either get thrown out or assimilated and become part of the machine.
I don't know if the PNM is any different, but their dirty laundry somehow stays within the halls of the Balisier house. Perception is a helluva thing.
I respect the hell out of those who are willing to form third parties and get enough technocrats or SMEs to have a plausible manifesto, but viable third parties are nonexistent. They have their own fundamentally flawed foundations if you look closely enough.
You really have to choose between the crook and the mook, assuming you know which is which.
The_Honourable wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:While all this bacchanal going on in the yellow corner, the red corner sipping tea and laughing at the crabs in the house of cards.
It's theirs to lose. I guess the UNC will have another 5 years to figure out the issue of leadership, voter base discontent, and the gritty structure that reeks of dysfunctional internal politics. It's easy to say join and change, (or vote for those with membership), but the system itself is rotten as long as those to propagate these negative behaviours are still there. New blood or voices of dissent will either get thrown out or assimilated and become part of the machine.
I don't know if the PNM is any different, but their dirty laundry somehow stays within the halls of the Balisier house. Perception is a helluva thing.
I respect the hell out of those who are willing to form third parties and get enough technocrats or SMEs to have a plausible manifesto, but viable third parties are nonexistent. They have their own fundamentally flawed foundations if you look closely enough.
You really have to choose between the crook and the mook, assuming you know which is which.
The last time there was discontent within the pnm was when they lost the 2010 general elections. Once Rowley became the "default" political leader, he had to start over from scratch with most Manning faithfuls breathing down his back blaming him for the election loss. Rowley to his credit resurrected the party that led to a general election win in 2015. He silenced a lot of his critics, but many were still not convinced by the 2015 win as they believed that the Partnership was so bad that pnm would have won with anybody else as political leader, plus there was the view that he wasn't prime ministerial material like manning. When he won the 2020 general election, it sealed who is in charge and who party it is.
greggle71 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:While all this bacchanal going on in the yellow corner, the red corner sipping tea and laughing at the crabs in the house of cards.
The last time there was discontent within the pnm was when they lost the 2010 general elections. Once Rowley became the "default" political leader, he had to start over from scratch with most Manning faithfuls breathing down his back blaming him for the election loss. Rowley to his credit resurrected the party that led to a general election win in 2015. He silenced a lot of his critics, but many were still not convinced by the 2015 win as they believed that the Partnership was so bad that pnm would have won with anybody else as political leader, plus there was the view that he wasn't prime ministerial material like manning. When he won the 2020 general election, it sealed who is in charge and who party it is.
Equally as critical was Dr Manning who was still in the Parliament after the 2010 suffering that stroke which stymied any sniff of internal grumbling and unifying the party behind Dr Rowley.
Classic case of the stone the builder refused becoming the corner stone.
Dr Rowley to me is a different kind of leader, I don’t consider him a visionary, he doesn’t inspire, but to me he is very pragmatic and matter of fact and those kind of leaders will never be revered while in office but he does come across more trustworthy and honest. And maybe 20-30 years from now history will look more kindly of the types of policy decisions made today similarly to how the Robinson administration seems more respected for the tough decisions that were needed in the late 80s
The question is what leadership is required today, leaders like Dr Rowley tend to wear on the population over time and he and PNM remain buoyed by a poor and uninspiring opposition. The Irony of all this is that Keith Rowley is more reflective of us than we think, low tolerance, highly irritated, quick to anger and a touch of humor and sarcasm in the mix
Why u keep beating upwing wrote:Persad-Bissessar charged that the politics of her opponents said "nothing of the fact that since 2000 you have lost (two general) elections in 2001, 2007 and a local election in 2003," which reduced the number of regional corporations the UNC controlled. She told more than 200 supporters at the meeting at Prakash Tyre Shop, along the Aranguez Main Road, her opponents failed to make references to the loss of 100,000 voters who "turned their backs away from the UNC in 2007" and joined another political party–the COP.The_Honourable wrote:Mmoney607 wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So that's
Dinesh
Parray
Anita
Rodney
Ragbir
The already exiled
Devant
Fuad
Vasant
Ramona
But Kamla is the biggest dead horse. Haven't won an election since 2010, lost two generals since.
She also pointed out that no reference was being made to the declining number of seats the UNC held in the House of Representatives, which has been dropping since 2000, from 20 to 15. "While my opponents spend their time in developing strategies to demonise and denigrate me, I want to use my time to develop strategies and programmes, and take action to positively affect the hopelessness I see," Persad-Bissessar said.
In her own words.
I must beat up. I living in Tabaquite constituency, so my vote not going to change the fact that UNC will win my constituency. However the opposition is not attractive to the voters who will decide the election.zoom rader wrote:Why u keep beating upwing wrote:Persad-Bissessar charged that the politics of her opponents said "nothing of the fact that since 2000 you have lost (two general) elections in 2001, 2007 and a local election in 2003," which reduced the number of regional corporations the UNC controlled. She told more than 200 supporters at the meeting at Prakash Tyre Shop, along the Aranguez Main Road, her opponents failed to make references to the loss of 100,000 voters who "turned their backs away from the UNC in 2007" and joined another political party–the COP.The_Honourable wrote:Mmoney607 wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So that's
Dinesh
Parray
Anita
Rodney
Ragbir
The already exiled
Devant
Fuad
Vasant
Ramona
She also pointed out that no reference was being made to the declining number of seats the UNC held in the House of Representatives, which has been dropping since 2000, from 20 to 15. "While my opponents spend their time in developing strategies to demonise and denigrate me, I want to use my time to develop strategies and programmes, and take action to positively affect the hopelessness I see," Persad-Bissessar said.
In her own words.
Pnm Victory 2025
mero wrote:Max, wuz d letter of the day ?
wing wrote:Why is he complaining when he said that he won the matters? Also why is he denying being a UNC lapdog?
The article indicated that Scotland didn't call any names. As for his activism, I cannot recall if he was active before 2015. Let's see if he will be active in 2025 if UNC wins.The_Honourable wrote:wing wrote:Why is he complaining when he said that he won the matters? Also why is he denying being a UNC lapdog?
He can't defend himself in Parliament, additionally there is the issue of parliamentary privilege so he can't legally challenge Scotland.
Nah Ravi ain't no lapdog. As an activist, more than likely has some business relationship with the UNC to challenge the pnm in the courts. Once he continues to get paid and receive legal support for his activism (Anand), he'll continue being the frontman in legal challenges against the state, ministries and other statutory bodies.
While we all know who is supporting and funding him, he has won most of his cases. It's one of the few successful strategies in the UNC arsenal.
wing wrote:The article indicated that Scotland didn't call any names. As for his activism, I cannot recall if he was active before 2015. Let's see if he will be active in 2025 if UNC wins.The_Honourable wrote:wing wrote:Why is he complaining when he said that he won the matters? Also why is he denying being a UNC lapdog?
He can't defend himself in Parliament, additionally there is the issue of parliamentary privilege so he can't legally challenge Scotland.
Nah Ravi ain't no lapdog. As an activist, more than likely has some business relationship with the UNC to challenge the pnm in the courts. Once he continues to get paid and receive legal support for his activism (Anand), he'll continue being the frontman in legal challenges against the state, ministries and other statutory bodies.
While we all know who is supporting and funding him, he has won most of his cases. It's one of the few successful strategies in the UNC arsenal.
Edit: He went on a counter hunger strike against Kublalsingh in support of the highway. A newspaper article indicated that he openly supported the PP govt.
matr1x wrote:Anyone remember during the PP years how 93.5 I think was broadcasting "spoken word" poetry? All were either anti Indian or anti unc/PP