Rodney
Ragbir

The already exiled
Devant
Fuad
Vasant
Ramona

That's new party brewing there
Besides Vasant, there's nobody there with the sort of charisma or name power to attract the UNC and PNM dissatisfied and the undecided. See COP 2007.

Mooks, ah mean Dooks was a real outlier in terms of supporter growth/engagement.

Patriotic Front might start hiring soon as Mickela Panday intends to contest the generals

I’ll be surprised if she retains her deposit. I wish her luck tho. Woulda be nice if she had taken the yellow mantle but that eh happening

Re: UNC 2.0?!?!?!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 30th, 2024, 6:46 pm

I was putting mickela to lead the discarded UNC members...pick up some new ones along the way
...she would be ready for 2030

wing

Postby wing » April 30th, 2024, 7:46 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I was putting mickela to lead the discarded UNC members...pick up some new ones along the way
COP 2.0

Postby alfa » April 30th, 2024, 7:55 pm

wing wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I was putting mickela to lead the discarded UNC members...pick up some new ones along the way
COP 2.0

Have to try something at least or it go be pnm2035

Postby Habit7 » April 30th, 2024, 8:17 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Waiting for Mmoonilal to say Rodney Charles is ah pnm agent :lol:

He is though. I have seen him at our secret quarterly meetings. In 2019 he made it slip.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 30th, 2024, 10:50 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So that's
Dinesh
Parray
Anita
Rodney
Ragbir

The already exiled
Devant
Fuad
Vasant
Ramona

A setta dead horse, them can't even throw a birthday party and get 10 people to show up

Postby The_Honourable » April 30th, 2024, 10:58 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
Dinesh
Parray
Anita
Rodney
Ragbir

The already exiled
Devant
Fuad
Vasant
Ramona

A setta dead horse, them can't even throw a birthday party and get 10 people to show up

But Kamla is the biggest dead horse. Haven't won an election since 2010, lost two generals since.

wing

Postby wing » May 1st, 2024, 6:20 am

The_Honourable wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
Dinesh
Parray
Anita
Rodney
Ragbir

The already exiled
Devant
Fuad
Vasant
Ramona

But Kamla is the biggest dead horse. Haven't won an election since 2010, lost two generals since.
Persad-Bissessar charged that the politics of her opponents said "nothing of the fact that since 2000 you have lost (two general) elections in 2001, 2007 and a local election in 2003," which reduced the number of regional corporations the UNC controlled. She told more than 200 supporters at the meeting at Prakash Tyre Shop, along the Aranguez Main Road, her opponents failed to make references to the loss of 100,000 voters who "turned their backs away from the UNC in 2007" and joined another political party–the COP.

She also pointed out that no reference was being made to the declining number of seats the UNC held in the House of Representatives, which has been dropping since 2000, from 20 to 15. "While my opponents spend their time in developing strategies to demonise and denigrate me, I want to use my time to develop strategies and programmes, and take action to positively affect the hopelessness I see," Persad-Bissessar said.

In her own words.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 1st, 2024, 9:00 am

While all this bacchanal going on in the yellow corner, the red corner sipping tea and laughing at the crabs in the house of cards.

It's theirs to lose. I guess the UNC will have another 5 years to figure out the issue of leadership, voter base discontent, and the gritty structure that reeks of dysfunctional internal politics. It's easy to say join and change, (or vote for those with membership), but the system itself is rotten as long as those to propagate these negative behaviours are still there. New blood or voices of dissent will either get thrown out or assimilated and become part of the machine.

I don't know if the PNM is any different, but their dirty laundry somehow stays within the halls of the Balisier house. Perception is a helluva thing.

I respect the hell out of those who are willing to form third parties and get enough technocrats or SMEs to have a plausible manifesto, but viable third parties are nonexistent. They have their own fundamentally flawed foundations if you look closely enough.

You really have to choose between the crook and the mook, assuming you know which is which.

Postby maj. tom » May 1st, 2024, 9:20 am

It's all an intentional game of politics. Gives them something to do to make it look like they're doing something to entertain those who want to watch the Young & the Restless hour every lunch time and believe that it's a real effort at anything. The game plan is to secure the Opposition bench and collect salary and perks for themselves. That's it. It's always a completely mediocre effort and fraught with drama. Political entertainment that just existing for picong and feelings. And when elections come and gone yet again is a next 5 years of Opposition MP perks. Fool them good.

Postby The_Honourable » May 1st, 2024, 9:55 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:While all this bacchanal going on in the yellow corner, the red corner sipping tea and laughing at the crabs in the house of cards.

It's theirs to lose. I guess the UNC will have another 5 years to figure out the issue of leadership, voter base discontent, and the gritty structure that reeks of dysfunctional internal politics. It's easy to say join and change, (or vote for those with membership), but the system itself is rotten as long as those to propagate these negative behaviours are still there. New blood or voices of dissent will either get thrown out or assimilated and become part of the machine.

I don't know if the PNM is any different, but their dirty laundry somehow stays within the halls of the Balisier house. Perception is a helluva thing.

I respect the hell out of those who are willing to form third parties and get enough technocrats or SMEs to have a plausible manifesto, but viable third parties are nonexistent. They have their own fundamentally flawed foundations if you look closely enough.

You really have to choose between the crook and the mook, assuming you know which is which.

The last time there was discontent within the pnm was when they lost the 2010 general elections. Once Rowley became the "default" political leader, he had to start over from scratch with most Manning faithfuls breathing down his back blaming him for the election loss. Rowley to his credit resurrected the party that led to a general election win in 2015. He silenced a lot of his critics, but many were still not convinced by the 2015 win as they believed that the Partnership was so bad that pnm would have won with anybody else as political leader, plus there was the view that he wasn't prime ministerial material like manning. When he won the 2020 general election, it sealed who is in charge and who party it is.

wing

Postby wing » May 1st, 2024, 11:14 am

Is this real?
Screenshot_2024-05-01-11-12-54-623_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » May 1st, 2024, 7:39 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:While all this bacchanal going on in the yellow corner, the red corner sipping tea and laughing at the crabs in the house of cards.

The last time there was discontent within the pnm was when they lost the 2010 general elections. Once Rowley became the "default" political leader, he had to start over from scratch with most Manning faithfuls breathing down his back blaming him for the election loss. Rowley to his credit resurrected the party that led to a general election win in 2015. He silenced a lot of his critics, but many were still not convinced by the 2015 win as they believed that the Partnership was so bad that pnm would have won with anybody else as political leader, plus there was the view that he wasn't prime ministerial material like manning. When he won the 2020 general election, it sealed who is in charge and who party it is.

Equally as critical was Dr Manning who was still in the Parliament after the 2010 suffering that stroke which stymied any sniff of internal grumbling and unifying the party behind Dr Rowley.

Classic case of the stone the builder refused becoming the corner stone.

Dr Rowley to me is a different kind of leader, I don’t consider him a visionary, he doesn’t inspire, but to me he is very pragmatic and matter of fact and those kind of leaders will never be revered while in office but he does come across more trustworthy and honest. And maybe 20-30 years from now history will look more kindly of the types of policy decisions made today similarly to how the Robinson administration seems more respected for the tough decisions that were needed in the late 80s

The question is what leadership is required today, leaders like Dr Rowley tend to wear on the population over time and he and PNM remain buoyed by a poor and uninspiring opposition. The Irony of all this is that Keith Rowley is more reflective of us than we think, low tolerance, highly irritated, quick to anger and a touch of humor and sarcasm in the mix

Postby Habit7 » May 2nd, 2024, 9:04 am

greggle71 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Equally as critical was Dr Manning who was still in the Parliament after the 2010 suffering that stroke which stymied any sniff of internal grumbling and unifying the party behind Dr Rowley.

Classic case of the stone the builder refused becoming the corner stone.

Dr Rowley to me is a different kind of leader, I don’t consider him a visionary, he doesn’t inspire, but to me he is very pragmatic and matter of fact and those kind of leaders will never be revered while in office but he does come across more trustworthy and honest. And maybe 20-30 years from now history will look more kindly of the types of policy decisions made today similarly to how the Robinson administration seems more respected for the tough decisions that were needed in the late 80s

The question is what leadership is required today, leaders like Dr Rowley tend to wear on the population over time and he and PNM remain buoyed by a poor and uninspiring opposition. The Irony of all this is that Keith Rowley is more reflective of us than we think, low tolerance, highly irritated, quick to anger and a touch of humor and sarcasm in the mix

QFT

Postby zoom rader » May 2nd, 2024, 8:09 pm

wing wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
Dinesh
Parray
Anita
Rodney
Ragbir

The already exiled
Devant
Fuad
Vasant
Ramona

Persad-Bissessar charged that the politics of her opponents said "nothing of the fact that since 2000 you have lost (two general) elections in 2001, 2007 and a local election in 2003," which reduced the number of regional corporations the UNC controlled. She told more than 200 supporters at the meeting at Prakash Tyre Shop, along the Aranguez Main Road, her opponents failed to make references to the loss of 100,000 voters who "turned their backs away from the UNC in 2007" and joined another political party–the COP.

She also pointed out that no reference was being made to the declining number of seats the UNC held in the House of Representatives, which has been dropping since 2000, from 20 to 15. "While my opponents spend their time in developing strategies to demonise and denigrate me, I want to use my time to develop strategies and programmes, and take action to positively affect the hopelessness I see," Persad-Bissessar said.

In her own words.
Why u keep beating up

Pnm Victory 2025

Postby zoom rader » May 2nd, 2024, 8:17 pm

wing

Postby wing » May 2nd, 2024, 8:32 pm

wing wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
Dinesh
Parray
Anita
Rodney
Ragbir

The already exiled
Devant
Fuad
Vasant
Ramona

In her own words.
Why u keep beating up

Pnm Victory 2025
I must beat up. I living in Tabaquite constituency, so my vote not going to change the fact that UNC will win my constituency. However the opposition is not attractive to the voters who will decide the election.

Postby Habit7 » May 3rd, 2024, 7:53 am

Political analysts tell UNC: No need for election observers
by Akash Samaroo

Following its call for international election observers, the United National Congress is being warned that trying to blame anything but itself for election losses will lead to its political demise.

On Wednesday, following an almost three-hour-long meeting with Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) officials, UNC Deputy Chair, Khadijah Ameen reiterated the party’s call for observers to oversee the next general election.

However political analyst Derek Ramsamooj believes the party’s request is unwarranted.

“We have a time period for an election and whilst there may be challenges during the election period, I believe that there is a level of validity in our electoral system and voting process,” Ramsamooj posited.

He warned, “I think we have to be careful with political rhetoric trying to shape public opinion. Yes, all political parties which have not been successful will be looking to blame the electoral process. But historically Trinidad and Tobago, save and except the time of the voting machines, has had decent electoral processes.”

Ramsamooj said it is time for the UNC to stop looking to blame everyone and everything but itself for its election failures.

“The United National Congress has failed to practice winnable electoral strategies. Their procedure of blaming every other political aspect as opposed to their inability to expand their party, to get more electoral support in seats that are winnable is becoming more and more evident. The UNC must be able to have leadership that can win the general election and this perspective of blaming everybody else, but the leader will continue to lead to its electoral demise,” Ramsamooj argued.

Speaking yesterday he explained that during the last two decades, there have been leadership changes in Trinidad and Tobago, which augurs well for the integrity of the electoral system under the EBC’s management.

This sentiment was supported by another analyst, Dr Shane Mohammed.

Mohammed said the call for international observers is mostly needed in countries and in states where those countries have gone through long periods of political instability and systems of autocracy and authoritarian rule.

He explained, “The key role of elections observers is to detect ballot box tampering, voter suppression and political violence. Using that premise alone, Trinidad and Tobago has not had a level, actually we've never had a scenario of political violence in the modern 21st century. We've had no evidence of ballot box tampering and stuffing of ballot boxes.”

Mohammed said the fact that the UNC and Progressive Democratic Patriots were able to score victories against a sitting government is further proof that there is no voter suppression.

The political analyst advised the UNC to understand the real reason a large segment of the population refuses to vote on election day. He said it has nothing to do with a lack of confidence in the EBC.

“What are the voters of Trinidad and Tobago looking for? Promises, commitments and policies that will protect their rights and freedoms, that are going to empower them and give them opportunities for sustainable development. They are looking for what their livelihood will look like and how much a political party will work towards easing the burden off their pockets. Those are the issues people will be listening for that will help them decide on election day. Because right now what we can safely say is that our population is suffering from voter apathy. Nobody wants to vote for either side of the party,” he posited.

Meanwhile, the Elections and Boundaries Commission told Guardian Media that it has no objection to international observers being invited at election time. 

Responding to questions via email, the EBC said, “Observation missions can, among other things, provide useful advice leading to improvements in electoral processes and changes and improvements in national law and practice.” 

It added that observers aim to determine whether elections are inclusive to all citizens, voters’ preferences are respected, elections are competitive and the use of the right to vote is facilitated in practice. 

The EBC said it has always facilitated such missions in the past and has generally received excellent commentary on its administration and conduct of the polls. 

“As a result, commissioners and EBC’s senior management staff have participated in and have even led such exercises regionally and internationally,” it added. 

The EBC sought to underscore that the decision to invite observers lies with the Government and should the government do so, it will facilitate the process. 

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/politic ... 71e3b45d3c

wing

Postby wing » May 3rd, 2024, 12:51 pm

Ramsamooj and Mohammed are PNM undercover operatives obviously. Obviously they don't realize that PNM agents have caused the UNC to lose every single election except 2010.

wing

Postby wing » May 4th, 2024, 9:41 am

UNC activist complains of criticism in the House

UNC activist Ravi Balgobin Maharaj has complained to Speaker Bridgid Annisette-George about criticisms of him allegedly made by Port of Spain MP Keith Scotland in the House of Representatives on April 26.

The House was debating a private motion on health care delivery filed by Caroni East MP Dr Rishard Seecheran.

In that debate, Scotland said legal challenges by the opposition were a contributory factor to the scenarios alleged in the motion. "In the past three years, no less than nine court matters have been brought by this activist, who is self-proclaimed to be a tool or a medium of the honourable members on the other side.

"This government has had to spend over $14,620,340 on legal fees, having to lawyer up before a court to defend the health system and the health care workers of TT. Couldn't this money be better spent in the health care system, getting needed drugs?"

He said the challenges also placed health care workers under more stress, as they had to endure additional work to depose and gather information for these legal battles.

"For the layperson, there could be nothing more stressful than having to appear in court, particularly to answer ghost allegations. This is what the health care workers, hundreds of them, faced over the past three years by this so-called activist."

Scotland went on to slam the opposition for what he believes is an attempt to use the neonatal deaths at the Port of Spain General Hospital for political mileage.

"I call on the honourable members of the other side: stop politicising these deaths. It is beneath you. Stop spreading misinformation and propaganda. It does not do the families any good. It does not do the healthcare workers any good, and it certainly does not do the country any good."

In his contribution, Scotland did not identify the "activist" by name.

In a signed letter to Annisette-George on May 3, Balgobin Maharaj claimed Scotland had made malicious, false and baseless statements.

He asked Annisette-George for permission to have the Clerk of the House read his written response to Scotland's statements "in the interest of truth, fairness and transparency."

Balgobin Maharaj believed this is necessary because he is not an MP and cannot appear in Parliament to defend himself.

"I am entitled to vindicate my legal rights as a citizen regardless of my political affiliation and the courts are quite capable of adjudicating these cases in a fair and unbiased manner."

Balgobin said he is not a puppet of the opposition and has not initiated any legal matters which have placed stress on health care workers.

He also claimed never to have lost any legal matter concerning issues in the public healthcare system.

Balgobin Maharaj called on Scotland to provide details of any legal matters Scotland raised in his contribution in the House on April 26.

"This malicious, baseless and scurrilous attack will not deter me from pursuing my cases in the public interest. If anything, it has strengthened my resolve to do so."

Should Annisette-George approve Balgobin Maharaj's request, his response could be read by the clerk into the record at a future sitting of the House.

The House last sat on April 26 and has adjourned to a date to be fixed.

Scotland and Annisette-George were unavailable for comment.

wing

Postby wing » May 4th, 2024, 9:43 am

Why is he complaining when he said that he won the matters? Also why is he denying being a UNC lapdog?

Postby MaxPower » May 4th, 2024, 12:32 pm

mero wrote:Max, wuz d letter of the day ?

Same letter everyday on this thread.

L

wing

Postby wing » May 4th, 2024, 1:16 pm

Moonilal: I cast no aspersion on MP in rental matter

United National Congress MP Roodal Moonilal says he cannot remember off-hand the hundreds of landlords which the People’s Partnership (PP) government dealt with in property management and that he cast no aspersions on the elected MP from whom Government is currently renting property.

But Moonilal has stressed that he is concerned about the Finance Ministry’s information on the matter, since he said the Auditor General unearthed the full scope of the rentals.

On Wednesday, Moonilal revealed what he said he honestly believed to be excerpts of the Auditor General’s 2023 report that allegedly included payments of $752,000 to an elected MP (non-minister) for the rental of properties over 2023. It involved reporting of rental only by the National Security with the Finance Ministry stating “nil” for rental by other ministries, he alleged.

However, Moonilal said the Auditor General’s investigations showed that the Agriculture and Finance Ministry also rented buildings from the MP.

Toco MP Roger Monroe (PNM) subsequently said the three buildings had also been rented by the previous PP government and the PNM Government continued to rent the buildings, as the prices were up to Valuation Division standards.

Speaking to Monroe’s response yesterday, Moonilal said, “I can’t remember off hand the hundreds of landlords we dealt with in property management. The issue was never the MP and the renting of his buildings! I cast no aspersion on the MP. The issue is the (Finance) Ministry’s reports on the matter, as it was the Auditor General who unearthed the situation of other payments for rentals apart from for National Security,” he alleged. Moonilal said the Opposition will have more to say ahead on excerpts from the Auditor General’s 2023 report.

Epic backpedaling. Also he admitted to hundreds of rental agreements, how is that possible? Also rental of properties of known PNM insiders? Also reading from the auditor's report which hasn't been tabled in Parliament is a breach of privilege. Then braying about the dissident 5. Hypocrisy and trying to convince educated people that they better than the PNM.

Postby Habit7 » May 4th, 2024, 2:05 pm

When I first heard that claim I said to myself that that is wrong or at least looks wrong.

But if PP could claim that they choose the best rentals regardless of landlord then PNM can say they are doing the same with Munroe. He has earned an eternal political cheat code.

Therefore Moonilal is engaging in obvious backpedal.

Postby The_Honourable » May 4th, 2024, 3:42 pm

wing wrote:Why is he complaining when he said that he won the matters? Also why is he denying being a UNC lapdog?

He can't defend himself in Parliament, additionally there is the issue of parliamentary privilege so he can't legally challenge Scotland.

Nah Ravi ain't no lapdog. As an activist, more than likely has some business relationship with the UNC to challenge the pnm in the courts. Once he continues to get paid and receive legal support for his activism (Anand), he'll continue being the frontman in legal challenges against the state, ministries and other statutory bodies.

While we all know who is supporting and funding him, he has won most of his cases. It's one of the few successful strategies in the UNC arsenal.

wing

Postby wing » May 4th, 2024, 3:54 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
wing wrote:Why is he complaining when he said that he won the matters? Also why is he denying being a UNC lapdog?

He can't defend himself in Parliament, additionally there is the issue of parliamentary privilege so he can't legally challenge Scotland.

Nah Ravi ain't no lapdog. As an activist, more than likely has some business relationship with the UNC to challenge the pnm in the courts. Once he continues to get paid and receive legal support for his activism (Anand), he'll continue being the frontman in legal challenges against the state, ministries and other statutory bodies.

While we all know who is supporting and funding him, he has won most of his cases. It's one of the few successful strategies in the UNC arsenal.
The article indicated that Scotland didn't call any names. As for his activism, I cannot recall if he was active before 2015. Let's see if he will be active in 2025 if UNC wins.

Edit: He went on a counter hunger strike against Kublalsingh in support of the highway. A newspaper article indicated that he openly supported the PP govt.

Postby matr1x » May 4th, 2024, 4:12 pm

Anyone remember during the PP years how 93.5 I think was broadcasting "spoken word" poetry? All were either anti Indian or anti unc/PP

Postby The_Honourable » May 4th, 2024, 4:15 pm

wing wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

The article indicated that Scotland didn't call any names. As for his activism, I cannot recall if he was active before 2015. Let's see if he will be active in 2025 if UNC wins.

Edit: He went on a counter hunger strike against Kublalsingh in support of the highway. A newspaper article indicated that he openly supported the PP govt.

Just because you don't call a name doesn't necessarily mean you are legally safe. Scotland as an attorney knows this hence why he made sure to make his statement in Parliament.

Yes and he was active with the UNC before the highway matter. Is after 2015 when PP lost most began recognizing him for his legal challenges.

He will for sure, more than likely challenging laws and other matters than can politically benefit the UNC.

Postby The_Honourable » May 4th, 2024, 4:18 pm

matr1x wrote:Anyone remember during the PP years how 93.5 I think was broadcasting "spoken word" poetry? All were either anti Indian or anti unc/PP

Never heard of that, you sure is Hott 93/93.5fm? Sounding more like 91.9fm with them ketchin dey royal powder neck pnm

Postby matr1x » May 4th, 2024, 4:52 pm

Could have been 94.7

One of dem new wave channel