Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Re: Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Postby *KRONIK* » October 17th, 2023, 8:46 am

pugboy wrote:wha bout the pepper spray permits?
it have a serial number on the cans?
Well we go need to find out from a permit holder

Postby pugboy » October 17th, 2023, 9:15 am

that and god face

*KRONIK* wrote:
pugboy wrote:wha bout the pepper spray permits?
it have a serial number on the cans?
Well we go need to find out from a permit holder

foreignused

Postby foreignused » November 12th, 2023, 4:36 pm

Tuners, what is your opinion on the Gamo Replay 10 Magnum IGT Gen2? I see Sports & Games has a sale with price down to $6800 now. Is it any good?
Thinking of getting it to practice with until I maybe look to buy a PCP next year (when supposedly places will restock or even get new stuff). It will be my first air rifle and wonder if it will be a good option to learn and get some experience.
Thanks for the input in advance.

Hance Rampersad

Postby Hance Rampersad » April 13th, 2024, 10:37 am

[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240413/ed01deed8112177f531e05134471a113.jpg[/img]

Hance Rampersad

Postby Hance Rampersad » April 13th, 2024, 10:38 am

[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240413/16ae4e9174d2d14d0a2b28d1fd5eabef.jpg[/img]

Postby 88sins » April 13th, 2024, 2:35 pm

foreignused wrote:Tuners, what is your opinion on the Gamo Replay 10 Magnum IGT Gen2? I see Sports & Games has a sale with price down to $6800 now. Is it any good?
Thinking of getting it to practice with until I maybe look to buy a PCP next year (when supposedly places will restock or even get new stuff). It will be my first air rifle and wonder if it will be a good option to learn and get some experience.

If you plan on going pcp, don't waste your time and money on a spring-piston.
They are of 2 entirely different platforms and performance levels.
And when time to sell tat springer to fund your pcp budget, local crackheads will want to pay you as close to nothing for it as possible.

Postby 88sins » April 13th, 2024, 2:36 pm

[quote="Hance Rampersad"][/quote]

Try again please.
Thanks

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2024, 2:55 pm

just advertise it in the hunting groups with pics of dead manicou and say “1400 fps”

foreignused wrote:Tuners, what is your opinion on the Gamo Replay 10 Magnum IGT Gen2? I see Sports & Games has a sale with price down to $6800 now. Is it any good?

And when time to sell tat springer to fund your pcp budget, local crackheads will want to pay you as close to nothing for it as possible.

Postby 88sins » April 13th, 2024, 3:54 pm

da go wuk
but it eh go stop the brokies ringing dong yuh phone and sending msg for bess price :lol:

but as yuh say 1400 fps.
yuh kno them speeds very reachable.
I make them speeds already, with a 16 grain pellet, but it was a 30" barrel, and not with plain air.

WAAAAYY to noisy and too low a shot count for my tastes

Postby alfa » April 13th, 2024, 5:09 pm

As we on the topic, not sure if anyone ever brought it up before but if someone had no choice but to use a 177 air rifle for home defense. And that's most of Trinidad, what will y'all recommend?

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2024, 5:14 pm

a marauder pcp can be shortened to pistol size
an unshrouded pcp will sound a lot louder than a 9mm…

Postby *KRONIK* » April 13th, 2024, 7:35 pm

pugboy wrote:just advertise it in the hunting groups with pics of dead manicou and say “1400 fps”

Hahhhhhaiiiiii

Postby 88sins » April 14th, 2024, 8:11 am

pugboy wrote:a marauder pcp can be shortened to pistol size

Kinda, it can be shortened, but not to pistol size. Besides, by the time you remove that much barrel length it might not produce enough energy to kill anything bigger than a large rat.
IF you have to use a .177 airgun for home defense, a pcp tuned for maximum power and accuracy with the heaviest pellet you can find would be best, but this is not without a few caveats.

Make sure you have the element of surprise and concealment on your side.
Make sure you make the most of your shot with careful shot placement choice.
Shrouded is better (for remaining concealed)
Only shoot them INSIDE the house, not in the yard or on the road, and make 100% sure he's armed before you do.

That last one, is so IF yuh take a brain shot and he dead on the spot, there will be no question that he dead because he is where he not supposed to be, doing what he not supposed to do, while in possession of what he not supposed to possess.

And in case you wondering, yes, a brain shot within 15-20 meters from a power tuned pcp delivering minimum 20-25 fpe at poi will drop a man. Skull bone thin and ain't as difficult to find through as some may believe.

Postby alfa » April 14th, 2024, 8:25 am

pugboy wrote:a marauder pcp can be shortened to pistol size

Kinda, it can be shortened, but not to pistol size. Besides, by the time you remove that much barrel length it might not produce enough energy to kill anything bigger than a large rat.
IF you have to use a .177 airgun for home defense, a pcp tuned for maximum power and accuracy with the heaviest pellet you can find would be best, but this is not without a few caveats.

Make sure you have the element of surprise and concealment on your side.
Make sure you make the most of your shot with careful shot placement choice.
Shrouded is better (for remaining concealed)
Only shoot them INSIDE the house, not in the yard or on the road, and make 100% sure he's armed before you do.

That last one, is so IF yuh take a brain shot and he dead on the spot, there will be no question that he dead because he is where he not supposed to be, doing what he not supposed to do, while in possession of what he not supposed to possess.

And in case you wondering, yes, a brain shot within 15-20 meters from a power tuned pcp delivering minimum 20-25 fpe at poi will drop a man. Skull bone thin and ain't as difficult to find through as some may believe.

Appreciate the info. A friend asked me to recommend an air rifle for home protection as he was a victim of home invasion about a year ago, plus you know the situation with fuls in Trinidad. I myself am at a halt after getting the provisional

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2024, 8:39 am

it’s not easy to manouvre with a long rifle
and trying to aim a 177 you have to hit person in head
not so simple unless you sitting waiting for them

you might be better off firing a few shots to scare them off

Postby 88sins » April 14th, 2024, 3:44 pm

pugboy wrote:it’s not easy to manouvre with a long rifle
and trying to aim a 177 you have to hit person in head
not so simple unless you sitting waiting for them

you might be better off firing a few shots to scare them off

Hence my focus on concealment and the element of surprise. True, you may have to be lying in wait, but that's still better than getting caught with your pants off in yuh bed and a rusty Berreta jammed in yuh chest while you sleep.

Firing off a few may scare a potential new and cowardly bandit away. Especially close to their head. Who knows the outcome of that plays with a seasoned veteran criminal.
At least with the newbie, there's the chance that they may flee. Or they may start the usual running away and shooting behind them bs. By then is duck and cover and hope to God that nobody else that lives there pick up.

Or worse, they start to target you and your house for what they think you have (firearm) and make up dey mind to do as d Jamaican say "kill everybody an done" to get it and whatever else you have that you protecting with it.

It really eh have any kinda win in that type of situation for the homeowner other than the outcome of a dead bandit and everybody knows is a pellet gun kill him and the homeowner was justified in doing so.

Hance Rampersad

Postby Hance Rampersad » April 23rd, 2024, 3:12 pm

I use an LCS SK 19…titanium magazine , 19 shot PCP. Chrony at 950 fps using JSB Exact Diablo pellets which are heavy at 16.25gr . The user regulator power adjustment allows you to utilise more air to get higher or lower fps as needed. I use it mainly for recreation general competition.
LCS SK 19.jpg
Last edited by Hance Rampersad on April 23rd, 2024, 3:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Hance Rampersad

Postby Hance Rampersad » April 23rd, 2024, 3:12 pm

Hance Rampersad wrote:I use an LCS SK 19…titanium magazine , 19 shot PCP. Chrony at 950 fps using JSB Exact Diablo pellets which are heavy at 16.25gr . The user regulator power adjustment allows you to utilise more air to get higher or lower fps as needed. I use it mainly for recreation general competition.[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240423/9238e20a58e4474124b215d56eabd4f2.jpg[/img]

A very accurate air rifle and extremely fun to use

Hance Rampersad

Postby Hance Rampersad » April 23rd, 2024, 3:53 pm

IDPA Air Rifle Training.jpg
IDPA Air Rifle Match.jpg

Hance Rampersad

Postby Hance Rampersad » April 23rd, 2024, 3:56 pm

Tuners with Air Rifles can visit the Range above on one of the Training Days , there is a Shooting Bay assigned to Air Rifle owners who wish to practice for the match ( see other adv.) with Range Officers assigned to control safety and assist as needed. A contribution of 50TTD to use the range is requested . I will be there on the Saturday 04th May ....link up on the forum , let me know who want to come through .....

Postby pugboy » April 23rd, 2024, 4:00 pm

that lcs looking very fx impact’ish

who selling jsb pellets locally?

Postby alfa » April 23rd, 2024, 6:31 pm

You ever tried slugs in that PCP? Supposed to be harder hitting downrange and hollow point as well so more tissue damage if using for hunting/home defense

Hance Rampersad

Postby Hance Rampersad » April 23rd, 2024, 6:33 pm

pugboy wrote:that lcs looking very fx impact’ish

Centrefire

Postby alfa » April 23rd, 2024, 6:33 pm

Centerfire. Not sure if Barry from south has as well, he's the everything of air rifles lol

Hance Rampersad

Postby Hance Rampersad » April 23rd, 2024, 6:36 pm

alfa wrote:You ever tried slugs in that PCP? Supposed to be harder hitting downrange and hollow point as well so more tissue damage if using for hunting/home defense

I have tried slugs , but not recommended to use in the LCS due to the exact configuration of the Walther Lothar barrel. There is a special barrel for slugs that you can buy and screw on

Hance Rampersad

Postby Hance Rampersad » April 23rd, 2024, 6:37 pm

Hance Rampersad wrote:

Centrefire

Postby pugboy » April 23rd, 2024, 7:27 pm

which jsb pellets they have ?
monsters ?

slugs require spin for them to not be wobbling all over the place….unlike a pellet where the dome tail drag stabilizes its flight like a badminton shuttlecock

Postby pugboy » April 23rd, 2024, 7:27 pm

he would like to think so

alfa wrote:
pugboy wrote:that looking very fx impact’ish

Centerfire. Not sure if Barry from south has as well, he's the everything of air rifles lol

Postby alfa » April 23rd, 2024, 7:31 pm

pugboy wrote:which jsb pellets they have ?
monsters ?

slugs require spin for them to not be wobbling all over the place….unlike a pellet where the dome tail drag stabilizes its flight like a badminton shuttlecock

Correct but if a member of 6 or 7 break into you house at night and that's all you have, accuracy at under 50 feet on a man sized target is not so much of an issue. I rather offload slugs in he MC wherever it hits him

Hance Rampersad

Postby Hance Rampersad » April 23rd, 2024, 7:37 pm

pugboy wrote:which jsb pellets they have ?
monsters ?

IMG_9213.JPG