VexXx Dogg wrote:Very very Strict diet and exercise I went from 255-175lb in 2 years. Maintained 175-190 for a couple years more. That was my mid30s.
Got slack during periods of travel and started back drinking a few beers here and there, eating more sugary stuff, diet honestly went to sheit although I was exercising 5-6 days a week. You can’t out train a bad diet.
Then covid hit and my training and diet went to astronomical levels of sheit. Made worse by 2x covid bouts, and a terrible stomach flu that had me flat for 2 weeks.
Hit 230 by the end of last year. Tightened back up diet and training. Down to 218. Really want to get back to 190ish and maintain that. It’s beyond diet at this point, this is lifestyle adjustment. I’m 42
INHUMAN wrote:aye dis ched resurrected. any sarms quickfixers on here?
nah man...he dus sell sh1t in capsules from oddbranded companies. muss have other suppliers out here. pugboy, u livin up to yuh name now or bbi have you lookin like jeff seid?pugboy wrote:check bbi, he have everything you need
and moreINHUMAN wrote:aye dis ched resurrected. any sarms quickfixers on here?
rollingstock wrote:Joshie23 wrote:rollingstock wrote:Going to start back soon. Going for weight loss first. Through intermittent fasting and calorie counting. Lost about 20lbs so far. Down to a 32 inch waist.
Not expecting any major muscle gain at my age.
Good job bro!!...keep it up. 20 lbs is no easy feat!
Technically, you can lose fat and build muscle at the same time (body recomposition), but the absolute best programme is...the one you can follow. Once you're comfortable (relatively, because we know the sacrifices designed to make/keep us healthy, aren't necessarily going to be comfortable/cushy), you'll be more inclined to be consistent.
Not sure of your age, but after 30, T-levels start to drop...but, it's still possible to get yoked, I guess, with proper nutrition, training and sleep.
Mid 40's
And with my job eating properly is hard. And sleep is difficult with the work hours and shift work.
INHUMAN wrote:on a side note. since most of us meatheads are age able folks now, did anyone look into TRT? Any info on insurance coverage, cost and clinics that offer such?
ProtonPowder wrote:You do not need 190-200g of protein daily. An adult 200lb man doing weight training can do just fine on 120g of protein a day and it still will not limit anything. Anyone telling you otherwise is trying to sell you something.
This of course does not apply if you are a competing bodybuilder, which is probably no one here.
Joshie23 wrote:rollingstock wrote:Joshie23 wrote:rollingstock wrote:Going to start back soon. Going for weight loss first. Through intermittent fasting and calorie counting. Lost about 20lbs so far. Down to a 32 inch waist.
Technically, you can lose fat and build muscle at the same time (body recomposition), but the absolute best programme is...the one you can follow. Once you're comfortable (relatively, because we know the sacrifices designed to make/keep us healthy, aren't necessarily going to be comfortable/cushy), you'll be more inclined to be consistent.
Not sure of your age, but after 30, T-levels start to drop...but, it's still possible to get yoked, I guess, with proper nutrition, training and sleep.
Mid 40's
And with my job eating properly is hard. And sleep is difficult with the work hours and shift work.
I can understand the sleep for sure, especially with shifts. For meals though..meal prep is the way to go.
Joshie23 wrote:ProtonPowder wrote:You do not need 190-200g of protein daily. An adult 200lb man doing weight training can do just fine on 120g of protein a day and it still will not limit anything. Anyone telling you otherwise is trying to sell you something.
This of course does not apply if you are a competing bodybuilder, which is probably no one here.
Thanks for the discussion; what's your source though bro? You're quoting about 0.6g/lb of bodyweight. Most of the sources I've read shows that around 0.8 to 1.2g/lb of goal weight (if overweight) in lean muscle mass should be the target. I'm currently about 230 lbs, with about 25% body fat. I'm aiming for a goal weight of 200-210 lbs, with about 15-20% bf, so on the higher side of both, that's about 170g, which could vary upward a little, especially since I'm trying to maintain a caloric deficit to lose the fat, while preserve whatever muscle I have and gain, in a natural state.
Open to discuss.
ProtonPowder wrote:Joshie23 wrote:ProtonPowder wrote:You do not need 190-200g of protein daily. An adult 200lb man doing weight training can do just fine on 120g of protein a day and it still will not limit anything. Anyone telling you otherwise is trying to sell you something.
Thanks for the discussion; what's your source though bro? You're quoting about 0.6g/lb of bodyweight. Most of the sources I've read shows that around 0.8 to 1.2g/lb of goal weight (if overweight) in lean muscle mass should be the target. I'm currently about 230 lbs, with about 25% body fat. I'm aiming for a goal weight of 200-210 lbs, with about 15-20% bf, so on the higher side of both, that's about 170g, which could vary upward a little, especially since I'm trying to maintain a caloric deficit to lose the fat, while preserve whatever muscle I have and gain, in a natural state.
Open to discuss.
Source: Personal observations that alyuh science based men does stay weak and make zero progress forever.
WTFrollingstock wrote:5'7" tall
Present weight
Arms at a measly 15" for now.
Just that bit of belly fat that is being a pain to get rid off.
rollingstock wrote:Joshie23 wrote:rollingstock wrote:Joshie23 wrote:rollingstock wrote:Going to start back soon. Going for weight loss first. Through intermittent fasting and calorie counting. Lost about 20lbs so far. Down to a 32 inch waist.
Mid 40's
I can understand the sleep for sure, especially with shifts. For meals though..meal prep is the way to go.
My sidechick owns a restaurant. She preps my daily meals when I'm working. No flour or rice. Minimal provisions mostly green fig. Lots of steam vegetables. Protein is mostly from fish or chicken breast in some instances. And seeds and nuts for snacks.
Down 22lbs as of today.
Joshie23 wrote:
*Chuckle*
And here I was, thinking I'd find men and sensible discourse in this thread. If yours was the only response, I'd have been disappointed that there are neither; thanks for nothing.
As for us 'science-based men', Peter Drucker said 'if you can't measure it, you can't manage it...', so I measure my macros to manage my weight and muscle gain accordingly.
If your (in)ability to 'measure' and 'manage' has you frustrated, digital tape measures are usually more accurate when accounting for quarter and half inch lengths, so be encouraged!!
rollingstock wrote:5'7" tall
Present weight
IMG_20240330_205617.jpg
ProtonPowder wrote:Joshie23 wrote:
*Chuckle*
And here I was, thinking I'd find men and sensible discourse in this thread. If yours was the only response, I'd have been disappointed that there are neither; thanks for nothing.
As for us 'science-based men', Peter Drucker said 'if you can't measure it, you can't manage it...', so I measure my macros to manage my weight and muscle gain accordingly.
If your (in)ability to 'measure' and 'manage' has you frustrated, digital tape measures are usually more accurate when accounting for quarter and half inch lengths, so be encouraged!!
Don't worry about me, I can track and perform better than you
MG Man wrote:rollingstock wrote:5'7" tall
Present weight
IMG_20240330_205617.jpg
nice
I was as low as 185 in 2019, down from 220
Since covid, I've been stuck around 195, because diet gone to sht. I was on strict meat and veg but since lockdown, I back to eating junk, soft drinks etc. Really been struggling with the sugar cravings. It's worse than when I quit eating junk in 2019
Still pumping 5 days a week plus riding / hiking most sundays, so so part of he extra weight is a bit of muscle mass, but mostly belly
Habit7 wrote:Yeah I was fully subscribed to squatuniversity even before the injury. But I am getting a lot of help now from lowbackability as well.