Re: 2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Postby MaxPower » March 29th, 2024, 12:41 am

Well boi i rel slack off yes.

If u see my condition.

A customer tell me i looking like a fridge.

Hadda get serious.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 29th, 2024, 10:48 am

Very very Strict diet and exercise I went from 255-175lb in 2 years. Maintained 175-190 for a couple years more. That was my mid30s.

Got slack during periods of travel and started back drinking a few beers here and there, eating more sugary stuff, diet honestly went to sheit although I was exercising 5-6 days a week. You can’t out train a bad diet.

Then covid hit and my training and diet went to astronomical levels of sheit. Made worse by 2x covid bouts, and a terrible stomach flu that had me flat for 2 weeks.

Hit 230 by the end of last year. Tightened back up diet and training. Down to 218. Really want to get back to 190ish and maintain that. It’s beyond diet at this point, this is lifestyle adjustment. I’m 42

Postby alfa » March 29th, 2024, 11:41 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Very very Strict diet and exercise I went from 255-175lb in 2 years. Maintained 175-190 for a couple years more. That was my mid30s.

Got slack during periods of travel and started back drinking a few beers here and there, eating more sugary stuff, diet honestly went to sheit although I was exercising 5-6 days a week. You can’t out train a bad diet.

Then covid hit and my training and diet went to astronomical levels of sheit. Made worse by 2x covid bouts, and a terrible stomach flu that had me flat for 2 weeks.

Hit 230 by the end of last year. Tightened back up diet and training. Down to 218. Really want to get back to 190ish and maintain that. It’s beyond diet at this point, this is lifestyle adjustment. I’m 42

Similar story with me just I was never as heavy. Was 190 and in my 30s dieted hard and went to 160. Was looking good and had to get new clothes to fit, but as you said it's more than diet it's a lifestyle change, one that I couldn't quite agree to commit to. I slacked off a bit and went to 170ish and at 42 I'd like to lose a bit more but not if I have to diet the way I did back then. The way I see it is at this age health is as much mental as physical and if bussing up a lil seedrink with pastries makes you feel good then go for it in moderation. I personally don't want to eat cardboard and live to 100.
I do run though and hoping this year too get back to doing the mile and a half in under 12.45 like I could have done a few years ago

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » March 29th, 2024, 3:10 pm

aye dis ched resurrected. any sarms quickfixers on here?

Postby pugboy » March 29th, 2024, 3:21 pm

check bbi, he have everything you need
and more

INHUMAN wrote:aye dis ched resurrected. any sarms quickfixers on here?

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » March 29th, 2024, 3:23 pm

pugboy wrote:check bbi, he have everything you need
and more

INHUMAN wrote:aye dis ched resurrected. any sarms quickfixers on here?
nah man...he dus sell sh1t in capsules from oddbranded companies. muss have other suppliers out here. pugboy, u livin up to yuh name now or bbi have you lookin like jeff seid?

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » March 29th, 2024, 3:27 pm

on a side note. since most of us meatheads are age able folks now, did anyone look into TRT? Any info on insurance coverage, cost and clinics that offer such?

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » March 30th, 2024, 9:26 am

Joshie23 wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Going to start back soon. Going for weight loss first. Through intermittent fasting and calorie counting. Lost about 20lbs so far. Down to a 32 inch waist.

Not expecting any major muscle gain at my age.

Good job bro!!...keep it up. 20 lbs is no easy feat!

Technically, you can lose fat and build muscle at the same time (body recomposition), but the absolute best programme is...the one you can follow. Once you're comfortable (relatively, because we know the sacrifices designed to make/keep us healthy, aren't necessarily going to be comfortable/cushy), you'll be more inclined to be consistent.

Not sure of your age, but after 30, T-levels start to drop...but, it's still possible to get yoked, I guess, with proper nutrition, training and sleep.

Mid 40's
And with my job eating properly is hard. And sleep is difficult with the work hours and shift work.

I can understand the sleep for sure, especially with shifts. For meals though..meal prep is the way to go.

I was asking 2NRs how they meal prep and get their protein in though...because trying to feed a family of 5 while hitting 190-200g protein daily is an expensive endeavour.

INHUMAN wrote:on a side note. since most of us meatheads are age able folks now, did anyone look into TRT? Any info on insurance coverage, cost and clinics that offer such?

What do your levels look like?? I know some say TRT is technically 'natty' so I'm not hitting from that angle, but have you tried to improve diet, sleep quality, etc. before hitting it?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 30th, 2024, 11:27 am

You do not need 190-200g of protein daily. An adult 200lb man doing weight training can do just fine on 120g of protein a day and it still will not limit anything. Anyone telling you otherwise is trying to sell you something.

This of course does not apply if you are a competing bodybuilder, which is probably no one here.

Postby MaxPower » March 30th, 2024, 12:23 pm

Morning Team,

Please remember to hydrate.

Cheers

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » March 30th, 2024, 1:10 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:You do not need 190-200g of protein daily. An adult 200lb man doing weight training can do just fine on 120g of protein a day and it still will not limit anything. Anyone telling you otherwise is trying to sell you something.

This of course does not apply if you are a competing bodybuilder, which is probably no one here.

Thanks for the discussion; what's your source though bro? You're quoting about 0.6g/lb of bodyweight. Most of the sources I've read shows that around 0.8 to 1.2g/lb of goal weight (if overweight) in lean muscle mass should be the target. I'm currently about 230 lbs, with about 25% body fat. I'm aiming for a goal weight of 200-210 lbs, with about 15-20% bf, so on the higher side of both, that's about 170g, which could vary upward a little, especially since I'm trying to maintain a caloric deficit to lose the fat, while preserve whatever muscle I have and gain, in a natural state.

Open to discuss.

Postby rollingstock » March 30th, 2024, 8:44 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Going to start back soon. Going for weight loss first. Through intermittent fasting and calorie counting. Lost about 20lbs so far. Down to a 32 inch waist.

Technically, you can lose fat and build muscle at the same time (body recomposition), but the absolute best programme is...the one you can follow. Once you're comfortable (relatively, because we know the sacrifices designed to make/keep us healthy, aren't necessarily going to be comfortable/cushy), you'll be more inclined to be consistent.

Not sure of your age, but after 30, T-levels start to drop...but, it's still possible to get yoked, I guess, with proper nutrition, training and sleep.

Mid 40's
And with my job eating properly is hard. And sleep is difficult with the work hours and shift work.

I can understand the sleep for sure, especially with shifts. For meals though..meal prep is the way to go.

My sidechick owns a restaurant. She preps my daily meals when I'm working. No flour or rice. Minimal provisions mostly green fig. Lots of steam vegetables. Protein is mostly from fish or chicken breast in some instances. And seeds and nuts for snacks.

Down 22lbs as of today.

Postby rollingstock » March 30th, 2024, 8:57 pm

5'7" tall
Present weight

IMG_20240330_205617.jpg

Arms at a measly 15" for now.

Just that bit of belly fat that is being a pain to get rid off.

Postby MaxPower » March 30th, 2024, 9:54 pm

Toes sexy AF yes.

Postby rollingstock » March 30th, 2024, 10:58 pm

You mean crusty af. Was doing yard work.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 31st, 2024, 12:28 am

Joshie23 wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:You do not need 190-200g of protein daily. An adult 200lb man doing weight training can do just fine on 120g of protein a day and it still will not limit anything. Anyone telling you otherwise is trying to sell you something.

Thanks for the discussion; what's your source though bro? You're quoting about 0.6g/lb of bodyweight. Most of the sources I've read shows that around 0.8 to 1.2g/lb of goal weight (if overweight) in lean muscle mass should be the target. I'm currently about 230 lbs, with about 25% body fat. I'm aiming for a goal weight of 200-210 lbs, with about 15-20% bf, so on the higher side of both, that's about 170g, which could vary upward a little, especially since I'm trying to maintain a caloric deficit to lose the fat, while preserve whatever muscle I have and gain, in a natural state.

Open to discuss.

Source: Personal observations that alyuh science based men does stay weak and make zero progress forever.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » April 1st, 2024, 10:08 am

ProtonPowder wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:

Open to discuss.

Source: Personal observations that alyuh science based men does stay weak and make zero progress forever.

*Chuckle*

And here I was, thinking I'd find men and sensible discourse in this thread. If yours was the only response, I'd have been disappointed that there are neither; thanks for nothing.

As for us 'science-based men', Peter Drucker said 'if you can't measure it, you can't manage it...', so I measure my macros to manage my weight and muscle gain accordingly.

If your (in)ability to 'measure' and 'manage' has you frustrated, digital tape measures are usually more accurate when accounting for quarter and half inch lengths, so be encouraged!! :D

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2024, 10:11 am

rollingstock wrote:5'7" tall
Present weight

IMG_20240330_205617.jpg

WTF

King Kong toes.

But seriously, walking ,walking and more walking.

Kill all sugars, beers, flour or white foods.

Over time belly will shrink

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » April 1st, 2024, 12:39 pm

Joshie23 wrote:

Mid 40's

My sidechick owns a restaurant. She preps my daily meals when I'm working. No flour or rice. Minimal provisions mostly green fig. Lots of steam vegetables. Protein is mostly from fish or chicken breast in some instances. And seeds and nuts for snacks.

Down 22lbs as of today.

You on like socks (saw the post about the toes and just had to :lol: ) keep up the good work...low stress, better sleep and continue with the calorie deficit and you'll hit your goals. Great going man.
e-bonx

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 1st, 2024, 3:06 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
*Chuckle*

And here I was, thinking I'd find men and sensible discourse in this thread. If yours was the only response, I'd have been disappointed that there are neither; thanks for nothing.

As for us 'science-based men', Peter Drucker said 'if you can't measure it, you can't manage it...', so I measure my macros to manage my weight and muscle gain accordingly.

If your (in)ability to 'measure' and 'manage' has you frustrated, digital tape measures are usually more accurate when accounting for quarter and half inch lengths, so be encouraged!! :D

Don't worry about me, I can track and perform better than you :lol:
Screenshot_20240401_150300_FitNotes.jpg
Screenshot_20240401_150318_FitNotes.jpg

Postby MG Man » April 2nd, 2024, 8:46 am

Present weight

IMG_20240330_205617.jpg

nice
I was as low as 185 in 2019, down from 220
Since covid, I've been stuck around 195, because diet gone to sht. I was on strict meat and veg but since lockdown, I back to eating junk, soft drinks etc. Really been struggling with the sugar cravings. It's worse than when I quit eating junk in 2019
Still pumping 5 days a week plus riding / hiking most sundays, so so part of he extra weight is a bit of muscle mass, but mostly belly

Postby Habit7 » April 2nd, 2024, 9:06 am

ProtonPowder wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:
*Chuckle*

Don't worry about me, I can track and perform better than you :lol:

I can relate to the joy of crossing 3 plates on your squat.

Unfortunately I recently herniated my disk and now I am afraid of squats bad bad bad

Postby pugboy » April 2nd, 2024, 9:31 am

how you dealing with the herniated disc?
you getting the sciatica pain?

Postby Habit7 » April 2nd, 2024, 9:43 am

It’s been more than a month later now and I get no pain. But I have chosen to avoid squats and deadlifts and focus more on core exercises. I believe my ignored core was the weak link so now I am focusing there with the goal to get back to squats and deadlifts not for strength but conditioning.

Postby pugboy » April 2nd, 2024, 10:21 am

if you herniated a disc during a squat it likely means your back bent forwards/humped/flexion which is how herniations usually occur

i have a herniated disc a while now and have been doing lots of core physio with a trainer who specializes in that

i always avoided squatting motions also because of prior knee injuries which gave me bad habits of bending over for most things which puts spine in flexion

lifestyle changes of not putting spine in flexion have helped a lot, i now squat or drop hips to bend down etc, seeing some improvements now after a month or two

on youtube squat university have a lot of info on disc injuries and rehab

Postby Habit7 » April 2nd, 2024, 11:40 am

Yeah I was fully subscribed to squatuniversity even before the injury. But I am getting a lot of help now from lowbackability as well.

Postby rollingstock » April 2nd, 2024, 11:49 am

Present weight

IMG_20240330_205617.jpg

nice
I was as low as 185 in 2019, down from 220
Since covid, I've been stuck around 195, because diet gone to sht. I was on strict meat and veg but since lockdown, I back to eating junk, soft drinks etc. Really been struggling with the sugar cravings. It's worse than when I quit eating junk in 2019
Still pumping 5 days a week plus riding / hiking most sundays, so so part of he extra weight is a bit of muscle mass, but mostly belly

Hardest thing for me was cutting off coca cola.
If I do have to drink something sweet I'll drink a cran water.

I realise now though that after cutting off sweets, sweet stuff tastes much sweeter than before.

Postby rollingstock » April 2nd, 2024, 11:52 am

Habit7 wrote:Yeah I was fully subscribed to squatuniversity even before the injury. But I am getting a lot of help now from lowbackability as well.

Steel in my right leg and gunshot injury to my left arm.
I can't lift heavy anymore. So I go for more sets and higher reps. Presently on a measly 65lbs bench press.
Can do much heavier weights with dead lifts etc but I can't trust my arms to hold heavy weights if it's gonna fall on my chest if it fails.

hindian

Postby hindian » April 2nd, 2024, 12:13 pm

Guys, I want to jump on the fitness train as a 43 year old male 6’1” but I dunno how to start. Currently at 270 lbs. I want to set a realistic goal for myself to lose some weight but not sure how. I’m naturally muscular but married life and stress eating messed me up bad lol. I used to be 210lbs and I was most comfortable with myself at that weight. Any advice on how and where to start?

Postby rollingstock » April 2nd, 2024, 12:37 pm

Keep it simple. Diet and exercise