The DIY CCTV camera system thread

Re: The DIY CCTV camera system thread

Postby paid_influencer » December 1st, 2023, 6:29 pm

computercentral wrote:System 2poe ubiquiti switch’s cat6 100% copper, cabinet /2 1500 va ups 45min runtime /55” tv nvr hik 9932 I think have some 8mp color vu to install , I do installation so it just escalated

why cat 6 why not cat 5 e

Postby Chimera » December 1st, 2023, 7:07 pm

computercentral wrote:[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231201/b148154fb307a3df574979078f070379.jpg[/img] that camera is wired with outdoor belcom cable gel filled in conduit price for 1 roll is more that some people whole system
Big brand thing yuh rocking. Bout 2500 a roll?

I does use no name thing for 1700 a roll

computercentral

Postby computercentral » December 1st, 2023, 9:38 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
computercentral wrote:System 2poe ubiquiti switch’s cat6 100% copper, cabinet /2 1500 va ups 45min runtime /55” tv nvr hik 9932 I think have some 8mp color vu to install , I do installation so it just escalated

why cat 6 why not cat 5 e

Cat 5e 100% copper has more than enough bandwidth for ip cameras as I said I have over done it , I only use 100% copper cables in my installation for customers

Postby Chimera » December 2nd, 2023, 3:38 am

DMan7 wrote:
Chimera wrote:
DMan7 wrote:They need to start making those domes bullet proof as well as having cheaper PTZ options. Those static cameras are a complete waste and only pushing you to buy more of them to cover more areas where you wouldn't have to with a PTZ moving around.
There are cheap mini ptz from 700 and up

I prefer 2 static cameras than a ptz though.

I working on making a middle hinged pole to put a 33x ptz optical zoom 8mp ip camera 30-35 feet in the air in front my property along with 3 200 watt flood lights

Nah I prefer the cheaper option of 1 PTZ vs 2 or more static cameras especially if cost is a concern. Btw that setup you have going on there sounding good, post pics of the installation when you done!
1 ptz would never cost less than 2 static

A static is like 250 to 400 for one

A ptz locally starting at 1500

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 2nd, 2023, 8:11 am

Chimera wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
Chimera wrote:
DMan7 wrote:They need to start making those domes bullet proof as well as having cheaper PTZ options. Those static cameras are a complete waste and only pushing you to buy more of them to cover more areas where you wouldn't have to with a PTZ moving around.
There are cheap mini ptz from 700 and up

I prefer 2 static cameras than a ptz though.

I working on making a middle hinged pole to put a 33x ptz optical zoom 8mp ip camera 30-35 feet in the air in front my property along with 3 200 watt flood lights

Nah I prefer the cheaper option of 1 PTZ vs 2 or more static cameras especially if cost is a concern. Btw that setup you have going on there sounding good, post pics of the installation when you done!
1 ptz would never cost less than 2 static

A static is like 250 to 400 for one

A ptz locally starting at 1500

:( :( :( There goes my wallet.

computercentral

Postby computercentral » December 2nd, 2023, 11:22 am

[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231202/c6657ff06b4600fcb835b8c822da5f6d.jpg[/img] if you think your wallet ded it have bulletproof ones

Postby Rovin » December 2nd, 2023, 11:39 am

i not a cctv installer i just try to do my own thing for myself

i have seen ppl install cams using dem circle shape 4 wire telephone jack , will that work as well as cat5e which kinda cheap if u buy a whole roll so i wondering if they did it for simplicity of dealing with 4 wires instead of 8 or it if cheaper ? ...

Postby gastly369 » December 2nd, 2023, 12:04 pm

I want to upgrade but waiting for my current system to give issues(reason)

Really looking to put in the colorvu 8mp and nvr

Flecking ting going strong since 2015(old hikvision turbo with the 1080p cams)

computercentral

Postby computercentral » December 2nd, 2023, 6:35 pm

Rovin wrote:i not a cctv installer i just try to do my own thing for myself

i have seen ppl install cams using dem circle shape 4 wire telephone jack , will that work as well as cat5e which kinda cheap if u buy a whole roll so i wondering if they did it for simplicity of dealing with 4 wires instead of 8 or it if cheaper ? ...

4 wires is enough for analog HD that cable might be better quality

Postby Ted_v2 » December 5th, 2023, 6:30 am

them colourvu cameras are the truth.

i have a mix of everything.
4 5mp regular hik vision
2 colourvu 2mp hik vision
2 2mp bullets hik vision

and the 2mp does show wayyyyye better than the 5mp in any situation.

my 8 channel dvr full already, studying to buy another to slowly add cameras, i have a 16 channel wall mounted power station and thats a good investment id say

Postby The_Honourable » January 21st, 2024, 3:23 pm

So tuners, what recommendations you all have for 2024?

Would like to install some cameras around the house. Thinking features such as wireless, cloud based, internal storage (in case of power or wi-fi failure), 360 degree, and mobile app.

Pros and cons?

Thanks!

Postby paid_influencer » January 21st, 2024, 3:31 pm

so wyze cams everywhere?

Postby Chimera » January 22nd, 2024, 8:45 pm

i take a 10 us a month wyze plus subscription to supplement my normal system

next time i see it have wyze sale on amazon i buying about 20 cameras

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » May 23rd, 2024, 1:19 pm

Hey there! I've had some experience with both Lorex and Swann systems, and I can say they are both solid choices in terms of reliability and ease of use. Their apps are user-friendly, and after-sales support has been decent from my experience. Regarding the static IP, it's not strictly necessary, but it can make remote access more stable. Security-wise, as long as you use strong passwords and keep the firmware updated, the risk of hacking is low.

Last year, I faced some issues at home and needed professional help with my CCTV camera installation . A friend recommended a reliable company with electricians available 24/7. They handled everything efficiently, solving my problems quickly. Find out more information here about CCTV camera installers.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » July 6th, 2024, 1:25 pm

Any recommendations for a good mid range POE security camera system? at least 5 mp.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 30th, 2024, 1:32 am

https://youtu.be/yFC6agOwenU?si=xovI42uAdi2L-6ix

Advancements in night vision tech

The DIY CCTV camera system thread

Postby j.o.e » October 25th, 2024, 4:45 pm

Does anyone run a UPS on their DVR and modem or anything to give additional up time during outages ?

matix

Postby matix » October 25th, 2024, 4:52 pm

j.o.e wrote:Does anyone run a UPS on their DVR and modem or anything to give additional up time during outages ?

Yes, modem has a separate UPS, issue is if it’s a wide outage then most likely the internet will be down as well. Unless it’s one of those wireless Internet boxes

IMG_2955.JPG

Postby pugboy » October 25th, 2024, 6:27 pm

is your burglar alarm also in separate ups?

matix wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Does anyone run a UPS on their DVR and modem or anything to give additional up time during outages ?

Yes, modem has a separate UPS, issue is if it’s a wide outage then most likely the internet will be down as well. Unless it’s one of those wireless Internet boxes

IMG_2955.JPG

Postby paid_influencer » October 25th, 2024, 7:03 pm

besides the additional uptime, you might find the modem/router/dvr/etc being more reliable. I donno why but those devices tend to work more consistently on a UPS.

at the very least it prevents reboots when current dip

matix

Postby matix » October 25th, 2024, 8:55 pm

pugboy wrote:is your burglar alarm also in separate ups?

matix wrote:

IMG_2955.JPG

Yes, DSC panel has a battery in it. CCTV power supply panel also has a battery in it.

matix

Postby matix » October 25th, 2024, 8:57 pm

paid_influencer wrote:besides the additional uptime, you might find the modem/router/dvr/etc being more reliable. I donno why but those devices tend to work more consistently on a UPS.

at the very least it prevents reboots when current dip

Surge protectors, line conditioners, UPS, all provide protection from surges and dips.