DAILY CRIME REPORTS THREAD ...

Re: DAILY CRIME REPORTS THREAD ...

Postby paid_influencer » October 8th, 2023, 1:55 pm

redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Ole ppl need assistance with online banking.

Simply having a back account and a ATM card would eliminate the need to carry around huge amounts of cash. ATMs around for decades here. I didn't know about the requirement to open an account online though. Was that during covid or is that still the case?

But contractors aren't old ppl. They just stubborn and will learn the hard way.

that was 2010 or thereabouts at RBL

I donno if they still have that insane policy. it discriminating against the most vulnerable

Postby redmanjp » October 8th, 2023, 1:58 pm

The ppl who money does done daily will probably benefit from not having it on them and having it go direct to the bank. Less temptation for them to buy they alcohol/playwhe/other vice and less chance of getting rob.

Postby redmanjp » October 8th, 2023, 2:07 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Ole ppl need assistance with online banking.

Simply having a back account and a ATM card would eliminate the need to carry around huge amounts of cash. ATMs around for decades here. I didn't know about the requirement to open an account online though. Was that during covid or is that still the case?

But contractors aren't old ppl. They just stubborn and will learn the hard way.

that was 2010 or thereabouts at RBL

I donno if they still have that insane policy. it discriminating against the most vulnerable

I doubt it. I opened an account at RBL around 2013 and as far as I remember I didn't have to do it online.

Postby paid_influencer » October 8th, 2023, 3:24 pm

well I was way off, just checked and that was in 2019, not 2010

time moves differently for me

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 8th, 2023, 3:31 pm

2019 is way back when for alot of people. 4 years is an eternity.

Postby paid_influencer » October 8th, 2023, 3:53 pm

thing is, i ent drink rum or have any excuse for that. is just happen

Postby Chimera » October 8th, 2023, 4:17 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Chimera wrote:Ppl regularly moving about with that kind of money everyday.

When contractors hadda do payroll sometimes is a half a mil to a few mil or more they sending one man to withdraw on a friday

In this day and age ppl doh have bank account?

Then again banks not making it easy to open one asking for 10 ID and utility bill, authorization letter , job letter etc.

But some genuinely choose to not have one. Like they fraid bank more than bandit.
Plenty ppl want their cash in hand. If your money is suppose to be paid to you on a Friday u don't wanna hear it processing in the bank. You don't want to go by the atm and it have long lines and then no money.

Many people want their $$$ in hand.

Postby aaron17 » October 8th, 2023, 4:31 pm

U had me at 'want'

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2023, 4:33 pm

there is nothing like liming with the boys after work at the watering hole and paying with cash

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 8th, 2023, 5:28 pm

On one hand, the government is trying to reduce the shadow economy, which according to some theorists, have a real impact on true GDP. Clearly they are trying to squeeze potential sources of undeclared funds, including money laundering. This is why the banks have these measures when opening accounts, so that Joe Schmoe can't use it to wash money, or at least there's a paper trail.

On the other hand, you have people who legitimately work for cash, but try to evade taxes - PAYE/NIS/HS etc and leave it to the other taxpayers to prop up those systems. They aren't as bad as the money launderers, but tax evasion is a broad spectrum from the regular Joe working blue collar for money in an envelope to million dollar companies with cooked books.

On the foot now, you have bona fide money launderer who wash dirty money through clean systems. Do they pay taxes on the dirty money? Some do, some don't.

But going back to my point of the impact of the shadow economy. I'm sure everyone in here is a part of it in some form or fashion.

Here's some casual reading for ya.
https://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/is ... ed%20goods.

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2023, 7:02 pm

you cant just make folks stop using what they have been forever

tax man wise its much easier if they went after the low hanging fruit than trying to stifle a legitimate part of the economy and day to day life
why make peter pay for paul

eg doctors, doubles vendors, fete and boat ride promoters, list goes on

they only pretending to be trying to do something at the expense of others under the guise of "shadow economy"
they are not serious about money laundering because the casinos are some of the biggest launderers
but guess which % own all the big ones and banks accept their cash deposits ?
if the small man try to go deposit that cash he getting flagged

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 8th, 2023, 8:25 pm

that's the ting about introducing change eh. You can't please everyone.

Bear in mind, I am assuming that is their strategy eh - I doh have any concrete info. Kinda just reading between the lines nah

Postby Chimera » October 9th, 2023, 11:10 am

idk na, i've seen people cussing and crying when they go ATM to withdraw cash on friday evening and pay eh come tru or the atm empty or malfunctioning

seeing the amount of fraud/problems/computer errors that goes on with online banking i would never fault a man for saying he want cash for something. no cheque, no wire transfer, CASH in hand
because i could work for you whole week and expect money on a friday to spend saturday.....and you say you transfer it.....and it eh reach til monday/tuesday/wednesday if at all.

recently Scotia transfers having a major issue where they taking the $$ instantly out of the payor account but a whole month after it bouncing back . so as far as the payor concerned...they send the $$ and it approved...but the payee never gets it.

which leads to all kinda bacchanal.

and then theres the major issues here of being robbed when leaving a ATM, of people cloning your cards, of linx machines not working, all kinda thing

Postby Chimera » October 9th, 2023, 11:11 am

allyuh need to realize and accept that many people are surviving day to day or week to week.

if you don't get your cash on a friday evening, your family and your kids have nothing to eat saturday and sunday.

Postby redmanjp » October 9th, 2023, 3:07 pm

Chimera wrote:idk na, i've seen people cussing and crying when they go ATM to withdraw cash on friday evening and pay eh come tru or the atm empty or malfunctioning

seeing the amount of fraud/problems/computer errors that goes on with online banking i would never fault a man for saying he want cash for something. no cheque, no wire transfer, CASH in hand
because i could work for you whole week and expect money on a friday to spend saturday.....and you say you transfer it.....and it eh reach til monday/tuesday/wednesday if at all.

recently Scotia transfers having a major issue where they taking the $$ instantly out of the payor account but a whole month after it bouncing back . so as far as the payor concerned...they send the $$ and it approved...but the payee never gets it.

which leads to all kinda bacchanal.

and then theres the major issues here of being robbed when leaving a ATM, of people cloning your cards, of linx machines not working, all kinda thing

its a mindset too eh - ppl accustom to cash dey whole life so they dont know anything else

the biggest transaction u have every month is groceries. you have Point of Sale terminals at most groceries now- so even if the ATM giving trouble or u cud get rob there just use the card at the grocery. the new chip and pin makes it less likely to clone- the machine right is front of u. and if by chance it get clone and u have fraudulent transactions the bank can refund it.

who refunding you cash when a bandit take it? there's little chance of getting that back unless TTPS get lucky and they were willing to do what it takes to get it back.

u have online bill payments as well or u can pay POS - again no cash needed.

only go to ATM in the day and only for things that can't be done with POS. all RBL ATMs have cameras. i pay for groceries, bills, gas with my card. only thing i need cash for on daily basis is lunch box. so i take out $500 at a time so even if i get rob is only $500 plus maybe $100 i had remaining in my wallet they getting. also the atm has a daily limit so the bandit certainly not getting over $100k like they got from that woman.

if u spending out your money on vices and have nothing left till payday it's no one else fault but u.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 9th, 2023, 3:23 pm

The other side of this cashless society dystopia/utopia, is that it requires two legs to stand on.
Power and internet.

Without that, well it's a fuck-you're-outta-luck situation.

Then we have these fees for "cashless" societies that seem to stack in the odds of a bank.

And I eh care for Tate, but he makes a solid point.

Postby redmanjp » October 9th, 2023, 4:28 pm

well that's something to worry about in the future -for now let's worry about the present- bandits after your cash today.

and in the first scenario it's an inconvenience- in the second in addition to losing all cash in hand it could also be injury from a gun butt or murder

Postby Chimera » October 9th, 2023, 4:54 pm

Bandit does carry yuh in the atm to withdraw cash or keep yuh in the vehicle while their padna using your card to withdraw cash too eh....jus saying.....

Postby redmanjp » October 9th, 2023, 5:24 pm

Chimera wrote:Bandit does carry yuh in the atm to withdraw cash or keep yuh in the vehicle while their padna using your card to withdraw cash too eh....jus saying.....

and as i said earlier- there is a daily limit to transactions at an atm - if that lady had put her $170k in the bank and her card was taken instead, they would only be able to withdraw like $10k or less. For RBL i think the nighttime limit is less than the daytime limit.

and it's possible that the bank may even refund it if you report the card stolen- can anyone confirm?

Postby paid_influencer » October 9th, 2023, 6:14 pm

redmanjp wrote:if u spending out your money on vices and have nothing left till payday it's no one else fault but u.

it have a section of the society that does blame the bar owner

and later come rob/kill out the bar owner

Postby aaron17 » October 11th, 2023, 11:59 am

Attempted assassination? We jammin still

Postby pugboy » October 11th, 2023, 1:14 pm

waiting for a next get the army joint patrols

Postby Chimera » October 12th, 2023, 12:45 am

holy firetruck major weapons stash found in santa cruz

https://www.facebook.com/reel/1070608533871544

Postby 16 cycles » October 12th, 2023, 1:45 pm

Postby paid_influencer » October 12th, 2023, 4:56 pm

16 cycles wrote:https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/police-stop-fuel-for-drugs-exchange/article_1c58830e-691e-11ee-9803-0b6e76467b40.html

more Ws for TTPS

indeed, good work by the TTPS

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2023, 7:04 pm

2.5 months of intelligence based surveillance
but no arrests?

Postby pugboy » October 16th, 2023, 2:53 pm

sandra getting real pong with this big gun find
more and more it looking staged

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2023, 2:58 pm

staged how tho?

is it guns that were seized already and they just bring them out to show them off?

or is it they force a big boy to sell out a stash otherwise he wudda get hot up

Postby pugboy » October 16th, 2023, 4:43 pm

yuh ain’t watch the “footage”?
how they break down a barrier gate and ting ?

Chimera wrote:staged how tho?

is it guns that were seized already and they just bring them out to show them off?

or is it they force a big boy to sell out a stash otherwise he wudda get hot up

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2023, 9:40 pm

Na I didn't c it