***2023 local elections thread****

Who will win the upcoming local elections????

PNM
32%
UNC
34%
NTA
2%
PEP
7%
TIED VOTE
7%
DON'T VOTE
17%

Total votes: 41

Re: ***2023 local elections thread****

Postby Chimera » August 14th, 2023, 11:55 am

DMan7 wrote:Damn these UNC people desperate, my father got a call from the lady whose up for the LGE in the area and she asked if he voted and if not if he wanted to get transport to and from the polling station. lmao.

thats a normal thing since it have elections......how old are you?

death365

Postby death365 » August 14th, 2023, 11:55 am

thats SOP for san juan / barataria and st jospeh areas. mite even get a juice or water too

DMan7 wrote:Damn these UNC people desperate, my father got a call from the lady whose up for the LGE in the area and she asked if he voted and if not if he wanted to get transport to and from the polling station. lmao.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 14th, 2023, 12:01 pm

The most desperate party typically loses. I think we all know who going down tonight.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 14th, 2023, 12:03 pm

normal practice to make sure parties get their numbers. They all do it.

They have a 'fair guesstimate' of who voting for which party already. If you are sick, live alone, or usually a homebody for whatever reason - they would dispatch different communtuty volunteer teams to transport you to and from the voting centre free.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2023, 12:07 pm

death365 wrote:Cause its your civic right plus if yuh na vote yuh shouldnt complaint cause u were a bystander in the process

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
death365 wrote:GO OUT & VOTE !!!!

Why?

1: once i paying taxes I could complain how much I want

2: what if I don't like my candidate? I must go with the sheep and say to hell with it?

3: results later will prove my point....majority of the electorate believe in unc/pnm

death365

Postby death365 » August 14th, 2023, 12:14 pm

Yes

2: what if I don't like my candidate? I must go with the sheep and say to hell with it?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2023, 12:17 pm

death365 wrote:Yes

Allyuh hada be firetrucking mad...blind blind

Postby maj. tom » August 14th, 2023, 12:20 pm

You can exercise your right to spoil your ballot.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 14th, 2023, 12:20 pm

Not voting is the same as voting for pnm

Postby st7 » August 14th, 2023, 12:25 pm

death365 wrote:Cause its your civic right plus if yuh na vote yuh shouldnt complaint cause u were a bystander in the process

death365 wrote:GO OUT & VOTE !!!!

Why?

1: once i paying taxes I could complain how much I want

3: results later will prove my point....majority of the electorate believe in unc/pnm

i agree with you here. but maj. tom also made some insightful comments as well.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 14th, 2023, 1:00 pm

No body forcing you to vote, but generally in order to keep any government on their toes always vote of the opposition even if you don't like them.

It sends a message that non performance will not be tolerated that's all.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 14th, 2023, 1:01 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Not voting is the same as voting for pnm

Put your X by the balisier..

Postby MaxPower » August 14th, 2023, 1:08 pm

redmanjp wrote:voted an hour ago. come on ppl we complain all the time about the state of our country - well today is your chance to voice your discontent.

red,

Is UNC really the savior for T&T?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 14th, 2023, 1:14 pm

There are several watch parties being hosted tonight here in the USA. Many are interested in seeing results come in live. Many more in attendance are those hoping to repatriate back home to retire or turn a new chapter in their lives, but they fear to return under current leadership.

I am hoping for the best but expecting a return to status quo. That said, many in my family have confirmed they voted for someone different. And I have family running for PNM seats.

See you all later this evening.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » August 14th, 2023, 1:16 pm

DMan7 wrote:I hope allya put allya X by the Balisier...
Golden Grove & Remand yard already voted. They inside

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2023, 1:16 pm

redmanjp wrote:voted an hour ago. come on ppl we complain all the time about the state of our country - well today is your chance to voice your discontent.

red,

Is UNC really the savior for T&T?

didn't vote for them for LGE. but for the next General elections if they going to allow more ppl to defend themselves with firearms against pests breaking into your home then why not? the least a Govt should do if they can't protect u is allow u to protect yourself. TTPS is a waste of time - they will show up when your dead body on the floor, and that is IF they have a vehicle!

Postby teems1 » August 14th, 2023, 1:19 pm

Everyone is beating down PNM/Rowley/Rohan/MoW for the bad state of the roads.

He's just doing this to reduce his opex for the year. What we need to be sure of, is that the moneys which would have usually gone to paving, was redirected to next year's budget or allocated somewhere else.

That is Kamla's job to do.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 14th, 2023, 2:14 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
FrankChag wrote:I don't vote for religious reasons, but my now-cynical mind can't help thinking:

serious?

Islam bars you from voting?

where you get that one from

These are well-known ruling from major scholars.
https://www.salafitalk.net/st/viewmessa ... Topic=5880

Postby alfa » August 14th, 2023, 2:16 pm

I'm more looking forward to the results tonight, going organize my snacks and drinks. Elections is the closest thing to a sporting event I does follow

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 14th, 2023, 2:17 pm

Nah my area was only pnm and NTA
Phone Surgeon wrote:[facebookvideo][/facebookvideo]
PariaMan wrote:Swing voter checking in. Rowley last time Gary this time

dont forget that NTA join with UNC so you would only see PNM and UNC options in many areas......

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 14th, 2023, 2:20 pm

alfa wrote:I'm more looking forward to the results tonight, going organize my snacks and drinks. Elections is the closest thing to a sporting event I does follow

Wish I was back home to get local snacks, yes. :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

Enjoy!

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2023, 2:30 pm

So a candidate in my area who I vote for posting in a neighborhood WhatsApp group today to vote for him. We think it is a breach if law but he saying the law don't cover Whatsapp or social media posts. I tell him he better be careful.

Postby maj. tom » August 14th, 2023, 2:45 pm

Forward it to the TTPS. He talking bs. He could get away with a FB ad, but directly contacting ppl and telling how to vote is canvassing on election day.

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2023, 3:42 pm

depending on which party ttps may not be interested

maj. tom wrote:Forward it to the TTPS. He talking bs. He could get away with a FB ad, but directly contacting ppl and telling how to vote is canvassing on election day.

Postby j.o.e » August 14th, 2023, 3:54 pm

redmanjp wrote:So a candidate in my area who I vote for posting in a neighborhood WhatsApp group today to vote for him. We think it is a breach if law but he saying the law don't cover Whatsapp or social media posts. I tell him he better be careful.

That’s canvassing. Obviously the original law didn’t cater for WhatsApp but the spirit of the law is that on the day all canvassing and electioneering stops.
I am a mango tree lawyer by the way. So my opinion really irrelevant

Postby paid_influencer » August 14th, 2023, 4:40 pm

i gone to vote but there was no PEP candidate on the ballot (???????????)

also is it normal for the ballot paper to have a buss near where they take it out from from leaflet book. mine had a buss

Postby paid_influencer » August 14th, 2023, 4:41 pm

maj. tom wrote:Forward it to the TTPS. He talking bs. He could get away with a FB ad, but directly contacting ppl and telling how to vote is canvassing on election day.

what about the bill boards around every corner. nobody took them down they still up right now blocking the line of sight around a already blind corner

Postby Chimera » August 14th, 2023, 5:01 pm

paid_influencer wrote:i gone to vote but there was no PEP candidate on the ballot (???????????)

also is it normal for the ballot paper to have a buss near where they take it out from from leaflet book. mine had a buss
I doubt pep contesting all the seats

Postby paid_influencer » August 14th, 2023, 5:23 pm

FrankChag wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
FrankChag wrote:I don't vote for religious reasons, but my now-cynical mind can't help thinking:

serious?

Islam bars you from voting?

where you get that one from

These are well-known ruling from major scholars.
https://www.salafitalk.net/st/viewmessa ... Topic=5880

just asking, no offense, but if your religion condemns voting, does that mean the whole idea of democracy is haram?

Postby The_Honourable » August 14th, 2023, 6:02 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:i gone to vote but there was no PEP candidate on the ballot (???????????)

I doubt pep contesting all the seats

Affirmative, some of the seats.