K74T wrote:Reports of a blackout in Vistabella, Marabella, Williamsville and parts of Princes Town.
TTEC Residential use single phase 115/230 V +|- 6% AC. Just like USA/Canada Residential which can regionally vary up to 125/250V. Commercial and industry generally have separate transformers with 3 phase and higher voltages supplied than residential.DMan7 wrote:Shouldn't the input voltage directly from the power outlet read 220V since we switched to that years now?
maj. tom wrote:TTEC Residential use single phase 115/230 V +|- 6% AC. Just like USA/Canada Residential which can regionally vary up to 125/250V. Commercial and industry generally have separate transformers with 3 phase and higher voltages supplied than residential.DMan7 wrote:Shouldn't the input voltage directly from the power outlet read 220V since we switched to that years now?
Screenshot 2023-05-04 212737.png
There are 3 wires entering at the TTEC pole to the main breaker. Neutral and two 115V lines, going all the way back to the nearest transformer on a pole. The potential difference between the two combined 115V lines is 230V.
Most plugs and light circuits in a house will be wired with either of the 115V lines with the potential difference compared to the neutral line. Less amps are pushed with lower voltages which is good enough for the power needs of most household appliances which are also wired with lower circuit breakers.
Circuits requiring much more current like a water heater, aircon or welding plan will use 230V wiring because those devices need more power hence more amps and more voltage to push it. Can't use the 115 V circuit because to push that much current with a lower voltage is more work and more heat in the wires. P=IV formula.The current drawn will trip the breakers anyway in a safely 115V wired panel. 230V plugs are wired with the two 115V lines rather than just one.
Use a multimeter and check the AC voltages between the live and neutral prong inserts in a typical outlet. You will get 115V +|- 6%. Check an aircon plug and you will get 230V. But in that plug also check between either and the ground insert you will get 115 V. See if it making sense.
Electricals ppl correct me where I wrong because that's the best I understand it.
maj. tom wrote:TTEC Residential use single phase 115/230 V +|- 6% AC. Just like USA/Canada Residential which can regionally vary up to 125/250V. Commercial and industry generally have separate transformers with 3 phase and higher voltages supplied than residential.DMan7 wrote:Shouldn't the input voltage directly from the power outlet read 220V since we switched to that years now?
There are 3 wires entering at the TTEC pole to the main breaker. Neutral and two 115V lines, going all the way back to the nearest transformer on a pole. The potential difference between the two combined 115V lines is 230V.
Most plugs and light circuits in a house will be wired with either of the 115V lines with the potential difference compared to the neutral line. Less amps are pushed with lower voltages which is good enough for the power needs of most household appliances which are also wired with lower circuit breakers.
Circuits requiring much more current like a water heater, aircon or welding plan will use 230V wiring because those devices need more power hence more amps and more voltage to push it. Can't use the 115 V circuit because to push that much current with a lower voltage is more work and more heat in the wires. P=IV formula.The current drawn will trip the breakers anyway in a safely 115V wired panel. 230V plugs are wired with the two 115V lines rather than just one.
Use a multimeter and check the AC voltages between the live and neutral prong inserts in a typical outlet. You will get 115V +|- 6%. Check an aircon plug and you will get 230V. But in that plug also check between either and the ground insert you will get 115 V. See if it making sense.
Electricals ppl correct me where I wrong because that's the best I understand it.
DMan7 wrote:Power outage in the El Socorro area for about 15 - 20 mins. Btw the standard voltage for us is 240V ? My UPS fan keeps coming on due to low voltage even a few minutes before total outage.
DMan7 wrote:Shouldn't the input voltage directly from the power outlet read 220V since we switched to that years now?
It's also high voltage to overcome resistance / impedance over long runs.pugboy wrote:the amps pulled on 220v will generally be less for same power if using same equation above and wastes less in the wires with the other equation I^2R
which is also why long distance transmission is extremely high voltage and low current, then stepped down on the lamp post with transformers to 440/220v
otherwise the wires on them big towers would get hot fast
It's how power in the area is before it was populated. Maybe 3 phase 440V LV so the only available power is 440V single phase two wire or 220V single phase phase and neutral so they need a tx for 110V.pugboy wrote:pt fortin households have it specifically different so?
pugboy wrote:so who owns that household transformer and if it
blows who pays to replace?
nervewrecker wrote:It's how power in the area is before it was populated. Maybe 3 phase 440V LV so the only available power is 440V single phase two wire or 220V single phase phase and neutral so they need a tx for 110V.pugboy wrote:pt fortin households have it specifically different so?
I know for a fact Handel Street is wired like this and every house you pass by over there has small tx units around for their 110V
Phone Surgeon wrote:if you install two influx capacitors in series but then you juxtapose the parallelogram wiring, can you get 440v down to 110v ?
pugboy wrote:your feel is back to future or wha?Phone Surgeon wrote:if you install two influx capacitors in series but then you juxtapose the parallelogram wiring, can you get 440v down to 110v ?
They limited to lighting and small appliances like TV etc at most, toasters, blow driers and flat irons.alfa wrote:nervewrecker wrote:It's how power in the area is before it was populated. Maybe 3 phase 440V LV so the only available power is 440V single phase two wire or 220V single phase phase and neutral so they need a tx for 110V.pugboy wrote:pt fortin households have it specifically different so?
I know for a fact Handel Street is wired like this and every house you pass by over there has small tx units around for their 110V
You know by chance what size those transformers are? Cuz I thinking if it's small they'll be fairly limited in the size of loads they can draw. On appliances that work on 220v but have a 110v circuit board that'll still be needed to be taken from the transformer thus adding to further load. Not sure if air conditioning units are like that but I know some 220v dryer units are like that