New Lexus or Used Porsche - which one would you buy?

Re: New Lexus or Used Porsche - which one would you buy?

Postby MaxPower » November 13th, 2022, 3:04 pm

death365 wrote:honestly ... if yuh cant afford the upkeep on the vehicle ... DONT BUY IT

and dont cry down when u get hit with big money for parts and service, live within your means.

X3000.

People does bawl and cry why they get hit a $17,000 service bill by Sterling when others swipe their card without even looking at the breakdown.

If you can’t afford to maintain a high end vehicle, then don’t. People want these expensive vehicles, and you can see they ketching their ass by putting on Sailun tyres and exhaust smoking.

A beat out and clearly poorly maintained Euro for example says alot about it’s owner.

Live within your means.

Postby Gladiator » November 13th, 2022, 3:15 pm

death365 wrote:honestly ... if yuh cant afford the upkeep on the vehicle ... DONT BUY IT

and dont cry down when u get hit with big money for parts and service, live within your means.

X3000.

People does bawl and cry why they get hit a $17,000 service bill by Sterling when others swipe their card without even looking at the breakdown.

If you can’t afford to maintain a high end vehicle, then don’t. People want these expensive vehicles, and you can see they ketching their ass by putting on Sailun tyres and exhaust smoking.

A beat out and clearly poorly maintained Euro for example says alot about it’s owner.

Live within your means.

But Max... What wrong with Sailun tyres?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 13th, 2022, 3:36 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:I had to pay almost $3000 USD to change my tyres in my e class. Not me and that sheit again. Every other year is a new problem.

Hopefully don't have to go through that problem with a Lexus.
Now you understand my post above. I will admire the cars when they owned by other people.

Had a chat with a guy, he owns a lancer. When asked about his vehicle history I understand why. The other cars were nothing but headache. You pay x amount of dollars to bling and your car in the firm parked up for significant periods of time.

Lancer gets you from point a to b. You could flip that into a precipice and buy a next one right away without a care in the world. What you drive don't define you.

What's your point? The car I'm referring to is in pristine condition.

Postby nervewrecker » November 13th, 2022, 10:28 pm

It could be in pristine condition and handed to you by the gods themselves, nobody immune to the stupidity that exists out here.

When you own a car that you can't get parts side the road or has complex electronics if some idiot decided to drive drunk and hit your car, your car is ruined.

Parts wise, parts have to be ordered and some firms just don't care. They will have your car for months.

Mechanical and diagnostic. Not every mechanic can work on every vehicle it has. Diagnostics, has a certain local dealership that is the only place in the world they cannot start the car from the parent company abroad.

We can't own nice things here.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 14th, 2022, 5:28 am

Enters thread

Leaves with smile on face

Postby timelapse » November 14th, 2022, 6:42 am

I like Euros , the problem is people to maintain them here.
You safe with Japanese.

Postby MaxPower » November 14th, 2022, 8:08 am

Gladiator wrote:
But Max... What wrong with Sailun tyres?

Glad,

Sailun falls within the cheap maintenance bracket man. From the time yuh spare expense with a high end vehicle, trouble starts and your car looks, runs and sounds like sheit.

While Sailun may be an ok tyre and bang for the buck, it’s a low grade tyre for many reasons.

Postby Dave » November 14th, 2022, 8:14 am

Please enlighten us as to why Sailun isn't good as I see many Euro cars and off roaders are fitting these tyres on their vehicles.
Are so many ppl wrong?

Postby pugboy » November 14th, 2022, 8:36 am

thread taking a detour

MDtuner70

New Lexus or Used Porsche - which one would you buy?

Postby MDtuner70 » November 14th, 2022, 9:41 am

Dave wrote:Please enlighten us as to why Sailun isn't good as I see many Euro cars and off roaders are fitting these tyres on their vehicles.
Are so many ppl wrong?

Cyap, put that waste of time account on a ban. He continuously derails threads and encourages unnecessary nonsense amongst varying members. Now he is posting false data about an auto related product on your auto related platform. He needs a time out. Do it for the sake of the platform!

(How I sounding there Max ? Sounds familiar ? Lol)

Send his ip address to the bossman in Arouca while you at it.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 14th, 2022, 9:43 am

Isn't Max a moderator too?

Postby timelapse » November 14th, 2022, 9:49 am

SuperiorMan wrote:Isn't Max a moderator too?
Since when?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 14th, 2022, 9:51 am

timelapse wrote:
Since when?

He said we moderators or something like that a few times

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » November 14th, 2022, 9:53 am

C'est impossible!

The lad does not have the mental capacity.

Postby MaxPower » November 14th, 2022, 9:58 am

Dave wrote:Please enlighten us as to why Sailun isn't good as I see many Euro cars and off roaders are fitting these tyres on their vehicles.
Are so many ppl wrong?

Easy there Davenand, we not talking about right and wrong here.

A simple google search would tell you that Sailun tyres are outperformed by many other top brand tyres especially in dry/wet braking comparisons. However the tyres do have good reviews and as i said, it’s an ok tyre.

Have i bought Sailun Atrezzos already? Yes i have, for my Tiida. Would i put it on my 5 series? Nope, i go with Michelin Pilot Sports and there is a reason for that.

Toppy, euro/high end vehicles are constructed a particular way. The materials and technology used are a bit superior to many others, you agree? The way the car looks, feels, how it sounds, how it drives smoothly, the safety, even how the doors close. You pay for that not so? When your brand new Lexus need shocks, do you go Bobby’s for a Kayaba replacement? But why, because “plenty” Euro cars and offroaders fitting them? There is a reason people only use genuine parts in their vehicles. But aftermarket works “good” not so? It fitting, it working up, is d same ting? Use the chinese and taiwanese parts man, the japanese too expensive man.

Euro and high end is quality padna, don’t comprise that by going the cheap way. Euro and high end are referred as such because of a standard….keep the standard and keep it high. If i spent 700k on a Euro, padna i want that car to stop to avoid a collision and i need every inch i could get, not stop okish, stop damn good or the best i could get in any road condition. Sailun isn’t giving me the best to protect MY investment.

Yuh see Trinis only know about nice things but they cannot maintain and we see this in our everyday lives. They always looking for the cheapest way out and quick to criticize when others do the opposite.

Anyways Dave, this is just my opinion. If you want to put cheap less durable parts on your vehicle, then that’s your choice.

But tyres are one of the most important parts on a vehicle, invest wisely with safety as your number 1 priority.

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » November 14th, 2022, 10:08 am

Are so many ppl wrong?

A simple google search would tell you that Sailun tyres are outperformed by many other top brand tyres especially in dry/wet braking comparisons. However the tyres do have good reviews and as i said, it’s an ok tyre.

Have i bought Sailun Atrezzos already? Yes i have, for my Tiida. Would i put it on my 5 series? Nope, i go with Michelin Pilot Sports and there is a reason for that.

Toppy, euro/high end vehicles are constructed a particular way. The materials and technology used are a bit superior to many others, you agree? The way the car looks, feels, how it sounds, how it drives smoothly, the safety, even how the doors close. You pay for that not so? When your brand new Lexus need shocks, do you go Bobby’s for a Kayaba replacement? But why, because “plenty” Euro cars and offroaders fitting them? There is a reason people only use genuine parts in their vehicles. But aftermarket works “good” not so? It fitting, it working up, is d same ting? Use the chinese and taiwanese parts man, the japanese too expensive man.

Euro and high end is quality padna, don’t comprise that by going the cheap way. Euro and high end are referred as such because of a standard….keep the standard and keep it high. If i spent 700k on a Euro, padna i want that car to stop to avoid a collision and i need every inch i could get, not stop okish, stop damn good or the best i could get in any road condition. Sailun isn’t giving me the best to protect MY investment.

Yuh see Trinis only know about nice things but they cannot maintain and we see this in our everyday lives. They always looking for the cheapest way out and quick to criticize when others do the opposite.

Anyways Dave, this is just my opinion. If you want to put cheap less durable parts on your vehicle, then that’s your choice.

But tyres are one of the most important parts on a vehicle, invest wisely with safety as your number 1 priority.

Confirm if it took 1 hour and 14mins for you to compose that toots above.

Timestamps don't lie!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 14th, 2022, 10:45 am

Man measuring dicks with brand of tires....carry on derailing a good thread

Postby MaxPower » November 14th, 2022, 11:33 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Man measuring dicks with brand of tires....carry on derailing a good thread

I won’t say derailing.

It’s a discussion about cars and tyres came into the discussion.

Off topic? no i don’t think so.

zorced

Postby zorced » November 14th, 2022, 12:00 pm

No 911/Cayman/Box, no care. Have very limited use for those down here anyway. So Lexus easily, new or used.

Postby 88sins » November 14th, 2022, 1:22 pm

Only my opinion here, so take it however you want.

If you looking for a luxury vehicle, but can't afford it brand new from the showroom with full extended warranty and a driver to go go with it, yuh not ready for a luxury vehicle.

IMHO, and I could be wrong for thinking this way eh, a big part of the luxury aspect of a luxury vehicle, is not only owning it but also being driven by a professional chauffeur in it.

Postby j.o.e » November 14th, 2022, 2:45 pm

88sins wrote:Only my opinion here, so take it however you want.

If you looking for a luxury vehicle, but can't afford it brand new from the showroom with full extended warranty and a driver to go go with it, yuh not ready for a luxury vehicle.

IMHO, and I could be wrong for thinking this way eh, a big part of the luxury aspect of a luxury vehicle, is not only owning it but also being driven by a professional chauffeur in it.

Bring driven ? What kinda cars we talking about ? Maybachs and Rolls Royces ?

Postby 88sins » November 14th, 2022, 6:37 pm

Well I personally wouldn't say Maybach, or even Bugatti but Rolls-Royce, Jaguar, Bentley, etc. I consider vehicles of those types to be luxury vehicles. Only certain specific Mercedes would qualify for the title in my books.

Postby MaxPower » November 14th, 2022, 6:57 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Bring driven ? What kinda cars we talking about ? Maybachs and Rolls Royces ?

Yeh like in England, wearing the hat and suit….

Postby 88sins » November 14th, 2022, 7:45 pm

The cap isn't a requirement in these modern times, but the suit or uniform is.
If you are a professional driver, you must look AND perform the part. Thing is that nowadays it's quite normal for the professional driver to also double as personal assistant or security, depending.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 15th, 2022, 1:30 pm

Are so many ppl wrong?

:popcorn:

True that the #1 thing anyone can do for their car to improve safety, and performance (latter depending a bit more on tyre specs/model/class) would be tyres.

That said, interested to hear Dave's response to this.

When your brand new Lexus need shocks, do you go Bobby’s for a Kayaba replacement?

BTW, isn't Kayaba just a brand of the inimitable KYB? Or at least, KYB's eastern/non-US market branding for Excel-G shocks? Excel-G's being the OEM spec replacement for most Japanese cars (most 2010 and older Lexus's...Lexi? what's the plural?) included? In fact, KYB and Bilstein are the OEM providers for most JDM cars to date (subject to correction from Dave and others who may know more).

and FWIW, GR-2's = Excel G's - https://www.kyb.com/knowledge-center/fa ... -products/

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 15th, 2022, 2:12 pm

Does it have a separate tyre thread? (pun intended)

I feel like this is a good discussion but it wud honestly overtake this thread which is also a good discussion

Postby 16 cycles » November 15th, 2022, 3:50 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Does it have a separate tyre thread? (pun intended)

I feel like this is a good discussion but it wud honestly overtake this thread which is also a good discussion

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=283418&p=10113711&hilit=tyres#p10113711

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 15th, 2022, 3:51 pm

love you

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 15th, 2022, 10:55 pm

I would prefer the new Lexus over the used Lexus/Porsche

My personal gripe would be knowing that my vehicle is related to a cheaper version from the same umbrella of companies
In the case of the new Lexus - I would only see it as a rebadged and facelifted Camry or other Toyota vehicle.
In the case of the Porsche Cayenne - again some rebadged and facelifted vehicle/s from the VA Group (VW AUDI)

However, if the platform is unique to the brand, that is a different story.

Regarding Servicing
Being able to afford to service your vehicle is one thing...the dealership digging out your eye is another.
Using the same vehicles listed. If your Porsche carries the same brake pad, air filter, shock absorber, etc. as another vehicle from the same group...I'm going to use whoever is the cheapest. They are pulling from the same part bins. Also if I find out my "OE branded" parts are made by the same company in the aftermarket...why pay more for the part.

Not all euros are built using superior quality parts and technology, not now anyway...unless you are buying a flagship vehicle from the brand in question. Even then some level of cost-cutting was implemented and the part/s are resold to you as an option.

Regarding the Tyres
People look at different factors in the tyres they buy, price might be the majority, but there is also grip, availability, comfort, longevity, fuel economy, driving conditions, etc.
Cheaper tyres might be an indicator of how one treats their cars, but it might also suit the conditions of how they plan to use their vehicle. At the same time, some lesser-known brands have also improved the quality of the tyres that they offer and they offer a wider range of sizes.