Gas prices in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Gas prices to raise, again.

Postby gastly369 » April 19th, 2022, 7:55 pm

aaron17 wrote:I saw a new Prius on the road. Suddenly , it eh looking all dat ugly now. :shock:
Had a roro leaf that captured my attention
01w.jpg
01w.jpg (24.18 KiB) Viewed 1758 times
02.jpg
02.jpg (25.28 KiB) Viewed 1758 times

Postby aaron17 » April 19th, 2022, 8:03 pm

first time i seeing a body kit on it.

Postby Dave » April 19th, 2022, 8:12 pm

See the Nismo ones!
Thinking I could handle that!

Postby MaxPower » April 19th, 2022, 8:19 pm

The back looks 370Zish..

But its still a Nissan so whatever i guess

Postby gastly369 » April 19th, 2022, 8:20 pm

aaron17 wrote:first time i seeing a body kit on it.
Basically all they did was front n side splitter kit and the rear comes like that stock and well added some wheels...

Postby sMASH » April 19th, 2022, 8:30 pm

agent007 wrote:I never understood why we pushed CNG in the first place. I know it was to satisfy a particular conglomerate but the Honda City was such a lackluster vehicle in the $170k to $180k range.

Built in Thailand and carries 2 airbags, a torsion beam rear suspension and rear drum brakes. The trunk space is suitable for light supermarket shopping or some bakery runs.
Taking your family or friends to the airport in that car is not advised.

Also, similar to Aqua drivers, I'm seeing a lot of road aggression from these City CNG drivers. Listen up owners, VTEC CNG is not the same VTEC found in a Civic EK4 SiR ok. A simple Accent 1.6 will rinse yuh very bad so be careful on who you pick on to impress yuh gf.

Better you just buy a Ciaz, Baleno, Accent, Rio, Yaris or Mazda2 over that City.

Anyway, as was mentioned before, retrofitting a CNG kit into a vehicle that was never designed for it is not a good idea.

What about weight distribution and handling dynamics? How does it affect over or understeer and factors such as wheel camber etc. What about the barrage of coil pack issues, spark plug change-out and cutting rear carpet to drill brackets into the frame of the vehicle. If you OCDish like me, there is absolutely no way I would do something like that to my car especially losing your trunk access or fold-down seat features.

I couldn't sleep right when I installed the rear strut bar in my Lancer EX years ago. I made sure it was done neatly as possible then I recovered it using the factory supplied carpet.

If you all see value in retrofitting or buying a new City then don't let me dissuade you...fix up! Better yet, buy them while you still can cause there is no all new model. What the dealership may have to do is import the replacement model and convert them here lol.
Dummies saw cng as a way to bleed the treasury. JUHN gone climate conference and come back with ev on the mind, cng ded.

We don't make ev, we hadda import, so I suspect, juhn get a cut from solar, wind and ev companies to push it.

Postby st7 » April 19th, 2022, 8:35 pm

of course... he financiers hadda profit while he get a cut

Postby pugboy » April 19th, 2022, 8:50 pm

ferris and he fadda in law hatta collect they rent

Postby The_Honourable » April 19th, 2022, 8:51 pm

So Imbert said this in 2013... :angel:

Imbert: Forget conversion to CNG, Use hybrid vehicles

Fri Nov 22 2013

Opposition MP Colm Imbert said a three-year proposal by the Government to spend $500 million to convert 17,500 vehicles from gasoline and diesel to compressed natural gas would be a waste of taxpayers' money. Imbert spoke in the House of Representatives yesterday during debate to confirm the Excise Duty (Compressed Natural Gas Order, 2013) by Finance and the Economy Minister Larry Howai.

Howai said the measure would effectively reduce the price of CNG, which would encourage drivers to convert to the cleaner fuel. The minister said that was a major initiative aimed at reducing the annual $4 billion fuel subsidy. The initiative also calls for the construction of several CNG stations across the country.

But Imbert said the plan was absurd and was not new, having been repeated by the Government for the past three years. Imbert said not one vehicle was converted to CNG and no new CNG stations were constructed since the People's Partnership Government came into office in May 2010. Minister of State in the Environment and Water Resources Ministry Ramona Ramdial dismissed Imbert's claim, saying three government vehicles have been converted to CNG so far.

Imbert said for the past several years attempts have been made to encourage drivers to convert to CNG but the majority seem uninterested, for several reasons. He said it may be appropriate to consider other alternative fuels, as the CNG plan has been a colossal failure. Imbert said the Government should instead seek to encourage the use of hybrid vehicles as they were more cost-effective than CNG. He said the typical vehicle gives an average of 25 miles to the gallon but a hybrid vehicle gives an average of 50 mpg.

"We need to look at encouraging the use of hybrids in T&T," Imbert told legislators. He said the use of hybrid vehicles (electric and gasoline) would go a long way to addressing the fuel subsidy issue, and suggested the import duty, the value added and motor vehicle taxes should be reduced to zero on hybrid vehicles. Imbert said the Opposition was "very suspicious" about the measure as there was the possibility of corruption.

What's a hybrid vehicle?

A hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) combines a conventional internal combustion engine (ICE) propulsion system with an electric propulsion system. The presence of the electric powertrain is intended to achieve either better fuel economy than a conventional vehicle or better performance. There are a variety of HEV types, and the degree to which they function as EVs varies as well.

The most common form of HEV is the hybrid electric car, although hybrid electric trucks (pickups and tractors) and buses also exist - Wikipedia.

Source: https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... 3dfdf634c3

Postby j.o.e » April 19th, 2022, 9:00 pm

bluefete wrote:
agent007 wrote:Let's consider how many people were immediately affected by the fuel price increases but at the same time, how much of us benefit from subsidies to the air and sea bridges and subventions to uwi, utt, mic and costaat etc.

By that same token, if we unable to sustain a cash bleed on our treasury, then consider removing ALL subsidies and subventions to save tax payers at least a Billion TTD a year.

That Billion dollars can go towards our road and national civil infrastructure so at least we won't be buying shocks, ends, ball joints, steering rack, links and bushings on top of a high fuel bill.

Just a thought.

Has JUHN Scarfy or Impsy indicated where the "savings" on the fuel subsidy are going?

Don't we pay a road tax every time we fill up? It is clear that money is not being used to fix the roads.

Savings from fuel subsidy will go towards some big project where the government can hide corruption and theft.

Remember Imbert and company are not affected by any fuel increase because WE pay them a travel allowance of $6,660.00 per month.

Road improvement tax was removed over 12 years ago ….. I’d say around 2007

juggernaught

Postby juggernaught » April 20th, 2022, 5:54 am

Redress10 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:So is a 50 cent increase in diesel that really have alluh beating up in true?

Trinis really suffering? Every bar full and pumping. Cars parked up outside. We really suppose to subsidise ppl and their lifestyles? If gas too high then lime less or drink less. Is time we identify and subsidise the most vulnerable in society. Anything else is just a waste at this point.

So subsidies supposed to exist indefinitely?
As imbert said and his yard stick measure

"Dey ant riot yet"

That statement alones shows how the red government thinks of the population.

Yet still we have kants like Eliteauto-Tun Tun and J.O.E that supports these ppl .

All yuh take bull , all yuh vote for dat shiitt

Zoom you live and work all over the world. Any other place ever subsidise you?

It have ppl willingly paying thousands a month in car payments to the bank but removing the subsidy a little getting them mad?

Really? So what about all the other ppl who hardly even drive or use a vehicle yet still have to subsidise those who might be overdoing it? If trinis need to go to the doubles man right down the road they drive. They do this because the fuel price isn't restrictive but they are being subsidise so they know they could afford to waste it.

Let everyone get accustom to paying for what they need/use. Chances are they may use less. They may carpool etc. How many times in traffick there's just one person in a vehicle. Imagine husband/wife and children all working and living in the same area but they all have seperate cars etc. That's the reality with TT. It has become extremely inefficient.

What about the subisidy with CAL. 300 dollars for a plane ticket to Tobago when the price suppose to be 900 dollars?

This country clearly has an endless money pit.

I agree whole heartedly with this

Postby RedVEVO » April 20th, 2022, 7:00 am

juggernaught wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:So is a 50 cent increase in diesel that really have alluh beating up in true?

Trinis really suffering? Every bar full and pumping. Cars parked up outside. We really suppose to subsidise ppl and their lifestyles? If gas too high then lime less or drink less. Is time we identify and subsidise the most vulnerable in society. Anything else is just a waste at this point.

"Dey ant riot yet"

Yet still we have kants like Eliteauto-Tun Tun and J.O.E that supports these ppl .

It have ppl willingly paying thousands a month in car payments to the bank but removing the subsidy a little getting them mad?

Really? So what about all the other ppl who hardly even drive or use a vehicle yet still have to subsidise those who might be overdoing it? If trinis need to go to the doubles man right down the road they drive. They do this because the fuel price isn't restrictive but they are being subsidise so they know they could afford to waste it.

Let everyone get accustom to paying for what they need/use. Chances are they may use less. They may carpool etc. How many times in traffick there's just one person in a vehicle. Imagine husband/wife and children all working and living in the same area but they all have seperate cars etc. That's the reality with TT. It has become extremely inefficient.

What about the subisidy with CAL. 300 dollars for a plane ticket to Tobago when the price suppose to be 900 dollars?

Subsidies work well for a limited time .

But why NOW to increase gas and diesel prices ?

Pandemic in T&T caused lots of loss employment and loss of business and removing a subsidy of this particular commodity will bring on increased hardship for many middle class income peeps and lower income earners .

It's an IMF dictated solution or plan that is being pursued .

Postby hover11 » April 20th, 2022, 7:05 am

RedVEVO wrote:
juggernaught wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

"Dey ant riot yet"

Pandemic in T&T caused lots of loss employment and loss of business and removal a subsidy of this particular commodity will bring on increased hardship for many middle class income peeps and lower income earners .

It isn't a good thing when the make up of your country is just subsidies however. Everything is subsidized, we don't pay full price for the essential aspects of life and a Subsidy requires government setting ridiculous sums of money aside every year just to maintain it.

Postby RedVEVO » April 20th, 2022, 7:22 am

hover11 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
juggernaught wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

"Dey ant riot yet"

Pandemic in T&T caused lots of loss employment and loss of business and removal a subsidy of this particular commodity will bring on increased hardship for many middle class income peeps and lower income earners .

It isn't a good thing when the make up of your country is just subsidies however. Everything is subsidized, we don't pay full price for the essential aspects of life and a Subsidy requires government setting ridiculous sums of money aside every year just to maintain it.

The role of ANY Government is to make life better and prosperous for everybody .

The upper income earners will not be affected by removal of the subsidy for these particular commodities - gas and diesel. They mostly likely will be able to cope .

However the large middle class and lower class earners who benefit with subsidies will have increased hardship.

The shift will be distributed in all aspects of their lives to a higher cost of living .

So the Gov't will in effect bring hardship to their supporters .

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 20th, 2022, 9:03 am

278893923_10166513644175472_4179349031210650812_n.jpg

when you come from a 1% and had million dollar business on abercromby street POS , plus make millions from UTT in manning days you can talk such foolishness. when you living month to month and pay check to paycheck and watching your children grieve for necessary items you will protest.

when you have to visit grocery after grocery to get items close to expiring to get a deal price to feed your children you Will protest.
when you not able to walk into a massy any buy all your grocery items which might be 90% imported items you dont care about the sufferers in the country.
when you have to walk cause you have to give your children $60 + to travel to and from school you will protest and he want to say disregard them. insult after insult they spit on supporters and them fools still vote for them for a red jersey.

and dotish kamla dn the UNC will forget all this if an when they get into govt and allow them red and reddy to occupy high positions and ignore their supporters.

Postby S_2NR » April 20th, 2022, 10:23 am

jesus christ... the beat up is strong with this one.
inflation is high everywhere. right now, the us is actually seeing its worst inflation rate since 1981.
the govt is not your guardian angel. they cannot insulate u 100% from everything.

Postby eliteauto » April 20th, 2022, 10:28 am

Men claiming that if the UNC had done this there would have been mass protests, however, the same men would have praised the UNC for raising the fuel by only $1.00 and said they were insulating us from the full brunt. WOFT

Postby S_2NR » April 20th, 2022, 10:33 am

eliteauto wrote:Men claiming that if the UNC had done this there would have been mass protests, however, the same men would have praised the UNC for raising the fuel by only $1.00 and said they were insulating us from the full brunt. WOFT

yeah. one set of party politics BS.
trinidad aint gonna change until ppl put country first.

Postby zoom rader » April 20th, 2022, 10:49 am

eliteauto wrote:Men claiming that if the UNC had done this there would have been mass protests, however, the same men would have praised the UNC for raising the fuel by only $1.00 and said they were insulating us from the full brunt. WOFT
What utter bull5hit coming from you again.

Trinidad would still have a working oil refinery production to supply local demands thus insulating from world oil prices.

Man u full of shitt, so take another Tun Tun award for today
Last edited by zoom rader on April 20th, 2022, 10:49 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby zoom rader » April 20th, 2022, 10:50 am

S_2NR wrote:

You two seem to like d alternative lifestyle, get a room

Postby eliteauto » April 20th, 2022, 11:07 am

What utter bull5hit coming from you again.

Trinidad would still have a working oil refinery production to supply local demands thus insulating from world oil prices.

Man u full of shitt, so take another Tun Tun award for today

So the refinery that used imported oil and current market prices would have produced fuel and sold at a loss would have been good governance to you? Or maybe they would have refined local production, into fuel ran the refinery way below capacity and sold it at the pre-increased price, that would have been excellent business Zoom style?

Yeah I go take my award oui Worl Boss

Postby Les Bain » April 20th, 2022, 11:09 am

daring dragoon wrote:278893923_10166513644175472_4179349031210650812_n.jpg

when you come from a 1% and had million dollar business on abercromby street POS , plus make millions from UTT in manning days you can talk such foolishness. when you living month to month and pay check to paycheck and watching your children grieve for necessary items you will protest.

when you have to visit grocery after grocery to get items close to expiring to get a deal price to feed your children you Will protest.
when you not able to walk into a massy any buy all your grocery items which might be 90% imported items you dont care about the sufferers in the country.
when you have to walk cause you have to give your children $60 + to travel to and from school you will protest and he want to say disregard them. insult after insult they spit on supporters and them fools still vote for them for a red jersey.

and dotish kamla dn the UNC will forget all this if an when they get into govt and allow them red and reddy to occupy high positions and ignore their supporters.

Whoever he is, the government and opposition are insulated from what affects their differing versions of the average citizen of Trinidad and Tobago with their salaries, perks and exemptions. If I coulda spend 300 mil on a mall during a recession/shrinking economy I would pose with the same toots eating grin and tell the populace to pick theyself up by their bootstraps.

All of them could deepthroat their ties till it come through their anus.

Postby eliteauto » April 20th, 2022, 11:10 am

S_2NR wrote:

Aye I have a pardner who does live on this forum and try his best to know men business, what they look like, who they associate with and does call and message other men to ask people business. He always bashing women and does pretend he linking with women from the background he claims to despise. You feel he might like the alternative lifestyle too?

Postby MaxPower » April 20th, 2022, 11:16 am

The average Trini knows not to fall for these false cries and ole noise that only lasts for a few days.

Anyone see any difference in the gas station lines? Or hor

Trinis asses are still too happy.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 20th, 2022, 11:21 am

S_2NR wrote:jesus christ... the beat up is strong with this one.
inflation is high everywhere. right now, the us is actually seeing its worst inflation rate since 1981.
the govt is not your guardian angel. they cannot insulate u 100% from everything.

it have men trolling supermarkets looking for 2 for 1 butter an buying all the stock on the shelf. butter hoss!!! butter! like these men eating this sheit every day to be buying so much butter close to expiring. the govt has a role to stimulate the economy to make investment attractive to first world countries. role to male doing business easier. roll to educate its citizens and make said education afforable at the basic stage at least. which one of them things the pnm doing? just teifing and teifing, all them is multi millionaire an men cant afford to buy butter.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 20th, 2022, 11:24 am

MaxPower wrote:The average Trini knows not to fall for these false cries and ole noise that only lasts for a few days.

it have no difference in the gas station cause they passing the increase in gas up your arse. taxi fair will go up so you cant travel to arima. delivery gone up so you cant but chicken for the gyul you hadda feed he vienna sausage. you too dotish to know how economics work.

Postby eliteauto » April 20th, 2022, 11:25 am

MaxPower wrote:The average Trini knows not to fall for these false cries and ole noise that only lasts for a few days.

It ain't necessarily happiness bro ( though some asses really too happy), people have to live, so after all the ole noise they still have to make their adjustment and soldier on, ole noise eh changing nothing. When the time comes the citizenry can make their displeasure known by their vote. Some people vex because they want others to protest and because that ain't happening they come her to insult and denigrate because they want social unrest to propel them into governance, ask yourself this, some people organized multiple protests yesterday which all buss, but when the fuel price increase was announced in Parliament what did the same people do? Did that ask questions? Did they voice their concern for the small man? Nope

Postby timelapse » April 20th, 2022, 11:28 am

Under UNC it had good roads.PNM increasing their revenues and not spending it on the people.Meanwhile a prominent PNM minister buying a mall in a conflict of interest situation, but nobody saying a thing.PNM sycophants are hypocrites .But Kyamalah still tiefing out de mornay.If was Moonilal buying Trincity mall, it would already have busloads of protesters by the red house getting paid from state funds.Lewwe compare notes in jackaresery by parties nah.PNM will beat them in the north, south ,east and west in bad spending of the taxpayers money every time.But is Kyamalah still.

Postby S_2NR » April 20th, 2022, 11:30 am

eliteauto wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

Aye I have a pardner who does live on this forum and try his best to know men business, what they look like, who they associate with and does call and message other men to ask people business. He always bashing women and does pretend he linking with women from the background he claims to despise. You feel he might like the alternative lifestyle too?

Postby toyolink » April 20th, 2022, 11:32 am

The increase in fuel prices and its impact must be assessed in the context of all the other increases being levied on the national community which is presently suffering from significant real shinkage of income and financial options.
Comparisons with first world countries must also include stimulus and support packages offered by these jurisdictions.
A pragmatic position would suggest that if our domestic trend continues, we may very well reach a point where levels of discontent will traverse all political camps.
Unfortunately, there are many decent hard working folks who are truly quietly struggling to feed and maintain themselves.