Will Smith hits Chris Rock at the Oscars

Re: Will Smith hits Chris Rock at the Oscars

Postby timelapse » March 28th, 2022, 4:18 pm

rollingstock wrote:Will is a simp.

Why defend a woman that publicly embarrassed you.
Is still his wife, so is either a simp or a meow

Postby zoom rader » March 28th, 2022, 4:46 pm

Trini idiots act the same

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 28th, 2022, 4:51 pm

In the mainstream, Will Smith is (was) basically seen like a black Tom Hanks. Very family friendly and with a racial crossover appeal few black actors in America have. That craziness has damaged his reputation immensely.

The slap was bad enough, but then blatantly dropping F-Bombs on live network television is a massive no-no. The FCC will take punitive action against AMPAS and will force changes that might see it feel that that the direction it is going is too risky.

Postby Les Bain » March 28th, 2022, 5:02 pm

DTAC wrote:The FCC will take punitive action against AMPAS and will force changes that might see it feel that that the direction it is going is too risky.

IMO various long standing award shows brought that upon themselves when they started introducing MTV Awards style spectacle in an effort to bring in younger audiences.

Postby Gladiator » March 28th, 2022, 5:02 pm

DTAC wrote:In the mainstream, Will Smith is (was) basically seen like a black Tom Hanks. Very family friendly and with a racial crossover appeal few black actors in America have. That craziness has damaged his reputation immensely.

The slap was bad enough, but then blatantly dropping F-Bombs on live network television is a massive no-no. The FCC will take punitive action against AMPAS and will force changes that might see it feel that that the direction it is going is too risky.

I think you have it wrong... Will Smith is one of my favorite actors but one of the most despised actors in Hollywood, many don't even consider him a top tier actor. I recently read an article speaking of why this was so, he is apparently trying to push his talentless family through Hollywood and making a laughing stock of himself.

This incident is just another nail in the coffin ... sadly.

Postby Chimera » March 28th, 2022, 5:05 pm

Hope will doesnt go off himself . He already seems to be very unstable.

Postby rollingstock » March 28th, 2022, 6:41 pm

I don't condone domestic violence but if ever a man needed to rest some slap on his wife is will. Entangle she mc with some lefts and rights.

Postby pugboy » March 28th, 2022, 7:15 pm

he shoulda drop her and her antics long time

Postby zoom rader » March 28th, 2022, 7:27 pm

Will is failure as a blackman

Remember Tupac pass through Jada so she like the gangster life. She only latch on to Will cause he's a simp. She still dealing gangsters.

Postby redmanjp » March 28th, 2022, 7:37 pm

what i doh get is he self was laughing then see his wife not so happy about d joke, so he go from laughing at d joke to slapping a man fuh d same joke he was laughing at seconds before? nah man. is either u find it funny or offensive. even if u see your wife offended d most u would do is stop laughing or maybe make some comments back, but to swing from laughing to slapping just so? then he should slap his own self.

Postby MaxPower » March 28th, 2022, 7:43 pm

Poor fella,

All that money, all those great movies…and the man is the world’s laughing stock.

On top of that he only crying and just looking so unhappy.

Stay strong Will.

Postby pugboy » March 28th, 2022, 8:15 pm

just like how once a man get put in the fren zone it is impossible to get out
once a man is perceived as a doormat she will never change

Postby The_Honourable » March 28th, 2022, 8:56 pm

Postby De Dragon » March 28th, 2022, 9:58 pm

one eye wrote:Maybe if that pent up energy was spent controlling your sheit weird family where nobody respects you, you might not feel the need to lash out at a defenseless internet users ole talking.

Maybe if you could have a family you wouldn't come here to ole talk :wink:

Postby Country_Bookie » March 28th, 2022, 9:59 pm

Rovin wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Anyway, good thing it wasn't a white man slapping Chris Rock, that guy would have been cancelled harder than Putin.

oooh boi u brave to go there, riots & looting fuh sho , but eventually somebody wud have made a similar comment anyway

this distraction is like rowdy himself call up WS & say here's wa d scene nuh ...

BLM woulda jump out dey self if a non black person slap a black person. Black on black violence is OK though.

What if was a black man slap a white or Spanish or Asian person?? Liberals would justify it... say how black actors under pressure and stress and how much discrimination they face etc etc....

Will and Chris should make a movie now..... lots of free advertising and publicity from that.

Postby De Dragon » March 28th, 2022, 10:05 pm

It's not like he doesn't have the money and fame to brush other women. He made himself a little simp in front of the entire world.

Postby Gladiator » March 28th, 2022, 10:35 pm

Since when alopecia is a "medical condition" ???

Postby De Dragon » March 28th, 2022, 11:03 pm

Gladiator wrote:Since when alopecia is a "medical condition" ???

Since Simpy and Chrome Dome Smith say so.................

Postby nervewrecker » March 29th, 2022, 12:06 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Hope will doesnt go off himself . He already seems to be very unstable.

saw that much at his speech. he alone must know what demons he fighting inside.

Postby De Dragon » March 29th, 2022, 1:13 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Hope will doesnt go off himself . He already seems to be very unstable.

saw that much at his speech. he alone must know what demons he fighting inside.

Nah, as he himself said he just dotish and thin skinned wrt his wife.
He also finally apologized to Chris Rock a day later, not man to man yunno, but via Instagram :roll:

Postby RedVEVO » March 29th, 2022, 2:03 am

zoom rader wrote:Will is failure as a blackman

Remember Tupac pass through Jada so she like the gangster life. She only latch on to Will cause he's a simp. She still dealing gangsters.

Too much information ! :D

On behalf of Will Smith :

%$^&$# .. Slap , slap ..

Bite to the grapes !

And 2 " Cal-Pat " !

Postby redmanjp » March 29th, 2022, 8:20 pm

Postby MaxPower » March 29th, 2022, 8:36 pm

People have lost their lives and homes in Ukraine.

Postby zoom rader » March 29th, 2022, 9:07 pm

MaxPower wrote:People have lost their lives and homes in Ukraine.
Third world problems

Postby timelapse » March 29th, 2022, 9:47 pm

They could come here, is already a free for all for south americans

Postby MaxPower » March 29th, 2022, 10:07 pm

timelapse wrote:
They could come here, is already a free for all for south americans

Once humanity calling we hadda answer pa.

Postby bluefete » March 30th, 2022, 12:27 pm

It is almost as if Kareem Abdul-Jabbar read this post: I am not taking any credit, eh.

bluefete wrote:I just came out from under my rock and am seeing this all over the place.

Let us psychoanalyze.

Has anyone ever seen, in ANY Oscars show, where one person actually hit another?

Then look at the protagonists - 2 DUDES of COLOUR NOT 2 DUDES from CAUCASIA.

Do you people have any idea of the MESSAGE that was sent?

Do you have any idea of the DAMAGE that will be done for YEARS to come?

Do you recognize the typical US stereotype at work?

This goes waaaaayyyyyyyy beyond what people are seeing.

I have my doubts about certain things but the message being sent was just WOW to me.

Tue, March 29, 2022, 10:55 AM

David Artavia

“With a single petulant blow, he advocated violence, diminished women, insulted the entertainment industry, and perpetuated stereotypes about the Black community,”

Abdul-Jabbar writes of Smith, echoing the opinion expressed on Monday by Today host Craig Melvin that it was "troubling on so many levels" for men of color.

Abdul-Jabbar argues the incident was more than just a slap to Rock, but rather a “slap to women.”

“By hitting Rock, he announced that his wife was incapable of defending herself — against words,” he states. “This patronizing, paternal attitude infantilizes women and reduces them to helpless damsels needing a Big Strong Man to defend their honor least they swoon from the vapors.

If he was really doing it for his wife, and not his own need to prove himself, he might have thought about the negative attention this brought on them, much harsher than the benign joke. That would have been truly defending and respecting her.”

https://www.yahoo.com/entertainment/kar ... 18033.html

Postby redmanjp » March 31st, 2022, 12:27 am

Academy initiates 'disciplinary proceedings' against Will Smith over Oscars incident

https://edition.cnn.com/2022/03/30/entertainment/academy-will-smith/index.html

Postby K74T » March 31st, 2022, 1:03 am

Will Simpth

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » March 31st, 2022, 3:05 am

All a hoax to get the failing oscars (and failing will smith unfortunately) back in the news cycle.
Truth be told, wish they both hadn't gone for it.. it does revive all these i-thought-we're-beyond-this, American black-on-black crime narratives.
And Will was really a role model for 90s kids

Truth also that we all will probably forget this by Friday, if we haven't already.
It's really been meme-ed out as it is.

bluefete wrote:It is almost as if Kareem Abdul-Jabbar read this post: I am not taking any credit, eh.

bluefete wrote:I just came out from under my rock and am seeing this all over the place.

Let us psychoanalyze.

Has anyone ever seen, in ANY Oscars show, where one person actually hit another?

Then look at the protagonists - 2 DUDES of COLOUR NOT 2 DUDES from CAUCASIA.

Do you people have any idea of the MESSAGE that was sent?

Do you have any idea of the DAMAGE that will be done for YEARS to come?

Do you recognize the typical US stereotype at work?

This goes waaaaayyyyyyyy beyond what people are seeing.

I have my doubts about certain things but the message being sent was just WOW to me.

Tue, March 29, 2022, 10:55 AM

David Artavia

“With a single petulant blow, he advocated violence, diminished women, insulted the entertainment industry, and perpetuated stereotypes about the Black community,”

Abdul-Jabbar writes of Smith, echoing the opinion expressed on Monday by Today host Craig Melvin that it was "troubling on so many levels" for men of color.

Abdul-Jabbar argues the incident was more than just a slap to Rock, but rather a “slap to women.”

“By hitting Rock, he announced that his wife was incapable of defending herself — against words,” he states. “This patronizing, paternal attitude infantilizes women and reduces them to helpless damsels needing a Big Strong Man to defend their honor least they swoon from the vapors.

If he was really doing it for his wife, and not his own need to prove himself, he might have thought about the negative attention this brought on them, much harsher than the benign joke. That would have been truly defending and respecting her.”

https://www.yahoo.com/entertainment/kar ... 18033.html