Re: Reopening Beaches, Bars, Restaurants, Gyms & Cinemas in T&T

Postby timelapse » February 21st, 2022, 11:03 pm

sMASH wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Overcrowding
https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMLrnnbt3/
And not a mask in sight.

if is in open air, will not be a problem. was never a problem.
if is indoors, would help for like the first 20 mins of occupancy, but after that, u will get break tru a cloth mask. need an n95 to actually filter virus particles. a simple cloth just delays the progress.
Carnival safe then?

Postby redmanjp » February 22nd, 2022, 3:03 pm

so now that evidence for natural immunity is mounting, should unvaxxed ppl who recovered from covid be allowed in safe zones? like in some EU countries, especially now that unvaxxed unimmune kids allowed in?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 22nd, 2022, 4:00 pm

redmanjp wrote:so now that evidence for natural immunity is mounting, should unvaxxed ppl who recovered from covid be allowed in safe zones? like in some EU countries, especially now that unvaxxed unimmune kids allowed in?

'Natural immunity' to COVID has its limits
"Many people likely believe that prior infection will protect them forever, but unfortunately it will not."
https://montrealgazette.com/opinion/col ... its-limits

"mRNA vaccine-induced antibodies more effective than natural immunity in neutralizing SARS-CoV-2 and its high affinity variants"
https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-022-06629-2

You can find evidence for either side

Postby timelapse » February 22nd, 2022, 5:17 pm

Caura was dead today.Just how I like it.

Postby paid_influencer » February 22nd, 2022, 5:26 pm

redmanjp wrote:so now that evidence for natural immunity is mounting, should unvaxxed ppl who recovered from covid be allowed in safe zones? like in some EU countries, especially now that unvaxxed unimmune kids allowed in?

'Natural immunity' to COVID has its limits
"Many people likely believe that prior infection will protect them forever, but unfortunately it will not."
https://montrealgazette.com/opinion/col ... its-limits

"mRNA vaccine-induced antibodies more effective than natural immunity in neutralizing SARS-CoV-2 and its high affinity variants"
https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-022-06629-2

You can find evidence for either side

like this,

"Prior COVID infection more protective than vaccination during Delta surge -U.S. study"

https://www.reuters.com/business/health ... 022-01-19/

Postby paid_influencer » February 22nd, 2022, 5:31 pm

Common sense says yes. Now that covid is endemic, we need to get back to normal. All restrictions must go.

Postby paid_influencer » February 22nd, 2022, 5:51 pm

Bars, Restaurants, and the Events Industry really suffering under these regulations. Vaccinated-only isn't profitable. Slow death to the industry if this continues.

If not remove these regulations now-- WHEN?

Covid ent going anywhere. We have to be the ones to pick up ourselves and declare that that we will no longer let the virus be the boss. End these harmful and divisive regulations. End them NOW.

Postby paid_influencer » February 22nd, 2022, 6:30 pm

we just on the brink of Carnival. Right now, hotels supposed to be booked out, bars packed, Event organizers, taxi men and everybody from the water seller to the cleaner getting a taste. All that economic activity moves upstream to the music producers, the alcohol producers, the graphic artists, the singers, the musicians, the people that provide the support services. Lots of our current and future economic potential relies on having these events.

That section of the economy moving like snail because of the current regulations and these ridiculous vaccine mandates.

Postby adnj » February 22nd, 2022, 6:40 pm

paid_influencer wrote:Bars, Restaurants, and the Events Industry really suffering under these regulations. Vaccinated-only isn't profitable. Slow death to the industry if this continues.

Covid ent going anywhere. We have to be the ones to pick up ourselves and declare that that we will no longer let the virus be the boss. End these harmful and divisive regulations. End them NOW.

When R0 is below 0.5.

Postby paid_influencer » February 22nd, 2022, 6:42 pm

adnj wrote:When R0 is below 0.5.

good to know

Postby paid_influencer » February 22nd, 2022, 6:46 pm

if you scared of the virus, I suggest you get mental help and do what you feel you must do to feel safe.

But please, let us end these ridiculous mandates and let people, both vaccinated and unvaccinated, get back to earning a living.

Postby adnj » February 22nd, 2022, 6:55 pm

paid_influencer wrote:if you scared of the virus, I suggest you get mental help and do what you feel you must do to feel safe.

But please, let us end these ridiculous mandates and let people, both vaccinated and unvaccinated, get back to earning a living.
When R0 hits 0.5. Or when all of the infections and deaths are people that I believe deserve it. I'm okay with either.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 22nd, 2022, 7:44 pm

Covid is a virus - it doesn't know what mandates are in place or does it care
Covid doesn't care about the economy or personal freedoms or your chosen industry
Its purpose is to replicate - and so variants with higher and higher transmissibility keep popping up.

Managing it is about risk assessment.

Postby timelapse » February 22nd, 2022, 7:47 pm

paid_influencer wrote:if you scared of the virus, I suggest you get mental help and do what you feel you must do to feel safe.

If you are scared of financial problems, I suggest you get mental help and do what you feel you must do to feel safe.

Postby MaxPower » February 22nd, 2022, 7:54 pm

timelapse wrote:Caura was dead today.Just how I like it.

Times,

How the place look?

Clean?

Stank?

Postby redmanjp » February 22nd, 2022, 8:10 pm

adnj wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:Bars, Restaurants, and the Events Industry really suffering under these regulations. Vaccinated-only isn't profitable. Slow death to the industry if this continues.

When R0 is below 0.5.

will happen soon once this omicron wave passes - it has come down just as quickly as it exploded in other countries.

i find outdoor mask mandates should be the first to go - US and UK didnt even have that during the peak of omicron. what science we following?

Postby Kenjo » February 22nd, 2022, 8:33 pm

redmanjp wrote:
adnj wrote:

When R0 is below 0.5.

will happen soon once this omicron wave passes - it has come down just as quickly as it exploded in other countries.

i find outdoor mask mandates should be the first to go - US and UK didnt even have that during the peak of omicron. what science we following?

What’s the issue with masks though ? Environmental ? … yeah I through in that point

Postby adnj » February 22nd, 2022, 8:43 pm

Kenjo wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
adnj wrote:

When R0 is below 0.5.

What’s the issue with masks though ? Environmental ? … yeah I through in that point
The US and the UK both have higher 2× and 2×+B vaccination rates. Pick someplace else to compare.

Pi will post post post post about restrictions needing to be lifted when all of the reasons for restrictions don't go away first. Decrease R0, increase vaccinations or make sure that all of the unvaccinated people can't mingle. You don't know when or how long ago natural immunity was acquired.

But wait! Those are restrictions!!

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2022, 3:45 am

Went cinema first time since the pandemic in CC8. They did ask for proof of vaccination. In fact twice by the ticket counter and by the door. But they accepted a Pic of it on my phone. The girl behind the counter was very thorough. She check for both doses as well as the dates of each. Then my name and my ID. So no unvaxxed getting in there. Haven't been to movietowne so doh know the situation there.

But it only had about 20 or so ppl inside so I didn't mind taking off mask to eat meh popcorn.

Postby timelapse » March 20th, 2022, 6:55 am

timelapse wrote:Caura was dead today.Just how I like it.

Times,

How the place look?

Clean?

Stank?
It was clean, but slightly overgrown with vegetation.Not entirely a bad thing.We had the opportunity to watch a hummingbird build a nest

Postby Dizzy28 » March 20th, 2022, 9:48 am

Went to Tommy's on Friday. First safe zone visit since the initiative came out. They barely looked at the pic of the vax card on my phone and didn't ask for photo ID. Without expanding the pic it's almost impossible to make out the writing so a 1 second glance isn't determining anything useful.

Guess different places treat with it differently.
Anyhows we move!!!!!!
redmanjp wrote:Went cinema first time since the pandemic in CC8. They did ask for proof of vaccination. In fact twice by the ticket counter and by the door. But they accepted a Pic of it on my phone. The girl behind the counter was very thorough. She check for both doses as well as the dates of each. Then my name and my ID. So no unvaxxed getting in there. Haven't been to movietowne so doh know the situation there.

But it only had about 20 or so ppl inside so I didn't mind taking off mask to eat meh popcorn.

Postby timelapse » March 20th, 2022, 5:04 pm

Didn't know where to put this
IMG-20220320-WA0025.jpg

Postby MaxPower » March 20th, 2022, 5:22 pm

Tommy’s is the place to be.

Absolutely love the Venezuelan workers and i take pleasure in tipping them handsomely.

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2022, 8:27 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Went to Tommy's on Friday. First safe zone visit since the initiative came out. They barely looked at the pic of the vax card on my phone and didn't ask for photo ID. Without expanding the pic it's almost impossible to make out the writing so a 1 second glance isn't determining anything useful.

Guess different places treat with it differently.
Anyhows we move!!!!!!
redmanjp wrote:Went cinema first time since the pandemic in CC8. They did ask for proof of vaccination. In fact twice by the ticket counter and by the door. But they accepted a Pic of it on my phone. The girl behind the counter was very thorough. She check for both doses as well as the dates of each. Then my name and my ID. So no unvaxxed getting in there. Haven't been to movietowne so doh know the situation there.

I would still make sure I have it and my ID in case the TTPS Safe Zone unit pass through. Both patron and owner going down if no proof of vaccination.