Best doubles in T&T

daring dragoon

Re: One doubles.........

Postby daring dragoon » March 9th, 2022, 4:37 am

Back in d day by valpark i used to call d girl rose yes. When i hold up she hand daddy used to vex. A day my head nice an ask kelvin how he moving so slow like he have worms an he refuse to sell me that night we.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 9th, 2022, 4:43 am

Premchand1976 wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
timelapse wrote:
pugboy wrote:peanut butter and jam ftw
Dawg: try a Smash special, jam and cheese
Also, Max if you really pick up a doubles girl yuh gt

rose probably available now that kelvin gone. that mamoo used to cork block. couldnt even get to pull a lil convo with she although i aint know if she watching me or she daddy.
Rose was his wife....Kim is the daughter that stood with him. Long , sad story heard from him personally, caused his illness, and this eventuality

What!! A woman cause a man demise? Unheard off . Better to pay a $300 an have no stress when the dealing done.

Postby Kenjo » March 9th, 2022, 5:09 am

daring dragoon wrote:
timelapse wrote:
pugboy wrote:peanut butter and jam ftw
Dawg: try a Smash special, jam and cheese
Also, Max if you really pick up a doubles girl yuh gt

rose probably available now that kelvin gone. that mamoo used to cork block. couldnt even get to pull a lil convo with she although i aint know if she watching me or she daddy.

Thus took a while to be stated in here

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 9th, 2022, 5:21 am

maj. tom wrote:Looking forward to tasting a fresh Trini doubles again. I used to like Pablo's opposite UWI on College Bar corner. Doubles are always subjective, so no use debating it.

welcome back sir

snatman

Postby snatman » March 9th, 2022, 9:31 am

maj. tom wrote:Looking forward to tasting a fresh Trini doubles again. I used to like Pablo's opposite UWI on College Bar corner. Doubles are always subjective, so no use debating it.

Back in the day, Pablo used to ride around Tunapuna selling doubles from his bike.
Guy now has a few outlets in the Pasea area. Good guy. Good doubles. I'm really proud of his success!

Postby Dizzy28 » March 9th, 2022, 9:39 am

snatman wrote:

Back in the day, Pablo used to ride around Tunapuna selling doubles from his bike.
Guy now has a few outlets in the Pasea area. Good guy. Good doubles. I'm really proud of his success!

Yip, I know Pablo from primary school where he would come and sell from his bike on the breaks.
This is back in the day where you could get a Singles for 50cents.

Pablo is one of my go to for several reasons. The other is Maharaj Street, Tunapuna -
1/ Closeness
2/ Thin Bara (I'm no fan of the fat stuff)
3/Runny Channa (Also my preference)
4/ The right mix of condiments. His shadow beni sauce is just right. No need for sweet sauce. Pepper doesn't overpower the overall doubles if you take a medium.

Postby timelapse » March 9th, 2022, 12:59 pm

snatman wrote:

Yip, I know Pablo from primary school where he would come and sell from his bike on the breaks.
This is back in the day where you could get a Singles for 50cents.

Pablo is one of my go to for several reasons. The other is Maharaj Street, Tunapuna -
1/ Closeness
2/ Thin Bara (I'm no fan of the fat stuff)
3/Runny Channa (Also my preference)
4/ The right mix of condiments. His shadow beni sauce is just right. No need for sweet sauce. Pepper doesn't overpower the overall doubles if you take a medium.
Try saying medium pepper won't kill you down south nah.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » March 9th, 2022, 2:18 pm

My order is usually slight channa, medium pepper and nuttin sweet. Bara must be thin and soft or thick but fluffed

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » March 9th, 2022, 2:55 pm

I bought doubles by pablo by college bar and it had a fowl feather cook up in the channa, i stop buying by him after that

Postby rollingstock » March 9th, 2022, 3:01 pm

Free protein

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2022, 3:06 pm

you never eat curry duck where it not roast properly and have some feathers still intact?

don’t prejudice small things like that

rexsmith wrote:I bought doubles by pablo by college bar and it had a fowl feather cook up in the channa, i stop buying by him after that

One doubles.........

Postby MaxPower » March 9th, 2022, 3:23 pm

pugboy wrote:you never eat curry duck where it not roast properly and have some feathers still intact?

don’t prejudice small things like that

rexsmith wrote:I bought doubles by pablo by college bar and it had a fowl feather cook up in the channa, i stop buying by him after that

pug,

The duck has feathers so finding feathers is normal, even in chicken.

But how feathers end up in channa questions cleanliness bro. Also remember someone finding feathers in channa when they fasting also raises concerns.
Last edited by MaxPower on March 9th, 2022, 3:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » March 9th, 2022, 3:25 pm

Worse if you find curly hair in it and the vendor bald

Postby MaxPower » March 9th, 2022, 3:27 pm

timelapse wrote:Worse if you find curly hair in it and the vendor bald

Or thick nose hair.

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2022, 3:43 pm

that would be expected as few vendors do the cooking themselves and many simply buying and reselling bara/channa from factories

Postby rollingstock » March 9th, 2022, 4:31 pm

pugboy wrote:that would be expected as few vendors do the cooking themselves and many simply buying and reselling bara/channa from factories

I feel is jhat hair he talkin about

Postby eliteauto » March 9th, 2022, 5:31 pm

pugboy wrote:that would be expected as few vendors do the cooking themselves and many simply buying and reselling bara/channa from factories

The whole pot of channa juta now

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2022, 5:36 pm

depends on race

Postby timelapse » March 9th, 2022, 6:18 pm

pugboy wrote:depends on race

All jhat curly bhai.
Thats the flavour profile that you can't reproduce at home

Postby rollingstock » March 9th, 2022, 6:38 pm

Jhat is jhat bhai. All curly same way.

Always wondered how a doubles would taste with cheese.

Postby K74T » March 9th, 2022, 6:44 pm

I had an aloo pie with cheese for thr first time recently and it was good.

Postby timelapse » March 9th, 2022, 6:48 pm

rollingstock wrote:Jhat is jhat bhai. All curly same way.

Similar to cheese and channa sammich from Nick's

Postby MaxPower » March 9th, 2022, 6:56 pm

timelapse wrote:

Dem gone tru

Postby timelapse » March 9th, 2022, 7:22 pm

timelapse wrote:

Dem gone tru
Just the flavour profile.Havent had it since before Covid

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » March 9th, 2022, 10:28 pm

any good doubles to look for in marabella?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » March 9th, 2022, 10:50 pm

Anybody know the pieman that used to be by republic Bank on the corner of Charlotte and Park? Where you could get a good baked pie like that in the west these days?

Postby st7 » March 10th, 2022, 4:05 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Anybody know the pieman that used to be by republic Bank on the corner of Charlotte and Park? Where you could get a good baked pie like that in the west these days?

i thought he was corner of Henry and Park... but this was around 2004/5 lol

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » March 10th, 2022, 8:23 pm

st7 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:Anybody know the pieman that used to be by republic Bank on the corner of Charlotte and Park? Where you could get a good baked pie like that in the west these days?

i thought he was corner of Henry and Park... but this was around 2004/5 lol

Round that time self I talking about. He used to be opposite rosary

Postby rollingstock » March 10th, 2022, 9:56 pm

The guy from Belmont?

Is best I don't say anything.

Postby pugboy » March 10th, 2022, 10:01 pm