Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Rovin » February 23rd, 2022, 12:40 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

Cordless grinder
More specifically dewalt 20v brushless

Worth it?
or not?

And reviews of other brands are welcome in terms of run time and power (or lack off)

never tried any as yet as d corded versions are now so dog cheap avg $400 & d battery 1s like 4-5 times d price ... obviously run time of any batt tool will be better with a higher AH rating batt which adds to expense & weight of d tool too

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2022, 1:46 pm

i have one and it’s convenient when i go to buy few lengths of steel to cut in half

hindian

Postby hindian » February 23rd, 2022, 2:25 pm

pugboy wrote:i have one and it’s convenient when i go to buy few lengths of steel to cut in half
For me if is RHS, hacksaw for it for solid steel like round or square profile, bolt cutter IHMC

Postby *KRONIK* » February 23rd, 2022, 2:38 pm

Rovin wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

Cordless grinder
More specifically dewalt 20v brushless

Worth it?
or not?

And reviews of other brands are welcome in terms of run time and power (or lack off)

never tried any as yet as d corded versions are now so dog cheap avg $400 & d battery 1s like 4-5 times d price ... obviously run time of any batt tool will be better with a higher AH rating batt which adds to expense & weight of d tool too
I understand what u saying, but convenience of no cord always wins for me
pugboy wrote:i have one and it’s convenient when i go to buy few lengths of steel to cut in half
Its just for general use, a lil cup brushing, cut some steel, grind some stuff, flap discs
Kinda all purpose

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » February 23rd, 2022, 3:13 pm

cordless is d bess. dewalt have a 20V for d small tools and a 60V system for d big garden tools like wacker n chainsaw.
but for angle grinder n the circle saw d man in the store had tell me dem ting yuh want to buy the big 10amph battery and nuh d 1.7Ah

d small 20V is really for d small tools like d drill n flash light laser....he say dem bigger tools pull rel power and it go still work wid d small 20V buh it go slow down and ded faster.

so when i check d price on d big battery ah put it down and leave and went n take out ah mortgage on d galvanize shack.

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2022, 4:36 pm

the 20v works very good, on par with milwaukee 18v

you need a battery at least 4ah to do the heavy stuff
the little ones 2ah dont cut it

Postby *KRONIK* » February 23rd, 2022, 5:05 pm

pugboy wrote:the 20v works very good, on par with milwaukee 18v

you need a battery at least 4ah to do the heavy stuff
the little ones 2ah dont cut it
Yea
I got 2x 5Ah for the drill and big impact wrench

Postby Rovin » February 23rd, 2022, 5:49 pm

if cost is not an issue then go it, if u already have batts in other dewalt tools then u can jes buy d bare tool or get a deal with a batt\tool combo same time ...

Postby *KRONIK* » February 23rd, 2022, 6:40 pm

Rovin wrote:if cost is not an issue then go it, if u already have batts in other dewalt tools then u can jes buy d bare tool or get a deal with a batt\tool combo same time ...
Yes

Thats the plan, i usually just buy bare tools now cuz i cant use all the tools at the same time
Lol

Postby Chimera » February 26th, 2022, 8:45 am

How allyuh fellas does clean and maintain drill bits and other metal tools? Honestly drill bits is something I never take on. Yesterday I realize how heavy the rust is on some of the sds bits.

Googled solutions and ended up soaking them in baking soda and vinegar for a few hours.

Rust melt right off yes.

Wiped them down and gave them a dip in new engine oil for storage onto a cloth.

Would post up a pic of the comparison later . It really work amazing

Postby Chimera » February 26th, 2022, 8:51 am

This is a file and a mini auger that I only soaked the bottom half in the vinegar and baking soda
20220226_085017.jpg
20220226_085004.jpg
20220226_084956.jpg

Postby Chimera » February 26th, 2022, 8:55 am

All these bits had some heavy rust on them before
20220226_085506.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » February 26th, 2022, 9:16 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:How allyuh fellas does clean and maintain drill bits and other metal tools? Honestly drill bits is something I never take on. Yesterday I realize how heavy the rust is on some of the sds bits.

Googled solutions and ended up soaking them in baking soda and vinegar for a few hours.

Rust melt right off yes.

Wiped them down and gave them a dip in new engine oil for storage onto a cloth.

Would post up a pic of the comparison later . It really work amazing
Typically, i wipe with a dry paper towel and apply a light coat of penetrating oil with another before storage. All my bits look unused.....lol

Postby *KRONIK* » February 26th, 2022, 9:18 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:All these bits had some heavy rust on them before
20220226_085506.jpg
I used vingear on some tools i found while cleaning out a store room.
Worked great.
I oiled all the stuff when they dried and they in good condition after almost 5 years

Postby Chimera » February 26th, 2022, 9:19 am

I never take it on much because by the time workers done with bits I doesn't find them back and does always end up buying new if need be

But the last 2 years I stop doing camera jobs so these bits just in a tool bag rusting.

Postby Rovin » February 26th, 2022, 11:26 am

wonder rust remover & pass d tools on a benchtop grinder that has a wire wheel, then i spray with wd40 ..
Last edited by Rovin on February 26th, 2022, 12:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » February 26th, 2022, 12:03 pm

try the vinegar and baking soda

cheaper, easier

wonder/wonda expensive

Postby Kenjo » February 26th, 2022, 12:25 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:try the vinegar and baking soda

cheaper, easier

wonder/wonda expensive

Excellent piece of advice

Postby Rovin » February 26th, 2022, 12:31 pm

well what happen is every now\then whenever we do some work we buy 1 or 2 1 liters so always have a few bottles around, a little goes a long way, it remains stable in d bottles for yrsss & imo its not that expensive

we also have 1 or 2 bottles of CHRISTLE brand rust remover [same company who makes d pvc glue] which works good too & somehow i find its not as toxic looking\smelling as wonder ...

Postby *KRONIK* » February 26th, 2022, 12:36 pm

Rovin wrote:well what happen is every now\then whenever we do some work we buy 1 or 2 1 liters so always have a few bottles around, a little goes a long way, it remains stable in d bottles for yrsss & imo its not that expensive

we also have 1 or 2 bottles of CHRISTLE brand rust remover [same company who makes d pvc glue] which works good too & somehow i find its not as toxic looking\smelling as wonder ...
The crystle is a boss product if is rust converting you after

I used that to oxidize some steel bolts last week
Came out rel proper

Postby Chimera » March 1st, 2022, 9:43 am

Have a few things that the baking soda vinegar not doing the job.

Wonder expensive though.$58 for a liter.

Vinegar is $20 a gallon and baking soda is $10. A box.

Vinegar and baking soda for most things.

Wonder and others only when necessary. Also it seems there's a big shortage of 3m/ scotch outdoor mounting tape
20220301_094127.jpg

Postby Chimera » March 1st, 2022, 3:59 pm

Can I use this to paint this stove? Any reason not to use this specific product
20220301_155836.jpg
20220301_155832.jpg

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » March 1st, 2022, 4:05 pm

i do dat already but with a spray paint. only where d fire was direct touching for long it get black n burn up. dat engine enamel looking good for dis job tho.
get ah box of toothpick n stick dem hole before u spray. n clog all d intake with cotton soak in ah lil oil.

Postby supercharged turbo » March 2nd, 2022, 1:41 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Have a few things that the baking soda vinegar not doing the job.

Wonder expensive though.$58 for a liter.

Vinegar is $20 a gallon and baking soda is $10. A box.

Vinegar and baking soda for most things.

Wonder and others only when necessary. Also it seems there's a big shortage of 3m/ scotch outdoor mounting tape
20220301_094127.jpg
I thought it was only me that noticed that 3m mounting tape shortage

Postby pugboy » March 2nd, 2022, 4:35 am

what about the super strong vhb version?

Postby pugboy » March 2nd, 2022, 4:37 am

there is a rustoleum high heat bbq paint which might work better

Phone Surgeon wrote:Can I use this to paint this stove? Any reason not to use this specific product20220301_155832.jpg20220301_155836.jpg

Postby Dave » March 2nd, 2022, 6:33 am

That Harris should also work well.

Postby Chimera » March 2nd, 2022, 11:24 am

pugboy wrote:there is a rustoleum high heat bbq paint which might work better

Phone Surgeon wrote:Can I use this to paint this stove? Any reason not to use this specific product20220301_155832.jpg20220301_155836.jpg

i went bhagwansingh chag to buy the rustoleum because i know i see it in bhagwansingh piarco branch a while back

turns out that bhagwansingh chaguanas branch only sells the Krylon brand of products

Piarco sells the Rustoleum line

ended up in SWS later in the day and saw this harris engine enamel and bought it

Postby De Dragon » March 2nd, 2022, 12:26 pm

Lemme know how this turns out please. I have literally the same issue and product, but red enamel :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » March 2nd, 2022, 2:44 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
pugboy wrote:there is a rustoleum high heat bbq paint which might work better

i went bhagwansingh chag to buy the rustoleum because i know i see it in bhagwansingh piarco branch a while back

turns out that bhagwansingh chaguanas branch only sells the Krylon brand of products

Piarco sells the Rustoleum line

ended up in SWS later in the day and saw this harris engine enamel and bought it
Piarco has no rustoelum at present
I went about 2weeks ago to get and failure
End up with a can of krylon P&P