Residential Generators

Blaze d Chalice

Re: Residential Generators

Postby Blaze d Chalice » February 17th, 2022, 10:46 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Where you going to work or school with a nationwide power outage? Lol.
At the very least the kids staying home.

But kix yes.

"Men" fraid to bathe by the tank or from a barrel.

Me eh give him wrong.
I wouldn't bathe outside by the tanks because me eh want the Vene gyul dem to see my buttom.
I will have to walk with a piece of galvanize too?

bgh

Postby bgh » February 17th, 2022, 10:47 pm

Low tech soultions.

Lanher ebulb from true value or massy. Works like a regular bulb with built-in battery that can last about 3 hours. Just flip the switch.

Water Tanks on 8 foot concrete structures so gravity flow to ground floor. Bonus will be a storeroom

Medium tech..

Partial generator. Solar controller and panels to come.
Used last night for Fans and to charged phones and small battery banks.

20220216_141200.jpg
IMG-20220217-WA0001.jpg
Last edited by bgh on February 17th, 2022, 10:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » February 17th, 2022, 10:50 pm

i live on a slight hill which already does have low pressure sometimes so putting tanks 8 feet higher would mean no water a lot of times. booster station always breaking down :(

how were u able to use it without solar panels?
Last edited by redmanjp on February 17th, 2022, 10:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 17th, 2022, 10:55 pm

These solar powered and inverter systems are very enticing but like generator owners, the homes that will enjoy electricity in times of blackout can be easily identified.

So if we're experiencing anarchy, it's easy for people to identify which house refrigerator will have properly preserved meats, foods and even cold water to drink..

Like in the movie war of the world's when Tom cruise was driving the only working van, they were automatically a target.

So we need an underground safe room now and lots of firepower.

Postby redmanjp » February 17th, 2022, 10:58 pm

^blackout curtains may be a low tech solution to that.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 17th, 2022, 11:31 pm

agent007 wrote:These solar powered and inverter systems are very enticing but like generator owners, the homes that will enjoy electricity in times of blackout can be easily identified.

So if we're experiencing anarchy, it's easy for people to identify which house refrigerator will have properly preserved meats, foods and even cold water to drink..

Like in the movie war of the world's when Tom cruise was driving the only working van, they were automatically a target.

So we need an underground safe room now and lots of firepower.

Jesus Christ, you watching too much mad max

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 18th, 2022, 5:13 am

Should sticky this thread... Nice info in here. Agent007, may have missed it, but what brand you running and where to purchase. Thanks! I need something to run my water pump because ad electricity goes it automatically means no water.

wing

Postby wing » February 18th, 2022, 6:47 am

redmanjp wrote:no power means several things:

even if u manage to have a pipe close to the tank u have to carry it into the house. fair enough for 1 person but if u have a family with children u have to do it multiple times, including upstairs in a multistory house

u would need extra buckets for the toilet as well

it would be cold especially if its early morning, especially this time of year when temps reaching in the low 20s

at night/early morning it means u going outside in pitch black settings which means u could bounce into something- this is also a security risk with bandits under cover of dark.

the bathroom would be dark as well- and if power went while u already wet or soapy u cant just get a candle or light as u may have done if u were now going to bathe after the power went.

and that is only the bathroom story- not to mention preparing meals, having to open fridge and risk spoilage of stuff in a prolonged outage.

also try being on time for work with all that inconvenience during a morning power outage
Red, your statements here are symptomatic of a greater problem in modern society, a loss of strong men and masculinity. Assuming you are male ofc, as the man of the house, won't you do whatever it takes to take care of your family? Is a little inconvenience all that it takes to turn into anarchy? You should be used to it by now since you experience numerous outages. Man up bro and do what's necessary.

Postby Kenjo » February 18th, 2022, 7:09 am

In real disasters water pump and walking up stairs is not a priority if it’s survival of the fittest . You can’t be wasting gas in that when you would be doing a free farmers walk exercise . I think the topic is way over mens head . There are even small solar chargers for usb charging of phones

Postby Chimera » February 18th, 2022, 8:22 am

Another thing to consider is if your have already have portable tools and the battery packs to go along with them...thats a good source for light and to charge phones

I have about 15 m12 and m18 Milwaukee batteries and I have spot lights, torch lights that use the same batteries.

Ordered a few more last night as well as the ones that have usb charging ports.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 18th, 2022, 9:06 am

For those who can manage without it, cool. Power to you. No pun intended.
Bear in mind, not everyone's situation is the same.
Some are single parents with small children, large families, sick/disabled people in the house etc.

For those who are contributing productively, keep it coming.

Also think bigger picture. In terms of natural disasters with widespread damage - If you are without power for a week or two. This small investment will be worth it.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 18th, 2022, 9:07 am

bgh wrote:Low tech soultions.

Lanher ebulb from true value or massy. Works like a regular bulb with built-in battery that can last about 3 hours. Just flip the switch.

Water Tanks on 8 foot concrete structures so gravity flow to ground floor. Bonus will be a storeroom

Medium tech..

Partial generator. Solar controller and panels to come.
Used last night for Fans and to charged phones and small battery banks.

IMG-20220217-WA0001.jpg20220216_141200.jpg

A combination of solutions is a great idea.
Not all can work for everyone, but people can cherrypick what fits their need. 8-)

Postby pugboy » February 18th, 2022, 9:13 am

yeah
it is really about assessing your situation and
what can be done for short term(4-6hrs) vs 6+hrs

and more importantly security issues at all time given that cockroaches like to come out at night

Postby 88sins » February 18th, 2022, 9:23 am

pugboy wrote:yeah
it is really about assessing your situation and
what can be done for short term(4-6hrs) vs 6+hrs

and more importantly security issues at all time given that cockroaches like to come out at night

Especially this.
My alarm, cctv system and internet is on a backup power bank that can run for about 48hrs during an outage.
Between that and the pack always loose and my paranoid self usually up most nights I got the security aspect of it covered.

Postby j.o.e » February 18th, 2022, 9:41 am

Kenjo wrote:In real disasters water pump and walking up stairs is not a priority if it’s survival of the fittest . You can’t be wasting gas in that when you would be doing a free farmers walk exercise . I think the topic is way over mens head . There are even small solar chargers for usb charging of phones

Yea. Too much men want luxury in disaster. While pump is a convenience it’s not necessary in disaster.
Food, drinking water, security. In trinidad we all have tanks. Picture other countries where they don’t.

Postby Redman » February 18th, 2022, 9:50 am

Extending away into more general issues.

Medicine here has a fragile supply chain.
The US is seeing some shortages of meds supplied out of China, while locally pharmacies seeing shortages on an ongoing basis

Weve built up a 3 month float of the necessary meds, pain meds light antibiotics etc

Same with the LPG,water and some other consumables.

abbow

Postby abbow » February 18th, 2022, 10:01 am

demented wrote:PROCOM in Point Lisas has complete residential systems with ATS (Automatic Transfer Switches) which will be required by T&TEC.
https://www.procomtt.com/products/power-generation

Thanks for the mention bro...

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 18th, 2022, 10:17 am

abbow wrote:
demented wrote:PROCOM in Point Lisas has complete residential systems with ATS (Automatic Transfer Switches) which will be required by T&TEC.
https://www.procomtt.com/products/power-generation

Thanks for the mention bro...

Any regular/non-ats solutions for us that you can share info on?

I know the pro-com name good, so I assume after sales support/service would be top tier.

wing

Postby wing » February 18th, 2022, 10:44 am

Redman wrote:Extending away into more general issues.

The US is seeing some shortages of meds supplied out of China, while locally pharmacies seeing shortages on an ongoing basis

Weve built up a 3 month float of the necessary meds, pain meds light antibiotics etc

Good info there. Also a stash of petty cash as well. Depending on where you live, in cases of disaster, you going to be in a mess for a while.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 18th, 2022, 4:03 pm

wing wrote:
Redman wrote:Extending away into more general issues.

Good info there. Also a stash of petty cash as well. Depending on where you live, in cases of disaster, you going to be in a mess for a while.
Depending on the size of your household and specific needs in times of a disaster,you would need to keep some fairly significant sum of cash home.

Let's say we get hit by a hurricane and electricity and phone lines go down for a minimum of 3 days in most areas,for a family of four with two kids,$1000-$2000 not really doing anything for you.If you run out of toiletries/pampers/bottled water/batteries etc,is only known the basic items would become scarce and expensive so I would put the minimum figure at around $5000.

Postby pugboy » February 18th, 2022, 4:22 pm

that is the thing with the new “landlines” which are simply cellphones in a physical base.

the long time copper landlines were less affected

Postby bluefete » February 18th, 2022, 4:39 pm

redmanjp wrote:no power means several things:

even if u manage to have a pipe close to the tank u have to carry it into the house. fair enough for 1 person but if u have a family with children u have to do it multiple times, including upstairs in a multistory house (Real good exerise)

u would need extra buckets for the toilet as well (More exercise)

it would be cold especially if its early morning, especially this time of year when temps reaching in the low 20s (You never bathe in barrel or drum water at 5;00 a.m. in the morning?)

at night/early morning it means u going outside in pitch black settings which means u could bounce into something- this is also a security risk with bandits under cover of dark. (Where you really living? Yuh doh have torchlight? Cellphone? Flambeaux?)

the bathroom would be dark as well- and if power went while u already wet or soapy u cant just get a candle or light as u may have done if u were now going to bathe after the power went. (Obviously, you do not know the magic of taking a "cowboy")

and that is only the bathroom story- not to mention preparing meals, having to open fridge and risk spoilage of stuff in a prolonged outage. (So is every minute you would open the fridge so? To prepare meals should not be a problem. If you have a gas / pitch oil stove the light from the flames can go far)

also try being on time for work with all that inconvenience during a morning power outage. (Lord have mercy. Is one setta excuse. You could not live in caveman times or in T&T about 30-50 years ago. People used to get up early, bathe in COLD barrel water, go to the latrine in darkness, make their cocoa tea with hops bread, iron using the heat from a coal pot, leave home and still reach to work / school EARLY.)

Sorry, eh But you sounding like a real ENTITLED NOOB!

Postby bluefete » February 18th, 2022, 4:50 pm

pugboy wrote:that is the thing with the new “landlines” which are simply cellphones in a physical base.

Exactly. I do not understand why my landline which used to work in an outage, now has been upgraded to modern wireless technology and no longer works when electricity goes.

One step forward and 2 steps backwards?

Postby pugboy » February 18th, 2022, 4:55 pm

those whose property is supplied with a water pump most of the time should check if they get free flow of water via gravity from a full tank to their showers with the pump switched off.

unless your plumbing is very basic you would be surprised that unless the tank is at least a half storey off the ground you would only get a trickle due to piping resistance/friction esp with the design of many faucet mixers nowadays.

either way you should have a garden tap coming directly off the tank so you can fill buckets there and bathe there if necessary.
having more than one tank is a good idea so you can lockoff one as a reserve in times like this.

Postby pugboy » February 18th, 2022, 4:56 pm

its not even forward because my own often needs to be repowered and many other ppl i know have same issue.

bluefete wrote:
pugboy wrote:that is the thing with the new “landlines” which are simply cellphones in a physical base.

Exactly. I do not understand why my landline which used to work in an outage, now has been upgraded to modern wireless technology and no longer works when electricity goes.

wing

Postby wing » February 18th, 2022, 5:10 pm

pugboy wrote:those whose property is supplied with a water pump most of the time should check if they get free flow of water via gravity from a full tank to their showers with the pump switched off.

unless your plumbing is very basic you would be surprised that unless the tank is at least a half storey off the ground you would only get a trickle due to piping resistance/friction esp with the design of many faucet mixers nowadays.

either way you should have a garden tap coming directly off the tank so you can fill buckets there and bathe there if necessary.
having more than one tank is a good idea so you can lockoff one as a reserve in times like this.
Correct Pug. The most basic of plumbing sense would do something like this, but the modern male seems to not able to handle his stories in times of hardship. Probably more focused on IT matters than preparing for the worst...

Postby pugboy » February 18th, 2022, 5:14 pm

i should add with the wasa road supply locked off when checking

Postby supercharged turbo » February 18th, 2022, 5:27 pm

Yup..like everybody have that same repower complaint.
pugboy wrote:its not even forward because my own often needs to be repowered and many other ppl i know have same issue.

bluefete wrote:

0rb1tz

Postby 0rb1tz » February 18th, 2022, 5:47 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Yup..like everybody have that same repower complaint.
pugboy wrote:its not even forward because my own often needs to be repowered and many other ppl i know have same issue.

bluefete wrote:

Cable landline telephones now use a VoIP system over the internet to connect calls. That is why the modem must be booted up first and have an internet connection before the phone lights start blinking. They're saving an insane amount of money compared to old exchange systems and still charging you a lot. It is similar to how Skype Credit works, and you can call any phone in the world through Skype at a subscription cost. Well that's what cable companies are doing.

As for why Flow is down still for some places, this was already explained:
viewtopic.php?p=10259039#p10258953

hindian

Postby hindian » February 18th, 2022, 6:09 pm

Fellas what are your thoughts on a full 12v mobile system? Much like the type the aussies use when going deep into the bush for days on end? I'm looking at trying my hand at building a 12v fridge from a Coleman or igloo cooler as there are lots of diy youtube videos. I used inverter power on a 13 plate diesel battery during the blackout to run a lightbulb,charge phones, run a lasko with headroom to spare. Every 1 1/2 hours I started the car and let it run for 15 mins and it worked out well for a family of 3.