Phone Surgeon wrote:Where you going to work or school with a nationwide power outage? Lol.
At the very least the kids staying home.
But kix yes.
"Men" fraid to bathe by the tank or from a barrel.
agent007 wrote:These solar powered and inverter systems are very enticing but like generator owners, the homes that will enjoy electricity in times of blackout can be easily identified.
So if we're experiencing anarchy, it's easy for people to identify which house refrigerator will have properly preserved meats, foods and even cold water to drink..
Like in the movie war of the world's when Tom cruise was driving the only working van, they were automatically a target.
So we need an underground safe room now and lots of firepower.
Red, your statements here are symptomatic of a greater problem in modern society, a loss of strong men and masculinity. Assuming you are male ofc, as the man of the house, won't you do whatever it takes to take care of your family? Is a little inconvenience all that it takes to turn into anarchy? You should be used to it by now since you experience numerous outages. Man up bro and do what's necessary.redmanjp wrote:no power means several things:
even if u manage to have a pipe close to the tank u have to carry it into the house. fair enough for 1 person but if u have a family with children u have to do it multiple times, including upstairs in a multistory house
u would need extra buckets for the toilet as well
it would be cold especially if its early morning, especially this time of year when temps reaching in the low 20s
at night/early morning it means u going outside in pitch black settings which means u could bounce into something- this is also a security risk with bandits under cover of dark.
the bathroom would be dark as well- and if power went while u already wet or soapy u cant just get a candle or light as u may have done if u were now going to bathe after the power went.
and that is only the bathroom story- not to mention preparing meals, having to open fridge and risk spoilage of stuff in a prolonged outage.
also try being on time for work with all that inconvenience during a morning power outage
bgh wrote:Low tech soultions.
Lanher ebulb from true value or massy. Works like a regular bulb with built-in battery that can last about 3 hours. Just flip the switch.
Water Tanks on 8 foot concrete structures so gravity flow to ground floor. Bonus will be a storeroom
Medium tech..
Partial generator. Solar controller and panels to come.
Used last night for Fans and to charged phones and small battery banks.
IMG-20220217-WA0001.jpg20220216_141200.jpg
pugboy wrote:yeah
it is really about assessing your situation and
what can be done for short term(4-6hrs) vs 6+hrs
and more importantly security issues at all time given that cockroaches like to come out at night
Kenjo wrote:In real disasters water pump and walking up stairs is not a priority if it’s survival of the fittest . You can’t be wasting gas in that when you would be doing a free farmers walk exercise . I think the topic is way over mens head . There are even small solar chargers for usb charging of phones
demented wrote:PROCOM in Point Lisas has complete residential systems with ATS (Automatic Transfer Switches) which will be required by T&TEC.
https://www.procomtt.com/products/power-generation
abbow wrote:demented wrote:PROCOM in Point Lisas has complete residential systems with ATS (Automatic Transfer Switches) which will be required by T&TEC.
https://www.procomtt.com/products/power-generation
Thanks for the mention bro...
Good info there. Also a stash of petty cash as well. Depending on where you live, in cases of disaster, you going to be in a mess for a while.Redman wrote:Extending away into more general issues.
Medicine here has a fragile supply chain.
The US is seeing some shortages of meds supplied out of China, while locally pharmacies seeing shortages on an ongoing basis
Weve built up a 3 month float of the necessary meds, pain meds light antibiotics etc
Same with the LPG,water and some other consumables.
Depending on the size of your household and specific needs in times of a disaster,you would need to keep some fairly significant sum of cash home.wing wrote:Good info there. Also a stash of petty cash as well. Depending on where you live, in cases of disaster, you going to be in a mess for a while.Redman wrote:Extending away into more general issues.
Medicine here has a fragile supply chain.
The US is seeing some shortages of meds supplied out of China, while locally pharmacies seeing shortages on an ongoing basis
Weve built up a 3 month float of the necessary meds, pain meds light antibiotics etc
Same with the LPG,water and some other consumables.
redmanjp wrote:no power means several things:
even if u manage to have a pipe close to the tank u have to carry it into the house. fair enough for 1 person but if u have a family with children u have to do it multiple times, including upstairs in a multistory house (Real good exerise)
u would need extra buckets for the toilet as well (More exercise)
it would be cold especially if its early morning, especially this time of year when temps reaching in the low 20s (You never bathe in barrel or drum water at 5;00 a.m. in the morning?)
at night/early morning it means u going outside in pitch black settings which means u could bounce into something- this is also a security risk with bandits under cover of dark. (Where you really living? Yuh doh have torchlight? Cellphone? Flambeaux?)
the bathroom would be dark as well- and if power went while u already wet or soapy u cant just get a candle or light as u may have done if u were now going to bathe after the power went. (Obviously, you do not know the magic of taking a "cowboy")
and that is only the bathroom story- not to mention preparing meals, having to open fridge and risk spoilage of stuff in a prolonged outage. (So is every minute you would open the fridge so? To prepare meals should not be a problem. If you have a gas / pitch oil stove the light from the flames can go far)
also try being on time for work with all that inconvenience during a morning power outage. (Lord have mercy. Is one setta excuse. You could not live in caveman times or in T&T about 30-50 years ago. People used to get up early, bathe in COLD barrel water, go to the latrine in darkness, make their cocoa tea with hops bread, iron using the heat from a coal pot, leave home and still reach to work / school EARLY.)
pugboy wrote:that is the thing with the new “landlines” which are simply cellphones in a physical base.
the long time copper landlines were less affected
bluefete wrote:pugboy wrote:that is the thing with the new “landlines” which are simply cellphones in a physical base.
Exactly. I do not understand why my landline which used to work in an outage, now has been upgraded to modern wireless technology and no longer works when electricity goes.
One step forward and 2 steps backwards?
Correct Pug. The most basic of plumbing sense would do something like this, but the modern male seems to not able to handle his stories in times of hardship. Probably more focused on IT matters than preparing for the worst...pugboy wrote:those whose property is supplied with a water pump most of the time should check if they get free flow of water via gravity from a full tank to their showers with the pump switched off.
unless your plumbing is very basic you would be surprised that unless the tank is at least a half storey off the ground you would only get a trickle due to piping resistance/friction esp with the design of many faucet mixers nowadays.
either way you should have a garden tap coming directly off the tank so you can fill buckets there and bathe there if necessary.
having more than one tank is a good idea so you can lockoff one as a reserve in times like this.
pugboy wrote:its not even forward because my own often needs to be repowered and many other ppl i know have same issue.bluefete wrote:pugboy wrote:that is the thing with the new “landlines” which are simply cellphones in a physical base.
Exactly. I do not understand why my landline which used to work in an outage, now has been upgraded to modern wireless technology and no longer works when electricity goes.
supercharged turbo wrote:Yup..like everybody have that same repower complaint.pugboy wrote:its not even forward because my own often needs to be repowered and many other ppl i know have same issue.bluefete wrote:pugboy wrote:that is the thing with the new “landlines” which are simply cellphones in a physical base.