I am too old to keep wearing sneakers everyday .....

TurboDrive

Re: I am too old to keep wearing sneakers everyday .....

Postby TurboDrive » February 2nd, 2022, 8:07 pm

Florsheim Astor Plain Toe Chukka Boot. My daily beater to work. Very soft and comfortable.

https://www.amazon.com/Florsheim-Astor- ... =8-18&th=1

Postby MaxPower » February 2nd, 2022, 8:21 pm

Zoom,

Nice kicks, nice socks..

monster21

Postby monster21 » February 2nd, 2022, 11:24 pm

Have a brand new airforce for sale size 9 1/2
$850

Postby Rovin » February 3rd, 2022, 11:14 am

zoom bought some young boi shooz .... :mrgreen:

FuadAdnan

Postby FuadAdnan » February 3rd, 2022, 1:27 pm

lol at zoom rader shoes.

Postby timelapse » February 3rd, 2022, 1:42 pm

Zoom hadda be selling drugs.Powder necks,baller lifestyle,now baller shoes...

Postby zoom rader » February 3rd, 2022, 1:54 pm

timelapse wrote:Zoom hadda be selling drugs.Powder necks,baller lifestyle,now baller shoes...
When I am abroad I dress to suit.

In trini its market rubber slippers , shorts and merino vest. Sometimes I dan the kangols

Postby Rovin » February 3rd, 2022, 2:16 pm

zoom dressing like ah zesser too ... :poke:

Postby MaxPower » February 3rd, 2022, 2:17 pm

i is wear New Balance and a lil Saucony i have there with my jeans and my shirt tucked in neatly.

Postby timelapse » February 3rd, 2022, 3:11 pm

The next shoe I buy is probably a Merrell.The only place I really care about my footwear is in the bush

Postby Dizzy28 » May 9th, 2022, 4:44 pm

Can this part of a sole be repaired?
Wore my black work shoe today and felt as if something was stuck below to realize the sole is falling apart.
As you can see from the heel its barely worn with the upper part in pristine condition.

I suspect a fix may be expensive if it is possible but its so hard to get a nice shoe in my size locally.

12.jpeg

Postby Dave » May 9th, 2022, 4:57 pm

I saw my father get a sole over the entire from part of his dress shoe. It was a good year sole. His was cracked but not missing actual sole like you.

Postby eliteauto » May 9th, 2022, 5:05 pm

If the shoe repair place in Trincity Mall still exists there would be a good place to start

Postby Chimera » May 9th, 2022, 5:25 pm

Them shoemakers in them small plazas or malls does handle it. I think there's a shoe repair person under the step by valpark Chinese restaurant.

Not sure if he still around.

Postby rollingstock » May 9th, 2022, 6:23 pm

IMG_20220509_182111.jpg

Reebok Mobius OG

Sneaker hard like my Coco the morning after working a Nightshift.

david12

Postby david12 » May 9th, 2022, 6:39 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Them shoemakers in them small plazas or malls does handle it. I think there's a shoe repair person under the step by valpark Chinese restaurant.

Not sure if he still around.
Yup still there. Another good option for repairs.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 9th, 2022, 8:18 pm

Weekend I'll try Valpark and or Trincity. Basically in the middle of both so shouldn't be to much hassle.

Until then guess its brown shoe only for the rest of the week.

Postby maj. tom » May 9th, 2022, 8:50 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Can this part of a sole be repaired?
Wore my black work shoe today and felt as if something was stuck below to realize the sole is falling apart.
As you can see from the heel its barely worn with the upper part in pristine condition.

I suspect a fix may be expensive if it is possible but its so hard to get a nice shoe in my size locally.

12.jpeg

This is a half-sole repair. I am seeing a Goodyear welt stitched sole, so you want that level of quality in your repair as well, not just glue that most places will give you. Shawn's Shoe and Leathercraft 792-2519. Near KFC/Pizza Hut in Valsayn, in the back branch road. Check on Google. Maybe $150. He will cut a leather half sole, stitch and finish it properly.

Let him check the soles on the pair because most likely the other has similar dry rot damage. You need to take care of leather by oiling it occasionally with mink oil or paraffin oil, castor oil, dubbin, beeswax or any commercial leather conditioning product, etc. Just like caring for your leather belt, strap or gloves. Use your fingers and work in the grease until the leather has a nice amount to get supple. Wipe off excess with a cloth and hang the leather to dry, after a day everything will be absorbed with no messy residue. Leather was living skin, not synthetic plastic. https://www.amazon.com/Saphir-Medaille-dOr-Guard-100ml/dp/B01DCHHA2S

Postby RedVEVO » May 9th, 2022, 10:10 pm

Just go next ( or opposite ) to Besson Police Station in POS - the Drag Brothers go fix that in 5 mins flat .

They will deconstruct it and reconstruct it like new .

Postby Dizzy28 » May 9th, 2022, 11:41 pm

Solid advice. Thanks. Tbh I don't condition any leather products I own.

My daily belt is a leather Levi which is 15 years old and only in its first 3 years when I had a vehicle with leather seats did that belt get any sort of love. I had leather cleaners and treatments for my car seats which I used on the belt. Despite that the belt going strong still though with no cracks, weak looking dry rot spots etc.
maj. tom wrote:

12.jpeg

This is a half-sole repair. I am seeing a Goodyear welt stitched sole, so you want that level of quality in your repair as well, not just glue that most places will give you. Shawn's Shoe and Leathercraft 792-2519. Near KFC/Pizza Hut in Valsayn, in the back branch road. Check on Google. Maybe $150. He will cut a leather half sole, stitch and finish it properly.

Let him check the soles on the pair because most likely the other has similar dry rot damage. You need to take care of leather by oiling it occasionally with mink oil or paraffin oil, castor oil, dubbin, beeswax or any commercial leather conditioning product, etc. Just like caring for your leather belt, strap or gloves. Use your fingers and work in the grease until the leather has a nice amount to get supple. Wipe off excess with a cloth and hang the leather to dry, after a day everything will be absorbed with no messy residue. Leather was living skin, not synthetic plastic. https://www.amazon.com/Saphir-Medaille-dOr-Guard-100ml/dp/B01DCHHA2S

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 10th, 2022, 3:01 am

maj. tom wrote:

12.jpeg

What a coincidence. I have a right-side of a 6 year old Saucony sneakers that has the grips falling out which was noticed just 2 days ago.

Will look into this as well as its currently in use.

Postby maj. tom » May 10th, 2022, 9:25 am

Most shoes soles are PU polyurethane rubber material, even expensive ones, which will disintegrate over time due to hydrolysis, especially one that has not been worn a while and hence "dry-rot."

Dizzy28 I am saying to ask this Shawn shoe maker to put a leather sole and it will last a long, long time and take the licks of the road if you leather condition it. Your Florsheim chukka design is perfect for that repair. Most shoe repair places are not going to use leather or even stitch it as they sell rubber half soles normally as a repair. This guy will do the leather if you ask him because he is a leather crafter. I have had him do an full-sole repair with leather for a pair of boots and it had cost $350.

If you don't want this leather sole thing, well then any repair place can do a rubber sole with glue for you.

A Saucony sneakers is just a regular rubber and glue repair that can be done anywhere.

Postby De Dragon » September 11th, 2022, 8:25 pm

Allyuh on a sneakers break or wha'?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 11th, 2022, 8:31 pm

This ole timers thread still up and running boi?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 11th, 2022, 9:11 pm

Bought a Skechers casual shoe in the Skechers Store in West Mall recently.

Was cheaper there than either Skechers.com or Amazon. And thats before even adding in shipping and taxes etc.
IMG_20220911_211102.jpg

Postby De Dragon » September 12th, 2022, 5:25 am

Bought this recently.
Air Max 1.jpg

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » December 29th, 2022, 1:53 pm

Just asking seeing all the local ig hype Jordan’s 11’s cherry’s how much they going for TTD looking to bring down some pairs for 2023 carnival
IMG_4702.JPG
IMG_4703.JPG

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 29th, 2022, 2:26 pm

De Dragon wrote:Allyuh on a sneakers break or wha'?

Stocks clearing ...

Clarks
Adidas
Merrell

Postby gastly369 » December 29th, 2022, 2:34 pm

Eh some simple for the black Friday sale usually $70usd got for 30usd Adidas adapt 4.0
IMG_20221208_153333.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 29th, 2022, 10:02 pm

gastly369 wrote:Eh some simple for the black Friday sale usually $70usd got for 30usd Adidas adapt 4.0IMG_20221208_153333.jpg

Wah is da one bai :lol:
IMG-20221229-WA0136.jpg