This is where you soft selling what PDP and Duke are saying.The_Honourable wrote:When Duke/Augustine/PDP means Independence, they mean economic, judicial and legislative independence.
The problem PDP made early in the game and continue to do so is that they did not state the difference between Independence and Secession. The T&T public sees secession and independence as the same due to our colonial past, and this gave pnm supporters the opportunity to spin.
This is Duke saying he doesn't just want partial independence or autonomy, he wants full independence and the possibility of seceding.PDP: Autonomy insufficient, Tobago must keep options open
Progressive Democratic Patriots (PDP) political leader Watson Duke is adamant that Tobagonians want more than internal self governance. In a Facebook live on Wednesday, Duke said Tobagonians – if they so desire – should be given the opportunity to become fully independent of Trinidad.
"This is a bitter battle and I will stand against anybody, inside my party or outside, who dare to say Tobago only wants internal self government – wrong.
"Tobago wants the right to freely choose its political status without any external interference," he said.
"Political status means we could have internal self government, if we want to.
"It means if we don't want that we could change we mind and have an association (with Trinidad), if we want to.
"If we don't want internal self government nor an association, we could go fully independent, if we want to.
"That is what we want and anybody in my party or outside who say different, I will challenge them.
"That is what I want for Tobago. Tobagonians must speak and we must make up our minds about what we want."
Although the autonomy bill was born out of countless consultations in Tobago, Duke insisted that it still does not reflect the wishes of its people in its present form.
https://newsday.co.tt/2021/07/01/pdp-au ... ions-open/
Habit7 wrote:This is where you soft selling what PDP and Duke are saying.The_Honourable wrote:When Duke/Augustine/PDP means Independence, they mean economic, judicial and legislative independence.
The problem PDP made early in the game and continue to do so is that they did not state the difference between Independence and Secession. The T&T public sees secession and independence as the same due to our colonial past, and this gave pnm supporters the opportunity to spin.This is Duke saying he doesn't just want partial independence or autonomy, he wants full independence and the possibility of seceding.PDP: Autonomy insufficient, Tobago must keep options open
Progressive Democratic Patriots (PDP) political leader Watson Duke is adamant that Tobagonians want more than internal self governance. In a Facebook live on Wednesday, Duke said Tobagonians – if they so desire – should be given the opportunity to become fully independent of Trinidad.
"This is a bitter battle and I will stand against anybody, inside my party or outside, who dare to say Tobago only wants internal self government – wrong.
"Tobago wants the right to freely choose its political status without any external interference," he said.
"It means if we don't want that we could change we mind and have an association (with Trinidad), if we want to.
"If we don't want internal self government nor an association, we could go fully independent, if we want to.
"That is what we want and anybody in my party or outside who say different, I will challenge them.
"That is what I want for Tobago. Tobagonians must speak and we must make up our minds about what we want."
Although the autonomy bill was born out of countless consultations in Tobago, Duke insisted that it still does not reflect the wishes of its people in its present form.
This is not PNM filter, this is Duke the leader of the PDP talking.
The debate in Parliament is on the well consulted Tobago Autonomy Bill. PDP is coming at the end to change the rules, the debate is not about terms of independence or secession. It is about autonomy. Let PDP win the majority and advocate for all they want. Let UNC and whoever their partners are in Tobago win govt and discuss independence and secession for Tobago in Parliament in POS. But the current bill is about Tobago autonomy as expressed by the will of the ppl. Do come now and try to muddle it with independence and secession talk. That is just an excuse to crush the autonomy bill all together.
Habit7 wrote:This is where you soft selling what PDP and Duke are saying.The_Honourable wrote:When Duke/Augustine/PDP means Independence, they mean economic, judicial and legislative independence.
The problem PDP made early in the game and continue to do so is that they did not state the difference between Independence and Secession. The T&T public sees secession and independence as the same due to our colonial past, and this gave pnm supporters the opportunity to spin.This is Duke saying he doesn't just want partial independence or autonomy, he wants full independence and the possibility of seceding.PDP: Autonomy insufficient, Tobago must keep options open
The debate in Parliament is on the well consulted Tobago Autonomy Bill. PDP is coming at the end to change the rules, the debate is not about terms of independence or secession. It is about autonomy. Let PDP win the majority and advocate for all they want. Let UNC and whoever their partners are in Tobago win govt and discuss independence and secession for Tobago in Parliament in POS. But the current bill is about Tobago autonomy as expressed by the will of the ppl. Do come now and try to muddle it with independence and secession talk. That is just an excuse to crush the autonomy bill all together.
Dirty habitarse 7 only present hand picked tit bits and outdated articlesThe_Honourable wrote:Habit7 wrote:This is where you soft selling what PDP and Duke are saying.The_Honourable wrote:When Duke/Augustine/PDP means Independence, they mean economic, judicial and legislative independence.
Now i fully understand why dragon, alfa and other tuners get frustrated dealing with you over something very simple.
Well at least you used the word possibility which means you are coming close to figuring it out.
You continue to be deceptive, PDP or PNM don't have any majority at this point in time. If you thinking about poplar vote, again it doesn't mean anything in our political system. It's just a good gauge to try harder next time around.
I see you removed paragraphs, reducing the original newsday article and highlighting a few points in bold in an attempt to spin in your favor. Now that's pathetic.
You will figure it out eventually, simply put they don't just want autonomy, they want the OPTION to secede included in the bill. If anytime in the future Tobagonians wish to secede, the mechanism is in place to get started.
sam1978 wrote:Did Kamala really say PNM gutted the bill like RowRow and the AG is claiming?
sam1978 wrote:sam1978 wrote:Did Kamala really say PNM gutted the bill like RowRow and the AG is claiming?
Let’s go back to the facts of this issue.
The_Honourable wrote:Habit7 wrote:This is where you soft selling what PDP and Duke are saying.The_Honourable wrote:When Duke/Augustine/PDP means Independence, they mean economic, judicial and legislative independence.
Now i fully understand why dragon, alfa and other tuners get frustrated dealing with you over something very simple.
Well at least you used the word possibility which means you are coming close to figuring it out.
You continue to be deceptive, PDP or PNM don't have any majority at this point in time. If you thinking about poplar vote, again it doesn't mean anything in our political system. It's just a good gauge to try harder next time around.
I see you removed paragraphs, reducing the original newsday article and highlighting a few points in bold in an attempt to spin in your favor. Now that's pathetic.
You will figure it out eventually, simply put they don't just want autonomy, they want the OPTION to secede included in the bill. If anytime in the future Tobagonians wish to secede, the mechanism is in place to get started.
Really? I am still waiting on you to cite your claims about the bill.De Dragon wrote:Tuntsy arguing down the line, all while posting and highlighting exactly what you said![]()
Watson Duke: I’m calling for Secession of Tobago from Trinidad
28 October, 2019 6:22 pm
Political leader of the PDP, Watson Duke, says if the people of Tobago gives his party the Tobago East and West seats in the upcoming General Election in 2020, he guarantees internal self governance for Tobago in six months.
Duke pointed out that legislation that needs special majority including Bail others were passed by both government and opposition agreeing but the Tobago self governance Bill is still stuck in a JSC. He told the supporters gathered for the launch “give me liberty or give me death”.
Duke also insisted that Tobago must have its own Court system, Executive, Legislators and control its own immigration and air traffic control systems. He said Trinidad must have nothing over us in Tobago.
Duke calls for secession of Tobago from Trinidad where Tobago is independent but remains in a union along the lines of the independent European countries and the European Union.
https://izzso.com/watson-a-duke-im-call ... -trinidad/
Lou Screuz wrote:can someone please explain to me
why tobago
is not just like any other two constituencies ?
what is all this house of assembly nonsense ?
should caroni central and caroni east have
a caroni house of assembly ?![]()
-
another thing
there might be a certain kind of people in tobago
who, when asked to account for their fellow citizens' monies
and provide records of their spending ,
might say - "alyou want a report ? look alyou blasted report" -
and drop a disorganized pile of official documents on the pavement
and drive off.
-
so my question is -
would the bill that rowlies wanted to pass
have guaranteed that such people would be barred
from holding positions of political power and authority
in tobago ?
if not -
then that bill is not what tobago needs
The_Honourable wrote:Habit7 wrote:This is where you soft selling what PDP and Duke are saying.The_Honourable wrote:When Duke/Augustine/PDP means Independence, they mean economic, judicial and legislative independence.
Wraith King wrote:Tobago should be made an independent seperate nation from Trinidad.
teems1 wrote:Wraith King wrote:Tobago should be made an independent seperate nation from Trinidad.
Tobexit doesn't have a ring to it.
Habit7 wrote:The biggest champions of Tobagonians leaving our unitary state are Watson Duke and some UNC supporters in Trinidad. But Tobagonians articulated in the many consultations that they don't want full independence and/or secession.
So sorry to disappoint, but you can't give Tobagonians what they don't want. And I am sure many Trinidadians don't want as well.
Habit7 wrote:The biggest champions of Tobagonians leaving our unitary state are Watson Duke and some UNC supporters in Trinidad. But Tobagonians articulated in the many consultations that they don't want full independence and/or secession.
So sorry to disappoint, but you can't give Tobagonians what they don't want. And I am sure many Trinidadians don't want as well.
sMASH wrote:2 extra bn to the THA no questions asked. if u want no questions asked, raise ur own money.
if pnm really about tobago equality with trinidad, put the secession ability in that bill.
if they want to stay, they will stay. if they want to go, they will go.
De Dragon wrote:sMASH wrote:2 extra bn to the THA no questions asked. if u want no questions asked, raise ur own money.
if pnm really about tobago equality with trinidad, put the secession ability in that bill.
if they want to stay, they will stay. if they want to go, they will go.
The LFD RFD PNM is only about pappyshow with this bill. Happy Tobagonian leaders are ones who could try to explain away million dollar rope, and not only face zero consequences, but have JUHN Scarfy not only actually defend that nonsense because it was close to election time, but give his dotish, misguided, self serving approval to continue it, thereby mismanaging even more money in the process.