The Tobago Self-Government Bill, 2020...

Re: The Tobago Self-Government Bill, 2020...

Postby Habit7 » July 3rd, 2021, 9:11 am

The_Honourable wrote:When Duke/Augustine/PDP means Independence, they mean economic, judicial and legislative independence.

The problem PDP made early in the game and continue to do so is that they did not state the difference between Independence and Secession. The T&T public sees secession and independence as the same due to our colonial past, and this gave pnm supporters the opportunity to spin.
This is where you soft selling what PDP and Duke are saying.

PDP: Autonomy insufficient, Tobago must keep options open

Progressive Democratic Patriots (PDP) political leader Watson Duke is adamant that Tobagonians want more than internal self governance. In a Facebook live on Wednesday, Duke said Tobagonians – if they so desire – should be given the opportunity to become fully independent of Trinidad.

"This is a bitter battle and I will stand against anybody, inside my party or outside, who dare to say Tobago only wants internal self government – wrong.

"Tobago wants the right to freely choose its political status without any external interference," he said.

"Political status means we could have internal self government, if we want to.

"It means if we don't want that we could change we mind and have an association (with Trinidad), if we want to.

"If we don't want internal self government nor an association, we could go fully independent, if we want to.

"That is what we want and anybody in my party or outside who say different, I will challenge them.

"That is what I want for Tobago. Tobagonians must speak and we must make up our minds about what we want."

Although the autonomy bill was born out of countless consultations in Tobago, Duke insisted that it still does not reflect the wishes of its people in its present form.

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/07/01/pdp-au ... ions-open/
This is Duke saying he doesn't just want partial independence or autonomy, he wants full independence and the possibility of seceding.

This is not PNM filter, this is Duke the leader of the PDP talking.

The debate in Parliament is on the well consulted Tobago Autonomy Bill. PDP is coming at the end to change the rules, the debate is not about terms of independence or secession. It is about autonomy. Let PDP win the majority and advocate for all they want. Let UNC and whoever their partners are in Tobago win govt and discuss independence and secession for Tobago in Parliament in POS. But the current bill is about Tobago autonomy as expressed by the will of the ppl. Do come now and try to muddle it with independence and secession talk. That is just an excuse to crush the autonomy bill all together.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 3rd, 2021, 9:19 am

Did Kamala really say PNM gutted the bill like RowRow and the AG is claiming?

Postby sMASH » July 3rd, 2021, 9:42 am

Habit7 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:When Duke/Augustine/PDP means Independence, they mean economic, judicial and legislative independence.

The problem PDP made early in the game and continue to do so is that they did not state the difference between Independence and Secession. The T&T public sees secession and independence as the same due to our colonial past, and this gave pnm supporters the opportunity to spin.

Progressive Democratic Patriots (PDP) political leader Watson Duke is adamant that Tobagonians want more than internal self governance. In a Facebook live on Wednesday, Duke said Tobagonians – if they so desire – should be given the opportunity to become fully independent of Trinidad.

"This is a bitter battle and I will stand against anybody, inside my party or outside, who dare to say Tobago only wants internal self government – wrong.

"Tobago wants the right to freely choose its political status without any external interference," he said.

"It means if we don't want that we could change we mind and have an association (with Trinidad), if we want to.

"If we don't want internal self government nor an association, we could go fully independent, if we want to.

"That is what we want and anybody in my party or outside who say different, I will challenge them.

"That is what I want for Tobago. Tobagonians must speak and we must make up our minds about what we want."

Although the autonomy bill was born out of countless consultations in Tobago, Duke insisted that it still does not reflect the wishes of its people in its present form.

This is Duke saying he doesn't just want partial independence or autonomy, he wants full independence and the possibility of seceding.

The debate in Parliament is on the well consulted Tobago Autonomy Bill. PDP is coming at the end to change the rules, the debate is not about terms of independence or secession. It is about autonomy. Let PDP win the majority and advocate for all they want. Let UNC and whoever their partners are in Tobago win govt and discuss independence and secession for Tobago in Parliament in POS. But the current bill is about Tobago autonomy as expressed by the will of the ppl. Do come now and try to muddle it with independence and secession talk. That is just an excuse to crush the autonomy bill all together.

put it to referrendum and let the people decide what they want and how much. instead of pnm telling tobago what tobago can and cant have.

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2021, 10:24 am

I am the new kid on the block here in Bago. I moved over and now living here. Took a lil while to settle in . Villagers were on their guard as they don't like Trinis , but after a while and mixing with the Villagers they were more accomadating to me. It really beats the Pleasantville hassle and de rum shop lime on Navet road. New people and rum shop.

After talking/liming with villagers , I know for a fact that they don't like the red government and Trinis. Have not pushed the injun talk here as yet cause it seems to me they don't really care much about injuns . The older folks really don't like the red government but the younger folk seem to be more aware and you can see that the red government has gotten into their minds on racial concerns. Younger minds are easy to mold and polute. You can see that older folk are more concern will money and work but the younger folk are in the opposite. I have a few constructions/renovations jobs going on and it's guys in their 50s and 60s that are employed . Younger folk here are just not interested in working . The red government has really distroyed the younger generation here . If they had education and was not seeking a trade or labouring job then I can understand , but they have just secondary level and can barely function.

Bago really needs to get out from Trinidad. It's in a mess here.

Postby sMASH » July 3rd, 2021, 11:47 am

2 extra billion and less over sight.... do what u want! jess giwwe two seats.
if that isnt a bribe, i dont know what is.

zoom, tell them we dont mind stamping a passport to go across if that is what they want.
but if they put back PNM, we spending we money in barbados!

Postby The_Honourable » July 3rd, 2021, 11:52 am

Habit7 wrote:

Now i fully understand why dragon, alfa and other tuners get frustrated dealing with you over something very simple.

Well at least you used the word possibility which means you are coming close to figuring it out.

You continue to be deceptive, PDP or PNM don't have any majority at this point in time. If you thinking about poplar vote, again it doesn't mean anything in our political system. It's just a good gauge to try harder next time around.

I see you removed paragraphs, reducing the original newsday article and highlighting a few points in bold in an attempt to spin in your favor. Now that's pathetic.

You will figure it out eventually, simply put they don't just want autonomy, they want the OPTION to secede included in the bill. If anytime in the future Tobagonians wish to secede, the mechanism is in place to get started.

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2021, 12:21 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Now i fully understand why dragon, alfa and other tuners get frustrated dealing with you over something very simple.

Well at least you used the word possibility which means you are coming close to figuring it out.

You continue to be deceptive, PDP or PNM don't have any majority at this point in time. If you thinking about poplar vote, again it doesn't mean anything in our political system. It's just a good gauge to try harder next time around.

I see you removed paragraphs, reducing the original newsday article and highlighting a few points in bold in an attempt to spin in your favor. Now that's pathetic.

You will figure it out eventually, simply put they don't just want autonomy, they want the OPTION to secede included in the bill. If anytime in the future Tobagonians wish to secede, the mechanism is in place to get started.
Dirty habitarse 7 only present hand picked tit bits and outdated articles
which has no value in his useless ole talk. He then expect people to take his garbage as gospel truth.

Even some lesser tuners make him out .

But he's then backed by eliteauto-tuntun, Redman, mero and idiot elect2020. All of which can't tell their arse from dey elbow

Postby Habit7 » July 3rd, 2021, 12:40 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

I am doing what you can't, I am quoting Watson Duke. While you are trying to explain what you want him to mean. You moved from saying secession and independence was something PNM is saying to scare ppl. Until I had to quote Duke saying what you claim he is not saying. The reason why you and whoever else would have a problem with me is because I go back to the facts of the issue. I have little time for tuner personalities.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 3rd, 2021, 12:44 pm

sam1978 wrote:Did Kamala really say PNM gutted the bill like RowRow and the AG is claiming?

Let’s go back to the facts of this issue.

Postby The_Honourable » July 3rd, 2021, 12:54 pm

Deadline for public comments July 15–Minister

People wishing to comment on the two bills for Tobago self-Government have until July 15 to do so. Comments can be submitted to tobagoselfgov@ttparliament.org.

This was announced yesterday by Leader of Government Business (House of Representatives) Camille Robinson-Regis, head of the Joint Select Committee (JSC) that produced a report on the bills.

These are the Constitution Amendment Tobago Self-Government Bill and Tobago Island Council Bill.

One first bill introduces wide, including new, powers towards Tobago autonomy. The other addresses mechanisms and processes to facilitate the condition of self-government and provides for the Tobago Island Council to replace the Tobago House of Assembly (THA). The bills were debated in Parliament over Monday to Wednesday.

But the Opposition, which had called for more consultation on the bills, walked out of Parliament on Tuesday over Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley’s speaking time. Concluding debate as the bills entered final (committee) discussion stage, Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi said the door remains open for more comments.

Yesterday, Robinson-Regis said, “Now that the bills have been fully ventilated before all of Trinidad and Tobago and there’s a clear understanding of what is proposed to accord self-government to Tobago through the requisite parliamentary majority, as Leader of the House (of Representatives) and the member who chaired the JSC Committee, I’m again inviting citizens who may wish to suggest amendments to do so within the coming two weeks. These will be considered by the Committee of the whole (in Parliament).’’

Robinson-Regis said at the JSC’s last meeting on the Tobago Self-Government Bill, 2020, the team invited political leaders from Tobago to join them so the JSC could share with them the bills as finalised.

She added, “At the meeting, the leaders all indicated they needed more time to meaningfully comment on the bills. I explained that the purpose of the meeting was to highlight the changes made to the drafts which (changes) took into account representations received from Tobago. I added that JSC Members appreciated that stakeholders would need to reflect on the final proposals. I stated the committee had a duty at this time to report to the Parliament and that updating the leaders of Tobago on what was being reported was an important necessary step.”

Present were the THA PNM representatives, including chief secretary Ancil Dennis, plus six PDP Assembly representatives, including Farley Augustine. Also present were Tobago Platform of Truth leader Hochoy Charles and Unity of the People leader Nickocy Phillips. —GA

Source: https://www.cnc3.co.tt/deadline-for-pub ... -minister/

Postby Habit7 » July 3rd, 2021, 5:03 pm

sam1978 wrote:
sam1978 wrote:Did Kamala really say PNM gutted the bill like RowRow and the AG is claiming?

Let’s go back to the facts of this issue.

From 3:17
https://youtu.be/1jEKUML3h_k

Postby De Dragon » July 4th, 2021, 3:40 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Tuntsy arguing down the line, all while posting and highlighting exactly what you said :lol:
Whenever you mention LFD RFD PNM, he does go into a kinda dotish trance, where all rhyme and reason evacuate his already empty cranium. He then posts long obstinate replies, like the 6 month lie JUHN Scarfy tried to, (well among the non LFD RFD PNM) that is push on us via the Nawh CMO.
He cares not how foolish he looks, nor how he debases himself, once it is upon the altar of JUHN Scarfy and the cult of LFD RFD PNM.

Postby Habit7 » July 4th, 2021, 6:38 pm

De Dragon wrote:Tuntsy arguing down the line, all while posting and highlighting exactly what you said :lol:
Really? I am still waiting on you to cite your claims about the bill.

In the meantime allyuh hold this
Watson Duke: I’m calling for Secession of Tobago from Trinidad
28 October, 2019 6:22 pm

Political leader of the PDP, Watson Duke, says if the people of Tobago gives his party the Tobago East and West seats in the upcoming General Election in 2020, he guarantees internal self governance for Tobago in six months.

Duke pointed out that legislation that needs special majority including Bail others were passed by both government and opposition agreeing but the Tobago self governance Bill is still stuck in a JSC. He told the supporters gathered for the launch “give me liberty or give me death”.

Duke also insisted that Tobago must have its own Court system, Executive, Legislators and control its own immigration and air traffic control systems. He said Trinidad must have nothing over us in Tobago.

Duke calls for secession of Tobago from Trinidad where Tobago is independent but remains in a union along the lines of the independent European countries and the European Union.

https://izzso.com/watson-a-duke-im-call ... -trinidad/

I wonder who is seeing secession and independence as the same due to our colonial past, and is giving PNM supporters the opportunity to spin?

Either Watson Duke is having a bad time explaining what Watson Duke means or he is being pellucidly clear.

Postby Ben_spanna » July 4th, 2021, 8:57 pm

Tu-bago playing smart and figure that they going to divide maritime borders in their favor so they they get more oil and gas… fire gun dem , leave them right there with nutthen.

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » July 9th, 2021, 4:47 pm

can someone please explain to me

why tobago

is not just like any other two constituencies ?

what is all this house of assembly nonsense ?

should caroni central and caroni east have

a caroni house of assembly ? :lol:

-

another thing

there might be a certain kind of people in tobago

who, when asked to account for their fellow citizens' monies

and provide records of their spending ,

might say - "alyou want a report ? look alyou blasted report" -

and drop a disorganized pile of official documents on the pavement

and drive off.

-

so my question is -

would the bill that rowlies wanted to pass

have guaranteed that such people would be barred

from holding positions of political power and authority

in tobago ?

if not -

then that bill is not what tobago needs

Postby sMASH » July 9th, 2021, 4:57 pm

Lou Screuz wrote:can someone please explain to me

why tobago

is not just like any other two constituencies ?

what is all this house of assembly nonsense ?

should caroni central and caroni east have

a caroni house of assembly ? :lol:

-

another thing

there might be a certain kind of people in tobago

who, when asked to account for their fellow citizens' monies

and provide records of their spending ,

might say - "alyou want a report ? look alyou blasted report" -

and drop a disorganized pile of official documents on the pavement

and drive off.

-

so my question is -

would the bill that rowlies wanted to pass

have guaranteed that such people would be barred

from holding positions of political power and authority

in tobago ?

if not -

then that bill is not what tobago needs

shhhhhh

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 9th, 2021, 8:08 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Reporting this to the relevant authority.

Earlier today, Habit7 said Atiba and him only present facts, they don't lie and they are the ones that call out the jokers, liars and racists. Seems like Atiba and him are the jokers, liars and racists.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 9th, 2021, 8:09 pm

Tobago should be made an independent seperate nation from Trinidad.

Postby teems1 » July 9th, 2021, 8:14 pm

Wraith King wrote:Tobago should be made an independent seperate nation from Trinidad.

Tobexit doesn't have a ring to it.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 10th, 2021, 5:51 am

teems1 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:Tobago should be made an independent seperate nation from Trinidad.

Tobexit doesn't have a ring to it.

True but what about Tobagone?

Postby aaron17 » July 10th, 2021, 8:03 am

Hmmm...split up the covid figures lol

Postby matr1x » July 10th, 2021, 9:03 am

Toba-go

But leave your beaches you ungrateful wretches

Postby sMASH » July 10th, 2021, 10:04 am

habbit7.xxx - "two sure vote"

Postby Habit7 » July 10th, 2021, 3:56 pm

The biggest champions of Tobagonians leaving our unitary state are Watson Duke and some UNC supporters in Trinidad. But Tobagonians articulated in the many consultations that they don't want full independence and/or secession.

So sorry to disappoint, but you can't give Tobagonians what they don't want. And I am sure many Trinidadians don't want as well.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 10th, 2021, 5:28 pm

Habit7 wrote:The biggest champions of Tobagonians leaving our unitary state are Watson Duke and some UNC supporters in Trinidad. But Tobagonians articulated in the many consultations that they don't want full independence and/or secession.

So sorry to disappoint, but you can't give Tobagonians what they don't want. And I am sure many Trinidadians don't want as well.

You think so?

"Like Max the dummy, you've lost control of what was supposed to be a simple trolling and now it has become a part of your retard personality online." - rajulakan
Last edited by Wraith King on July 13th, 2021, 6:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » July 13th, 2021, 1:34 am

Habit7 wrote:The biggest champions of Tobagonians leaving our unitary state are Watson Duke and some UNC supporters in Trinidad. But Tobagonians articulated in the many consultations that they don't want full independence and/or secession.

Well they cannot have it all their way. Freedom to pass laws, borrow money etc HAS to come with accountability and oversight, no matter what they are calling it. I guess the million dollar rope, or the MilSherv fiasco, plus years of absent audited accounts for the money they have the temerity to demand year after year are forgotten?
What is mine is mine, but what is yours is also mine can never be just, without accountability. 2% contribution to the national economy, but demands for 8% of the national budget? Folly to let this continue.

Postby sMASH » July 13th, 2021, 9:28 am

2 extra bn to the THA no questions asked. if u want no questions asked, raise ur own money.

if pnm really about tobago equality with trinidad, put the secession ability in that bill.
if they want to stay, they will stay. if they want to go, they will go.

Postby De Dragon » July 13th, 2021, 11:19 pm

sMASH wrote:2 extra bn to the THA no questions asked. if u want no questions asked, raise ur own money.

if pnm really about tobago equality with trinidad, put the secession ability in that bill.

The LFD RFD PNM is only about pappyshow with this bill. Happy Tobagonian leaders are ones who could try to explain away million dollar rope, and not only face zero consequences, but have JUHN Scarfy not only actually defend that nonsense because it was close to election time, but give his dotish, misguided, self serving approval to continue it, thereby mismanaging even more money in the process.

Postby sMASH » July 14th, 2021, 5:58 am

we not about pushing tobago to go. we about giving them REAL freedom.
pnm just want two extra seats. and willign to pay them 2bn extra and close they eye for those seats.

they have enough tourism to sustain them selves like any of the other archipelagic states. they also have fisheries and petrolem resources.... they dont need to be in this union, but its easier take money from trinidad, and pay people to come and sit in THA whole day and go back home.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 14th, 2021, 6:46 am

sMASH wrote:2 extra bn to the THA no questions asked. if u want no questions asked, raise ur own money.

The LFD RFD PNM is only about pappyshow with this bill. Happy Tobagonian leaders are ones who could try to explain away million dollar rope, and not only face zero consequences, but have JUHN Scarfy not only actually defend that nonsense because it was close to election time, but give his dotish, misguided, self serving approval to continue it, thereby mismanaging even more money in the process.

It was funny how the PNM tried to engage in race politics even though the UNC didn't contest any seats in Tobago by saying Watson Duke's party was UNC. It's almost like the PNM has nothing to attract voters other than "we is d African party and you is ah African and the other party not African so yuh hadda vote for we".