sMASH wrote:https://www.facebook.com/stephan.reis.18/videos/207990094539028
The red government will never have a referendum . They are 5hit scared of losing bagosMASH wrote:^^carry it to referendum
from my history, tobago was not part of trinidad, was just stapled together for administration. if tobagonians want to stay or to go is up to them.
but, is not for PNM here to chat with PNM there to say what is best for tobago.
reduction in economic zones and and mineral rights and all that is par the course of being fair. but, PNM isnot about fairness, its about power and subjugation and stealing people's assets.
if pnm want to conserve assets, take back the pitch lake and and the Port of PoS and conserve that.
jess like how trini injun dont like tobago creole, same way tobago creole dont like trini injun. so why keep them bounded.
y? pnm has two more seats. pnm doesnt want whats best for tobago, it jsut wants to keep control to sell off every ting to xi jingping.
Beautifully explained:
“A “mouse” was put at the top of a jar filled with grains. He was too happy to find so much food around him. Now he doesn’t need to run around searching for food and can happily lead his life. As he enjoyed the grains, in a few days’ time, he reached the bottom of the jar. Now he is trapped and he cannot come out of it. He has to solely depend upon someone to put grains in the same jar for him to survive. He may even not get the grain of his choice and he cannot choose either.
Here are FOUR lessons to learn from this:
1) Short term pleasures can lead to long-term traps.
2) If things are coming easy and you are getting comfortable, you are getting trapped into survival mode.
3) When you are not using your skills, you will lose more than your skills. You lose your CHOICES.
4) The right Action has to be taken at the right time, or else you will lose whatever you have.
Nothing comes easily in life and if it comes easily, maybe it is not worth it.”
Credits to Bitz Erick
sMASH wrote:^^carry it to referendum
from my history, tobago was not part of trinidad, was just stapled together for administration. if tobagonians want to stay or to go is up to them.
but, is not for PNM here to chat with PNM there to say what is best for tobago.
reduction in economic zones and and mineral rights and all that is par the course of being fair. but, PNM isnot about fairness, its about power and subjugation and stealing people's assets.
if pnm want to conserve assets, take back the pitch lake and and the Port of PoS and conserve that.
jess like how trini injun dont like tobago creole, same way tobago creole dont like trini injun. so why keep them bounded.
y? pnm has two more seats. pnm doesnt want whats best for tobago, it jsut wants to keep control to sell off every ting to xi jingping.
The_Honourable wrote:A minority? is 6-6 in the THA lol... if it was 12-0 or 11-1 you can make the minority argument.
When Duke/Augustine/PDP means Independence, they mean economic, judicial and legislative independence.
The problem PDP made early in the game and continue to do so is that they did not state the difference between Independence and Secession. The T&T public sees secession and independence as the same due to our colonial past, and this gave pnm supporters the opportunity to spin.
With approx 70% of the tobago population employed by the THA, low productivity and dependent on Trinidad for funds, I don't see why they should not be given economic, judicial and legislative decision making.
sMASH wrote:i understand the economic disadvantage. same thing went on with the crown when they gave up tnt with signficant oil reserves and the regional refinery. but its not about money or power, its about being fair to the people. and that may result in a loss.
pnm want to give 2 more billion, to keep salaries high in THA to keep the votes.
THA is just like cepep, make wuk for votes.
again i say, put it to referendum
Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:A minority? is 6-6 in the THA lol... if it was 12-0 or 11-1 you can make the minority argument.
When Duke/Augustine/PDP means Independence, they mean economic, judicial and legislative independence.
The problem PDP made early in the game and continue to do so is that they did not state the difference between Independence and Secession. The T&T public sees secession and independence as the same due to our colonial past, and this gave pnm supporters the opportunity to spin.
With approx 70% of the tobago population employed by the THA, low productivity and dependent on Trinidad for funds, I don't see why they should not be given economic, judicial and legislative decision making.
Yes a minority. 6-6 in the Assembly but PNM had the popular vote. Just like Brexit Yes had the popular vote.
You don't need to spin Watson Duke for me, if you want to play ignorant I will let him say it for himself
https://youtu.be/-qiLwXfDyPU
Farley is the polished face of Autonomy, Duke is the real call for Independence.
"THA’s operations accounted for around 55% of the people employed on the island, according to the CSO." https://oxfordbusinessgroup.com/overvie ... ity-growth
Try dem spin on smash and ZR, not me.
sMASH wrote:.
mero wrote:sMASH wrote:.
Allyuh does be making some dread statements normal normal in here boy
The_Honourable wrote:Popular vote does not mean jack in our political system, only loosers make that argument.
The devant source a dead link![]()
Re: Oxford - good source but it's over six years old. 55% as of the last quarter of 2015.
Habit7 we all know that you are the tuner spin doctor for the pnm... calm down.
mero wrote:sMASH wrote:.
Allyuh does be making some dread statements normal normal in here boy
Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Popular vote does not mean jack in our political system, only loosers make that argument.
The devant source a dead link![]()
Re: Oxford - good source but it's over six years old. 55% as of the last quarter of 2015.
Habit7 we all know that you are the tuner spin doctor for the pnm... calm down.
Well don't say you are the "voice of Tobago" when the majority of Tobago doesn't support you.
Here is another link http://trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtop ... 3#p6793533
You are obviously trying to water down what Duke is saying but he said it in the interview with Reis and in the video I shared. He wants succession and independence. Autonomy talk for him is just a cover.
The_Honourable wrote:I watched the Reis-Duke interview also... you watched it through a pnm filter.
PDP wants economic, judicial and legislative independence from Trinidad. They also want the right to secede so that if Tobago wants to make that decision 10 years or 100 years from now, they would be able to do so. I believe that is fair. Your spin is that Duke wants secession right now, and I get it... it's politics.
sMASH wrote:^^u see that RIGHT to secede, if they have that, then u know they know they getting respect. as of this week, pnm went up in parliament and rant and cry how is together forever and unc want to split them, and duke want to leave and go.
if pnm really valued tobago more than two seats, they would entrust them that legal right.
yes, habbit7.xxx i do understand we will be economically weaker, but thats the chance to take and the price to pay, when u respect people's right to be independent.
Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:I watched the Reis-Duke interview also... you watched it through a pnm filter.
PDP wants economic, judicial and legislative independence from Trinidad. They also want the right to secede so that if Tobago wants to make that decision 10 years or 100 years from now, they would be able to do so. I believe that is fair. Your spin is that Duke wants secession right now, and I get it... it's politics.
Good.
And all that you rightfully understand there is not autonomy, that is succession and independence. It totally contradicts your attempt to water it down. You want to call it a "PNM filter" but it is the truth that you are trying to distort and trying to make it seem not like what it actually is. This is not the majority desire of Tobagonians and the results will affect the lives of Trinidadians as well.
PDP: Autonomy insufficient, Tobago must keep options open
STEPHON NICHOLAS YESTERDAY
Progressive Democratic Patriots (PDP) political leader Watson Duke is adamant that Tobagonians want more than internal self governance. In a Facebook live on Wednesday, Duke said Tobagonians – if they so desire – should be given the opportunity to become fully independent of Trinidad.
The parliamentary debate on the Constitution Amendment Bill and Tobago Island Government Bill, intended to give Tobago greater autonomy, ended on Tuesday, but a vote was not taken.
Duke, who previously described the bill as a "vacant paper" unable to give Tobagonians the self-determination they aspire to, continued his criticism of the Joint Select Committee's report to Parliament.
"This is a bitter battle and I will stand against anybody, inside my party or outside, who dare to say Tobago only wants internal self government – wrong.
"Tobago wants the right to freely choose its political status without any external interference," he said.
"Political status means we could have internal self government, if we want to.
"It means if we don't want that we could change we mind and have an association (with Trinidad), if we want to.
"If we don't want internal self government nor an association, we could go fully independent, if we want to.
"That is what we want and anybody in my party or outside who say different, I will challenge them.
"That is what I want for Tobago. Tobagonians must speak and we must make up our minds about what we want."
Although the autonomy bill was born out of countless consultations in Tobago, Duke insisted that it still does not reflect the wishes of its people in its present form.
"The man with the sore foot in Tobago is way more important than the man with the doctorate that lives in Maraval in Trinidad. You know why? Because it is ah Tobago issue and the people of Tobago count. Everybody has a voice. This must involve a full discussion."
In Parliament on Tuesday, the Prime Minister said Duke, at the party's 2020 general election campaign launch, had advocated for secession.
Quoting from Duke's speech at Magdalena hotel, Dr Rowley said the PDP leader had called for Tobago's own judicial system, own High Court, own immigration control, own air traffic control and own prime minister."
Rowley said, "That is not the position of the PNM and I know that is not position of the people of Tobago...Who in Tobago is Watson Duke talking for with that?
"Madam Speaker, if you not sharing immigration control aren't you an independent country, separate and apart from?"
Rowley said Duke's flirtation with the idea of secession will find its way into the heart of the UNC who, if in government, would grant the wish.
In an interview with Newsday on Wednesday, PDP deputy leader Dr Faith BYisrael said Tobago must be given the right to keep its options open.
"Yes, I think that is the point of autonomy – to choose whatever you wish. It is up to the people on the ground to make the choice for themselves.
"Whatever Tobago wants to do – whether it is to stay with Trinidad, or have a federal government, or an association like how the Eastern Caribbean has same currency but are separate countries, or you want to go on your own, which is a choice Tobagonians have. Not saying we want one or the other or want to leave now, but that choice should be a choice we can make."
BYisrael lamented the two days of debate in Parliament between the PNM and the UNC.
"It is a sad showing of the kind of colonialism Tobago has had to deal with for quite some time. You have two very Trinidad-based parties having full discussion about what is right for Tobago without the input of the people of Tobago who have to live with the consequences of their decision."
https://newsday.co.tt/2021/07/01/pdp-au ... ions-open/
Habit7 wrote:De Dragon wrote:It good for Tobago. Let dem suffer more years of LFD RFD PNM.
Tight Shirt Arm Wrestler bristling at not being able to make this one a simple majority vote
Yeah let them suffer with 3 new ferries, 2 new hospitals, well kept schools, the smoothest roads in the nation and a new airport starting next week. PNM wicked too bad to Tobago.
j.o.e wrote:UNC is not interested in doing the people’s business but putting roadblocks in the way of public policy.
Habit7 wrote:I dont know who put you as Watson Duke's publicist, but he is very clear without your attempts of clarifications. This is not pro-PNM, or a PNM filter. This is the man's words yesterday!PDP: Autonomy insufficient, Tobago must keep options open
STEPHON NICHOLAS YESTERDAY
Progressive Democratic Patriots (PDP) political leader Watson Duke is adamant that Tobagonians want more than internal self governance. In a Facebook live on Wednesday, Duke said Tobagonians – if they so desire – should be given the opportunity to become fully independent of Trinidad.
The parliamentary debate on the Constitution Amendment Bill and Tobago Island Government Bill, intended to give Tobago greater autonomy, ended on Tuesday, but a vote was not taken.
Duke, who previously described the bill as a "vacant paper" unable to give Tobagonians the self-determination they aspire to, continued his criticism of the Joint Select Committee's report to Parliament.
"This is a bitter battle and I will stand against anybody, inside my party or outside, who dare to say Tobago only wants internal self government – wrong.
"Tobago wants the right to freely choose its political status without any external interference," he said.
"Political status means we could have internal self government, if we want to.
"It means if we don't want that we could change we mind and have an association (with Trinidad), if we want to.
"If we don't want internal self government nor an association, we could go fully independent, if we want to.
"That is what we want and anybody in my party or outside who say different, I will challenge them.
"That is what I want for Tobago. Tobagonians must speak and we must make up our minds about what we want."
Although the autonomy bill was born out of countless consultations in Tobago, Duke insisted that it still does not reflect the wishes of its people in its present form.
"The man with the sore foot in Tobago is way more important than the man with the doctorate that lives in Maraval in Trinidad. You know why? Because it is ah Tobago issue and the people of Tobago count. Everybody has a voice. This must involve a full discussion."
In Parliament on Tuesday, the Prime Minister said Duke, at the party's 2020 general election campaign launch, had advocated for secession.
Quoting from Duke's speech at Magdalena hotel, Dr Rowley said the PDP leader had called for Tobago's own judicial system, own High Court, own immigration control, own air traffic control and own prime minister."
Rowley said, "That is not the position of the PNM and I know that is not position of the people of Tobago...Who in Tobago is Watson Duke talking for with that?
"Madam Speaker, if you not sharing immigration control aren't you an independent country, separate and apart from?"
Rowley said Duke's flirtation with the idea of secession will find its way into the heart of the UNC who, if in government, would grant the wish.
In an interview with Newsday on Wednesday, PDP deputy leader Dr Faith BYisrael said Tobago must be given the right to keep its options open.
"Yes, I think that is the point of autonomy – to choose whatever you wish. It is up to the people on the ground to make the choice for themselves.
"Whatever Tobago wants to do – whether it is to stay with Trinidad, or have a federal government, or an association like how the Eastern Caribbean has same currency but are separate countries, or you want to go on your own, which is a choice Tobagonians have. Not saying we want one or the other or want to leave now, but that choice should be a choice we can make."
BYisrael lamented the two days of debate in Parliament between the PNM and the UNC.
"It is a sad showing of the kind of colonialism Tobago has had to deal with for quite some time. You have two very Trinidad-based parties having full discussion about what is right for Tobago without the input of the people of Tobago who have to live with the consequences of their decision."
https://newsday.co.tt/2021/07/01/pdp-au ... ions-open/
Nah hossCB Style wrote:j.o.e wrote:UNC is not interested in doing the people’s business but putting roadblocks in the way of public policy.
Why allyuh PNMites making this whole thing about UNC? Ent allyuh is the same people like to scare the Tobagonians just by mentioning UNC and by extension Indians. When it come to elections in Tobago what is the antics? The Calcutta Ship coming. The last election, Oreo try to convince the people that PDP is a branch of the UNC. The man even went as far as telling the slaves there that he will never forgive them if he vote for the other side. Allyuh shameless boi
Habit7 wrote:
The article proves what I was saying. Duke doesn't want autonomy, but he wants secession and independence (not the soft independence you are peddling). The ppl of Tobago were consulted and they want autonomy, not independence. Duke is talking his raw opinion and Farley and Dr Israel are just trying to polish it like presidential press secretary. You are trying to polish his opinion too.
A chance to secede in the future is a chance to secede now. If your wife tells you to sign divorce papers just in case, is not a recipe for trust and commitment. No place in T&T is available for anybody to pick up and leave otherwise we will die by a thousand cuts. PDP and Hochoy Charles will never agree with a Tobago Autonomy Bill because they don't want autonomy. They want secession and independence.