Heavy Duty Brush Cutter?????

Re: Heavy Duty Brush Cutter?????

Postby maj. tom » June 6th, 2020, 10:12 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:How much stihl oil allyuh does put in a liter of gas?

I been doing it wrong I think I been putting 100ml in $16 Super Gas.

Can too much oil damage the carb?

yuh ever read the manual?
Yuh feel yuh supposed to guess a number for the oil to gas ratio?

https://www.stihlusa.com/information/ho ... -gasoline/

50:1 ratio means 65ml oil to $16 super @$4.97/L

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 7th, 2020, 11:48 am

maj. tom wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:How much stihl oil allyuh does put in a liter of gas?

I been doing it wrong I think I been putting 100ml in $16 Super Gas.

Can too much oil damage the carb?

yuh ever read the manual?
Yuh feel yuh supposed to guess a number for the oil to gas ratio?

https://www.stihlusa.com/information/ho ... -gasoline/

50:1 ratio means 65ml oil to $16 super @$4.97/L

sh!t

ok I go cut back on it then. No wonder my spark plug had so much carbon build up on it so quick

Postby maj. tom » June 7th, 2020, 12:12 pm

My suggestion is to carry it in for a cleaning and servicing at an authorized center, and then continue with the correct mix. The mechanic will disassemble the unit and clean everything. You can't do that yourself unless you have the training.

Postby adnj » June 7th, 2020, 5:00 pm

maj. tom wrote:My suggestion is to carry it in for a cleaning and servicing at an authorized center, and then continue with the correct mix. The mechanic will disassemble the unit and clean everything. You can't do that yourself unless you have the training.

I guess that Trinituning doesn't include cleaning a tiny carburetor.

Teardown, cleaning and rebuild of any single barrel carburetor is a fairly straightforward procedure.

Postby maj. tom » June 7th, 2020, 5:20 pm

Are you making fun of people who lack the knowledge and tools to do certain things that require training and expertise and would rather let an qualified technician do it? If the man can't read the manual for the oil ratio he go disassemble and clean a carburetor ent?

And I could probably do that myself... but i won't play like i know everything, and actually let the mechanic do it.

Postby adnj » June 7th, 2020, 7:55 pm

maj. tom wrote:Are you making fun of people who lack the knowledge and tools to do certain things that require training and expertise and would rather let an qualified technician do it? If the man can't read the manual for the oil ratio he go disassemble and clean a carburetor ent?

And I could probably do that myself... but i won't play like i know everything, and actually let the mechanic do it.

You wrote, "You can't do that yourself unless you have the training." I disagree.

My previous post stands for itself.

Postby maj. tom » June 7th, 2020, 7:58 pm

was talking to ED in that post.
nvm.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 7th, 2020, 11:58 pm

^ I does do most things myself, I will take it apart and clean it if needed.

My brother for example learned to fix everything in his car via youtube, he could change transmission and thing now, replace injectors, ball joint, bushings etc etc

My days of people ripping me off is done especially when we have youtube and countless other means of help, reddit etc

Postby adnj » June 8th, 2020, 3:55 am

maj. tom wrote:was talking to ED in that post.
nvm.
Then I owe you an apology.

Having a tech do the work is your choice and I couldn't agree more.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 8th, 2020, 5:44 am

drop ett and let someone do a small service, however in my opinion just clean the plug and start going with the correct mixture.

theres a spark arrestor in the exhaust, its like a little mesh, clean that too.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 8th, 2020, 9:31 am

Ted_v2 wrote:drop ett and let someone do a small service, however in my opinion just clean the plug and start going with the correct mixture.

theres a spark arrestor in the exhaust, its like a little mesh, clean that too.

I cleaned the spark plug and it works much better now like new infact.

I will check that mesh in the exhaust

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 14th, 2020, 9:11 am

60ml to 4L premium...I use a Stihl FS85

Postby adnj » June 14th, 2020, 9:31 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:60ml to 4L premium...I use a Stihl FS85
For Stihl 2-stroke oil at 50:1, that should be 80ml to 4L of fuel.

Mix at 50:1 (20mls oil per 1L fuel) when you’re using STIHL 2-Stroke oil. If you’re mixing a larger quantity, check out our useful mixing chart.

https://m.stihl.com.au/how-to-mix-2-stroke-fuel.aspx

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 14th, 2020, 1:21 pm

yes you are correct, I made a mistake, I buy a 120ml bottle and use 80ml for my 4l gas canister.

Postby adnj » June 14th, 2020, 2:38 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:yes you are correct, I made a mistake, I buy a 120ml bottle and use 80ml for my 4l gas canister.
I guessed as much but I didn't want to assume.

Postby supercharged turbo » June 30th, 2021, 7:39 pm

Where is a good place to get Stihl wackers right now?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 30th, 2021, 8:43 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Where is a good place to get Stihl wackers right now?

other than FT Farfan??

Postby rollingstock » June 30th, 2021, 9:00 pm

Ramlagans cheaper

carluva

Postby carluva » June 30th, 2021, 9:55 pm

Ramlagan's definitely.

Allied.

Central Chemicals in Chaguanas.

Bhagwansingh's also has a small selection.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » June 30th, 2021, 10:18 pm

Ramlagans had the best price when I was purchased a STIHL brush cutter about 2 months ago.

However after purchasing; a friend told me that FENS Agri-Center, located @ Union Road Marabella had better pricing. I did not bother to investigate since I already purchased my machine.

FYI. Ramlagans has a WhatsApp number which you can use to obtain pricing. This saves the hassle from visiting or calling.

FYI- FT Farfan sell more expensive than their authorized re-sellers.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » June 30th, 2021, 10:21 pm

adnj wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:yes you are correct, I made a mistake, I buy a 120ml bottle and use 80ml for my 4l gas canister.
I guessed as much but I didn't want to assume.

FYI: Ramlagans and I am sure other places sells mixing bottles to get the mixing ratio right without guessing.

mixing bottle.jpg
mixing bottle.jpg (8.76 KiB) Viewed 3620 times

Postby supercharged turbo » July 1st, 2021, 1:15 pm

Current prices for a Stihl FS 450

Ramlagan's-$5055

Fen's Agri-$4950(Out of Stock)

FT Farfan-$5800 or $5850

Central Chemicals-$4997

6 months warranty from everybody

carluva

Postby carluva » July 1st, 2021, 3:31 pm

Who you gonna buy it from?

Postby supercharged turbo » July 1st, 2021, 7:47 pm

Tbh I leaning towards Ramlagan's only because they closer to me but over the last 3 months,I carried a chainsaw and a FS 450 to service by Central Chemicals 3 times thinking is some major problem and the guy who servicing handle me rel quick and didn't even charge me all tho I didn't buy the equipment by them.I thinking to give them the sale just because of how they handled me nice.

Postby rollingstock » July 1st, 2021, 9:18 pm

I would have purchased from them too if they provide a good service.

carluva

Postby carluva » July 1st, 2021, 10:03 pm

I agree. I have always had good experiences and service with Central Chemicals.

When you buy at Ramlagan's, you get good price but normally, some bleh service. Although, with the pandemic, they have gotten more orderly and better.

Give Glen (Central Chemicals) the sale. Always good to support the smaller businesses especially when they give good service and good prices.

Postby supercharged turbo » July 2nd, 2021, 12:14 am

100% agree on your Ramlagan's statement.I"ll check Central Chemicals and let you know how it goes
carluva wrote:I agree. I have always had good experiences and service with Central Chemicals.

When you buy at Ramlagan's, you get good price but normally, some bleh service. Although, with the pandemic, they have gotten more orderly and better.

Give Glen (Central Chemicals) the sale. Always good to support the smaller businesses especially when they give good service and good prices.

Postby Chimera » July 2nd, 2021, 12:27 am

Fs 450 is a heavy machine
Try to get a full harness for it

Using it with the free single shoulder strap.real annoying

I buy this 7 years ago on Amazon when I got my fs450 and it still holding up good
Very adjustable and makes the machine weightless
Screenshot_20210702-002634_Amazon%20Shopping.jpeg

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 2nd, 2021, 6:31 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Fs 450 is a heavy machine
Try to get a full harness for it

Using it with the free single shoulder strap.real annoying

I buy this 7 years ago on Amazon when I got my fs450 and it still holding up good
Very adjustable and makes the machine weightless
Screenshot_20210702-002634_Amazon%20Shopping.jpeg
That price in US?

Postby Chimera » July 2nd, 2021, 7:24 am

Yea thats us.