MaxPower wrote:Carnival has always been a magnet for irresponsibility and unproductivity.
We can survive without it.
Put an end to Carnival in T&T.
With testing and vaccination requirements for entry? Yes.Dohplaydat wrote:adnj wrote:I'm just waiting for the spike that comes after Divali because of EU, UK and NA visitors traveling in November/December.
You assume borders will be open by then?
alfa wrote:It's sad that people seem to be less concerned about when families can return to the beaches or places or worship, when kids can return to actual classrooms and small business can reopen and employ their single mothers. But unfortunate we seem to be more concerned about when we could next wine on a bumsee and drunk out the whole week
j.o.e wrote:alfa wrote:It's sad that people seem to be less concerned about when families can return to the beaches or places or worship, when kids can return to actual classrooms and small business can reopen and employ their single mothers. But unfortunate we seem to be more concerned about when we could next wine on a bumsee and drunk out the whole week
All those things will happen before so doh study it. Let people live
elec2020 wrote:things will not be 'back to normal' till ending next year
redmanjp wrote:elec2020 wrote:things will not be 'back to normal' till ending next year
once we vaccinate >90-95% of >60 and ppl with comorbidities that will dramatically reduce the burden on the hospitals- this could ease SOME restrictions but not all. cases would increase among the younger unvaccinated population but the % of them needing to be hospitalized would be less. i think this is what was referred to as the acute phase of the pandemic - this phase would end.
so maybe most places could open back, outdoor dining and drinking, limited indoor dining, groups of 20 allowed. but big fete and carnival? probably not until herd immunity.
but a 3rd shot may be necessary especially for sinopharm- though i hope this booster shot could be another brand from the 2 shot dose u received.
Dohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:elec2020 wrote:things will not be 'back to normal' till ending next year
once we vaccinate >90-95% of >60 and ppl with comorbidities that will dramatically reduce the burden on the hospitals- this could ease SOME restrictions but not all. cases would increase among the younger unvaccinated population but the % of them needing to be hospitalized would be less. i think this is what was referred to as the acute phase of the pandemic - this phase would end.
so maybe most places could open back, outdoor dining and drinking, limited indoor dining, groups of 20 allowed. but big fete and carnival? probably not until herd immunity.
but a 3rd shot may be necessary especially for sinopharm- though i hope this booster shot could be another brand from the 2 shot dose u received.
Sinopharm may not ever allow us to have real herd immunity. It might reduce deaths and hospitalizations, but not significantly enough.
adnj wrote:We may never achieve long-term global herd immunity for COVID. But if we’re all vaccinated, we’ll be safe from the worst
May 4, 2021 12.57am EDT
The coronavirus will probably never be eliminated
Even with great vaccines, the problem is complex. There are almost always communities who aren’t immunised, for various reasons, even in countries with large proportions of the total population vaccinated. These small communities can continue to get sick and spread the disease long after the general population has passed the herd immunity line, which means there may always be some risk of COVID-19 outbreaks.
On top of this, new variants of the virus have emerged. Our current vaccines are probably enough to provide most people with immunity to the original strain in the long term. But several variants may substantially reduce our vaccines’ effectiveness as time goes by, so we may need boosters at some point.
What’s more, the global situation isn’t rosy. India and Brazil are currently experiencing horrifying COVID-19 outbreaks. The global case count continues to rise, partially because developed nations have hoarded vaccine doses jealously, despite this being a terrible approach to a pandemic. Rising case numbers anywhere increase the chances even more variants pop up, thereby impacting us all.
Even if we overcome vaccine hesitancy and global inaction, and we immunise most of the world, we may not be protected against the virus forever. Even higher-income nations may never get rid of COVID-19.
It’s quite likely this virus will never be eradicated (eliminated from every country across the globe). There may be places where the disease is gone, where local campaigns are successful, but there’ll also be places where the disease is still spreading.
https://theconversation.com/we-may-neve ... rst-159821
Redman wrote:Having it or not- that would be THE carnival to avoid.
VexXx Dogg wrote:Virtual carnival, maybe.
Screentime of traditional events, sans spectators
No consumer mas, unless they come with pretty costume mas that limited in numbers and socially distant.
MaxPower wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:Virtual carnival, maybe.
No consumer mas, unless they come with pretty costume mas that limited in numbers and socially distant.
Hello VexXx Dogg,
Im all for virtual carnival.
Keep people home and give residents and the environment a break.
BUG wrote:I like the optimism but even we get all the vaccines we need, there's no way we're getting to herd immunity with the number of anti-vaxxers in this country.
The problem with just saying "if the anti-vaxxers catch the virus it's their own problem, we're opening up anyway" is that not reaching herd immunity is a danger to already vaccinated people.
Why? Because the virus will circulate non stop through the anti-vaxxers and then through the youths under 18 and vaccine compromised who can't even get the vaccine if they want to, eventually mutating to be vaccine resistant and then we're back to square one.
Dohplaydat wrote:MaxPower wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:Virtual carnival, maybe.
Hello VexXx Dogg,
Lots of Venezuelan refugees are hoping to get some employment through Carnival, do not deny them that by going virtual.
Our aim, regardless of whether having Carnival is a priority, is to get back to normal life asap. The longer we wait, the more people we hurt in the long run.
We should have set a target for herd immunity by Dec 2021. Many others in the Caribbean will reach this goal before that, so what is our problem?
Redress10 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:MaxPower wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:Virtual carnival, maybe.
Hello VexXx Dogg,
Lots of Venezuelan refugees are hoping to get some employment through Carnival, do not deny them that by going virtual.
Our aim, regardless of whether having Carnival is a priority, is to get back to normal life asap. The longer we wait, the more people we hurt in the long run.
We should have set a target for herd immunity by Dec 2021. Many others in the Caribbean will reach this goal before that, so what is our problem?
Ammm no. Don't give a sh*t that venes looking forward to carnival for employment. If that is the case then theu cud hop a boat and ride out.
The whole point of vaccines is to prevent death by a deadly disease. It is not about returning to normal. You don't take a vaccine and then knowingly put yaself at risk of contracting the disease simply because you have taken the vaccine. Most ppl who take a vaccine never even encounter the disease that they were vaccinated for in the first place
Covid isn't "over" simply because the vaccine is now here. Matter of fact covid may become the dominant flu type illness moving forward bypassing the season flu etc. That changes things because as bad as the seasonal flu is, it has never caused the sort of effects that we are seeing with covid.
The goal is to eliminate covid as quickly as possible to prevent it from evolving into a deadlier strain. The more you expose the disease to vaccines etc the more chances you give it bypass these vaccines.
We really need to slow down and start making sense as a country. It's time alot of you all grow up.
Before you ask ya government to invest in the biomedical industry or something so that we can create our own vaccines in the future, this is your priority? Ya eh find TT already soo far behind the developed world? You really don't get how things such as carnival keeping us from developing?
aaron17 wrote:ThissCB Style wrote:MaxPower wrote:Carnival should be banned permanently.
Could not have said it better myself!!!!
Rovin wrote:aaron17 wrote:ThissCB Style wrote:MaxPower wrote:Carnival should be banned permanently.
x10000000
Dohplaydat wrote:MaxPower wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:Virtual carnival, maybe.
Hello VexXx Dogg,
Dohplaydat wrote:Rovin wrote:aaron17 wrote:ThissCB Style wrote:MaxPower wrote:Carnival should be banned permanently.
x10000000
Seriously though, what is it allyuh doh like about Carnival? Cuz to me that is literally one of the best things we have to offer.
Fetes, Carnival, vibes, soca, music, color, creativity, woman galore, wine, thong......Carnival is epic, so much better than music festivals in the US or Europe.
Dohplaydat wrote:aaron17 wrote:ThissCB Style wrote:MaxPower wrote:Carnival should be banned permanently.
Losers, go from here