Taste of Carnival 2022

Mmoney607

Re: Carnival 2022 - Would it stil be on?

Postby Mmoney607 » May 24th, 2021, 10:30 pm

Carnival would always be on. Just not in tnt. The big players in the industry who already make 99% of the profit will just go where it is profitable, other Caribbean islands, US, Europe. They already doing it look at how many entertainers and promoters going to be leaving tnt soon.

Postby redmanjp » May 25th, 2021, 2:00 am

the best we can do even if we get enough vaccines is a scaled down carnival with no alcohol and mandatory masks. 60-70% not enough when u consider both a doubly contagious variant AND a less than ideal sinopharm jab.

we need at least 80% for a normal carnival.

although other restrictions could be lifted by 60-70%

killercow

Postby killercow » May 25th, 2021, 2:26 am

Oh gorm! D vaccine eh even out ah full year yet and allyuh talking about Carnival already! We eh even know if / what long term side-effects any of the vaccines have.
If was up to me, I'd do away with Carnival entirely as almost everything about it is a nuisance.

But it is a significant financial factor for the economy and a part of our culture etc etc.
Bess to fuget bout nex year & focus on Carnival 2023 imo.

Postby MaxPower » May 25th, 2021, 3:40 am

Carnival has always been a magnet for irresponsibility and unproductivity.

We can survive without it.

Put an end to Carnival in T&T.

Postby timelapse » May 25th, 2021, 6:53 am

Not to mention a throwback to slavery.I wonder if carnivallers really know what they supporting
MaxPower wrote:Carnival has always been a magnet for irresponsibility and unproductivity.

We can survive without it.

Put an end to Carnival in T&T.

Postby timelapse » May 25th, 2021, 6:59 am

A la Wikipedia, theres tons more on the interwebs.
Originally, Carnival was a strictly for the white elite similar to Mardi Gras of New Orleans and was celebrated through masquerade balls, house parties, and street parades with carriages. Middle-class people of colour and enslaved Africans were not allowed to participate in Carnival activities except when slaves were performing. Instead white upper-class society would dress up as black men and women to display carnivalesque practices and the racist notions that black men were childish and women were hyper-sexual.

Have we proven those racist notions wrong?
Ban carnival permanently.

Postby alfa » May 25th, 2021, 7:38 am

It's sad that people seem to be less concerned about when families can return to the beaches or places or worship, when kids can return to actual classrooms and small business can reopen and employ their single mothers. But unfortunate we seem to be more concerned about when we could next wine on a bumsee and drunk out the whole week

Postby adnj » May 25th, 2021, 7:54 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:I'm just waiting for the spike that comes after Divali because of EU, UK and NA visitors traveling in November/December.

You assume borders will be open by then?
With testing and vaccination requirements for entry? Yes.

Postby j.o.e » May 25th, 2021, 8:30 am

alfa wrote:It's sad that people seem to be less concerned about when families can return to the beaches or places or worship, when kids can return to actual classrooms and small business can reopen and employ their single mothers. But unfortunate we seem to be more concerned about when we could next wine on a bumsee and drunk out the whole week

All those things will happen before so doh study it. Let people live

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 25th, 2021, 8:35 am

things will not be 'back to normal' till ending next year

Postby timelapse » May 25th, 2021, 9:29 am

Problem is that some fool going to do it regardless of restrictions or the state of spread.
Thankfully the zessing done around by me.I shudder at the thought of carnival zesses
j.o.e wrote:
alfa wrote:It's sad that people seem to be less concerned about when families can return to the beaches or places or worship, when kids can return to actual classrooms and small business can reopen and employ their single mothers. But unfortunate we seem to be more concerned about when we could next wine on a bumsee and drunk out the whole week

All those things will happen before so doh study it. Let people live

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 25th, 2021, 9:59 am

Guys keep in mind that the AZ vaccine protects you up to about 8 months and the Sinopharm protects you up to about 6 months. So all the people getting vaccinated so far will have to undergo the vaccination process again at the beginning of next year. So if that doesn't happen as it should there will be a risk of resurgence

Postby redmanjp » May 25th, 2021, 11:15 am

elec2020 wrote:things will not be 'back to normal' till ending next year

once we vaccinate >90-95% of >60 and ppl with comorbidities that will dramatically reduce the burden on the hospitals- this could ease SOME restrictions but not all. cases would increase among the younger unvaccinated population but the % of them needing to be hospitalized would be less. i think this is what was referred to as the acute phase of the pandemic - this phase would end.

so maybe most places could open back, outdoor dining and drinking, limited indoor dining, groups of 20 allowed. but big fete and carnival? probably not until herd immunity.

but a 3rd shot may be necessary especially for sinopharm- though i hope this booster shot could be another brand from the 2 shot dose u received.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 25th, 2021, 11:22 am

^ we shall see.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 25th, 2021, 11:28 am

redmanjp wrote:

once we vaccinate >90-95% of >60 and ppl with comorbidities that will dramatically reduce the burden on the hospitals- this could ease SOME restrictions but not all. cases would increase among the younger unvaccinated population but the % of them needing to be hospitalized would be less. i think this is what was referred to as the acute phase of the pandemic - this phase would end.

so maybe most places could open back, outdoor dining and drinking, limited indoor dining, groups of 20 allowed. but big fete and carnival? probably not until herd immunity.

but a 3rd shot may be necessary especially for sinopharm- though i hope this booster shot could be another brand from the 2 shot dose u received.

Sinopharm may not ever allow us to have real herd immunity. It might reduce deaths and hospitalizations, but not significantly enough.
CleanShot 2021-05-25 at 11.21.56.png

CleanShot 2021-05-25 at 11.28.31.png

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 25th, 2021, 11:33 am

Virtual carnival, maybe.
Screentime of traditional events, sans spectators
No consumer mas, unless they come with pretty costume mas that limited in numbers and socially distant.

Postby Redman » May 25th, 2021, 11:52 am

Having it or not- that would be THE carnival to avoid.

Postby adnj » May 25th, 2021, 12:13 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Sinopharm may not ever allow us to have real herd immunity. It might reduce deaths and hospitalizations, but not significantly enough.

We may never achieve long-term global herd immunity for COVID. But if we’re all vaccinated, we’ll be safe from the worst

May 4, 2021 12.57am EDT

The coronavirus will probably never be eliminated

Even with great vaccines, the problem is complex. There are almost always communities who aren’t immunised, for various reasons, even in countries with large proportions of the total population vaccinated. These small communities can continue to get sick and spread the disease long after the general population has passed the herd immunity line, which means there may always be some risk of COVID-19 outbreaks.

On top of this, new variants of the virus have emerged. Our current vaccines are probably enough to provide most people with immunity to the original strain in the long term. But several variants may substantially reduce our vaccines’ effectiveness as time goes by, so we may need boosters at some point.

What’s more, the global situation isn’t rosy. India and Brazil are currently experiencing horrifying COVID-19 outbreaks. The global case count continues to rise, partially because developed nations have hoarded vaccine doses jealously, despite this being a terrible approach to a pandemic. Rising case numbers anywhere increase the chances even more variants pop up, thereby impacting us all.

Even if we overcome vaccine hesitancy and global inaction, and we immunise most of the world, we may not be protected against the virus forever. Even higher-income nations may never get rid of COVID-19.

It’s quite likely this virus will never be eradicated (eliminated from every country across the globe). There may be places where the disease is gone, where local campaigns are successful, but there’ll also be places where the disease is still spreading.

https://theconversation.com/we-may-neve ... rst-159821

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 25th, 2021, 1:24 pm

adnj wrote:We may never achieve long-term global herd immunity for COVID. But if we’re all vaccinated, we’ll be safe from the worst

May 4, 2021 12.57am EDT

The coronavirus will probably never be eliminated

Even with great vaccines, the problem is complex. There are almost always communities who aren’t immunised, for various reasons, even in countries with large proportions of the total population vaccinated. These small communities can continue to get sick and spread the disease long after the general population has passed the herd immunity line, which means there may always be some risk of COVID-19 outbreaks.

On top of this, new variants of the virus have emerged. Our current vaccines are probably enough to provide most people with immunity to the original strain in the long term. But several variants may substantially reduce our vaccines’ effectiveness as time goes by, so we may need boosters at some point.

What’s more, the global situation isn’t rosy. India and Brazil are currently experiencing horrifying COVID-19 outbreaks. The global case count continues to rise, partially because developed nations have hoarded vaccine doses jealously, despite this being a terrible approach to a pandemic. Rising case numbers anywhere increase the chances even more variants pop up, thereby impacting us all.

Even if we overcome vaccine hesitancy and global inaction, and we immunise most of the world, we may not be protected against the virus forever. Even higher-income nations may never get rid of COVID-19.

It’s quite likely this virus will never be eradicated (eliminated from every country across the globe). There may be places where the disease is gone, where local campaigns are successful, but there’ll also be places where the disease is still spreading.

https://theconversation.com/we-may-neve ... rst-159821

I agree, though a degree of herd immunity would be achieved (i.e. preventing outbreaks) if at least 70% of persons are vaccinated.

Redman wrote:Having it or not- that would be THE carnival to avoid.

Once you're vaccinated and have no comorbidities, then there's no reason to live in fear. At that point, if you get covid you might not even know. This the whole point of this vaccination exercise.

Postby MaxPower » May 25th, 2021, 1:25 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Virtual carnival, maybe.
No consumer mas, unless they come with pretty costume mas that limited in numbers and socially distant.

Hello VexXx Dogg,

Im all for virtual carnival.

Keep people home and give residents and the environment a break.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 25th, 2021, 1:26 pm

Hello VexXx Dogg,

Lots of Venezuelan refugees are hoping to get some employment through Carnival, do not deny them that by going virtual.

Our aim, regardless of whether having Carnival is a priority, is to get back to normal life asap. The longer we wait, the more people we hurt in the long run.

We should have set a target for herd immunity by Dec 2021. Many others in the Caribbean will reach this goal before that, so what is our problem?

Postby teems1 » May 25th, 2021, 1:30 pm

BUG wrote:I like the optimism but even we get all the vaccines we need, there's no way we're getting to herd immunity with the number of anti-vaxxers in this country.

The problem with just saying "if the anti-vaxxers catch the virus it's their own problem, we're opening up anyway" is that not reaching herd immunity is a danger to already vaccinated people.

Why? Because the virus will circulate non stop through the anti-vaxxers and then through the youths under 18 and vaccine compromised who can't even get the vaccine if they want to, eventually mutating to be vaccine resistant and then we're back to square one.

This should be mandatory viewing.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 25th, 2021, 1:45 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Hello VexXx Dogg,

Lots of Venezuelan refugees are hoping to get some employment through Carnival, do not deny them that by going virtual.

Our aim, regardless of whether having Carnival is a priority, is to get back to normal life asap. The longer we wait, the more people we hurt in the long run.

We should have set a target for herd immunity by Dec 2021. Many others in the Caribbean will reach this goal before that, so what is our problem?

Ammm no. Don't give a sh*t that venes looking forward to carnival for employment. If that is the case then theu cud hop a boat and ride out.

The whole point of vaccines is to prevent death by a deadly disease. It is not about returning to normal. You don't take a vaccine and then knowingly put yaself at risk of contracting the disease simply because you have taken the vaccine. Most ppl who take a vaccine never even encounter the disease that they were vaccinated for in the first place

Covid isn't "over" simply because the vaccine is now here. Matter of fact covid may become the dominant flu type illness moving forward bypassing the season flu etc. That changes things because as bad as the seasonal flu is, it has never caused the sort of effects that we are seeing with covid.

The goal is to eliminate covid as quickly as possible to prevent it from evolving into a deadlier strain. The more you expose the disease to vaccines etc the more chances you give it bypass these vaccines.

We really need to slow down and start making sense as a country. It's time alot of you all grow up.

Before you ask ya government to invest in the biomedical industry or something so that we can create our own vaccines in the future, this is your priority? Ya eh find TT already soo far behind the developed world? You really don't get how things such as carnival keeping us from developing?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 25th, 2021, 1:59 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Hello VexXx Dogg,

Ammm no. Don't give a sh*t that venes looking forward to carnival for employment. If that is the case then theu cud hop a boat and ride out.

The whole point of vaccines is to prevent death by a deadly disease. It is not about returning to normal. You don't take a vaccine and then knowingly put yaself at risk of contracting the disease simply because you have taken the vaccine. Most ppl who take a vaccine never even encounter the disease that they were vaccinated for in the first place

Covid isn't "over" simply because the vaccine is now here. Matter of fact covid may become the dominant flu type illness moving forward bypassing the season flu etc. That changes things because as bad as the seasonal flu is, it has never caused the sort of effects that we are seeing with covid.

The goal is to eliminate covid as quickly as possible to prevent it from evolving into a deadlier strain. The more you expose the disease to vaccines etc the more chances you give it bypass these vaccines.

We really need to slow down and start making sense as a country. It's time alot of you all grow up.

Before you ask ya government to invest in the biomedical industry or something so that we can create our own vaccines in the future, this is your priority? Ya eh find TT already soo far behind the developed world? You really don't get how things such as carnival keeping us from developing?

Dude some of the smartest most successful people partake in Carnival. I don't think people like you get how important Carnival is to this country, culturally and economically. It's the one thing we do right and one of the few things that can help our diversification away from oil.

Partaking in science is good, but Carnival isn't stopping us from excelling at both.

Countries like the UK/US party just as much or more than us. Huge festivals, huge music industry, no one but silly introverted nerds would think these things are holding back progress.

As for whether we can have it, I don't know.

I laid out the criteria needed. If government wants to get their act together, they'll make it happen.

But Trinidad seems to be in no rush to get out of this pandemic. So given that lazy approach then we'll suffer another year without carnival.

Meanwhile, Barbados is already planning on how to have a safe Crop Over 2021 or similar type festival.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on May 25th, 2021, 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rovin » May 25th, 2021, 2:02 pm

aaron17 wrote:
CB Style wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Carnival should be banned permanently.

Could not have said it better myself!!!!
Thiss

x10000000

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 25th, 2021, 2:05 pm

Rovin wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
CB Style wrote:

Thiss

x10000000

Seriously though, what is it allyuh doh like about Carnival? Cuz to me that is literally one of the best things we have to offer.

Fetes, Carnival, vibes, soca, music, color, creativity, woman galore, wine, thong......Carnival is epic, so much better than music festivals in the US or Europe.

Carnival 2022 - Would it stil be on?

Postby MaxPower » May 25th, 2021, 2:07 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Hello VexXx Dogg,

Hello DPD,

My problem is the irresponsibility that comes with Carnival. The blatant disregard for what our culture was supposed to be.

What exactly is Carnival? A time for people to make money? A wine and grine and forget everything else?

Stress out employers when the season comes?

Harass and provoke residents?

Make people spend and borrow unnecessarily?

Get on like animals and deter those who genuinely want to enjoy themselves?

Thrust yourself on a woman against her will and then VEX with her and spoil her enjoyment?

Carnival is not like before, it is disrespectful in many ways and Trinis do not deserve this celebration if they cannot carry about themselves properly.

Don’t worry, you will get your Carnival. Be Safe my brother.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 25th, 2021, 2:25 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Rovin wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
CB Style wrote:

Thiss

x10000000

Seriously though, what is it allyuh doh like about Carnival? Cuz to me that is literally one of the best things we have to offer.

Fetes, Carnival, vibes, soca, music, color, creativity, woman galore, wine, thong......Carnival is epic, so much better than music festivals in the US or Europe.

Do you see ANY progessive country in the world having a "carnival". Most "carnivals" in the developed world such as Nottinghill and Labour were exported and created by the caribbean community residing there. Most of those festivals have become problematic with shootings and stabbings etc. Ask any of the residents living in the wealthy and upscale neighbourhood of Nottinghill if they enjoy it and you will get a resounding NO. They have been trying to have it moved for years. It is viewed as ghetto.

Guess which community in the UK is considered the least progressive with high unemployment rates and education? You guessed it. It's the caribbean community. We have essentially exported crap. Whilst every other community has made significant strides in various capacities we continue to linger and fall further behind. I am sure that things such as carnival doesn't help. Your culture defines you and carnival is causing trinis to become degenerates. It is not an uplifting culture. It is degrading to our women. What other culture glorifies and sexualise their women such as carnival? Then we pretend to be shocked at the gender violence that is pervasive in our society.

Before you look to uplift YOUR women, you rather they wear a thong and put them out in the street to skin they battam for your simple enjoyment? What sorta culture is that?

You really comparing music festivals to TT? Coachella doesn't shut down the USA for 6 weeks. Wireless doesn't cause employees to miss work so they could go a day fete etc. Ultra doesn't cause employees to come to work tipsy after a weekend of frolic.

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » May 25th, 2021, 2:29 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
CB Style wrote:

Thiss

Losers, go from here

And then blame KAMLA after

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 25th, 2021, 2:57 pm

Nobody aint saying carnival bad but in life there are priorities. Carnival is used as a distraction to keep trinis from demanding more from their country. Instead of better living conditions give them carnival.

Imagine they don't come out in their thousands to protest for better living conditions for free but they come out in their thousands to fete and frolic at a price.

Your PM literally on tv daily telling you that he has to beg for vaccines to save lives in TT because the white developed world doesn't care about the faith of brown/black lives in the lesser developed world so they hoarded life saving vaccines. Doesn't that make you question your own value in this world? How is carnival 2022 even a thought in some people's minds right now.