Re: ‘Smartmanism' in Grocery ?

Postby redmanjp » May 8th, 2021, 7:09 am

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 8th, 2021, 7:12 am

timelapse wrote:Thats for US citizens.Not my country not my problem.Trinidad is my country, even Tobago could haul if they want.This anti-Trinidadian xenophobia from other Trinidadians is ridiculous.Here's what.You like Venezuelans so much, go there illegally and stay there.See how much you like it
RedVEVO wrote:
timelapse wrote:Probably thats why THEIR economy crashed and fleeing to our failed country like rats.Logic is flawless
RedVEVO wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:Very soon peeps will see Vene Supermarkets/Supermercado similar to the Chinese Supermarkets .

Many many Vene restaurants and street foods included doubles are being taken over by the Vene .

A good example of business activity by Vene is in Woodbrook and Trincity .

I don't think so. The Chinese supermarkets are backed by super-rich Chinese who invest in the supermarket and send workers from China. They are also able to send Chinese manufactured goods at low prices to sell for profit in TT.

The Venes that are here are from mainly Eastern Venezuela which is mostly poor. There are some who put their last funds into small food businesses in TT, but they don't have supermarket money. Plus they don't have access to the native manufacturing like the Chinese.

Yeah but plenty previously humbled Syrians can now afford to relax and hire Venes to do their gyro work.

You are sooo wrong in your evaluation .

Trini will always be sub standard even in their thoughts :roll:

Many Trinidad people and other investors will back Vene because of their work ethic.

Vene are opening bank accounts and getting credit cards .

The confidence in these hard working peeps is why they have work permits .

They flee due to their Gov't 's incompetence .

T&T people will flee as soon as borders are open .

And they are NOT rats .

You seem to be a bitter person when comes to people who like to work and succeed .

X2,

When Trinis start fleeing and crying and begging for visas and OVERSTAYING in the US.....do we blame them or Rowley?
Exactly. Every single thread on tuner is to attack trinis and promote Venezuelans. If you so hate trinis and there work mentality then go to Venezuela. Why stay here and be unhappy your entire life...

Postby RedVEVO » May 8th, 2021, 8:16 am

wtf wrote:
timelapse wrote:Thats for US citizens.Not my country not my problem.Trinidad is my country, even Tobago could haul if they want.This anti-Trinidadian xenophobia from other Trinidadians is ridiculous.Here's what.You like Venezuelans so much, go there illegally and stay there.See how much you like it
RedVEVO wrote:
timelapse wrote:Probably thats why THEIR economy crashed and fleeing to our failed country like rats.Logic is flawless
RedVEVO wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:Very soon peeps will see Vene Supermarkets/Supermercado similar to the Chinese Supermarkets .

Many many Vene restaurants and street foods included doubles are being taken over by the Vene .

A good example of business activity by Vene is in Woodbrook and Trincity .

I don't think so. The Chinese supermarkets are backed by super-rich Chinese who invest in the supermarket and send workers from China. They are also able to send Chinese manufactured goods at low prices to sell for profit in TT.

The Venes that are here are from mainly Eastern Venezuela which is mostly poor. There are some who put their last funds into small food businesses in TT, but they don't have supermarket money. Plus they don't have access to the native manufacturing like the Chinese.

Yeah but plenty previously humbled Syrians can now afford to relax and hire Venes to do their gyro work.

Many Trinidad people and other investors will back Vene because of their work ethic.

And they are NOT rats .

You seem to be a bitter person when comes to people who like to work and succeed .

X2,

When Trinis start fleeing and crying and begging for visas and OVERSTAYING in the US.....do we blame them or Rowley?
Exactly. Every single thread on tuner is to attack trinis and promote Venezuelans. If you so hate trinis and there work mentality then go to Venezuela. Why stay here and be unhappy your entire life...

Is that how you talk to ALL your BFs ?

Why you sooooo unhappy on your chicken farm ( you even bring your hoss fly on Tuner ) and an extreme racist to boot ?

Venezuela peeps are my family , my courage comrades.

Trini people like you have no education about life and humanity .

And everybody know I do not live in T&T :D

Postby RedVEVO » May 8th, 2021, 8:31 am

timelapse wrote:That is a restaurant despite how small it is.

Bam Bam Boo - a take away - grab food and run is NOT a restaurant .

Postby timelapse » May 8th, 2021, 8:55 am

Homie, you ever went there?
Is a setup like Cafe Caribbean where you have to choose what you want and the attendant spoons it out for you.Not grab food and run.
But you wouldn't know that now, would you?

RedVEVO wrote:
timelapse wrote:That is a restaurant despite how small it is.

Bam Bam Boo - a take away - grab food and run is NOT a restaurant .

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 8th, 2021, 8:59 am

RedVEVO wrote:
wtf wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
Habit7 wrote:I don't think so. The Chinese supermarkets are backed by super-rich Chinese who invest in the supermarket and send workers from China. They are also able to send Chinese manufactured goods at low prices to sell for profit in TT.

And they are NOT rats .

X2,

Why you sooooo unhappy on your chicken farm ( you even bring your hoss fly on Tuner ) and an extreme racist to boot ?

Well if you don't live here stay out of our affairs.

Postby timelapse » May 8th, 2021, 9:48 am

I know I racist.Does Vevo know that he is as well?
We are all racist, every last one.Its human nature
wtf wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
wtf wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

And they are NOT rats .

X2,

Postby RedVEVO » May 8th, 2021, 9:49 am

wtf wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
wtf wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

And they are NOT rats .

X2,

YOU and your BF affairs is no concern of mine.

Gay peeps have opinions which should be respected .

My views are international :D

Even out of the closet racist like yourself should be respected .

Postby RedVEVO » May 8th, 2021, 10:27 am

KM_2NR wrote:Trini's so petty

Petty indeed with huge doses of stupidity .

Everywhere in the First World countries businesses are opening and expanding .

But in T&T with ONLY 1.5-1.6 M peeps - the population and nation is dying economically or financially .

How did First World countries solve the problem ? Many claim vaccines .

T&T waited until the last minute to understand this and there is no leadership even to understand .

You really think Red Gov't out there working for you the T&T peeps ?

T&T Red Gov't have refused vaccines from China .

China solved their problem . Trinidad is again last inline .

And online .

airuma

Postby airuma » May 8th, 2021, 1:24 pm

Probably off topic but I'll say it anyway. I think the inappropriate evolution of the term "smartman" into a seemingly established practice by adding "ism" to the end of it is quite disturbing! What exactly is wrong with the words "schemer" or "con-man"? Why do we continue to degrade and discount actual "smart" people buy grouping them with unscrupulous people? I'm not saying that we don't have smart unscrupulous people, I'm just saying that we should be careful about painting ALL smart people with this broad brush. In the end we ALL suffer as we have a bunch of unintelligent, unscrupulous people on both sides of the political fence making a mess of this country while the "smart" people who could help pull us out of our hole are ignored because of a fear that they will scheme us out of everything, a fear that was created by the use of the term "smartman" which allows the incompetent to be preferred over the competent. I would not be surprised if this term was coined during the black power movement!

Postby RedVEVO » May 8th, 2021, 2:05 pm

airuma wrote:Probably off topic but I'll say it anyway. I think the inappropriate evolution of the term "smartman" into a seemingly established practice by adding "ism" to the end of it is quite disturbing! What exactly is wrong with the words "schemer" or "con-man"? Why do we continue to degrade and discount actual "smart" people buy grouping them with unscrupulous people? I'm not saying that we don't have smart unscrupulous people, I'm just saying that we should be careful about painting ALL smart people with this broad brush. In the end we ALL suffer as we have a bunch of unintelligent, unscrupulous people on both sides of the political fence making a mess of this country while the "smart" people who could help pull us out of our hole are ignored because of a fear that they will scheme us out of everything, a fear that was created by the use of the term "smartman" which allows the incompetent to be preferred over the competent. I would not be surprised if this term was coined during the black power movement!

Trini peep look at "smartmen" as confidence men ( conman ) or tricksters or fraudulent characters .

Then you have to understand that education is NOT a priority for many in T&T.

Then and this may surprise you but specific Trini peeps are extremely closed minded
and it usually due to insecurity and fear from leaders and elders . It's a closed lockdown society .

And to compound it many men in Trinidad NEVER grown up ! And ferment in jealous .

So if you smart - you are the enemy :D

Re: Businesses that closed down in Trinidad & Tobago due to Covid-19 lockdown

Postby K74T » May 10th, 2021, 3:25 pm

Key Points from the Ministry of Finance Virtual Media Conference On COVID-19 Relief Measures - Monday May 10th, 2021.

The Minister of Finance, Colm Imbert, stated that almost $5 billion in relief was provided last year to citizens as a result of the pandemic, but Government is not able to provide this kind of relief this year. However, Income Support Grants in the sum of $1,500 will be distributed to persons who lost their jobs at the beginning of the month, and Salary Relief Grants in the sum of $1,000 will be given to those who lost their jobs over the last few days as a result of the recently-introduced restrictions. The Ministry anticipates that almost 20,000 people will be eligible for this type of assistance. The budgeted amount is between $25 million and $30 million.

Minister Imbert confirmed that the Ministry of Agriculture has committed to providing 25,000 food baskets filled with local vegetables and two chickens. These food baskets will be distributed to needy families in all 41 constituencies. The Food Basket initiative will be funded for the next three months and up to September if required.

Food cards will also be distributed to some citizens since it was noted that they do not have valid bank accounts.

There were instances of double-dipping during last year's distribution of Grants. The Ministry is therefore taking its time to ensure a full-proof system is in place this time around, by implementing a fully-online application system for the Grants. The system is expected to become operational by Friday at the earliest, or next Monday for the latest.

The Ministry of Finance will be working with banks and credit unions to make loans more accessible to Small and Medium Enterprises. The Ministry will also be working with NEDCO to encourage micro-entrepreneurs to access special Grants.

The Finance Minister confirmed that Government has intentions to order 1.5 million COVID-19 vaccines from various suppliers. He noted that there is no cost yet, since each supplier would sell at a different cost. He assured that, “Whatever money is required for the Ministry of Health, we will find it.”

Minister Imbert stated that taxes cannot be relaxed at this time. He said it is unreasonable for people to ask for tax relief and COVID-19 relief at the same time.

Postby K74T » May 10th, 2021, 3:31 pm

FB_IMG_1620675035676.jpeg
FB_IMG_1620675038034.jpeg
FB_IMG_1620675043289.jpeg

Postby bluefete » May 10th, 2021, 4:20 pm

You left out the US$245 million they going and borrow from China from which about US$40 million (that has to be rechecked) will be allocated to buy Sinopharm vaccines.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 10th, 2021, 4:52 pm

seems like this lockdown going past may 23rd

Postby timelapse » May 10th, 2021, 5:01 pm

Seems to be impacting the drug trade as well.Local street pharmacy here only has local cannabis and prices are lower

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 18th, 2021, 8:05 pm

opular Barataria bar, Nari’s on D’Ave, has decided not to reopen and the establishment is now up for sale.

“After great consideration, we announce the sale of our property, inclusive of the bar,” the ownership posted on its Facebook page.

But owner Ramsingh Lala said yesterday that his decision to sell the decades-old establishment is not about financial woes related to closures within the COVID-19 restrictions.

He said the decision is instead, about putting family first.

“Simply put, I selling the bar because I’ve spent 42 years in this industry, and in that 42 years it was total neglect for my family. It had times my children would go to school and I wouldn’t see them, they wouldn’t see me for breakfast, lunch or dinner. I am approaching 60, I don’t want that anymore,” Lala told Guardian Media.

Admitting that he has had enough of the bar industry, Lala said this virus, along with its death toll, was enough of a lesson for him on how important family is and how quickly the window to spend time with them can evaporate.

“Every family birthday, even my own, I would be working. I missed those treasured things. They were upstairs celebrating and I downstairs in the bar...not anymore.”

it good he closed, he was too money hungry and he rob me a $700 years ago. how he get a bar license opposite a school i could never understand. cuz an sylburt should follow.

Postby Chimera » June 18th, 2021, 9:01 pm

they usually get a bar license to sell alcohol during certain hours, like when school is closed

then a year during renewal, they get it changed to be 24 hours without the magistrate realizing its initial conditions

Postby RedVEVO » June 19th, 2021, 4:24 am

daring dragoon wrote:
opular Barataria bar, Nari’s on D’Ave, has decided not to reopen and the establishment is now up for sale.

“After great consideration, we announce the sale of our property, inclusive of the bar,” the ownership posted on its Facebook page.

But owner Ramsingh Lala said yesterday that his decision to sell the decades-old establishment is not about financial woes related to closures within the COVID-19 restrictions.

“Simply put, I selling the bar because I’ve spent 42 years in this industry, and in that 42 years it was total neglect for my family. It had times my children would go to school and I wouldn’t see them, they wouldn’t see me for breakfast, lunch or dinner. I am approaching 60, I don’t want that anymore,” Lala told Guardian Media.

Admitting that he has had enough of the bar industry, Lala said this virus, along with its death toll, was enough of a lesson for him on how important family is and how quickly the window to spend time with them can evaporate.

“Every family birthday, even my own, I would be working. I missed those treasured things. They were upstairs celebrating and I downstairs in the bar...not anymore.”

it good he closed, he was too money hungry and he rob me a $700 years ago. how he get a bar license opposite a school i could never understand. cuz an sylburt should follow.

Memories with a human nature Hallmark moment during a pandemic :

So YOU come on Tuner to obeah the bar owner for $700 - toting emotions maybe for jackA years ? :D

Forgive and move on like a real dragon on steroids :D

Or tell Tuners about the robbery that you toting for 100 years ?

Any video ?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 19th, 2021, 5:46 am

RedVEVO wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

Memories with a human nature Hallmark moment during a pandemic :

So YOU come on Tuner to obeah the bar owner for $700 - toting emotions maybe for jackA years ? :D

Forgive and move on like a real dragon on steroids :D

Or tell Tuners about the robbery that you toting for 100 years ?

Any video ?

i cash out a $700 in the 8 line machine and he want to tell me is for entertainment only that he dont pay but i say god dont sleep so good luck in selling the property.

that type of bar is a thing of the pass with the new normal. men have to think outside the box moving forward. it have a bar in gran couva and back road in freeport that has the new normal design for years an i sure they dont know what they have.

Postby Habit7 » June 19th, 2021, 11:32 am

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/popular-baratari ... -for-sale/

Then this shouldn't be in this thread.

Postby eliteauto » July 4th, 2021, 5:48 pm

Chaud restaurant has closed

There are a lot of emotions involved when you dream of what your restaurant will be before even one tile has been laid, before you see the first stove installed, before the gleam of new pots and pans tease your eyes and the smell of the first dish being cooked tickles all your senses. All of these details etch in your mind and stay with you forever. As the aprons come off, the final dish has been plated, and this part of the journey comes to an end, similar and new emotions are evoked.
Above all else, there is Gratitude. To my customers, your support has been invaluable. Thank you for trusting in me and in my passion. Thank you for filling my dining room with laughter, love and life. To all my teams throughout the years, I could not have done it without you. Chaud would not be Chaud without your dedication, interest and belief in our vision. To my family and friends, knowing I have your support has enabled me to do what I do best.
Food is my passion, restaurants are my life.
While this curtain is closing, Chaud Events, Chaud Café & Wine Bar and Chaud Café Vite will continue to be open and I look forward to seeing each and every one of you when the time is right. Thank you for 15 years of great food, great wine and great times at Restaurant Chaud.
Khalid

Postby pugboy » July 4th, 2021, 7:06 pm

never went there, had the burger by the cafe a few times

Postby j.o.e » July 5th, 2021, 12:28 am

eliteauto wrote:Chaud restaurant has closed

There are a lot of emotions involved when you dream of what your restaurant will be before even one tile has been laid, before you see the first stove installed, before the gleam of new pots and pans tease your eyes and the smell of the first dish being cooked tickles all your senses. All of these details etch in your mind and stay with you forever. As the aprons come off, the final dish has been plated, and this part of the journey comes to an end, similar and new emotions are evoked.
Above all else, there is Gratitude. To my customers, your support has been invaluable. Thank you for trusting in me and in my passion. Thank you for filling my dining room with laughter, love and life. To all my teams throughout the years, I could not have done it without you. Chaud would not be Chaud without your dedication, interest and belief in our vision. To my family and friends, knowing I have your support has enabled me to do what I do best.
While this curtain is closing, Chaud Events, Chaud Café & Wine Bar and Chaud Café Vite will continue to be open and I look forward to seeing each and every one of you when the time is right. Thank you for 15 years of great food, great wine and great times at Restaurant Chaud.
Khalid

Funny thing is when I saw this I thought they were closed a long time now. As in pre pandemic

sharadu2

Postby sharadu2 » July 5th, 2021, 5:51 am

Heard from a tenant in trincity mall that Mario’s moved out.

Postby De Dragon » July 5th, 2021, 1:23 pm

eliteauto wrote:Chaud restaurant has closed

Khalid

Chaud long? :lol: :lol:

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 5th, 2021, 1:42 pm

pugboy wrote:never went there, had the burger by the cafe a few times

Used to love going to the cafe. Had the best lamb of my life there and I'm not much of a lamb person overall. Never reached the restaurant but damn, sad to see them close.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 5th, 2021, 1:57 pm

The burger at the Cafe is realllly good

Postby pugboy » July 5th, 2021, 3:40 pm

If you think that burger was good, wait til you try the one by simply gourmet
Miles better

Dunno what is status with them though.

Postby RedVEVO » July 5th, 2021, 5:54 pm

pugboy wrote:If you think that burger was good, wait til you try the one by simply gourmet
Miles better

Dunno what is status with them though.

Best Burger is Venezuelan Burger on Ariapita .

Big slice of grilled pineapple , 2 grilled jumbo beef patties , 2 types cheese and 2 fried eggs, - then 4 sauces.

And FREE coke and fries :D

Small money $50 :D

However the other Venezuelan Cafe next to Smokey is CLOSED :drinking:

They made the BEST " Pan de Jamon y Queso "