An interesting read. Thanks for posting.De Dragon wrote:Habit7 wrote:j.o.e wrote:Sweet!! Another ‘cry over the PNM reign’ thread and Hope for the return of KPB. I miss the old tuner where men used to threaten to migrate with every PNM victory now men suing to come home.mero wrote:Year 6 of eating grass and deading
4 months after Franklin Khan's party get re-elected and he resumed as Min of Energy, Curtis Williams say he should step down, as if he was responsible for the global collapse of oil prices in 2014.
I come back to return to my regular political jones in threads. But the quality of laments getting worse. At least tuners like UML actually used to try to use fact to make their point. Now ZR and his plebs just lie and when you confront them with the truth, they claim PNM powerful enough to change the truth but not grow the economy.
This is what he actually wrote. Maybe you should learn to read and comprehend beyond the headline alone![]()
Curtis Williams, Trinidad Guardian, Thursday December 24th 2020
It would ordinarily be wrong to blame any single person for the state of the Energy sector. But we have had a minister in the person of Franklin Khan who has been at the helm for almost five years and it is worth examining his record to make a decision on whether he has delivered to the country.
This is not a time for party sympathies nor for issues of congeniality. Franklin Khan is the man in charge since 2016 having taken over from the ineffective and inconsequential Nicole Oliverre.
In 2016 when Khan became the Minister of Energy this country’s crude production had averaged 72,000 barrels of oil per day (bo/d). This has now fallen to 56,000 bo/d. That represents a decline of 23 percent.
In 2016 the average natural gas production was 3.3 billion standard cubic feet per day (bscf/d), In 2020 the Ministry of Energy’s own figures show it is down by 100 million standard cubic feet per day, averaging 3.2 bscf/d. So when you hear Khan and the government taking credit for what it has done in natural gas production the evidence says otherwise.
The story is the same with methanol, ammonia and LNG; all down.
Khan often insists that the country is a price taker and there is truth in that but it can impact its own production and the government’s policy of trying to take as much taxes as it can from a smaller and smaller pie is ill advised.
There are those who may argue that Khan is not the one to blame, they have seen how the minister of everything has all but usurped the power of the Minister of Energy, who is often forced to genuflect in his presence praising Stuart Young for doing the work that the substantive Minister of Energy should be leading, but there is also the question of Khan’s health and whether he has the energy to run the Ministry of Energy.
It is no secret that Khan underwent major heart surgery a couple years ago and we are all happy he was able to recover but as we looked at him shuffle to receive his letter of appointment from the President one could not help feel a sense of sadness that the Prime Minister would put such burden on a man who has given so much and who is clearly in the winter of his years and would better spend his time with family and taking care of his health.
It is not just the fall in production that we must judge Khan’s performance by. He has overseen a botched bid round where a year later no block has been awarded nearshore and the bids made by Royal Dutch Shell and BPTT were almost not worth the paper they were written on as sources in the Ministry say they were so below the threshold it appears they were only meant to save the government’s blushes.
Khan has been Minister of Energy and, to date, there is not a single deep water bid round. To be sure we will pay the price as a country down the road for his inertia.
All of the drilling including the Touchstone success were based on blocks given out by the former administration.
It may not be apparent but the PNM has been in power for 14 of the last 19 years. In the last 11 of the PNM’s 14 years it has failed to award a single block for exploration.
Khan has had the dubious honour of overseeing the closure of Petrotrin, the collapse of the Point Lisas Estate and it appears that he is only allowed to be the bearer of bad news or defend the indefensible in Parliament. Any good news is announced by the Prime Minister.
I have known Mr Khan for a long time and he is always a pleasant man. But when it’s time to go we must exit the stage. We must all know when we can do no more.
Rather than being pushed out, the Energy Minister should do the honourable thing and resign. The time has come when people need not to be wedded to office but to principles and surely Mr Khan must know this stint as Minister of Energy has been one of failure.
Habit 7 & red government will always post their spin and most misleading articles .rebound wrote:An interesting read. Thanks for posting.De Dragon wrote:Habit7 wrote:j.o.e wrote:Sweet!! Another ‘cry over the PNM reign’ thread and Hope for the return of KPB. I miss the old tuner where men used to threaten to migrate with every PNM victory now men suing to come home.mero wrote:Year 6 of eating grass and deading
4 months after Franklin Khan's party get re-elected and he resumed as Min of Energy, Curtis Williams say he should step down, as if he was responsible for the global collapse of oil prices in 2014.
I come back to return to my regular political jones in threads. But the quality of laments getting worse. At least tuners like UML actually used to try to use fact to make their point. Now ZR and his plebs just lie and when you confront them with the truth, they claim PNM powerful enough to change the truth but not grow the economy.
This is what he actually wrote. Maybe you should learn to read and comprehend beyond the headline alone![]()
Curtis Williams, Trinidad Guardian, Thursday December 24th 2020
It would ordinarily be wrong to blame any single person for the state of the Energy sector. But we have had a minister in the person of Franklin Khan who has been at the helm for almost five years and it is worth examining his record to make a decision on whether he has delivered to the country.
This is not a time for party sympathies nor for issues of congeniality. Franklin Khan is the man in charge since 2016 having taken over from the ineffective and inconsequential Nicole Oliverre.
In 2016 when Khan became the Minister of Energy this country’s crude production had averaged 72,000 barrels of oil per day (bo/d). This has now fallen to 56,000 bo/d. That represents a decline of 23 percent.
In 2016 the average natural gas production was 3.3 billion standard cubic feet per day (bscf/d), In 2020 the Ministry of Energy’s own figures show it is down by 100 million standard cubic feet per day, averaging 3.2 bscf/d. So when you hear Khan and the government taking credit for what it has done in natural gas production the evidence says otherwise.
The story is the same with methanol, ammonia and LNG; all down.
Khan often insists that the country is a price taker and there is truth in that but it can impact its own production and the government’s policy of trying to take as much taxes as it can from a smaller and smaller pie is ill advised.
There are those who may argue that Khan is not the one to blame, they have seen how the minister of everything has all but usurped the power of the Minister of Energy, who is often forced to genuflect in his presence praising Stuart Young for doing the work that the substantive Minister of Energy should be leading, but there is also the question of Khan’s health and whether he has the energy to run the Ministry of Energy.
It is no secret that Khan underwent major heart surgery a couple years ago and we are all happy he was able to recover but as we looked at him shuffle to receive his letter of appointment from the President one could not help feel a sense of sadness that the Prime Minister would put such burden on a man who has given so much and who is clearly in the winter of his years and would better spend his time with family and taking care of his health.
It is not just the fall in production that we must judge Khan’s performance by. He has overseen a botched bid round where a year later no block has been awarded nearshore and the bids made by Royal Dutch Shell and BPTT were almost not worth the paper they were written on as sources in the Ministry say they were so below the threshold it appears they were only meant to save the government’s blushes.
Khan has been Minister of Energy and, to date, there is not a single deep water bid round. To be sure we will pay the price as a country down the road for his inertia.
All of the drilling including the Touchstone success were based on blocks given out by the former administration.
It may not be apparent but the PNM has been in power for 14 of the last 19 years. In the last 11 of the PNM’s 14 years it has failed to award a single block for exploration.
Khan has had the dubious honour of overseeing the closure of Petrotrin, the collapse of the Point Lisas Estate and it appears that he is only allowed to be the bearer of bad news or defend the indefensible in Parliament. Any good news is announced by the Prime Minister.
I have known Mr Khan for a long time and he is always a pleasant man. But when it’s time to go we must exit the stage. We must all know when we can do no more.
Rather than being pushed out, the Energy Minister should do the honourable thing and resign. The time has come when people need not to be wedded to office but to principles and surely Mr Khan must know this stint as Minister of Energy has been one of failure.
Habit7 wrote:How does that in anyway refute what I posted?
zoom rader wrote:bluefete wrote:There is your UNC side coming out again.
Just because it happened during the Panday (UNC) era, you have a problem accepting facts.
I remember because Assam was Min. of Trade (1995-2001) when they buss the 4,000% tax.zoom rader wrote:bluefete wrote:Yuh real good Zoom.
It was under the Panday Administration (1995-2000) that TCL (AGAIN) - when it was fully locally owned, went crying to the gov't that Harricrete was importing dumped cement.
Mervyn Assam was Minister of Trade and the gov't imposed a 4,000% tax that buss Harricrete. After that was salt because TCL almost doubled the price of cement.zoom rader wrote:You could be right but you need to post some edvendence to back it up
Thanks for the infobluefete wrote:Here is your edvendence that it was done by the UNC under BASDEO PANDAY in 2000 !!!!
The original notice: Legal Notice No. 55, published on March 2, 2000 could not be downloaded but the review in 2006 under the PNM could.
Not everything can be blamed on your red friends.
Now go and read and stay quiet! LOL.
http://www.ttlawcourts.org/index.php/co ... nload/1290zoom rader wrote:bluefete wrote:There is your UNC side coming out again.
Just because it happened during the Panday (UNC) era, you have a problem accepting facts.
I remember because Assam was Min. of Trade (1995-2001) when they buss the 4,000% tax.zoom rader wrote:bluefete wrote:Yuh real good Zoom.
It was under the Panday Administration (1995-2000) that TCL (AGAIN) - when it was fully locally owned, went crying to the gov't that Harricrete was importing dumped cement.
Mervyn Assam was Minister of Trade and the gov't imposed a 4,000% tax that buss Harricrete. After that was salt because TCL almost doubled the price of cement.zoom rader wrote:You could be right but you need to post some edvendence to back it up
De Dragon wrote:Habit7 wrote:How does that in anyway refute what I posted?
Poomcie, you ridiculous (as always it seems) argument is that even though Guy Smiley didn't and couldn't btw,create the situation, his mishandling of it is also some way only a pea brained LFDRFD PNM sheep would deem, also not his fault.
Habit7 wrote:De Dragon wrote:Habit7 wrote:How does that in anyway refute what I posted?
Poomcie, you ridiculous (as always it seems) argument is that even though Guy Smiley didn't and couldn't btw,create the situation, his mishandling of it is also some way only a pea brained LFDRFD PNM sheep would deem, also not his fault.
Yes we know what Curtis Williams said, that is his opinion and lament much like many of you. But I already refuted it in the other thread. It is premature and petty to be calling for Khan to resign just when he just received the popular mandate.
For 5yrs UNC was predicting the fall of the PNM if not calling for elections. Even with the restructure of Petrotrin, PNM was still victorious. Curtis Williams departing from journalism into opinion writing doesn't change the fact of populace approval of Franklin Khan.
Red government lacks technical skills , they depend on ojt folks to give them advice.Numb3r4 wrote:Seriously though who would be a good replacement?
Is there someone within the cabinet or can they get someone from the private sector or some such government outsider?
Who would that be?
OJT have some talented persons.zoom rader wrote:Red government lacks technical skills , they depend on ojt folks to give them advice.Numb3r4 wrote:Seriously though who would be a good replacement?
Is there someone within the cabinet or can they get someone from the private sector or some such government outsider?
Who would that be?
Now their mandate is to kill the energy sector and replace it store clerks and waiters.
We gone from a technical nation to a servant nation which is all directed by 1% and their house boy Rowlee JuHN
Numb3r4 wrote:Seriously though who would be a good replacement?
Who would that be?
zoom rader wrote:Red government lacks technical skills , they depend on ojt folks to give them advice.Numb3r4 wrote:Seriously though who would be a good replacement?
Who would that be?
Now their mandate is to kill the energy sector and replace it store clerks and waiters.
We gone from a technical nation to a servant nation which is all directed by 1% and their house boy Rowlee JuHN
The_Honourable wrote:Habit7... "he just received the popular mandate" is a poor argument. For persons who not in the know reading your comments, they would think Khan only became Minister of Energy in August 2020 and his critics are unreasonable calling for his resignation.
The fact is Franklin Khan has been minister of energy from 31st October 2016 to 9th August 2020, and then from 19th August 2020 to present. That's 4+ years where the PNM has been in control since Sept 2015 which is 5+ years. Khan might be a nice guy in person and does have some experience in the energy sector but there is no doubt that he is the worst energy minister in recent memory where actual energy technocrats in the industry have little respect for him. Rowley had the opportunity to appoint someone new for the ministry after the 2020 General Elections but he did not which says a lot.
You have no shame, after a man just call out your folly for blaming PNM for something UNC did.zoom rader wrote:Tings bad when honourable have to respond to Habit7 propaganda. Even Redman ditch him today
bluefete wrote:Apparently, you did not hear that from Jan 1, 2021, quota and licensing regime will be placed on imported cement (read - Rock Hard ).
Mexican owned TCL will be bussing price on cement when that goes into effect.
http://www.news.gov.tt/content/introduc ... -5DTdhKhPYtimelapse wrote:Agree or not, more job losses.
Increased 'austerity measures' to off set Covid losses
Hopefully a crackdown on illegals and establish some kind of legal framework for treating with them
Increased food import prices.
Last minute , carnival will not be cancelled because KCR will appear to be a hero.
Plus side : Construction materials will be cheaper, because the state most likely not going to be doing any major construction.I comparing cement and steel prices from UNC days to now.So if you have to build, it would be a good time
The_Honourable wrote:Habit7... "he just received the popular mandate" is a poor argument. For persons who not in the know reading your comments, they would think Khan only became Minister of Energy in August 2020 and his critics are unreasonable calling for his resignation.
The fact is Franklin Khan has been minister of energy from 31st October 2016 to 9th August 2020, and then from 19th August 2020 to present. That's 4+ years where the PNM has been in control since Sept 2015 which is 5+ years. Khan might be a nice guy in person and does have some experience in the energy sector but there is no doubt that he is the worst energy minister in recent memory where actual energy technocrats in the industry have little respect for him. Rowley had the opportunity to appoint someone new for the ministry after the 2020 General Elections but he did not which says a lot.
The year ain't even start good yet and cement prices gone up already..shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Right foot left foot
Pnm prices in yuh mc
De Dragon wrote:It also reinforces Habit7's dostishness, as Guy Smiley was appointed, not elected, so the "popular mandate" of JUHN Scarfy and the LFDRFD PNM kleptocracy doesn't count
wtf wrote:The year ain't even start good yet and cement prices gone up already..shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Right foot left foot
Pnm prices in yuh mc
Habit7 wrote:De Dragon wrote:It also reinforces Habit7's dostishness, as Guy Smiley was appointed, not elected, so the "popular mandate" of JUHN Scarfy and the LFDRFD PNM kleptocracy doesn't count
Popular mandate does not mean he was elected. Nowhere in my post I said that.
Reading & comprehension