:: The official TOOLS thread ::

9YDMS

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby 9YDMS » September 23rd, 2020, 9:55 pm

Hey folks where can i get a good MIG/flux welding plant..and which is better lincoln or hobart?

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » September 23rd, 2020, 9:56 pm

Is this a good price?
20200923_214402.jpg

Postby X_Factor » September 23rd, 2020, 10:05 pm

anyone interested in a pair of 24 inch bar clamps ? 300.00
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000F ... th=1&psc=1

Postby sMASH » September 23rd, 2020, 10:54 pm

Calor wrote:Is this a good price?
nope i think i saw that in edoos for 6k.

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » September 23rd, 2020, 11:15 pm

sMASH wrote:
Calor wrote:Is this a good price?
nope i think i saw that in edoos for 6k.

Thanks

Postby MG Man » September 26th, 2020, 10:13 am

my experience with the tool place in Chase Village close to the triangle:
Cluefuckingless
I drop my craftsman impact driver to repair. It can't even run up wheel nuts. It just starts impacting at the slightest resistance
So I drop it and explain the scenario to him
A week later, he eh check it yet
No scn
Another week passes, I call back
Yeah nothing wrong with it. It working real good
How you test it?
I put the head in a vice and pull the trigger, and it impacting, so nuttn to fix.....
So I went today to pick it up and I ask him again what wrong with it
He say it working real good
I explain to him I can hold a socket on the end with my bare hands, pull the trigger and it won't even spin, it just starts impacting
Man says yeah, well it supposed to impact when it gets resistance
wut
I ask him how it working good if it can't break wheel nuts that are hand tight?
He say best I send it away to fix

Postby maj. tom » September 26th, 2020, 10:39 am

Try an authorized service center for big brands.
Pro Tools Ltd. San Juan is a certified repair shop for DeWalt, Black&Decker, Stanley.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 26th, 2020, 10:59 am

Reviving this discussion.

Where sells Toro and Honda mowers locally? Looking for a self propelled walk behind.

Also, can I import a mower? What are the requirements to do the same?
adnj wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:Looking to buy a gas lawn mower. Any recommendations? Any brands to stay away from.
If it is a typical walk behind, nearly all models made in the US are built by MTD in Ohio. There is also Ariens, Toro and Honda are very reliable. I prefer Honda but they are pricey. There are new small engines being shipped in from Chinese manufacturers that are a hit or miss. Good designs but quality is dependent on the seller.

If you are getting a commercial mower for a big yard or play field, Gravely (owned by Ariens) and John Deere are probably worth the $40K price tag.

Postby pugboy » September 26th, 2020, 11:03 am

i think laughlin sells craftsman but not sure if they have a service center
abroad craftsman is often cal crapsman....
they have lifetime warranty i believe so many persons buy they hand tools for that reason

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » September 26th, 2020, 11:38 am

MG Man wrote:my experience with the tool place in Chase Village close to the triangle:
Cluefuckingless
I drop my craftsman impact driver to repair. It can't even run up wheel nuts. It just starts impacting at the slightest resistance
No scn
How you test it?
I put the head in a vice and pull the trigger, and it impacting, so nuttn to fix.....
I explain to him I can hold a socket on the end with my bare hands, pull the trigger and it won't even spin, it just starts impacting
wut

Starts with R? If it is, he has another job so he so almost never there. Try the Dewalt store in Gulf View, I believe craftsman now falls under stanley so they may be able to check it. Call 652-4351 on Monday

Postby sMASH » September 26th, 2020, 12:23 pm

is there any place that sells band saw blades? like big ones.

Postby adnj » September 26th, 2020, 2:30 pm

carluva wrote:Reviving this discussion.

Where sells Toro and Honda mowers locally? Looking for a self propelled walk behind.

Also, can I import a mower? What are the requirements to do the same?
adnj wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:Looking to buy a gas lawn mower. Any recommendations? Any brands to stay away from.
If it is a typical walk behind, nearly all models made in the US are built by MTD in Ohio. There is also Ariens, Toro and Honda are very reliable. I prefer Honda but they are pricey. There are new small engines being shipped in from Chinese manufacturers that are a hit or miss. Good designs but quality is dependent on the seller.

If you are getting a commercial mower for a big yard or play field, Gravely (owned by Ariens) and John Deere are probably worth the $40K price tag.

TrinTrac carries Honda mowers. West Bend Sales was the local Toro mower dealer before they went out of business but there may be a different one now.

There is no restriction on shipping a mower into Trinidad.

Postby maj. tom » September 26th, 2020, 2:48 pm

Not those brands but https://shopssltt.com/lawnmower-21-6-5hp-selfp

But i know it's really the engine manufacturer that you're looking for.
The mower in that pic looks like this http://gardensales.store/ which says it has a Briggs & Stratton BS775IS engine. May be worth it to check it out in-store.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 26th, 2020, 6:54 pm

Pricesmart has a troy built self propelled.
Allied has a husqvarna with a Honda engine.
maj. tom wrote:

Not those brands but https://shopssltt.com/lawnmower-21-6-5hp-selfp

But i know it's really the engine manufacturer that you're looking for.
The mower in that pic looks like this http://gardensales.store/ which says it has a Briggs & Stratton BS775IS engine. May be worth it to check it out in-store.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 26th, 2020, 10:57 pm

Are the Troy bilt any good? If I'm not mistaken, the self propelled Troy bilt is a front wheel drive compared to rear wheel drive in the Honda.

I'll look by allied as well as contact trintrac. I was looking for a reason to go allied so looks like I found that reason .

I'll post up some prices once I get em.

Postby Chimera » September 26th, 2020, 11:19 pm

what kind of tools allyuh buy recently?

bought a dewalt laser level about 2 months ago

and a dewalt 10" miter saw

bought a used compressor for $1000 few days ago, central pneumatic i think

hadda get a bradnailer and spray gun for lil home projects

Postby Ted_v2 » September 26th, 2020, 11:36 pm

hadda get some air eventually, sold my 20 gallon due to it being oil free and was super noisey. Need something quiet for my location, tires and stuff.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 26th, 2020, 11:46 pm

The troy built is front wheel drive. Unless you mowing on a bumpy hill i don't think u really need a self propelled.
carluva wrote:Are the Troy bilt any good? If I'm not mistaken, the self propelled Troy bilt is a front wheel drive compared to rear wheel drive in the Honda.

I'll look by allied as well as contact trintrac. I was looking for a reason to go allied so looks like I found that reason .

I'll post up some prices once I get em.

hindian

Postby hindian » September 27th, 2020, 6:51 am

Musical Doc wrote:
MG Man wrote:my experience with the tool place in Chase Village close to the triangle:
Cluefuckingless
No scn
How you test it?
wut

Starts with R? If it is, he has another job so he so almost never there. Try the Dewalt store in Gulf View, I believe craftsman now falls under stanley so they may be able to check it. Call 652-4351 on Monday
If it is the place that starts with R, that's strange cuz I've taken many of my personal tools there and always they always left way better that they came in. I call before I go though. The only tool I didn't get through with is a 7" dewalt grinder he couldn't get the switch for so I adapted a switch and it works ok

Postby Chimera » September 27th, 2020, 1:10 pm

how much so for a stud finder?
just realize i need one for next week

i see amazon its 50 us for a bosch but if its the 400-500 locally i might as well buy local

Postby adnj » September 27th, 2020, 5:02 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:how much so for a stud finder?
just realize i need one for next week

i see amazon its 50 us for a bosch but if its the 400-500 locally i might as well buy local
You should be able to buy a quality electronic stud finder for USD25 or less.

Postby supercharged turbo » September 27th, 2020, 10:35 pm

Bought a set of good quality snap rings pliers that I've been watching awhile now
Phone Surgeon wrote:what kind of tools allyuh buy recently?

bought a dewalt laser level about 2 months ago

and a dewalt 10" miter saw

bought a used compressor for $1000 few days ago, central pneumatic i think

hadda get a bradnailer and spray gun for lil home projects

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 28th, 2020, 4:34 am

where can i buy a god air compressor? it not for professional use so i would only be used now and then? persons telling me stay away from oil free as its plastic in the compressor but i just need a brand or location to check a recommended one. campbell brand is being recommended from a professional car painter.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 28th, 2020, 5:32 am

Postby MG Man » September 28th, 2020, 8:41 am

Price Smart occasionally has compressors as well

Postby maj. tom » September 28th, 2020, 9:06 am

aye yuh don't have to copy the entire website's URL encryption too eh :lol:
this is enough https://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200375221_200375221

Postby supercharged turbo » September 28th, 2020, 9:33 am

Have this same compressor and absolutely no regrets.Its more quiet than the regular 20 gallons as well.Massy is the dealer
Ted_v2 wrote:nervewrecker bought a Chicago pneumatic and its working out good for him, was just around 2500 , i think its a 2hp 20 18 gallon. 110v. Place in debe just by ms grocery on the left hand side. they have some decent stuff there.

https://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200375221_200375221?__cf_chl_captcha_tk__=0b1c7290d27bfe4c33484d263e4a2fc34596ba7e-1601285331-0-AQHP3mAMiUOah2DciZZC3JFib3KtTghYDk6X2WayzXVx5KYbiYb9kCGvp9i0Ij9xjX7-zRYrmQPnv82DrLdjpBiDVzdZbzCHcCs_a_1gjieLjeush3F-U14rG4STMXeD_Lrh2jBvTrJD9K6itqb_r6Ts9n2nK6seMeMVjbyGs0aDwwWJFETZPVOOp4axGtkTbmhnDg_zhKQl1AbPSBX9txiJ7LKlqGWqa1Mb5Bwwl17aGSbPaVEnXTzPvgZLVOHgH67IPTEtZifmzVSyUBut4AwY3RaEo9lnzC-qBr0LahVzvYw2SrTUcTuTsBqRsyVkr1hubRLS8zK0dez6W7kqNr6Cq0wTDHp7DgN--LNfwNoOEPwgqJ3T_ySt-3Qy99J8_II_9o0TIIoxnjSfKwtQzv1TegxR0TXuYyXP9ge5Yt2pnQUE5gGXd36Zf2HT0sXr8KzmpO6ej75Yy1s4Sm0nH6pIQFrUapFNcWfuNQjiZ93_jnq2CFEYwO6WsaiOZQRCfItg3tcsJAK-3evtRMs6pC4jL81U-VczZAcijXURMvV0

This is the best 110v compressor i ever came across, allied had it for just over 5k, i think farfan is the IR dealers too. If i could of afforded it, i would of purchased it then. this is ideal for a DIY.

Postby nervewrecker » September 28th, 2020, 6:35 pm

Got it from dumore oil and gas.

Usb cable to charge it.

Has usb out to charge phones.
4 hours run time, adjustable stand.

$320.00

Can be used as a hazard light blinking in case of accident or need help. Image

Postby Ted_v2 » September 28th, 2020, 6:43 pm

how much it cost ya from massy?

apole69

Postby apole69 » September 28th, 2020, 7:29 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Got it from dumore oil and gas.

Usb cable to charge it.

Has usb out to charge phones.
4 hours run time, adjustable stand.

$320.00

Can be used as a hazard light blinking in case of accident or need help. Image

Where is Dumore oil and gas located?
Also how bright is it ?