T&T Budget 2020 is on October 5th

Re: T&T Budget 2020 is on October 5th

Postby MaxPower » September 8th, 2020, 1:15 am

matr1x wrote:Keep them vene Pests coming in. Is we money being used to give them hampers.

Slim,

Not all Venes are pests bro.

These people are desperate and hungry and in need of our hospitality. Its a cost that we must bear.

Always make room for humanity....always.

I understand this upsets you, but whenever you feel frustrated, just get down on your knees and pray....ask the big man above for guidance.

Jesus would never leave any Venezuelan stranded.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 8th, 2020, 5:04 am

From a humanitarian perspective I get you^. Economically we can't afford it. It's that simple. We can barely tend to our own much less them

Postby sMASH » September 8th, 2020, 5:12 am

MaxPower wrote:Trinis,

Now come 5th Oct,

DO NOT blame PNM or UNC.

Blame yourselves as you are responsible for the state the country is in.

Whether PNM or UNC in power, it does NOT change allyuh mentality.

Remember, before the lockdown, you Trinis HAD the chance to be responsible....remember? Stay home? Do not congregate? Didnt the Govt ask and plea and beg over and over and over??? And what happened? Trinis did what they did best and that was to BE lawless and irresponsible causing the Govt to spend money to mine allyuh.

This is the reality, do NOT tote when you are told as is.

On budget day, make sure when allyuh bawling and crying that allyuh take a goooood look in the mirror and see who is the really responsible for the economy to be in this state.

Get ready for the pipe Trinis
Deyalsingh, is dat u?

Postby sMASH » September 8th, 2020, 5:21 am

maj. tom wrote:A lot of that is some backward nonsense though. WTF is this?

-The ban on used tyres and importation of vehicles over eight years has now been reversed.
-Tax concessions for the mining, forestry, agriculture and manufacturing sectors.
- Log Export policy changed to allow sawmillers to export logs.
-Incentives which will see land being made available to plant soya bean and corn for feed mills

They eh think through that enough. They giving citizens a sheit stick to hold and next 20 years they will suffer real bad. And the environmental damage will have far longer and more destructive consequences. They made a move opening up the Amazon rainforest to even more logging and destruction.

And $25k GYD is about $800 TTD eh.
Those things, will reduce the financial strain on people, and allow more money to do all kinda ting with.
Instead of hand outs, they just let people kerp more of what they have, to drive economy firm the bottom.

It's like, if u economy is first world like London, u can implement measures to kerp the safety and standard of living high, as u can afford it. But if ur economy is contracting, then it makes no sense imposing impossible fees on the citizens if they have little to work with.

If ur roads are maintain well, then go ahead levy ur vehicle upkeep fines. But if ur raids are sheit, then let people drive theur sheit boxes and put that maintenance money elsewhere.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 8th, 2020, 5:54 am

ProtonPowder wrote:blame covid

Or Blame UNC :!:

i expecting fuel to go up yet again. diesel and gasoline, expecting property tax in full effect.
no gains just jam for the average person.

Postby pugboy » September 8th, 2020, 5:56 am

usual ting
jam the same ppl over and over

Postby SR » September 8th, 2020, 6:33 am

No government office needs to have a prado or vehicles of such price bracket.

Cut government wastage spending on its ministries first.
Convert ALL government vehicles to cng
All government officials need to purchase thier own vehicles out of their pocket

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 8th, 2020, 6:49 am

Ted_v2 wrote:

i expecting fuel to go up yet again. diesel and gasoline, expecting property tax in full effect.

Diesel yes...still have subsidies on super?(serious question). I know premium maxed out already

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 8th, 2020, 7:02 am

A Prado can sit 7 individuals in one trip to buy lunch. Also they're large to fit lots and lots of mail and general packages to be delivered within the ministry network. Further, the ground clearance and true 4wd is absolutely necessary to navigate through rough roads and flood waters to ensure that govt services are not affected by these small obstacles. Lastly, you need reliability for tax payers and nothing spells that word better than Toyota. So maybe they should downgrade to a Fortuner but a unibody car chassis nonsense crossover is not fit for rigid use that only a true SUV can deliver.
SR wrote:No government office needs to have a prado or vehicles of such price bracket.

Cut government wastage spending on its ministries first.
Convert ALL government vehicles to cng
All government officials need to purchase thier own vehicles out of their pocket

Postby Redman » September 8th, 2020, 7:10 am

Baecause of where oil prices are....the benchmark prices we use to calculate the subsidy are very close to if not below our prices at the pump.

quietdevil

Postby quietdevil » September 8th, 2020, 7:37 am

I don't see the devaluation unless its to curb individual online credit card purchases. Devaluation mostly gives purchasing power to external markets and our major exports are from private owned companies. That wont benefit the treasury. What I think will happen is a continued ease of subsidies mainly with electricity and water just as they did with gas. They also need to implement the revenue authority and enforce tax payments by self employed individuals. The last figure Imbert gave was about 40% of persons not paying their taxes. Limited liability companies are also operating under their tax brackets by not claiming cash transactions and of course with a under staffed IRD they know they not getting audited. Doctors, lawyers, accountants, and other persons who provide skilled services also do not pay their fare share. If we all pay our fair share of taxes and not take it from the public sector and higher paid private sector workers then we will need less grease for the coming years.

Postby Redman » September 8th, 2020, 7:44 am

Fully agree Qdevil.

But this is Trinidad.
It’s our god given right not to pay our fair share.

Postby zoom rader » September 8th, 2020, 7:51 am

quietdevil wrote:I don't see the devaluation unless its to curb individual online credit card purchases. Devaluation mostly gives purchasing power to external markets and our major exports are from private owned companies. That wont benefit the treasury. What I think will happen is a continued ease of subsidies mainly with electricity and water just as they did with gas. They also need to implement the revenue authority and enforce tax payments by self employed individuals. The last figure Imbert gave was about 40% of persons not paying their taxes. Limited liability companies are also operating under their tax brackets by not claiming cash transactions and of course with a under staffed IRD they know they not getting audited. Doctors, lawyers, accountants, and other persons who provide skilled services also do not pay their fare share. If we all pay our fair share of taxes and not take it from the public sector and higher paid private sector workers then we will need less grease for the coming years.

We do not get value for money on taxes paid.

People not happy paying taxes with receiving very little in return and having to dealing with lazy public servants

Postby sMASH » September 8th, 2020, 8:03 am

Devaluing the dollar will mean people selling pilorches and yachts will hadda pay more. Try can't do their padnah dat... so just keep the price low and restrict who gets

Postby Dizzy28 » September 8th, 2020, 8:11 am

quietdevil wrote:I don't see the devaluation unless its to curb individual online credit card purchases. Devaluation mostly gives purchasing power to external markets and our major exports are from private owned companies. That wont benefit the treasury. What I think will happen is a continued ease of subsidies mainly with electricity and water just as they did with gas. They also need to implement the revenue authority and enforce tax payments by self employed individuals. The last figure Imbert gave was about 40% of persons not paying their taxes. Limited liability companies are also operating under their tax brackets by not claiming cash transactions and of course with a under staffed IRD they know they not getting audited. Doctors, lawyers, accountants, and other persons who provide skilled services also do not pay their fare share. If we all pay our fair share of taxes and not take it from the public sector and higher paid private sector workers then we will need less grease for the coming years.

We do not get value for money on taxes paid.

People not happy paying taxes with receiving very little in return and having to dealing with lazy public servants

Value for money and everyone paying their equitable share are not the same issues.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 8th, 2020, 8:25 am

sMASH wrote:Devaluing the dollar will mean people selling pilorches and yachts will hadda pay more. Try can't do their padnah dat... so just keep the price low and restrict who gets

Devaluation benefits them more than us plebs son.

But I don't think devaluation is coming, maybe more opt and credit card us limits at first.

Postby 88sins » September 8th, 2020, 9:25 am

where you get this idea from boy? I'll have you know, individual professionals pay more than what people consider "their fair share", and are some of the heaier taxed earned in this country. Remember, they paying VAT & other taxes, same as the person earning below the 72K PAYE exemption bracket, and on top of that they paying PAYE of 25% on their earnings over 72K that those making less than under 72K DON'T pay.
Look some perspective, in some q&d real life math

An accountant making $10K/m (most make nowhere near that mind you eh, more like 7-8K, some as low as 4.5K)
10000-salary
-400 NIS
-33 H/S
-1000 PAYE
=8567

Considering if the company he working for has a group medical insurance they deducting a 250-300 for that, so say he ends up with a net 8267 take home (don't worry he go lose more to the tax man because he paying VAT on all he buying just like the small man that DOESN"T pay PAYE). So say for arguments sake (& the sake of speed & averaging) he pays VAT on everything he buys, that's 8267-12.5% = another 1033 in taxes he pays for the month, he ends up with about with a working value of $7234. That's it. more than 25% of the value of his earnings for the month, gone, and the only thing he gets for it is a lil peace of mind from knowing he has some health insurance.
now, for fassness sake lewwe say he have a mortgage to pay & a house to maintain, a kid to send to school-clothe-etc, a car loan & to maintain said vehicle, & that he likes silly little things electricity, food, water, a little internet, cable tv, and other living expenses, yuh still find he not paying his "fair share"? you want somebody to put your nutz in a vice like that?

If they want someone to tax, they should start looking hard at the banking & insurance industry. Hundreds of millions in net profits made per annum by each bank & chicken feed in taxes being paid, tax those profits, because shareholders not getting any significant amount of those profits to pay tax on it.

Postby Redman » September 8th, 2020, 9:37 am

Every Doctor, Lawyer Accountant collects CASH payments.
Very few of them declare all their income-after it is Trinis we talking about.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 8th, 2020, 9:41 am

Im hearing talks about adjustments to wasa rates. Meters are not available at all households so that means the subsidy can be reduced and we pay a bit more per 1/4?

Postby Redman » September 8th, 2020, 9:43 am

Begin privatizing secondary school education

Postby zoom rader » September 8th, 2020, 10:48 am

Redman wrote:Begin privatizing secondary school education
Do that and we back to pre 1962.

That means PNM chrien will be at a great disadvantage.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 8th, 2020, 11:33 am

Do that and we back to pre 1962.

That means PNM chrien will be at a great disadvantage.

No they won't be. They already don't take advantage of free education. It is the low income UNC supporter who needs free education to get their children ahead who will be at a disadvantage.

Don't be fooled, ppl living in hot spots are not poor. You ever see the cars park up in sea lots?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 8th, 2020, 11:37 am

Agreed with this but I will add only for those who can afford it. There's no reason why taxpayers should be funding 1 percent children education when they can more than pay for it. Most of their children leave after form 5 amd head to international school or maple leaf and then to foreign universities. I'm sure that causes forex leakages as well. The wealthy all over the world pay for private education for their children.

There should be a means test to determine who gets accessed to subsidised education in TT. TT's problem is not lack of earnings, it's misplaced spending. The problem is the country is too unproductive for all the subsidies it receives. Look at all the money Tobago receives and what do they have to show for it? A world class tourism product? Gov't subsidises carnival. Look at what carnival is and what it represents? How does carnival advance the country?

Postby Redman » September 8th, 2020, 11:54 am

Redress10 wrote:

Agreed with this but I will add only for those who can afford it. There's no reason why taxpayers should be funding 1 percent children education when they can more than pay for it. Most of their children leave after form 5 amd head to international school or maple leaf and then to foreign universities. I'm sure that causes forex leakages as well. The wealthy all over the world pay for private education for their children.

There should be a means test to determine who gets accessed to subsidised education in TT.

yes I agree with a means test-linked to Tax returns etc....

What Im thinking however is a hybrid.

Like FCB the Govt can own the school but let private management run the school.

So A given secondary school is offered.

Let qualified entities tender-based on a list of Educational deliverables etc.

Reverse tender and make it open....so we have them competing to educate a child per term..

So in theory- GORTT will pay a management co say 3500 per child per term

And the Min of Ed then monitors to ensure that the KPIs are met etc.

based on my count that will cost 3B TTD per year-Primary and Secondary.

If it is that we ALL agree that Govt cant run sheeeeeeeit .....why let them run the schools?>

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 8th, 2020, 11:58 am

Red

My solution not that complicates. Everything remains except the means test determines who is paying for schooling and who isn't. So the children are still learning side by side except some are paying fees.

Remember this payment is going to the government and not to the school.

Postby Redman » September 8th, 2020, 12:04 pm

My problem is the OUTPUT of the ministry of education.

Any one feel we getting value for money?

Postby MaxPower » September 8th, 2020, 12:11 pm

I say...

Raise the VAT back to 15%...

Crack the online tax a 9%....

Raise the gas again....

Raise motor tax...ppl still buying like hot hops

Rock this for now, could always raise again next year.

I think its only fair the citizens of T&T stay absolutely quiet and embrace the increases as they are responsible for this, especially the younger generations.

Friends, the time has now come for you all to be held accountable for your actions.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 8th, 2020, 12:23 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:

me eh know bout gas, but property tax eh going nowhere

Postby sMASH » September 8th, 2020, 12:37 pm

MaxPower wrote:I say...

Raise the VAT back to 15%...

Crack the online tax a 9%....

Raise the gas again....

Raise motor tax...ppl still buying like hot hops

Rock this for now, could always raise again next year.

I think its only fair the citizens of T&T stay absolutely quiet and embrace the increases as they are responsible for this, especially the younger generations.

Friends, the time has now come for you all to be held accountable for your actions.

mild mild mild

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 8th, 2020, 1:01 pm

The country needs a strong policy for economic development. Other than that this country will continue to go nowhere. This is not about building waterfronts. This is about formulating an economic plan that they country can follow for the next 50 years regardless of who is in office. We can't keep doing the same things over and over and expecting new results. That is insanity.