COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Redress10

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1099 cases, 15 deaths, 919 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby Redress10 » August 24th, 2020, 8:43 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
maj. tom wrote:So it really was here since Carnival and just covered up by skewed and low testing numbers?
I suppose the "normal" deaths at hospitals since that time, were just recorded as "respiratory illness/failure," and could have easily been dismissed as non-covid. Deaths that were not part of the parallel healthcare system and undetected because of the low test numbers. Plenty people coming out and saying how they got really sick just after carnival, but never reported it. Plus how they were treating people like dog in quarantine later.

Sounds like conspiracy theory realm, but incompetence may be the better answer if it ever turns out to be true.

You need to go back to the first covid-19 death, Hansel Leon which up to now, MoH can't explain.

The Express learned Leon presented at the San Fernando General hospital on March 13, 2020. Leon came to Trinidad from New York on February 5, 2020 and fell ill long after the 14-day incubation period for the deadly virus.

Medical information in circulation stated the man had fever, cough, shortness of breath and loss of appetite for two days. It added that on admission to the hospital his temperature was 39.3 Celsius.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 949a5.html

Carnival was the 24th and 25th where relatives came down to stay with him. So is either he had it already when he came to Trinidad or more than likely, he got it from those same persons who stayed with him during the carnival period. Those relatives either came to Trinidad with it, or they got infected by another visitor somewhere locally where the relatives unknowingly got infected, went to his home with it and then departed T&T. Of course when you try to have this discussion, you are anti-govt, unpatriotic, religious fundamentalist or a racist because you don't like carnival or black man party.

With low and selective testing (even to deceased persons suspected of having the virus), covid was spreading but slowly and then we went into lockdown. We reopened and the spread continued. As testing began to ramp up and MoH was more liberal in their testing, we're finding more positive cases. We was suppose to lockdown or at least reverse phases when numbers started to go up in July. Elections more important as "covid management" was the only thing the government had going for them, the population was still anxious and scared, unc botched themselves trying to argue against the government's handling of covid and well... here we are.

This is new spread and in no way connected to carnival. This spread started from a foreign undetected person. A virus needs a viable host to spread it. If you want to look for the source of this spread then look no further than an illegal undetected immigrant.

TT went weeks without a new case. That means that the virus had been contained and possibly died out. The virus is not hidden. Remember sooner or later it is going to reach a vulnerable person resulting in hospitalisation and even death. When that occurs you get detection.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1099 cases, 15 deaths, 919 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2020, 8:49 pm

Vene central

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Low cost supermarket in cunupia get touch. One employee +. Im constantly warning you guys about Cunupia and environs

Postby paid_influencer » August 24th, 2020, 8:56 pm

pugboy wrote:Vene central

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Low cost supermarket in cunupia get touch. One employee +. Im constantly warning you guys about Cunupia and environs

why are so many persons for Venezuelan national-origin not wearing masks btw?

from what I'm seeing, nearly 100% compliance from locals, about 60-70% from the spanish-speaking patrons. I've put up bi-lingual signs since some seem completely unaware.

almost like they came into the country yesterday and didn't know the situation had changed. :drinking:

Postby goalpost » August 24th, 2020, 8:59 pm

Is Jamaica on any kind of lockdown?

Postby MaxPower » August 24th, 2020, 9:10 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
pugboy wrote:Vene central

why are so many persons for Venezuelan national-origin not wearing masks btw?

from what I'm seeing, nearly 100% compliance from locals, about 60-70% from the spanish-speaking patrons. I've put up bi-lingual signs since some seem completely unaware.

almost like they came into the country yesterday and didn't know the situation had changed. :drinking:

Hello paid_influencer,

As u mentioned, i have noticed this as well and i am very disappointed in our Venezuelan brothers and sisters.

They started off so nicely but it appears they observed Trinis not wearing their masks and followed suit.

We must do better than this.

Postby paid_influencer » August 24th, 2020, 9:18 pm

^Agreed. Now, more than ever, we need to understand we are all in this together. And that means all our residents, regardless of national-origin.

I am doing my part by providing bi-lingual signs. More places should follow suit.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1031 cases, 15 deaths, 851 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » August 24th, 2020, 9:18 pm

bluefete wrote:
goalpost wrote:So no press conference from the PM yet?

The PM and wifey ALLEGEDLY took a private jet to NY over the weekend. Ostensibly for medical purposes.

https://www.facebook.com/OPMTT/photos/a.196147180737805/1234684720217374/?type=3&theater

The Office of the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago
· 18 mins ·

This piece of public mischief originated from the same source of political misconduct which dogged the country for the last five years. It is to be disregarded and dismissed for what it is, misinformation aimed at disrupting the peace,
quiet and good order in our country.

It is clear that some people just will not give up in their attempt to create stresses for the national population.

The fact is that the Prime Minister having tested negative last Friday, remained in home isolation until today and expects to be out early tomorrow morning.

During this period the Prime Minister remained engaged night and day as he worked from his home office.

All members of the Prime Minister’s household are safe and well and none have traveled out of Trinidad recently.

The Prime Minister and his family extend their deepest appreciation and thanks to the very many well wishers and all citizens who sent kind words and prayers for the safety and well-being of the Rowley family.

Postby MaxPower » August 24th, 2020, 9:23 pm

paid_influencer wrote:^Agreed. Now, more than ever, we need to understand we are all in this together. And that means all our residents, regardless of national-origin.

I am doing my part by providing bi-lingual signs. More places should follow suit.

This is good.

Hats off to you my good man.

I will do the same in my mart.

Postby sMASH » August 24th, 2020, 9:59 pm

Redress10 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
maj. tom wrote:So it really was here since Carnival and just covered up by skewed and low testing numbers?
I suppose the "normal" deaths at hospitals since that time, were just recorded as "respiratory illness/failure," and could have easily been dismissed as non-covid. Deaths that were not part of the parallel healthcare system and undetected because of the low test numbers. Plenty people coming out and saying how they got really sick just after carnival, but never reported it. Plus how they were treating people like dog in quarantine later.

Sounds like conspiracy theory realm, but incompetence may be the better answer if it ever turns out to be true.

You need to go back to the first covid-19 death, Hansel Leon which up to now, MoH can't explain.

The Express learned Leon presented at the San Fernando General hospital on March 13, 2020. Leon came to Trinidad from New York on February 5, 2020 and fell ill long after the 14-day incubation period for the deadly virus.

Medical information in circulation stated the man had fever, cough, shortness of breath and loss of appetite for two days. It added that on admission to the hospital his temperature was 39.3 Celsius.

Carnival was the 24th and 25th where relatives came down to stay with him. So is either he had it already when he came to Trinidad or more than likely, he got it from those same persons who stayed with him during the carnival period. Those relatives either came to Trinidad with it, or they got infected by another visitor somewhere locally where the relatives unknowingly got infected, went to his home with it and then departed T&T. Of course when you try to have this discussion, you are anti-govt, unpatriotic, religious fundamentalist or a racist because you don't like carnival or black man party.

With low and selective testing (even to deceased persons suspected of having the virus), covid was spreading but slowly and then we went into lockdown. We reopened and the spread continued. As testing began to ramp up and MoH was more liberal in their testing, we're finding more positive cases. We was suppose to lockdown or at least reverse phases when numbers started to go up in July. Elections more important as "covid management" was the only thing the government had going for them, the population was still anxious and scared, unc botched themselves trying to argue against the government's handling of covid and well... here we are.

This is new spread and in no way connected to carnival. This spread started from a foreign undetected person. A virus needs a viable host to spread it. If you want to look for the source of this spread then look no further than an illegal undetected immigrant.

TT went weeks without a new case. That means that the virus had been contained and possibly died out. The virus is not hidden. Remember sooner or later it is going to reach a vulnerable person resulting in hospitalisation and even death. When that occurs you get detection.
This recent wave spread happen since the election campaign trail.
Testing was sheit since carnival, border officially closed but unofficially wide open like ah main road. U would have the virus moving round in groups that would not have met the test criteria set by govt. And hot dry weather kept it at bay.

It was here since carnival, undetected. And super spread for election activities.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 24th, 2020, 10:02 pm

I am please to know that neither the Prime Minister nor the Opposition Leader have tested positive.

But I think by now it is well known that Covid is a lot more serious than we originally thought. The Good Doctor his Excellency told the nation that we must NOT drop our guard, it is there lurking But many trinis disregarded this sound and well placed advice many of them misbehaving with regards to the Covid regulations and carrying home the virus and spreading it.

Nevertheless we are in good hands with the distinguished Dr Kieth, he has advised us accordingly and we should follow this advice of washing our hands and wearing masks, do NOT socialize in ANY Bar, and if you see people at Bars liming we all NEED to pull up on them, get on like animal with them if we have to, insult and embarrass them whatever it takes to get them to go home and stop being irresponsible.

A German study revealed 3 out of 4 people who tested for Covid, relatively HEALTHY people some athletes had permanent heart damage AFTER recovering from Covid. This is what the young limers do not understand, they aren't immune and we have not yet seen what the long term effects of this virus can have on people who recovered.

The good doctor is trying to balance the economy and people's lives but they are making it so hard for him. I see that the opposition leader has stopped her MAD DRUNKEN Ramblings, wild and insane conspiracy theories cheering on Covid is a Hoax deniers. Thank god for that, no doubt election is over and now she has nothing to gain which is why she stopped pushing these wild conspiracy theories making Covid out to be some kind of joke some kind of Hoax.

Thankfully we are back on track wearing masks and washing our hands.

Too bad business owners insist on having pipes where people need to touch the tap to lock it off, no wonder COvid is spreading when you wash your hands and you touch the same tap to lock it off, what happens? At this point Alcohol is much safer if we are touching that same pipe. Then there is the guideline you supposed to wash your hands for 20 seconds, nobody doing that so there is a chance covid is still there spreading.

A little bit of commonsense would go a long way with some of these business but they don't wan't to spend the money for paper towel or a foot tap. All of this adds to what we are seeing here, friends please keep safe we in for a long and bumpy ride with this thing.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 24th, 2020, 10:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Country_Bookie » August 24th, 2020, 10:04 pm

bluefete wrote:I hope this is not local and not true.

This is a local DJ . He's been at parties at private locations right thru. Check his IG

https://www.instagram.com/selectah_renzo/

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 24th, 2020, 10:10 pm

sMASH wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Testing was sheit since carnival, border officially closed but unofficially wide open like ah main road. U would have the virus moving round in groups that would not have met the test criteria set by govt. And hot dry weather kept it at bay.

It was here since carnival, undetected. And super spread for election activities.

Lol

You truly are the forum dUNCe yes. That's not how things work. Testing is irrelevant. Testing is just a piece of paper. Do you think that there was testing during the 1918 pandemic? The test was visual. People were sick and dying.

Hot dry weather kept it at bay. Sunlight go kill covid right?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 24th, 2020, 10:11 pm

Low Cost Supermarket Limited has received notice from health authorities that a male employee at its Cunupia branch has tested positive for COVID-19.

According to a Facebook post from management, the individual has been in quarantine under the supervision of the Ministry of Health for the past two weeks and has not been on the compound.
It said: “As the rise in this virus continues, we would like to reassure everyone that potentially exposed employees have been identified and are following the Ministry of Health’s direction of preventative quarantine and testing.”

The supermarket was said to be closed on Monday to facilitate sanitisation of the entire facility, all equipment and surfaces following the news.

http://www.looptt.com/content/low-cost- ... s-covid-19

Screenshot 2020-08-24 at 10.03.19 PM.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 24th, 2020, 10:12 pm

A Major problem we also face is that

https://www.cnbc.com/2020/07/30/fda-say ... ctive.html

^ A vaccine only needs to be 50% effective.
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has said that a COVID-19 vaccine should reduce the chances of infection by at least 50%, compared with a placebo.
So even if a vaccine is developed, you are still flipping a coin whether you will die or not. BUT 50% is better than 0%, so make of that what you may.

MaxPower, my dear friend, I am sorry to say but you may not recover your bars that were closed down, Covid 19 could very well be with us our entire life, that is a real threat. Look at something as simple as Malaria, there is to this day NO working Vaccine for it.

Such is the price we pay for torturing animals in wet markets, nature's way of balancing things I suppose.

Postby paid_influencer » August 24th, 2020, 10:18 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:A Major problem we also face is that

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has said that a COVID-19 vaccine should reduce the chances of infection by at least 50%, compared with a placebo.
So even if a vaccine is developed, you are still flipping a coin whether you will die or not. BUT 50% is better than 0%, so make of that what you may.

bears repeating. there is no guarantee how effective a vaccine will be or how long the protection will last.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 24th, 2020, 10:29 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

bears repeating. there is no guarantee how effective a vaccine will be or how long the protection will last.

The vaccines in testing right now are much more than 50% effective, I do believe they're in the higher 90+% effectivity. However, while we don't know how long it'll last, vaccine can help us eradicate this virus.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 24th, 2020, 10:35 pm

^ That is VERY wishful thinking to believe we will get a vaccine that is over 90% effective.

Anthony Faucci has said something like that is unlikely, he is hoping for a 60% effective vaccine, and given his expertise I wouldn't hold my breath for anything higher than 60 and that is still pretty much flipping a coin.

Malaria has NO Vaccine to date and bill gates has dumped billions of dollars into finding one over decades of research.

Who here is knowledgeable enough to explain to us why there is no Vaccine for Malaria? and what it means for Covid 19?, closest person I can think of who can answer this question is Maj Tom
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 24th, 2020, 10:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AstonMartV

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1099 cases, 15 deaths, 919 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby AstonMartV » August 24th, 2020, 10:35 pm

Covid + patient posted some pics of the food provided to them whilst in quarantine

IMG_5091.JPG

Adjustments.JPG

IMG_5093.JPG

IMG_5095.JPG

IMG_5096.JPG

IMG_5097.JPG

IMG_5100.JPG

IMG_5099.JPG

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 24th, 2020, 10:37 pm

^ Very nice food, keep in mind this is costing the government enormous amounts of money just to treat 1 patient.

Postby 88sins » August 24th, 2020, 10:45 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

Something most people may not be aware of, even though I did make mention of it before.
There are currently 8 different types/strains of coronavirus in circulation around the globe right now, 3 of which pose a serious threat to human health. So even ifa vaccine is developed for one, it may not be effective for all. So don't be fooled into thinking "I vaccinated, so I should be safe", you will only be 50% safe from one strain, quite probability totally exposed to the other two strains.

This was technically proven in a manner in a case in Japan iirc, where a man that recovered from coronavirus type A but after a few months later was infected with type B, even though some medical professionals thought the body's immune system would remember type A and create antibodies and fight off type B much easier than the type A

They realized, they were wrong. Very very wrong.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1031 cases, 15 deaths, 851 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby stev » August 24th, 2020, 11:02 pm

i have no evidence to backup this up but a very reliable friend / coworker of mine has a relative who is a nurse at Couva...she's saying deaths were in the 30's in June....tests came positive after time of death and was not recorded as a Covid case...just respiratory failure....friend's wife was pregnant at the time and his relative was advising them to go Southern medical instead of Sando general....to which he did.

again...I have no evidence of this and he has no evidence, he just told me cuz he was worried about his wife (he's a lot younger than I am and wasn't 100% ready to be a father)....makes sense now though...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 24th, 2020, 11:08 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

Something most people may not be aware of, even though I did make mention of it before.
There are currently 8 different types/strains of coronavirus in circulation around the globe right now, 3 of which pose a serious threat to human health. So even ifa vaccine is developed for one, it may not be effective for all. So don't be fooled into thinking "I vaccinated, so I should be safe", you will only be 50% safe from one strain, quite probability totally exposed to the other two strains.

This was technically proven in a manner in a case in Japan iirc, where a man that recovered from coronavirus type A but after a few months later was infected with type B, even though some medical professionals thought the body's immune system would remember type A and create antibodies and fight off type B much easier than the type A

Hello 88

Good write up here great advice and something to remind us that eradicating CoronaVirus is wishful thinking.

Months ago 60 minutes Australia did a video with the world's top expert on Viruses and Pandemic specifically the man who headed SARS. And he said you would be extremely lucky as in near impossible if you think you will drive Covid 19 back into the wild.

This virus isn't going anywhere it seems, I think that society needs to accept what is the new normal, the end of socializing.

killercow

Postby killercow » August 25th, 2020, 12:23 am

paid_influencer wrote:

I remember reading about this Japanese case and the three different strains (A, B & C). IIRC also, the strain in Australia was stated to be different from the one in Europe and that the European strain in turn was different from the strain in the states. But you mentioned 8 strains dey yuh know!

I'm wondering... If this virus is so adaptable (intelligent) to produce 8 strains in less than a year, and humans are struggling to produce a viable vaccine to 1, when we go find / develop a vaccine? As fast as we might actually produce a successful vaccination to 1 strain, 10 more might appear? Seems like this things might last years minimum until herd immunity to most or all strains is achieved...

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 25th, 2020, 1:02 am

The vaccine us supposed to work against all strains.

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2 ... 105246.htm

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 25th, 2020, 2:14 am

Article by the NYT

President Putin's Daughter was one of the first to receive the Covid 19 Vaccine developed by Gamaleya Research Institute of Epidemiology and Microbiology in Moscow

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/08/23/worl ... ccine.html

Russia, Expecting Plaudits for Vaccine, Is Miffed by Its Cool Reception

Russian officials and scientists dismiss warnings about safety as Western jealousy and sour grapes. But only 24 percent of Russian doctors would take the vaccine, one survey shows.

Mr. Dmitriev, the investor in the vaccine, has said that Russian scientists had confidence in it because they had used the same approach on a successful Ebola vaccine. And starting last September, just months before the pandemic began, they had fortuitously been studying in clinical trials a vaccine against Middle East Respiratory Syndrome, which is caused by a similar coronavirus. Russia is in talks on exporting the vaccine or licensing production with 20 countries, including Brazil, Cuba, the Philippines and Saudi Arabia.

The unusual route to approval has roots in Russia’s long history of vaccine development. In the 1950s, a family of Russian scientists tested an ultimately successful polio vaccine on their own children.

In 1969, Dr. Aleksandr Butenko quickly designed a vaccine against Crimean-Congo hemorrhagic fever to quell an outbreak in southern Russia. He injected himself first, following a Russian tradition for medical scientists, then tested it on a small number of people. The Soviet health authorities approved the vaccine to halt the spread of the disease though it had not undergone late-stage clinical trials. In that case, the vaccine worked.

Such rapid approval “isn’t just done for sporting interest,” said Dr. Butenko, who is now retired. “It’s always done in a crisis,” when the risks of a new vaccine are weighed against the harm from an epidemic.

So far, scientists have found no indications that vaccines against the new coronavirus could cause an enhancement of the disease, Johan Neyts, a professor of virology at the University of Leuven in Belgium, said in a telephone interview. “But this is something that should be kept in mind.”

One reason for concern, he noted, is a decades-old study by Dutch virologists who developed an experimental vaccine against a strain of coronavirus that infects cats. When the animals were subsequently exposed to the feline virus, they died more quickly than cats given a placebo.

In their study, published in the Journal of Virology in 1990, the researchers called it “early death syndrome.”

“This is one of the main reasons everyone is vigilant,” Dr. Neyts said.

Postby sMASH » August 25th, 2020, 2:52 am

Dry season done, so not any more. And with so many persons mixing fir election campaign all over, the opportunity to jump from person to person would outweigh any heat in the environment. But rainy season had started in any case, so u wasn't getting sustained days of sun.

And then they expanded testings, relaxing the restrictions.

Right foot, corona. Left foot corona.
Corona doin right foot left foot like a champ now.
Redress10 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Lol

You truly are the forum dUNCe yes. That's not how things work. Testing is irrelevant. Testing is just a piece of paper. Do you think that there was testing during the 1918 pandemic? The test was visual. People were sick and dying.

Hot dry weather kept it at bay. Sunlight go kill covid right?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » August 25th, 2020, 3:55 am

It's a good thing I told wifey to cancel last friday appointment in cunupia dentist! Thanks for the info in time. There are many suspicious deaths around from jan to now including one of my family members which they put cod pneumonia etc. This virus is out of control and running rampant and pretty soon will be limited to venturing outside just for essential supplies.

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2020, 5:40 am

The good thing is at least persons are becoming more aware of local victims and squealing which is not nice but let’s stick persons know to watch themselves and how they risk infecting others.

Postby 88sins » August 25th, 2020, 6:49 am

Dohplaydat wrote:The vaccine us supposed to work against all strains.

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2 ... 105246.htm

supposed to and actually does are two very different things, and never forget that these pharmaceutical companies are not developing vaccines for their love of humanity, they doing it for patents & profits.

one must also be aware there's technical ways to do things to make it look like something works when it doesn't. for example, if a vacc. has an efficacy of 50% for treating type A and it's given to patients with type B but only 25% of those have a positive response, you can still say it works for type B. It just doesn't work as well as if you had type A.

Postby maj. tom » August 25th, 2020, 7:06 am

bluefete wrote:
The PM and wifey ALLEGEDLY took a private jet to NY over the weekend. Ostensibly for medical purposes.

Guess who going to get some attention that he wanted in the first place? They will deal with him in court. Of course the claims were 100% bullsheit. Not only has the PM a solid alibi of being in quarantine, but that's saying that dozens of people around the PM along such a journey would have lied without leaking a single piece of info if it were true.

Someone named Faiz Ramjohn claimed Dr Rowley was spotted at the JFK airport in New York City.
http://www.looptt.com/content/pm-dismis ... -attention