COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1007 cases, 14 deaths, 828 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 24th, 2020, 11:45 am

pugboy wrote:industrial estate or the neighbourhood just before ?

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:If you live/work in or near to Frederick Settlement, keep yuh mc home please. Yes im being harsh but harsh is the only way allyuh does listen

Neighbourhood

tropi_flakes

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1007 cases, 14 deaths, 828 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby tropi_flakes » August 24th, 2020, 11:50 am

Confirmed
IMG_20200824_114950.jpeg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1031 cases, 15 deaths, 851 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby Ted_v2 » August 24th, 2020, 12:22 pm

Police and LO doing roadblocks as normal in south.
Went to purchase some materials, everyone no mask, behind counter and in the stock room.
spanish load some wood on my van, no mask noting.

i agree we not taking it too serious but yunno trini fully dunce, hadda lockdown very soon.

many places is work as normal too, saw taxis moving with 3 passangers in a 5 seater sedan. 7 seater moving with 5, one being in the front.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 963 cases, 14 deaths, 784 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » August 24th, 2020, 12:32 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:1000+ cases now and to think I thought we'd reach this number by mid September.

and 6 deaths for this wave so far. we will know very soon if this wave is much worse than the first. we had 8 deaths then.. let's see where we'll reach. but 6 in ICU according to this morning update so it definitely looking worse.

Dude we have literally 10x the cases and growing faster than ever, deaths will obviously be more.

we could have more cases in part due to testing more i.e.- community & private lab testing- the first few weeks in march/april anyone who didn't have a travel history link were refused a test- even if they were symptomatic- so hundreds of ppl could have been unnaccounted for- which is why I was looking at deaths instead- but this wave could still be worse as we not locking down hard

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1031 cases, 15 deaths, 851 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby aaron17 » August 24th, 2020, 12:55 pm

We should be holding the line like this against covid...(wearing masks , social distancing etc

Postby aaron17 » August 24th, 2020, 12:56 pm

^^ and then do a diamond.

Postby 88sins » August 24th, 2020, 1:02 pm

What we need to do- Be proactive, issue orders for another nationwide shutdown for 2 weeks as a start, make masks in public mandatory, fixed penalty fines for those not in compliance, etc.
What we going to do-Nothing, let it spread, count the casualties & say "oogooooood" & redirect focus back to the lime.

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2020, 1:04 pm

the problem is the proactive folks are in the vast minority

Postby redmanjp » August 24th, 2020, 1:16 pm

the +ve results from beach/bar lime las lap infections should show up between this & next weekend (29th-6th) assuming a 7-14 day wait. hopefully the daily cases go down afterwards

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2020, 1:20 pm

gonna have to extend the lockdown for sure and more enforcements

redmanjp wrote:the +ve results from beach/bar lime las lap infections should show up between this & next weekend (29th-6th) assuming a 7-14 day wait. hopefully the daily cases go down afterwards

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » August 24th, 2020, 1:27 pm

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/1 ... ium=social

The number of Covid-19 coronavirus positive cases in Trinidad and Tobago now stands at 1,031.
Among these patients, the Express was told, is a 10-month-old baby girl.
The child was swabbed earlier this month after her mother tested positive for the deadly virus.

Her father, seven-year-old sister and three other family members have since tested positive.
The Freeport family was taken to the Couva Hospital.
The Express was told that five members of the family, including the little girl, have been taken to a step down facility awaiting further testing.
The mother, who is employed at a private medical facility, began showing symptoms of the virus.

She was tested and advised to quarantine at her home.
The baby who began experiencing fever and nasal congestion was tested and was confirmed to be positive.
The mother and child were taken to hospital by ambulance.
The child’s father and older sister tested positive the following day.
A relative said the family was swabbed a second time on Monday morning.
“We are now hoping for negative results as everyone is feeling better now. After two negative results we will be able to go home,” she said.

Postby bluefete » August 24th, 2020, 1:30 pm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 24th, 2020, 1:31 pm

Remember what I told you all about dental visits in Cunupia
Screenshot_2020-08-24-13-31-00.png

Postby Chimera » August 24th, 2020, 1:37 pm

Fb have all kinda thing
Screenshot_20200824-074751_Facebook.jpeg

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1031 cases, 15 deaths, 851 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » August 24th, 2020, 1:38 pm

“We are Trinis”

Yep, sure right about that.

Good job so far with the pandemic.

Really good job, keep it up.

Postby zoom rader » August 24th, 2020, 1:42 pm

So goverment hiding figures?

Postby K74T » August 24th, 2020, 1:44 pm

Hong Kong reports 'first case' of virus reinfection

https://bbc.in/2YtLmGp

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2020, 1:46 pm

nah they doing ting in batches
so just have to catch up

zoom rader wrote:So goverment hiding figures?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 24th, 2020, 1:46 pm

Paging pnm mites
IMG-20200824-WA0076.jpg

Postby K74T » August 24th, 2020, 1:48 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Fb have all kinda thing
Screenshot_20200824-074751_Facebook.jpeg
https://www.cnc3.co.tt/viral-post-on-elderly-couples-alleged-covid-deaths-debunked/

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 10y friends31 cases, 15 deaths, 851 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » August 24th, 2020, 1:50 pm

My friend after 13 days just got her POSITIVE Covid-19 results today.

What kind of nonsense is this?! they take almost 2 weeks to get back results to a positive patient.

This friend here is mostly fine now, but her parents are sick and she told the MoH that over the phone. They said they'll try to fast track their results (I think they tested some time early last week). But it's kinda obvious they have Covid-19.

The system is slowly falling apart here.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 10y friends31 cases, 15 deaths, 851 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2020, 1:53 pm

she need to do contact tracing on those 13 days

the ambulance reach as yet ?

Dohplaydat wrote:My friend after 13 days just got her POSITIVE Covid-19 results today.

What kind of nonsense is this?! they take almost 2 weeks to get back results to a positive patient.

This friend here is mostly fine now, but her parents are sick and she told the MoH that over the phone. They said they'll try to fast track their results (I think they tested some time early last week). But it's kinda obvious they have Covid-19.

Postby pete » August 24th, 2020, 1:54 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:My friend after 13 days just got her POSITIVE Covid-19 results today.

Does she have any idea how she got it?

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2020, 1:54 pm

is kamala fault

shake d livin wake d dead wrote::lol: :lol:

Paging pnm mites

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 24th, 2020, 2:11 pm

pete wrote:

Does she have any idea how she got it?

Yea she worked with a covid+ patient in the same office.

pugboy wrote:she need to do contact tracing on those 13 days

the ambulance reach as yet ?

No idea, she just posted this update on our whatsapp group. But I'll find out. She is far more concerned about her parents being admitted. I'm hoping they are admitted given that it's quite obvious they are covid+.

Postby zoom rader » August 24th, 2020, 2:14 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Paging pnm mites
Cat in bag

fireworks

Postby fireworks » August 24th, 2020, 2:37 pm

I got tested in a drive through facility in NY got results in my email and via phone call 3 days later.....was negative.

Postby The_Honourable » August 24th, 2020, 2:44 pm

Soooo... oxford say anything yet?

Postby adnj » August 24th, 2020, 3:05 pm

Sweden has developed herd immunity after refusing to lock down, some health experts claim, with coronavirus infection rate falling

Published: Aug. 24, 2020 at 1:27 p.m. ET

By Rupert Steiner

Leading Swedish health experts claim the country has a falling coronavirus infection rate because it was one of the few that didn’t go into lockdown and has rejected the need for masks.

Arne Elofsson, a professor in biometrics at Stockholm University, thinks the population has developed a form of immunity: “Strict rules do not work as people seem to break them. Sweden is doing fine.”

Anders Tegnell, an epidemiologist involved in managing Sweden’s pandemic, thinks masks give a false sense of security: “The belief that masks can solve our problem is very dangerous.”

Prime Minister Stefan Löfven thinks voluntary social-distancing rules and not closing schools but banning gatherings of more than 50 people has been the right approach.

“Now there are quite a few people who think we were right,” he told a newspaper. “The strategy that we adopted, I believe is right — to protect individuals, limit the spread of the infection.”

Data from the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control show Sweden has a fortnightly infection rate of 37 cases per 100,000 people. This is much lower than France, with 60 cases per 100,000 and Spain at 152.7 cases per 100,000.

Experts around the world cannot agree on whether the right approach is to open up schools, scale back lockdowns and wear masks.

Sweden’s approach has come at a cost, having seen 5,810 deaths from COVID-19, which is much more than its neighbors. Scientists are in agreement that it will take months before it is clear which country had the right approach.

https://www.marketwatch.com/amp/story/s ... 2020-08-24