The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2020, 6:25 pm

reboot2020 wrote:PEP seems ready. Not surprised by the early call at all.

Those others launched within the last year need to step up. People want proper representation. Bring your candidates and manifesto and make your case. The time for ole talk is over. Lets see who is ready to show up now and get off the sidelines.

This is a change election. People still parroting that "Doh split the vote!" nonsense will be in for a rude awakening.

PUBLIC RELEASE
The Progressive Empowerment Party is happy that this Parliament has finally been dissolved and that on August 10th the people will have an opportunity to make their feelings known over the massive incompetence and maladministration of the last almost five years.
That the Prime Minister chose to cut the life of his government short is a clear indicator of the fear the government must be feeling as the society from top to bottom registers their absolute displeasure with all that is taking place.
We in the PEP have been ready for some time and while we will have to accelerate our plans to fit the new timetable including the weekly Sunday night announcements of candidates, we are confident that it is within our capacity as a well oiled team.
Our candidates have been on the ground longer than most, and I personally believe that this election will be the most surprising turn of events if not biggest upset in this country’s history.
PHILLIP EDWARD ALEXANDER
POLITICAL LEADER
The Progressive Empowerment Party (PEP)
peptrinbago@gmail.com
682 2110
You sound like elite in encourage splitting of non PNM votes

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 3rd, 2020, 6:25 pm

PEP's policies for 2020 to 2025 were set out just before covid stifled the hell out of our economy... with businesses closing left right and center and people getting let go or sent home on furlough how the @ss damns/reservoirs in every district helping me when i dont even have money to pay wasa... as i said i think many of the parties need to revisit their plans or promises for the elections... the PM had a team of experts to do so for him with the economic recovery plan... does unc, pep, pdp and mikela's party have the resources and know how to do so? And also to do so in lets say ome weeks time as... goven the short time lines... you cant afford to even lose a minute resting on your laurels

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 3rd, 2020, 6:35 pm

Ryan197912 wrote:Is Kamla deliberately attempting to lose the election???...take a close look at the candidates in the marginals...they are unknowns....seats which she must win to become next PM.
Ent you all say you want new faces?

Yes but uneducated no bodies like Nabila Greene will inspire who? They literally could have chosen far far better candidates in Grande, they upset a whole hardworking executive who just pulled off a brilliant local government campaign. Now stalwarts in UNC telling people to vote PNM there, and that's not an issue of sour grapes. These are people who worked that seat for donkey years and supported Brent and that waste of time man who dead (PP 2010 time). They all knew Ricardo could have won that seat, man is popular and charismatic.

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread!!!

Postby The_Honourable » July 3rd, 2020, 6:35 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Shitlickers tongue slip and said parliament could be dissolved in July. Are we looking at september elections?

he also said 2 weeks ago that Trinis like a Christmas election, is more of the " I have the date in my back pocket" type election announcement. Games

May not be christmas as he accused Kamla back in 2015 for pushing the election a further 3 months. If Rowley calls for December, he would be accused of doing the same thing.

Notice PNM ramp up their candidate selection process over the past few weeks so there is some urgency. Many think he will call it before the budget so we looking at August - September.

Pretty much called it.

I don't think UNC got caught off guard but they moving weak. You know they around but little momentum. Only action really is Anil on facebook.

One month away so let's see if any surprise plays off.

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2020, 6:43 pm

whoever win will need to do a budget asap

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » July 3rd, 2020, 6:46 pm

Ryan197912 wrote:Is Kamla deliberately attempting to lose the election???...take a close look at the candidates in the marginals...they are unknowns....seats which she must win to become next PM.

we will get what we deserve

is make or break this rounds

this country will seal its fate on August 10th 2020

Elections Have Consequences

Postby Rovin » July 3rd, 2020, 7:07 pm

a few of us on tuner saying this since last yr

we figure that after rowdy,imps & d rest finish 4kup this country so bad it will be a monumental task for ANY incoming party & leader to repair\remedy d mess pee on em did during their 5 yrs in govt ..... :| :| :|

like shakes say is everybody mc to ketch until 2025

:agrue:

Postby Rovin » July 3rd, 2020, 7:11 pm

i seeing on tv6 hochoy charles talking

i tort this man completely retired from politics

a few days ago i see he on tv braying that watson duke's party is a agent of d unc ..... :roll:

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2020, 7:16 pm

Rovin wrote:

we figure that after rowdy,imps & d rest finish 4kup this country so bad it will be a monumental task for ANY incoming party & leader to repair\remedy d mess pee on em did during their 5 yrs in govt ..... :| :| :|

Well stay home and sit on the fence

You all wanted new faces and yet still complaining.

It best you all go to Cuba to live and fight for the right to vote.

Postby MaxPower » July 3rd, 2020, 7:20 pm

Zoom,

U think it have plenty PNM people outside the borders?

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2020, 7:42 pm

MaxPower wrote:Zoom,

U think it have plenty PNM people outside the borders?
There are about 150000 PNM ppl that live in New York in peoples basements and are sufferers.

They not important as most are illegals and can't afford a ticket back to Trini.

When they do return they are deportees, so expect a plane load to arrive when boarders are open . Thus our crime rate will spike again from these PNM ppl.

I hope they don't rob your bussinesses

Postby Rovin » July 3rd, 2020, 7:47 pm

Rovin wrote:

zoom

my address falls into d constituency of couva south so even if i cud vote 10 times against d pee nm it wouldnt make any national impact in THIS area

as we all know d ppl who hold d key to ALL of our future reside in d marginal seats .... :|

Postby The_Honourable » July 3rd, 2020, 7:50 pm

Food for thought

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2020, 7:56 pm

Rovin wrote:

zoom

my address falls into d constituency of couva south so even if i cud vote 10 times against d pee nm it wouldnt make any national impact in THIS area

as we all know d ppl who hold d key to ALL of our future reside in d marginal seats .... :|
Don't be supprised when PNM ppl are allowed to voted 10 times.

We following Guyana right now

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 3rd, 2020, 7:58 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Food for thought

Aug 10th will show how oppressed those same rioters were!! Unc has their candidates in the marginals and they just looking to announce their strongholds. I would maintain that this election is a good one to lose as dropping revenues would allow for drastic measures to be taken in the next two budgets.

Measures which can only be done by the pnm as no1 would kick a fuss. If kamla has to make tough decisions, she won't last an entire 5 years. Grease up thy anus, practice ealing stale food for days etc....things gonna get rough until 2025

Postby Rovin » July 3rd, 2020, 8:17 pm

makes sense though cause u dont want d blind loyalists to suddenly grow a 2nd brain cell , open up their eyes , see some truth & become disgruntled with their leader & party

u hadda keep pulling d wool over their eyes b4 they even think of seeing outside d box ...

Postby eliteauto » July 3rd, 2020, 8:19 pm

The Movement for National Development (MND) has announced 3 candidates for the Diego Martin seats
Diego Martin North East- Myron Bruce
Diego Martin Central-Garvin Nicholas
Diego Martin West-Dexter Nicholls

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2020, 8:25 pm

eliteauto wrote:The Movement for National Development (MND) has announced 3 candidates for the Diego Martin seats
Good for them,

How much votes they going to pull in those PNM areas

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2020, 8:30 pm

Mnd might be the oldest turd party

eliteauto wrote:The Movement for National Development (MND) has announced 3 candidates for the Diego Martin seats
Good for them,

How much votes they going to pull in those PNM areas

Postby The_Honourable » July 3rd, 2020, 8:42 pm

WHHHHOOOOOO is dat? :lol:

Postby paid_influencer » July 3rd, 2020, 8:46 pm

pnm going to win in a landslide :(

Keith put in the masterstroke today. It all over before it even get a chance to start.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 3rd, 2020, 8:51 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

WHHHHOOOOOO is dat? :lol:

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Party Time yoh
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mcvcmu66JnU

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 3rd, 2020, 8:52 pm

Rovin wrote:

makes sense though cause u dont want d blind loyalists to suddenly grow a 2nd brain cell , open up their eyes , see some truth & become disgruntled with their leader & party

u hadda keep pulling d wool over their eyes b4 they even think of seeing outside d box ...

it does go both ways hoss.
#cambridgeanalyticachronicles

Postby De Dragon » July 3rd, 2020, 9:36 pm

paid_influencer wrote:pnm going to win in a landslide :(

Keith put in the masterstroke today. It all over before it even get a chance to start.

Masterstroke? :lol:
JUHN Scarfy had no choice but to call the GE early as the warm and fuzzy Covid-19 post happiness will fade away when we see the sheit we're faced with from later in this year, until the next few. When the marker is called for those borrowed or frittered away (HSF) millions, we will all need to get a "100 easy grass recipes" cookbook.

Postby eliteauto » July 3rd, 2020, 10:04 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

WHHHHOOOOOO is dat?
https://newsday.co.tt/2019/09/02/garvin-nicholas-brings-back-mnd/

Former attorney general Garvin Nicholas is re-entering the political arena, this time without the United National Congress (UNC).

Instead, Nicholas has re-launched his own political party, the Movement for National Development (MND).

In a statement to Newsday, Nicholas said he was “putting together a team of some of the nation’s most capable and committed individuals” to challenge the two established parties — the incumbent PNM and Opposition UNC — in next year’s General Election.

Nicholas was AG under the UNC for about six months from February 2015 until the General Election in September. Previously, he had served as TT’s High Commissioner the the UK.

Nicholas said over the last two years, he had been giving the idea to relaunch his party much thought and consulted several people. He admitted that he did not believe the current political landscape offered the discerning voter an option.

There is always a challenge convincing people who themselves have leadership ambitions to be part of a team, he said but his party was about giving them the assurance that they would be given the opportunity to be their best selves and shine in their areas of expertise within a framework of equitable national development.

“Everyone cannot be the leader but they can be part of a leadership team that guides TT out of the mess we find ourselves in and be proud to shape and create a country with fortitude, that is sustainable and successful.”

Nicholas made no mention of his former association with the UNC, with which he had run for MP of Diego Martin North/East in 2010 (losing to the PNM’s long standing representative, Colm Imbert). Regarding the possibility of “any old faces” in the present line-up of the MND, he said political experience is necessary to run a country. “This cannot be treated as an entrepreneurial start up. Running a country is serious business as 1.4 million lives depend on good governance. As such, there is expected to be a healthy mix of experienced and new, with the distinct difference of putting country first without the usual shenanigans, bigotry or contempt for citizens. That is the best independence gift I can give to the nation.”

Postby Gladiator » July 3rd, 2020, 11:06 pm

paid_influencer wrote:pnm going to win in a landslide :(

Arrrmm... actually no. Pulling the election card so early especially in this time of social unrest shows that he has given up. To set up a committee to deal with all this crap yesterday and then call election today shows very little respect or caring towards his base. Remember Mario Sabga's Anthony Bourdain interview and what the Syrian Community feared the most?

Well its here and they don't like it one bit so time to get Rowley out.....

The only way PNM winning with a landslide is if they execute underhand tactics, maybe not as brazen as Guyana's Granger but I see they recruited the Jamat, but now it look like they fall out... let's see how it goes from there.

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2020, 11:06 pm

^^^ Africans will not leave PNM to split the Diego vote. Them might pull 100 votes.

Deposits loss

Postby Country_Bookie » July 4th, 2020, 12:03 am

Even before Covid 19 , government was borrowing a lot to fund recurrent expenditure. They were using up our foreign reserves to defend the exchange rate at 6.79.

Now with covid-19, we have a collapse of exports and thus even less forex, reduced tax revenue as business profits plunge, more businesses are being closed and employees being laid off. This will likely translate to huge cuts in expenditure in the next budget. As the foreign reserves keep dwindling, there comes a point where we have to face reality and accept a devaluation of the currency is the only option.

Given the pain that we can expect in the next budget regardless of which party wins, it was a smart move to call elections before the budget.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 4th, 2020, 12:25 am

Country_Bookie wrote:Even before Covid 19 , government was borrowing a lot to fund recurrent expenditure. They were using up our foreign reserves to defend the exchange rate at 6.79.

Now with covid-19, we have a collapse of exports and thus even less forex, reduced tax revenue as business profits plunge, more businesses are being closed and employees being laid off. This will likely translate to huge cuts in expenditure in the next budget. As the foreign reserves keep dwindling, there comes a point where we have to face reality and accept a devaluation of the currency is the only option.

Given the pain that we can expect in the next budget regardless of which party wins, it was a smart move to call elections before the budget.

The election has to haopen before the end of the current fiscal year which falls in the middle of September under the constitution. As I said earlier. ....is not a gimme gimme election. ....it is already a burden to keep the social programs we already have. One thing I could tell yuh going up....or should go up is electricity rates. We have the lowest in the western hemisphere and it's not sustainable.....like at all. It encourages wastage of electricity and the natural gas from which it is generated. WASA rates will probably be in line for an increase too

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 4th, 2020, 2:07 am

If we paid the fair rate for water and current I am going to assume we wouldn't be seeing ads asking us to save on electricity and water right through?

They might then encourage us to waste current and water?