Businesses that closed down in Trinidad & Tobago due to Covid-19 lockdown

Re: Businesses that closed down in Trinidad & Tobago due to Covid-19 lockdown - Truth Report

Postby eliteauto » June 29th, 2020, 12:35 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:What gone on with all those duty free stores and airport stores. Sales must be none existant.

I know of one store there that has closed permanently

Re: Businesses that closed down in Trinidad & Tobago due to Covid-19 lockdown - Truth Report

Postby eliteauto » June 29th, 2020, 7:34 pm

Jaffa at the Oval closing as well

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2020, 8:25 pm

another high rent overhead operation
they been losing money since the owner Joe Brown died in accident a couple years ago.

eliteauto wrote:Jaffa at the Oval closing as well

Postby eliteauto » June 30th, 2020, 5:15 pm

Hard Rock cafe is closed

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 30th, 2020, 5:36 pm

eliteauto wrote:Hard Rock cafe is closed

adf02734-040f-4b6a-a965-62dca81c743a.jpg

Peche Restaurant too
65e32337-8cb9-4dbf-a18e-81e3ecd54ce7.jpg

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2020, 5:42 pm

Peche changed their business from retail dine in to wholesale bakery supplier since maybe end of last year

I think the fine dining was taking a toll on him and not worth the headache.

Never went to hard rock, I am guessing it was the same ole type of menu and bar as the other places

Postby RedVEVO » July 1st, 2020, 3:54 am

Expect more closure ..

Imbert is to blame :roll:

Postby matr1x » July 1st, 2020, 5:50 am

Yet we spending money on Tobago.

Postby bluefete » July 1st, 2020, 5:52 am

matr1x wrote:Yet we spending money on Tobago.

Tobago is where the PM came from. He is not popular with Tobagonians at the moment and so moneh haffi spend.

Postby matr1x » July 1st, 2020, 5:55 am

Lol. Crab and dasheen will save the day!!!!!!!!

Postby Chimera » July 1st, 2020, 6:44 pm

all those airport taxis and food places outside piarco must be gone through as well

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 1st, 2020, 8:39 pm

Great is d PNM, allyuh lying in here, Imppssy say everything good. we must be dumb PNM sheep and eat it up.

Postby K74T » July 2nd, 2020, 10:49 am

IMG-20200702-WA0000.jpeg

Postby eliteauto » July 2nd, 2020, 12:14 pm

Calvin Klein cafe?

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2020, 12:38 pm

K74T wrote:IMG-20200702-WA0000.jpeg

they were doomed even before covid...they didn't see anywhere near the level of business they anticipated

Postby zoom rader » July 2nd, 2020, 1:01 pm

they were doomed even before covid...they didn't see anywhere near the level of business they anticipated
Another case of Hooters

This is a black country we don't need these white folk establishment here.

We are black pudding and roti ppl

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 2nd, 2020, 1:25 pm

Another case of Hooters

This guy gets it. Imagine a day when you could walk in Times Square and Central London and see Japs and Royal Castle establishments. What a glorious day that will be. Unlike trinis, countries don't just allow foreign establishments and franchises to set up without putting things in place to protect local products yeah.

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2020, 1:33 pm

curry is most popular food in uk now

Postby zoom rader » July 2nd, 2020, 1:37 pm

pugboy wrote:curry is most popular food in uk now
UK curry is yuk

Dem is not madrass injuns

Postby maj. tom » July 2nd, 2020, 2:11 pm

Chicken tikka masala is a UK dish invented in the UK. It was an imitation recipe of a Bangladesh type curry recipe to cater for the British population, whose traditional definition of "spice" for thousands of years was salt. It is definitely a British dish and recognized as such, a national dish in the UK.

But it's really not from India. Most curry imitated in western "Indian" restaurants are based on that UK dish. Most Indian curry recipes that you Google will be generally based on that British dish.

Trinidad curry is much closer to Kolkata (Calcutta) and Chennai (Madras) type curry dishes, using Madras spicy hot curry. It is the direct knowledge brought from India during Indentureship and has not changed. I remember my grandmother grinding her own curry on a big grinding stone by hand, all the turmeric and ginger and stuff that she used to grow outside near the wall, knowledge which was passed to her by her own mother. Chief has perfected that Madras-type curry powder mixes for Trinidad.

Postby K74T » July 2nd, 2020, 2:15 pm

Lagoon rice and duck FTW

Postby MaxPower » July 2nd, 2020, 3:10 pm

Another case of Hooters

Zoom,

What the white folk do you so to not like them?

#whitelivesmatter

Postby zoom rader » July 2nd, 2020, 3:28 pm

Another case of Hooters

Zoom,

What the white folk do you so to not like them?

#whitelivesmatter
I totally love real white folk. I love their women in bed cause they do as they are told.

They employed me for years on their oil rigs when job employment in Trinidad was and is fillied with corruption.

This is a black country and we need to support our local bussiness. I will support your business any day and put my money in your employees & ur self pockets

These American establishments is not our culture, they are a drain on our foreign reserves. These ppl laught at us behind our backs and this goes for 1% fake establishments to extort US

Postby gastly369 » July 2nd, 2020, 4:15 pm

Yesss bredaahh
K74T wrote:Lagoon rice and duck FTW

Postby MG Man » July 3rd, 2020, 7:37 am

maj. tom wrote:Chicken tikka masala is a UK dish invented in the UK. It was an imitation recipe of a Bangladesh type curry recipe to cater for the British population, whose traditional definition of "spice" for thousands of years was salt. It is definitely a British dish and recognized as such, a national dish in the UK.

But it's really not from India. Most curry imitated in western "Indian" restaurants are based on that UK dish. Most Indian curry recipes that you Google will be generally based on that British dish.

Trinidad curry is much closer to Kolkata (Calcutta) and Chennai (Madras) type curry dishes, using Madras spicy hot curry. It is the direct knowledge brought from India during Indentureship and has not changed. I remember my grandmother grinding her own curry on a big grinding stone by hand, all the turmeric and ginger and stuff that she used to grow outside near the wall, knowledge which was passed to her by her own mother. Chief has perfected that Madras-type curry powder mixes for Trinidad.

so yuh mean all dem ting ah buy in Rassam and Papadums is UK foood? :agrue:

Postby maj. tom » July 3rd, 2020, 7:47 am

India is a big place with many types of curries. If you watch those "Street Foods India" videos on YouTube you will see that every city has very different foods. Maybe those places you go to are authentic.... But when you buy a curry, you have to specify to the chef what region in India you prefer... if he is skilled in that knowledge. Because a Tamil curry dish is definitely different from an East Punjab curry and way different from a Goa curry.

But foreign food restaurants generally change their recipes to fit the local population. Especially a recipe with a ton of exotic spices that people never tasted before. This usually means the UK version.

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2020, 9:10 am

maj. tom wrote:Chicken tikka masala is a UK dish invented in the UK. It was an imitation recipe of a Bangladesh type curry recipe to cater for the British population, whose traditional definition of "spice" for thousands of years was salt. It is definitely a British dish and recognized as such, a national dish in the UK.

so yuh mean all dem ting ah buy in Rassam and Papadums is UK foood? :agrue:
Yes what you eat in UK restaurants is not real injun Curry, it's cooked to suit the Brits.

Same as Chinese food in TT, it's not the same as in China. Even the UK Chinese food is different from TT

Postby MG Man » July 3rd, 2020, 9:41 am

Did I phrase my reply by starting with 'heycunt'?

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2020, 10:18 am

MG Man wrote:Did I phrase my reply by starting with 'heycunt'?
Seems your upset again, you Gay PNM ppl always have a short fuse.

Postby MG Man » July 3rd, 2020, 11:09 am

MG Man wrote:Did I phrase my reply by starting with 'heycunt'?
Seems your upset again, you Gay PNM ppl always have a short fuse.

unlike you, I'm not afraid to share my rainbow passions