W.T.K. Antenna on smart tv

ron_28

W.T.K. Antenna on smart tv

Postby ron_28 » July 25th, 2018, 7:49 pm

Good day.
So I have a TCL smart tv an I tried hooking up a normal rabbit ears antenna to it to get local channels but nothing picked up.
Do I need any attachments to get this to work?
An Has anyone done this before?

Re: W.T.K. Antenna on smart tv

Postby 88sins » July 26th, 2018, 9:09 am

ron_28 wrote:Good day.
So I have a TCL smart tv an I tried hooking up a normal rabbit ears antenna to it to get local channels but nothing picked up.

connect the tv to internet via wifi or cable & run a streaming app
for local stations, the lil rabbit ears antennas don't always work depending on signal strength & geographic location. so if you want local stations you have 2 options
1-get a big antenna & have it installed on your roof
2-call flow or direct tv & install their equipment & pay for their services

as regards option 1, it have a few ways to get some sort of signal without installing an actual antenna.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 26th, 2018, 9:49 am

Men forgetting how much headache antennas were yes

Even a old time TV would struggle, you hadda REL play up with the antenna for it to work. Find the sweet spot for the signals in your home.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 26th, 2018, 10:08 am

There are indoor antennas with amplifiers. Back in the days i bought one from RadioShack and the signal was much better with it than the normal rabbit ears. Amazon has cheap ones also.

Postby maj. tom » July 26th, 2018, 10:59 am

Rabbit ears antennas are always a complete failure. Try a real HDTV antenna with built in amplifier from a store, or make one yourself.

https://www.popularmechanics.com/cultur ... v-antenna/

Postby MaxPower » July 26th, 2018, 10:59 am

Yuh make a step forward with the smart tv, and a step back with the rabbit ears...

Get with the times OP

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » July 26th, 2018, 11:28 am

Depending on type tv, you have to air scan for channels (sometimes it misses channels), probably need to do with several scans while adjusting antenna. Also the connector needs to be inserted correctly into the tv, it kinks easily affecting signal quality.

if still getting problems,

Get a powered/ampified tv rabbit ears. ( i bought a cheap one that has a signal gain knob on the front)

Depending on your location,some channels may not be picked up
where im living i get tv6 100% , cnc3 80% clean , parliament channel 90% clean, ctv only noise/looks like a scrambled cable channel.

Postby skylinechild » July 26th, 2018, 12:48 pm

OP get a leaf antenna.... amazon it.

aidan

Postby aidan » July 26th, 2018, 1:35 pm

skylinechild wrote:OP get a leaf antenna.... amazon it.
X2 I have one of these and works well.

Postby skylinechild » July 26th, 2018, 1:45 pm

aidan wrote:
skylinechild wrote:OP get a leaf antenna.... amazon it.
X2 I have one of these and works well.

op just be aware there are different models of leaf antennae (sp).

the difference comes in in terms of reception .
the basic ones can receive a signal from anywhere between 10-25 miles away form you.
( simply put the relevant transmitter tv /radio station needs to be in that range from your home in order for you to receive)

the better ones receive a signal from anywhere between 50-75 miles. (further away) - this is the one i recommend you get..

and i think theres even some that can pick up as far as 75-100 miles ( those units come with a separate power supply and specific mounting instructions.

Postby RedVEVO » July 26th, 2018, 4:21 pm

MaxPower wrote:Yuh make a step forward with the smart tv, and a step back with the rabbit ears...

Get with the times OP

:D :D

OP get basic FLOW or DirectTV

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » July 27th, 2018, 7:29 am

RedVEVO wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Yuh make a step forward with the smart tv, and a step back with the rabbit ears...

Get with the times OP

i have an android box, i just tried it to get local channels in the event i want to watch some local programming, as it is i only get to see the news via an add on in kodi

Postby RedVEVO » July 27th, 2018, 7:33 am

ron_28 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Get with the times OP

i have an android box, i just tried it to get local channels in the event i want to watch some local programming, as it is i only get to see the news via an add on in kodi

Ok, well thanks for the addition information .

Postby Country_Bookie » June 3rd, 2019, 9:45 pm

Bumping this thread to ask if anyone has tried the Amazon basics antenna. CNET did a review where they found the antenna from Amazon basics and the flatenna 35 actually performed better than the more expensive antennas like mohu leaf.
Anyone have any local experience using these?

sharkmouth

Postby sharkmouth » June 22nd, 2020, 12:56 am

You need HDTV antenna,those rabbit ear antenna are analog.Broadcasters are using digital signal.

https://www.amazon.com/s?k=hd+tv+antenn ... _sb_noss_2

Postby adnj » June 22nd, 2020, 8:47 am

sharkmouth wrote:

You need HDTV antenna,those rabbit ear antenna are analog.Broadcasters are using digital signal.

Unfortunately, you are incorrect.

There is no difference between a regular and a HDTV antenna. ... Any antenna can pick up HDTV signals. They are broadcast on the same frequencies that even the classic rabbit ears can pick up. The digital signal is, however, much less forgiving of bad antenna placement than analog signals were.

https://www.techwalla.com/articles/diff ... tv-antenna

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » June 22nd, 2020, 10:08 pm

sharkmouth wrote:

I know in the USA these antennas are being used for hdtv
Is this working in Trinidad for tv6 , CNC3 , etc.

Postby adnj » June 23rd, 2020, 9:04 am

francis1979 wrote:
sharkmouth wrote:

I know in the USA these antennas are being used for hdtv
Is this working in Trinidad for tv6 , CNC3 , etc.

Those antennas will work in TTO. The question is whether they provide enough signal gain (amplification) for your particular amplification.

Television frequencies throughout the Americas are the same. The channel frequency for analog is the same as digital. If you cannot receive a signal using a standard antenna now in a place where you received analog before, you will likely need a signal amplifier. The amplifier is either built-in or can be added to your antenna.

Postby redmanjp » July 13th, 2020, 9:11 pm

So we want to get an antenna to watch cpl- now the tv used to be upstairs and we used to get CNC3 very good with an indoor antenna - now we built a room downstairs for a new smart tv but for local channels the indoor antenna picking up cnc3 and other very poorly even though it's powered. i'm thinking it's because it's not close to a window as it was upstairs and also downstairs there are trees outside that are further blocking the signal.

so we are looking for an outdoor one- question is what range would we need? we are in Arima. we definitely want CNC3 as we watch news on that (or rather listen depending on how poor the reception is) and also for CPL. but also one that can pick up TV6 and TTT. So that's 6 & 9 (VHF) plus either 12 (VHF) or 14 (UHF). Based on the size of the country would one with a 35 or 40 mile range be OK?

like this one

https://www.amazon.com/ClearStream-Multi-directional-Convenient-Installation-All-Weather/dp/B074CPGFYC

Postby adnj » July 14th, 2020, 9:43 am

redmanjp wrote:So we want to get an antenna to watch cpl- now the tv used to be upstairs and we used to get CNC3 very good with an indoor antenna - now we built a room downstairs for a new smart tv but for local channels the indoor antenna picking up cnc3 and other very poorly even though it's powered. i'm thinking it's because it's not close to a window as it was upstairs and also downstairs there are trees outside that are further blocking the signal.

so we are looking for an outdoor one- question is what range would we need? we are in Arima. we definitely want CNC3 as we watch news on that (or rather listen depending on how poor the reception is) and also for CPL. but also one that can pick up TV6 and TTT. So that's 6 & 9 (VHF) plus either 12 (VHF) or 14 (UHF). Based on the size of the country would one with a 35 or 40 mile range be OK?

like this one

https://www.amazon.com/ClearStream-Multi-directional-Convenient-Installation-All-Weather/dp/B074CPGFYC

There are a few things to consider:

Better range on a passive (no amplifier) antenna means that the antenna looks at a smaller skyview and will need to be moved around.

A clearer line of sight to the transmitter will improve signal reception.

A longer connection cable to the antenna will degrade the signal arriving at the television.

It would be difficult to tell what will work best but a good outdoor antenna that can be rotated with a signal amplifier is usually a good bet. You probably already guessed that though.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 14th, 2020, 10:23 am

Op, consider this option.
Airlink tv had an offer a while ago where you get a 30 days free trial for their iptv service and after the trial you can continue using the service with only the local channels free of charge. You just need to buy a firestick or download the app on your phone. Not too sure if that offer still stands but you get HD quality.

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » July 14th, 2020, 9:00 pm

For anyone looking to stream local channels, try Tego TV. You can use their website or their apps for Android, IOS, etc.
Check them at https://tegotv.com/livetv
Their current channel list includes TTT, Gayelle, Synergy, TTEN, Trinity, Jagriti, Sankhya, Bhakti, IBN, TIN, Caribvision and Al Jazeera. Unfortunately, CNC3 and CCN-TV6 are not included. They also have streams from several local radio stations.
It's not a full replacement for a TV antenna, especially as there's no CNC3 and TV6 but for news and other local content, it helps.

Postby Dave » July 14th, 2020, 9:01 pm

Tego works good. CNC streams from their website.

Postby redmanjp » July 21st, 2020, 12:55 am

^but they only stream news & certain morning shows

Postby redmanjp » July 21st, 2020, 12:17 pm

does the Airlink IPTV stream CNC3 24/7 ?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 21st, 2020, 2:36 pm

Yes. Just like cable tv.
redmanjp wrote:does the Airlink IPTV stream CNC3 24/7 ?

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2020, 5:50 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Yes. Just like cable tv.
redmanjp wrote:does the Airlink IPTV stream CNC3 24/7 ?

unfortunately I was just informed by them via their FB page that the service isn't available in my area- I specifically asked about the option of getting TV via the Firestick- they still tell me it not available- despite this post saying something else:

https://www.facebook.com/airlinktt/photos/a.424324464260232/4473769272649044/?type=3&theater

how is it that an IPTV service not available in an area when it is over the internet?

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » July 27th, 2020, 7:09 pm

Just sign up for airlink trial and you will get all local channels for free. They claim that the app only works on firestick but I have it working on an android box....try your luck!

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2020, 7:17 pm

phreakazoid wrote:Just sign up for airlink trial and you will get all local channels for free. They claim that the app only works on firestick but I have it working on an android box....try your luck!

does it start to work right away or i have to contact them?

will it still be free after the free trial?

eitech

Postby eitech » January 13th, 2021, 2:33 pm

So i got an outdoor roof antenna. Working pretty good at the ground level. I will mount it on the roof. While lightning strikes maybe rare i wont chance it. I will install a ground however is there any added protection i could put between tv and antenna ?