Re: Worst doubles thread

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 11th, 2020, 2:23 pm

d.d.s. wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Red Cap airport doubles is HUGE though. $6 reflects that.

If I have to buy doubles these days, Red Cap is my go to. I know this guy personally, he will get my $ anytime just because of how CLEAN his place is at home and the standard he maintains when it comes to food preparation

I don't take away his cleanliness, etc and kudos to him for being there early o' clock to cater for those on the move before sunup but in my opinion, his standard dropped a bit. Bara got smaller and the channa a bit runny. Definitely not worth $6 again. Even the foot long pie ain't worth the $11/$12 anymore because that got smaller too. I know he has been dealing with a health issue and reeling from a recent robbery at the stand too.

I agree about the consistency of the doubles. Robbery was ah scene yes, early morning thing

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 11th, 2020, 2:39 pm

death365 wrote:
screwbash wrote:doubles queen - el socorro
Darren Doubles - el socorro south
Singhs - freeport ( all dem by dat big drain)
one with a red shed some where in cunupia not to far from airlinks bar
d spanish woman opposite beddoes in santa cruz
d man in valcenia opposite the tyre shop
Wait u buy doubles from a Spanish woman... Yuh real brave.

Just incase u don't know vennies not clean at all, food wise. Cubans, Colombian other South Americans OK

she selling for the man who used to sell dey with ah unbrella, now he build a lil shop and she wuking for he jus like doubles king hav all dem spanish selling doubles, i think sauce mobile has spanish selling too.

i forget some doubles name country house or somthing in barataria an now i see in bamboo and grandbazar, dat does taste like dey using drain water to make it.
arby ali on d bus route in barataria- doubles to salty and bara burnt and he does talk to much spitting all in the channa i sure.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 11th, 2020, 3:44 pm

screwbash wrote:
death365 wrote:
screwbash wrote:doubles queen - el socorro
Darren Doubles - el socorro south
Singhs - freeport ( all dem by dat big drain)
one with a red shed some where in cunupia not to far from airlinks bar
d spanish woman opposite beddoes in santa cruz
d man in valcenia opposite the tyre shop
Wait u buy doubles from a Spanish woman... Yuh real brave.

Just incase u don't know vennies not clean at all, food wise. Cubans, Colombian other South Americans OK

she selling for the man who used to sell dey with ah unbrella, now he build a lil shop and she wuking for he jus like doubles king hav all dem spanish selling doubles, i think sauce mobile has spanish selling too.

i forget some doubles name country house or somthing in barataria an now i see in bamboo and grandbazar, dat does taste like dey using drain water to make it.
arby ali on d bus route in barataria- doubles to salty and bara burnt and he does talk to much spitting all in the channa i sure.

Country Style Doubles

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2020, 3:57 pm

Them is a big chain, all over the place with venes selling

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2020, 4:06 pm

pugboy wrote:Them is a big chain, all over the place with venes selling

Boom

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » May 11th, 2020, 4:23 pm

Post pics nah alyuh .

hindian

Postby hindian » May 11th, 2020, 5:18 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Worst doubles I have tasted is a woman who used to sell outside Tunapuna Market quite a while back.
Fat, doughy bara and not very tasty sauces. I think she is in the market now but it looks like she is part of a different setup.

At that point she was the only doubles you could get at 4am on a weekend and after liming when you want something to eat she was one of the few options around. We would buy but ask her for channa alone.

She never had a name on the box but we just referred to her as Cyat Doubles because once she told us her daughter was supposed to be there helping her but she gone to get she cyat scratch.

I used to call her "ting tuh suck" because the only time i ever stop there was the last and that was her sales pitch. i understood why after getting the doubles in hand. i coulda swear i get a whole mango, seed and all and the taste was nasty af. The last time i had Kelvin and Rose doubles, it tasted really off and i never went back. The white van out by the gas station in Piarco does taste alright i find.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 11th, 2020, 6:00 pm

hindian wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Worst doubles I have tasted is a woman who used to sell outside Tunapuna Market quite a while back.
Fat, doughy bara and not very tasty sauces. I think she is in the market now but it looks like she is part of a different setup.

At that point she was the only doubles you could get at 4am on a weekend and after liming when you want something to eat she was one of the few options around. We would buy but ask her for channa alone.

She never had a name on the box but we just referred to her as Cyat Doubles because once she told us her daughter was supposed to be there helping her but she gone to get she cyat scratch.

I used to call her "ting tuh suck" because the only time i ever stop there was the last and that was her sales pitch. i understood why after getting the doubles in hand. i coulda swear i get a whole mango, seed and all and the taste was nasty af. The last time i had Kelvin and Rose doubles, it tasted really off and i never went back. The white van out by the gas station in Piarco does taste alright i find.

:D :D
Same lady for sure..................I real forget she used to ask if you want ting to suck when putting the mango sauce!!!

Postby Ted_v2 » May 11th, 2020, 6:28 pm

Worst so far, i guess i never came across something so bad worth remembering, I bought doubles in markets already and it wasnt to my likeness, saffron tasting and doubles channa thick but i know people love that so i aint go knock it.

Postby teems1 » May 11th, 2020, 6:43 pm

Once on Diego Martin main road. Walking back to West Bees carpark after a funeral.

Worst doubles of my life.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » May 11th, 2020, 7:22 pm

maj. tom wrote:This is expected. People will complain and yak... and then buy 10 to go. Same with the KFC.
So we entering a "$6 for a doubles" economy now. And then the price will never go back down when all the goods prices normalize again. It's the Trini way.

When doubles was on lockdown and people have no income coming in, they was quite content with paying $7 for one "without assembly" so me eh know why doublesmen doh just skip the $6 and go straight to $7

Postby Rovin » May 11th, 2020, 7:42 pm

i dont eat doubles often & is not something i eat all over but i myself cant recall a terrible doubles per say , is jes some dont have no flavor or tastiness in it

not really a pepper person but a good chutney is a must ... preferably tambrin , not a fan of cucumber

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 11th, 2020, 7:56 pm

The amount ah people I hear complaining about belly wuk today...lmao

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2020, 7:59 pm

cnc3 went by west mall kfc
a girl in the drive thru line say is the third time she eating for the day plus had doubles

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2020, 8:04 pm

pugboy wrote:cnc3 went by west mall kfc
a girl in the drive thru line say is the third time she eating for the day plus had doubles

Fat chick cravings.

Postby Rovin » May 11th, 2020, 8:09 pm

she must be preggers ... :lol:

Postby K74T » May 11th, 2020, 8:09 pm

pugboy wrote:cnc3 went by west mall kfc
WWIII Western Whales 3

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 12th, 2020, 3:45 am

it will be finally be so good to see the doubles men and women wearing mask an hopefully gloves when selling,more so the mask as over the years you see the vendor talking over the doubles box over all the open channa bucket and barra adding that special flavour, so i glad to see it stop especially them muslim that want to sell food an have big uncovered beards an looking unsanitary and they talking non stop also. hairnets should be mandatory with gloves and now face mask.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 12th, 2020, 3:49 am

add worst roti to this title and start with
hoseins EMR san juan
opposite the police station - arima
massy $20 chicken roti - bad but worth the $20

death365

Postby death365 » May 12th, 2020, 6:33 am

There is No good roti in trini again.
screwbash wrote:add worst roti to this title and start with
hoseins EMR san juan

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 12th, 2020, 8:13 am

death365 wrote:There is No good roti in trini again.
screwbash wrote:add worst roti to this title and start with
hoseins EMR san juan

Homemade roti= best roti

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 12th, 2020, 8:29 am

All couva doubles is nonsense except Isaac Junction. I got 2 with slight b4 the lock down and it lash hard.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 12th, 2020, 8:50 am

Ali's in p/town worth the drive?

Postby Slartibartfast » May 12th, 2020, 10:10 am

Blaze d Chalice wrote:
maj. tom wrote:This is expected. People will complain and yak... and then buy 10 to go. Same with the KFC.
So we entering a "$6 for a doubles" economy now. And then the price will never go back down when all the goods prices normalize again. It's the Trini way.

When doubles was on lockdown and people have no income coming in, they was quite content with paying $7 for one "without assembly" so me eh know why doublesmen doh just skip the $6 and go straight to $7

I used to eat doubles like 3 times a week when it was $3 back in my UWI days. When it raise to $4 I just reduced the amount of times I used to eat it to like once a week. My belly was getting big anyway. When they change it to $5 I say it not worth it anymore so I only have it like 1 - 2 times a month now, if I'm craving it. If they raise it to $6 now I think that's it for me there. I'll probably only have it like once every couple months when I craving it.

Good thing I not living Penal though. I would be eating aloo pies 4 times a week. Them $2 pies better than all the places on the doubles stretch. I went and tried all of them over the course of two days earlier this year as part of my *ehem* research. Not my proudest moment and I definitely do not recommend it :lol:

dogg

Postby dogg » May 12th, 2020, 12:53 pm

The doubles from the guy wiht the towel who used to be at Valpark gas station was pretty awful. I guess he was popular because of the location. I don't know where he and his daughter are selling now. But I don't want to know either.

Same goes for Frank's and UWI doubles. Location and available parking. Shite doubles both.

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2020, 1:14 pm

not a doubles eater myself
it sounding like it have plenty crap doubles out there

Postby MaxPower » May 12th, 2020, 1:36 pm

I wonder how many doubles workers sneeze or cough behind the scenes while preparing?

Or used the bathroom and never washed their hands after a hot diarrhea?

Stink.

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2020, 1:44 pm

A regular diarrhea is fine, that is a single toilet visit scenes
Is when yuh ketch salmonella or ecoli and have to go toilet every half hour for days is pressure

MaxPower wrote:I wonder how many doubles workers sneeze or cough behind the scenes while preparing?

Or used the bathroom and never washed their hands after a hot diarrhea?

Stink.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 12th, 2020, 3:39 pm

dogg wrote:The doubles from the guy wiht the towel who used to be at Valpark gas station was pretty awful. I guess he was popular because of the location. I don't know where he and his daughter are selling now. But I don't want to know either.
Last time I checked they were by Grand Bazaar roundabout.

dogg wrote:Same goes for Frank's and UWI doubles. Location and available parking. Shite doubles both.
UWI doubles used to lash back in the 90's when they had the whole list of like 10 toppings you cudda get. That was the only doubles place I know used to have coconut chutney.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » May 12th, 2020, 4:02 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:UWI doubles used to lash back in the 90's when they had the whole list of like 10 toppings you cudda get. That was the only doubles place I know used to have coconut chutney.

True that. They use to sell on the opposite side, at the end of what is now a uwi carpark.