d.d.s. wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:maj. tom wrote:Red Cap airport doubles is HUGE though. $6 reflects that.
If I have to buy doubles these days, Red Cap is my go to. I know this guy personally, he will get my $ anytime just because of how CLEAN his place is at home and the standard he maintains when it comes to food preparation
I don't take away his cleanliness, etc and kudos to him for being there early o' clock to cater for those on the move before sunup but in my opinion, his standard dropped a bit. Bara got smaller and the channa a bit runny. Definitely not worth $6 again. Even the foot long pie ain't worth the $11/$12 anymore because that got smaller too. I know he has been dealing with a health issue and reeling from a recent robbery at the stand too.
death365 wrote:Wait u buy doubles from a Spanish woman... Yuh real brave.screwbash wrote:doubles queen - el socorro
Darren Doubles - el socorro south
Singhs - freeport ( all dem by dat big drain)
one with a red shed some where in cunupia not to far from airlinks bar
d spanish woman opposite beddoes in santa cruz
d man in valcenia opposite the tyre shop
Just incase u don't know vennies not clean at all, food wise. Cubans, Colombian other South Americans OK
screwbash wrote:death365 wrote:Wait u buy doubles from a Spanish woman... Yuh real brave.screwbash wrote:doubles queen - el socorro
Darren Doubles - el socorro south
Singhs - freeport ( all dem by dat big drain)
one with a red shed some where in cunupia not to far from airlinks bar
d spanish woman opposite beddoes in santa cruz
d man in valcenia opposite the tyre shop
Just incase u don't know vennies not clean at all, food wise. Cubans, Colombian other South Americans OK
she selling for the man who used to sell dey with ah unbrella, now he build a lil shop and she wuking for he jus like doubles king hav all dem spanish selling doubles, i think sauce mobile has spanish selling too.
i forget some doubles name country house or somthing in barataria an now i see in bamboo and grandbazar, dat does taste like dey using drain water to make it.
arby ali on d bus route in barataria- doubles to salty and bara burnt and he does talk to much spitting all in the channa i sure.
pugboy wrote:Them is a big chain, all over the place with venes selling
Dizzy28 wrote:Worst doubles I have tasted is a woman who used to sell outside Tunapuna Market quite a while back.
Fat, doughy bara and not very tasty sauces. I think she is in the market now but it looks like she is part of a different setup.
At that point she was the only doubles you could get at 4am on a weekend and after liming when you want something to eat she was one of the few options around. We would buy but ask her for channa alone.
She never had a name on the box but we just referred to her as Cyat Doubles because once she told us her daughter was supposed to be there helping her but she gone to get she cyat scratch.
hindian wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:Worst doubles I have tasted is a woman who used to sell outside Tunapuna Market quite a while back.
Fat, doughy bara and not very tasty sauces. I think she is in the market now but it looks like she is part of a different setup.
At that point she was the only doubles you could get at 4am on a weekend and after liming when you want something to eat she was one of the few options around. We would buy but ask her for channa alone.
She never had a name on the box but we just referred to her as Cyat Doubles because once she told us her daughter was supposed to be there helping her but she gone to get she cyat scratch.
I used to call her "ting tuh suck" because the only time i ever stop there was the last and that was her sales pitch. i understood why after getting the doubles in hand. i coulda swear i get a whole mango, seed and all and the taste was nasty af. The last time i had Kelvin and Rose doubles, it tasted really off and i never went back. The white van out by the gas station in Piarco does taste alright i find.
maj. tom wrote:This is expected. People will complain and yak... and then buy 10 to go. Same with the KFC.
So we entering a "$6 for a doubles" economy now. And then the price will never go back down when all the goods prices normalize again. It's the Trini way.
pugboy wrote:cnc3 went by west mall kfc
a girl in the drive thru line say is the third time she eating for the day plus had doubles
WWIII Western Whales 3pugboy wrote:cnc3 went by west mall kfc
a girl in the drive thru line say is the third time she eating for the day plus had doubles
screwbash wrote:add worst roti to this title and start with
hoseins EMR san juan
opposite the police station - arima
massy $20 chicken roti - bad but worth the $20
death365 wrote:There is No good roti in trini again.screwbash wrote:add worst roti to this title and start with
hoseins EMR san juan
opposite the police station - arima
massy $20 chicken roti - bad but worth the $20
Blaze d Chalice wrote:maj. tom wrote:This is expected. People will complain and yak... and then buy 10 to go. Same with the KFC.
So we entering a "$6 for a doubles" economy now. And then the price will never go back down when all the goods prices normalize again. It's the Trini way.
When doubles was on lockdown and people have no income coming in, they was quite content with paying $7 for one "without assembly" so me eh know why doublesmen doh just skip the $6 and go straight to $7
MaxPower wrote:I wonder how many doubles workers sneeze or cough behind the scenes while preparing?
Or used the bathroom and never washed their hands after a hot diarrhea?
Stink.
Last time I checked they were by Grand Bazaar roundabout.dogg wrote:The doubles from the guy wiht the towel who used to be at Valpark gas station was pretty awful. I guess he was popular because of the location. I don't know where he and his daughter are selling now. But I don't want to know either.
UWI doubles used to lash back in the 90's when they had the whole list of like 10 toppings you cudda get. That was the only doubles place I know used to have coconut chutney.dogg wrote:Same goes for Frank's and UWI doubles. Location and available parking. Shite doubles both.
Slartibartfast wrote:UWI doubles used to lash back in the 90's when they had the whole list of like 10 toppings you cudda get. That was the only doubles place I know used to have coconut chutney.