SOME Lazy Covid-19 Teachers

Postby bluefete » April 22nd, 2020, 1:52 pm

Okay, let me get the basics out of the way.

I know that teachers belong to a union.

I know there are terms and conditions of work.

I know that you are not obliged to go outside of your terms and conditions of work.

I know that your pay is running regardless of pandemic or no pandemic.

I know you do not have to work for your salary for the next few months.

NOW: You want to tell me that SOME of you teachers are so heartless that you do not care about what happens to your students.

These are extraordinary times and MANY, MANY teachers, union or no union, have stepped up to the plate to function outside of their remit. The pivot to online learning to ensure that children in primary and secondary schools have access to some form of education must be commended. I know it is not a level playing field but at least it is an effort.

I am not lambasting teachers who live "in de bush" and have no internet or lousy phone service or even have no laptop or computer at home.

I am lambasting those LAZY teachers who have BLOCKED their Principals from contacting them, by phone or WhatsApp, and who do not respond to e-mails, because they only want to collect a salary for doing nothing.

I am lambasting those LAZY teachers who have said that they are not obliged to do anything because TTUTA did not send out any memo to them. WTF - Is TTUTA your employer?

I am lambasting those LAZY teachers whose salaries are running but they have pupils whose mothers and fathers have no jobs at this time due to Covid-19.

I am lambasting those LAZY teachers, some of whom have pupils, who do not know where their next meal is coming from because mummy and daddy's final pay cheque ends this month (nothwithstanding the salary relief grant).

I am lambasting those LAZY teachers who hide behind a union agreement, in difficult times, as an excuse not to perform.

While you could afford to go to the grocery at the end of May 2020, many of the parents of your students will not be able to.

But you want to say that the government sent you home and told you to "take a rest" so you are under no obligation to do anything because you are now out of your physical work setting (classroom).

THANK YOU to the MANY, MANY teachers who have stepped up to the plate - from 1st year to Std. 5; from Form 1 to Form 6 - to ensure some kind of continuity for our children at the primary and secondary levels.

I dunno nah! When I think of all the families going through great uncertainty and stress at this time but SOME of YOU are getting your pay "normal, normal" (for doing nothing) and you keep saying that no one can do you anything, I just get so upset.

But in life there is something called Karma and when it bites, it bites hard. Be warned!

Note: Even TTUTA has boiled down after getting serious licks from the public over their bad-john attitude and is now working with the Ministry of Education to get everyone to move forward. TTUTA was initially upset over the "tone" of some memos sent out by the MOE.

/Rant!

Re: SOME Lazy Covid-19 Teachers

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 22nd, 2020, 2:09 pm

long story short...Unions are the downfall to almost everything in this country

Ryan197912

Postby Ryan197912 » April 22nd, 2020, 3:04 pm

Exactly..and we wonder why Basdeo Panday said that any teacher that abandons his/her class is a criminal...

Postby Gladiator » April 22nd, 2020, 3:18 pm

Some of my workers doing the same thing dred... salary running and they not answering their frikin phone

Postby X_Factor » April 22nd, 2020, 3:20 pm

Do u all think that this teach online thing is another way of making the privileged and who can afford the laptops/tablets another avenue to keep that statue quo to those who cannot?

What about lazy parents who are home with their child/children and do almost nothing with them but the parents are on their phones or allow the child to basically do what they want as long as they don't get bothered or have to put some effort

At the end of the day as a parent and in the current situation that we are in are you going to depend on someone to seek your child's best interest?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 22nd, 2020, 3:26 pm

Is the school providing the teachers with the laptops to do this work from home? If no are the schools facilitating any breakdowns in teachers personal pcs as the average person will not buy a laptop capable of handling the extra work load required to faciliate work from home... what about the higher internet speeds needed for work at home... what about security breaches... it is well known that work from home has led to a rise in cyber hacks... if teachers personal pcs get hacked are the schools going to assist? Imo if your place of work did not give you the tools to do work at home... then dont do it... cause if something happens to your devices is for you to catch

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 22nd, 2020, 4:37 pm

Gladiator wrote:Some of my workers doing the same thing dred... salary running and they not answering their frikin phone

I have a friend in a similar situation, told his staff of 7 to work from home since end of March. However, most of work is usually requires doing things in office like inventory and supply chain management.

However, he has 3 girls who usually do this work as well as other stuff. They all have the current inventory, he is just emailing them orders that he himself is taking and delivering. The spreadsheets are on Google Sheets mind you.

Imagine, after texting, calling, sending them requires on the company Whatsapp group, 2 of them have completely disappeared and the one who responded, always busy cooking, going grocery or dropping thing for the she mother.

He is going to fire two of them at the end of this week and not pay their April salary. The one who replied, but was always busy will be kept on because she done a little work here and there, just terribly unreliable.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 22nd, 2020, 4:40 pm

elec2020 wrote:Is the school providing the teachers with the laptops to do this work from home? If no are the schools facilitating any breakdowns in teachers personal pcs as the average person will not buy a laptop capable of handling the extra work load required to faciliate work from home... what about the higher internet speeds needed for work at home... what about security breaches... it is well known that work from home has led to a rise in cyber hacks... if teachers personal pcs get hacked are the schools going to assist? Imo if your place of work did not give you the tools to do work at home... then dont do it... cause if something happens to your devices is for you to catch

Fair points, but these aren't normal circumstances. If you don't have a laptop the MoE should supply it or provide some money to purchase it, as well as contribute an extra $300 for the internet connection. That is all.

Send then some youtube tutorials on using Zoom, Powerpoint etc.

And then let then go from there.....this is a tiny issue that the MoE would be arranging right now.

The bigger problem to me is students, not all have laptops, fast internet etc.

Postby MaxPower » April 22nd, 2020, 5:06 pm

Lol

Remember these teachers are also Trinidadians.

Pretty much expected.

Need to hire some foreigners.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 22nd, 2020, 5:10 pm

While it sounds good on paper... MoE helping out... i think during this period countless organizations in TnT that doing the work from home levying on staff resources... and imo if that is the case staff should have the right to refuse... you cant be calling me on my personal phone... and you vex i aint answer in 10 mins... u wanting to hold Zoom meetings and thing over the phone... is wha you paying my data plan? All these things and more i can go into... and i am sure if the private sector taking their workers for granted... with this work at home... so to is the MoE... thats why we have unions... yh some of them like Roget on s8... but in these times... things are unprecedented yes... but their are still laws... there is no anarchy where people looting and thing with no reprecussions... laws are still in place... i could be wrong but the international labor organization leaves it to the employer to provide resources for employees to do their work... if the employer doesnt do it... why must i bear the cost

rebound

Postby rebound » April 22nd, 2020, 6:28 pm

Sensible informed points elec2020...The same people who expect a teacher to some how have all the equipment in place to go online to teach within a week, would not do the same for their job.

Sickening to watch these uninformed inconsiderate rants.
elec2020 wrote:While it sounds good on paper... MoE helping out... i think during this period countless organizations in TnT that doing the work from home levying on staff resources... and imo if that is the case staff should have the right to refuse... you cant be calling me on my personal phone... and you vex i aint answer in 10 mins... u wanting to hold Zoom meetings and thing over the phone... is wha you paying my data plan? All these things and more i can go into... and i am sure if the private sector taking their workers for granted... with this work at home... so to is the MoE... thats why we have unions... yh some of them like Roget on s8... but in these times... things are unprecedented yes... but their are still laws... there is no anarchy where people looting and thing with no reprecussions... laws are still in place... i could be wrong but the international labor organization leaves it to the employer to provide resources for employees to do their work... if the employer doesnt do it... why must i bear the cost

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 22nd, 2020, 9:21 pm

rebound wrote:Sensible informed points elec2020...The same people who expect a teacher to some how have all the equipment in place to go online to teach within a week, would not do the same for their job.

Sickening to watch these uninformed inconsiderate rants.
elec2020 wrote:While it sounds good on paper... MoE helping out... i think during this period countless organizations in TnT that doing the work from home levying on staff resources... and imo if that is the case staff should have the right to refuse... you cant be calling me on my personal phone... and you vex i aint answer in 10 mins... u wanting to hold Zoom meetings and thing over the phone... is wha you paying my data plan? All these things and more i can go into... and i am sure if the private sector taking their workers for granted... with this work at home... so to is the MoE... thats why we have unions... yh some of them like Roget on s8... but in these times... things are unprecedented yes... but their are still laws... there is no anarchy where people looting and thing with no reprecussions... laws are still in place... i could be wrong but the international labor organization leaves it to the employer to provide resources for employees to do their work... if the employer doesnt do it... why must i bear the cost

Thank you... i have a friend doing work at home and how he describe it... boss man so wanna make sure they doing work... it come like he have 12 hour work days... receiving messages on holidays, weekends etc... idk if his case is special... but i also believe that is a danger of work at home... slowly blurring the lines between work life and home life

Postby MaxPower » April 22nd, 2020, 10:01 pm

Just remember that these teachers money still running.

So this is like a long relaxing vacation for them away from all the students.

Why even bother to work?

The majority of teachers in T&T are lazy good for nothing wastes in society.

Damn complainers...

I commend the very few that WANT to go the extra mile.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » April 23rd, 2020, 10:42 am

OP, for resistance, you need to factor in lots of other stuff before you reach to 'laziness'... lack of access to technology, fear of technology, fear of change, slowness to adapt,,, age.. there are lots of personal/human factors other than outright 'laziness'. A pinch of humane-ness is needed.. I would bet that fear is probably a greater factor than lazy here, esp with the older folks.

just something else to consider.

Postby Redman » April 23rd, 2020, 10:59 am

If your kids teacher is adopting that approach
Find another teacher or school.

Putting up all the reasons I can't do something, in this context..is not an ethos I want my child infected with.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 23rd, 2020, 11:07 am

Believe it or not, Laziness is a criteria to becoming a Trinidadian.

In order for a foreigner to become a TT Citizen they need to pass a laziness test and they also have to show the ability to toss trash out of their car windows or while walking down the street toss trash in drains or in the bush etc.

I have noticed Venezuelans keep their trash on them or their bags and then dispose of it in trash bins. Trinis do the complete opposite and when you mention this to them the Trini response is "well them from Venezuela so they re guests in our country therefore they have to place their trash in the bins, Trinidad is we country so we could litter it is we own"

Postby MaxPower » April 23rd, 2020, 12:25 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Believe it or not, Laziness is a criteria to becoming a Trinidadian.

In order for a foreigner to become a TT Citizen they need to pass a laziness test and they also have to show the ability to toss trash out of their car windows or while walking down the street toss trash in drains or in the bush etc.

I have noticed Venezuelans keep their trash on them or their bags and then dispose of it in trash bins. Trinis do the complete opposite and when you mention this to them the Trini response is "well them from Venezuela so they re guests in our country therefore they have to place their trash in the bins, Trinidad is we country so we could litter it is we own"

Hello ED,

I agree, but it must be known that some Venezuelans do litter as well simply because of what they have observed from Trinis.

For those of us with some good, we must help our guests to make the environment cleaner. Trinis are hopeless and littering is in their DNA.

Postby Redman » April 23rd, 2020, 12:28 pm

My son's school didn't miss a beat.

Their teachers did what was necessary for the benefit of the kids.

What's the difference?

TTUTA should be ashamed, I guess if a child is running across the street...they will stand up and watch.

linton

Postby linton » April 23rd, 2020, 12:33 pm

Not all teachers are lazy . Some take interest in their jobs and do the best they can .

Postby bluefete » April 23rd, 2020, 12:55 pm

Hi All:

Thank you very much for your feedback - both pros and cons.

I understand all the arguments both for and against especially where you are using your own resources from home and the fear factor in using technology.

My beef is with those teachers who have literally disappeared off the radar but are still going to be paid at the end of this month and the end of next month and so on for doing nothing.

It makes me angry because so many people have no jobs and are going hungry at this time. This is not like a hurricane or earthquake where you can see the devastation. It is much more subtle but very, very real.

So many have been asked to adapt to new ways of working and are thankful that they still have jobs.

These are unique times. Our children's education should be a priority for all.

Postby 88sins » April 23rd, 2020, 1:29 pm

Easy fix really, at least from the teachers position.
Almost all schools have internet access, and those that do most have desktops.
Solution-declare all teachers "essential workers", and make them report for duty at the schools they assigned to, and they must now use the school's internet and desktop to log on and connect with students remotely and teach the class. School practically empty but for the teachers, so social distancing won't be a problem, and the computer not costing them anything and the internet already there.

And let them know, any that decline to comply need not report for duty when things return to normal, since they'd have effectively abandoned their jobs.

Postby MaxPower » April 23rd, 2020, 1:40 pm

Most teachers and students will be returning to school brain dead.

Let me take this opportunity to commend all those parents and guardians that are really keeping their children educationally active at home.

Unfortunately we have those dead beat parents who see their children’s presence at home as a nuisance.
So sad, according to the headline below that high of a percentage increase in domestic violence.

Can you imagine the impact on our youths? Some children will be returning to school with some terrible experiences.

The Govt of T&T has taken this for granted.

Adjustments.JPG

Postby Redman » April 23rd, 2020, 1:42 pm

Decency implies that we should not be discussing this.

But 88 have the remedy right dey

rebound

Postby rebound » April 23rd, 2020, 1:49 pm

I agree with this and there is enough space in the school for them to practice social distancing. But who has to make those decisions? Not MoE and Administration?
Where are they in all of this?

Its like people expect the Teachers to be both Management and Worker. I see no one asking the bosses to do their work or calling the bosses Lazy..
88sins wrote:Easy fix really, at least from the teachers position.
Almost all schools have internet access, and those that do most have desktops.
Solution-declare all teachers "essential workers", and make them report for duty at the schools they assigned to, and they must now use the school's internet and desktop to log on and connect with students remotely and teach the class. School practically empty but for the teachers, so social distancing won't be a problem, and the computer not costing them anything and the internet already there.

And let them know, any that decline to comply need not report for duty when things return to normal, since they'd have effectively abandoned their jobs.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 23rd, 2020, 2:30 pm

MaxPower wrote:Most teachers and students will be returning to school brain dead.

Let me take this opportunity to commend all those parents and guardians that are really keeping their children educationally active at home.

Unfortunately we have those dead beat parents who see their children’s presence at home as a nuisance.
So sad, according to the headline below that high of a percentage increase in domestic violence.

Can you imagine the impact on our youths? Some children will be returning to school with some terrible experiences.

Adjustments.JPG

Ow boy... whi would have though TnT had so much small piggy man... to lay your hands on a woman is one of the lowest things a man can do imo

Postby bluefete » April 23rd, 2020, 2:36 pm

Postby adnj » April 23rd, 2020, 2:45 pm

elec2020 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Most teachers and students will be returning to school brain dead.

Adjustments.JPG

Ow boy... whi would have though TnT had so much small piggy man... to lay your hands on a woman is one of the lowest things a man can do imo

Many students are already involved in distance learning. My kid is. And if there isn't something from the school, the student will certainly have a book. Learning doesn't require a classroom.

And:

Domestic violence is a complex issue and it isn't simply a man hitting a woman.

----------

Domestic violence

Domestic violence against men isn't always easy to identify, but it can be a serious threat. Know how to recognize if you're being abused — and how to get help.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Women aren't the only victims of domestic violence. Understand the signs of domestic violence against men, and know how to get help.

Recognize domestic violence against men

Domestic violence — also known as intimate partner violence — occurs between people who are or have been in a close relationship. Domestic violence can take many forms, including emotional, sexual and physical abuse, stalking and threats of abuse. It can happen in heterosexual or same-sex relationships.

Abusive relationships always involve an imbalance of power and control. An abuser uses intimidating, hurtful words and behaviors to control his or her partner.

It might not be easy to recognize domestic violence against men. Early in the relationship, your partner might seem attentive, generous and protective in ways that later turn out to be controlling and frightening. Initially, the abuse might appear as isolated incidents. Your partner might apologize and promise not to abuse you again.

You might be experiencing domestic violence if your partner:

Calls you names, insults you or puts you down

Prevents you from going to work or school

Stops you from seeing family members or friends

Tries to control how you spend money, where you go or what you wear

Acts jealous or possessive or constantly accuses you of being unfaithful

Gets angry when drinking alcohol or using drugs

Tries to control whether you can see a health care provider

Threatens you with violence or a weapon

Hits, kicks, shoves, slaps, chokes or otherwise hurts you, your children or your pets

Forces you to have sex or engage in sexual acts against your will

Blames you for his or her violent behavior or tells you that you deserve it

Threatens to tell friends, family, colleagues or community members your sexual orientation or gender identity

https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-life ... t-20045149

Postby bluefete » April 23rd, 2020, 2:49 pm

Many people are now finding out that they cannot live together for any extended period of time. SAD!

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 23rd, 2020, 4:24 pm

adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:

Adjustments.JPG

Many students are already involved in distance learning. My kid is. And if there isn't something from the school, the student will certainly have a book. Learning doesn't require a classroom.

And:

Domestic violence is a complex issue and it isn't simply a man hitting a woman.

----------

Domestic violence

Domestic violence against men isn't always easy to identify, but it can be a serious threat. Know how to recognize if you're being abused — and how to get help.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Women aren't the only victims of domestic violence. Understand the signs of domestic violence against men, and know how to get help.

Recognize domestic violence against men

Domestic violence — also known as intimate partner violence — occurs between people who are or have been in a close relationship. Domestic violence can take many forms, including emotional, sexual and physical abuse, stalking and threats of abuse. It can happen in heterosexual or same-sex relationships.

Abusive relationships always involve an imbalance of power and control. An abuser uses intimidating, hurtful words and behaviors to control his or her partner.

It might not be easy to recognize domestic violence against men. Early in the relationship, your partner might seem attentive, generous and protective in ways that later turn out to be controlling and frightening. Initially, the abuse might appear as isolated incidents. Your partner might apologize and promise not to abuse you again.

You might be experiencing domestic violence if your partner:

Calls you names, insults you or puts you down

Prevents you from going to work or school

Stops you from seeing family members or friends

Tries to control how you spend money, where you go or what you wear

Acts jealous or possessive or constantly accuses you of being unfaithful

Gets angry when drinking alcohol or using drugs

Tries to control whether you can see a health care provider

Threatens you with violence or a weapon

Hits, kicks, shoves, slaps, chokes or otherwise hurts you, your children or your pets

Forces you to have sex or engage in sexual acts against your will

Blames you for his or her violent behavior or tells you that you deserve it

Threatens to tell friends, family, colleagues or community members your sexual orientation or gender identity

https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-life ... t-20045149

Yh... abuse is more than just physical and i dont doubt for a second men can be abused... alot of men go through either physical (property damage for instance) or emotiomal abuse (threaten to kill herself if you leave) from women... but say what... as man you just have to ride it our as society to immature to give you the time of the day when u facing those issues

Postby 88sins » April 23rd, 2020, 5:15 pm

elec2020 wrote:

Like you done drink ALL the koolaid son?.
There's a time and a place for EVERYTHING under the sun, and that EVERYTHING includes tuning up a female, pay no never mind to what the politically correct approach may be or what society may frown upon. Don't believe it? Cool scn, stick to your philosophy and keep living the illusion for as long as you can.

Now, I not saying that is ok for a fella to make it a routine to bong up he gyul, or vice versa. But I am saying there's some times when certain females and males need physical correction, and to fail to provide such is a mistake.
And as an aside, don't ever assume that if a fella is alleged to have abused a female, that he is a small piggy man. And I assume you mean that he is insecure and or immature. Such statements only successfully make you look like not only do you have a small piggy, but like it inverted and hairless with undescended testicles.

Take that however you wish.