:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby rspann » March 7th, 2020, 3:57 pm

The fire break would be a better idea because when all that PVC pipe melt no water gonna flow.

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2020, 2:18 pm

Anyone have a cheap miter saw to sell

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » March 16th, 2020, 6:59 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Anyone have a cheap miter saw to sell

Pricemart has a cheap Skil branded one

Postby Chimera » March 17th, 2020, 8:19 am

I doesnt want to buy tools by psmart with their 30 day warranty

Postby supercharged turbo » April 20th, 2020, 11:47 pm

Where can I get pegboard and hooks to buy locally?What's the average price?

Postby Rovin » April 21st, 2020, 2:28 pm

^^i dunno d price but bhagwansings has that stuff ...

Postby Chimera » April 21st, 2020, 6:52 pm

If you mean slat board it's like 400 for a 8ft x 4 ft sheet.

The wall hooks are 10 to 24 dollars per hook depending on length
supercharged turbo wrote:Where can I get pegboard and hooks to buy locally?What's the average price?

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 21st, 2020, 9:55 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:If you mean slat board it's like 400 for a 8ft x 4 ft sheet.

supercharged turbo wrote:Where can I get pegboard and hooks to buy locally?What's the average price?

Pegboard has holes in it.

Last place i saw that was Nagib Elias in POS.

Postby supercharged turbo » April 22nd, 2020, 2:18 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:If you mean slat board it's like 400 for a 8ft x 4 ft sheet.

Pegboards has holes while the slat board has horizontal grooves but I guess they're probably used interchangeably locally.
Strugglerzinc wrote:

Thanks,I"ll give them a check hopefully next week when things should be a less restrictive

Postby adnj » April 22nd, 2020, 5:20 am

supercharged turbo wrote:

Pegboards has holes while the slat board has horizontal grooves but I guess they're probably used interchangeably locally.
Strugglerzinc wrote:

Thanks,I"ll give them a check hopefully next week when things should be a less restrictive

Slatboard is typically used for retail display with a wide base hanger.

Pegboard is typically used for tool set-out. There is a very wide selection of specialty "hooks" for hammers, screwdrivers, parts bins, etc.

android79

Postby android79 » April 24th, 2020, 8:09 pm

Can anyone point me to a good low profile 3 to 4 ton floor jack locally? Not Pricemart. Ah looking for something like a Daytona from Harbour Freight. Next thing, anyone ever skybox one? With a weight of 100 pounds what that shipping will look like? which is the best company to bring it with? etc

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 24th, 2020, 10:31 pm

android79 wrote:Can anyone point me to a good low profile 3 to 4 ton floor jack locally? Not Pricemart. Ah looking for something like a Daytona from Harbour Freight. Next thing, anyone ever skybox one? With a weight of 100 pounds what that shipping will look like? which is the best company to bring it with? etc

Check de truck accessories place in de bamboo that owned by bobbies , saw one for $695 .

Postby X_Factor » April 24th, 2020, 10:52 pm

Jus make sure its a dual piston jack

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 25th, 2020, 7:11 am

X_Factor wrote:Jus make sure its a dual piston jack
This is what they have
20200313_131946~2.jpeg

android79

Postby android79 » April 25th, 2020, 11:34 am

trinibajan34 wrote:
X_Factor wrote:Jus make sure its a dual piston jack
This is what they have 20200313_131946~2.jpeg
looking good but ah find it real cheap, I have to go and see it in person.

Postby Dave » April 25th, 2020, 11:58 am

All I have seen locally sub 800 look cheap. Wife bought the big pricesmart one but was too heavy to be lugging around. I returned it. Decided to rebuild mine which is over 50yrs old from my calculations. It is ridiculously simple to rebuild and the seals are very cheap i.e. if you have an old one.

If you need to buy I suggest reading Amazon reviews and sea freighting it which is what I was going to do before rebuilding.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 25th, 2020, 1:11 pm

Dave wrote:All I have seen locally sub 800 look cheap. Wife bought the big pricesmart one but was too heavy to be lugging around. I returned it. Decided to rebuild mine which is over 50yrs old from my calculations. It is ridiculously simple to rebuild and the seals are very cheap i.e. if you have an old one.

If you need to buy I suggest reading Amazon reviews and sea freighting it which is what I was going to do before rebuilding.

how do you rebuild them , cause i lent my grandfather mine and my uncle over pumped the jack , so now it pumps up an slowly goes back down. paid 900 in 2012 for it . Also saw floor jacks by A1 cant remember the price but i know it was more than $1000.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 25th, 2020, 1:12 pm

for 695 thats a good deal from what im seeing, for the average single male household its perfect, ideal for little oil change and brakes and stuff, that with a pair of jack stands and yuh bad.

i have a ford racing one from pricemart, 3.5tons. i can lift those 3.2 rangers effortless, the new ones they have looks okay too, but next time around ill go with a aluminum version.

Postby Dave » April 25th, 2020, 1:36 pm

There are many o ring seals and a piston u cup seal for the sealing of fluid for the lifting movement. Simply take it apart and change the seals.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 25th, 2020, 2:23 pm

Dave wrote:There are many o ring seals and a piston u cup seal for the sealing of fluid for the lifting movement. Simply take it apart and change the seals.
Any special tools I would need to take apart ?

Postby Dave » April 25th, 2020, 3:18 pm

Nope not at all. Always note to drain old oil and keep all valves open to relieve any pressure inside the unit. I got all except two o ring seals from the generic kits hardwares and auto part shops carry. The u cup seal can be made locally or you measure and import them.

Postby rspann » April 25th, 2020, 4:29 pm

Hydraulic Components have every type of seal possible .

Postby *KRONIK* » April 25th, 2020, 4:34 pm

Hmmmmmm

I need a top seal for my steering rack
rspann wrote:Hydraulic Components have every type of seal possible .

Postby rspann » April 25th, 2020, 4:37 pm

Yep . That too . If you cant get any seal , Trintech Chrome manufactures seals , re-chromes shafts and rebuilds Steering Racks and all hydraulic pumps and rams .

Postby Dave » April 25th, 2020, 4:55 pm

Hydraulic couldn't help me with the u cup but that place in Marbella will make any kind for you.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 29th, 2020, 1:02 pm

Where sells kreg pocket hole screws besides Kelvin ghany? Doing some work and my screws finish, looking for 1" corse thread.

Central preferred but will go where I have to if necessary

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2020, 3:13 pm

seen them by ramlagans and bhagwansinghs
not sure thread

Kronik wrote:Where sells kreg pocket hole screws besides Kelvin ghany? Doing some work and my screws finish, looking for 1" corse thread.

Zorak

Postby Zorak » April 29th, 2020, 9:14 pm

Kronik wrote:Where sells kreg pocket hole screws besides Kelvin ghany? Doing some work and my screws finish, looking for 1" corse thread.

SSL, Allied and Tool House in Duncan Village

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 29th, 2020, 10:08 pm

pugboy wrote:seen them by ramlagans and bhagwansinghs
not sure thread

Last time I check ramlagan they hardly had kreg stuff, I'll check them tomorrow, if not I'll try bhagwansinghs and worst case I'll go up ghany

Postby rspann » April 30th, 2020, 7:49 am

Fellas , I'm looking for a large (heavy duty ) wood chipper . Big enough to shred / chip full sized trees .

It could be engine driven , hydraulic to work off a backhoe or PTO type.