I need a water tank base built

christopherwilliams2

I need a water tank base built

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 10th, 2020, 9:20 pm

I would like to get a water tank base built. Anyone can give me a quote for a water tank base that holds one 1000 gallon water tank and maybe a quote for a base holding two 1000 gallon water tanks.
I just need someone to build the base ... I will handle the plumbing and the rest.

Re: I need a water tank base built

Postby RedVEVO » April 11th, 2020, 1:06 am

1.You can get some concrete blocks yourself and make a temporary base - 10 inches is good.
The pressure from a 1000 gallon tank will be enough to provide adequate pressure into your main line.

2. Build a steel platform . It is very easy . Some pipe fitted close together . The pipe will not rust easy.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 11th, 2020, 6:38 am

There are many construction person on this forum,Red Evo is not one of them That said she promoted any box drain built by the last Administration as the best that has ever been built.

In considering the base this be constructed, is it for one or two tanks? What height do you need for the supply to the pump? What is composition of the proposed surface now? Is there water near the site ?I

In considering your set up you should think about water delivery with no electricity.

Come in Construction Bantons

Postby adnj » April 11th, 2020, 7:37 am

Post in the Building a House thread. You will get some recommendations of masons in your area. You should consider your budget beforehand.

Things to consider:
Gravity feed
Space for additional tanks later
Locating the pump in the stand
Additional storage room under the tanks
Outdoor washroom,shower or lavatory

[URL]http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=349501&hilit=Building
[/URL]

christopherwilliams2 wrote:I would like to get a water tank base built. Anyone can give me a quote for a water tank base that holds one 1000 gallon water tank and maybe a quote for a base holding two 1000 gallon water tanks.
I just need someone to build the base ... I will handle the plumbing and the rest.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 11th, 2020, 7:46 am

At this point, it is just to hold one 1000 gallon water tank.
I already have a 400 gallon water tank on a smaller base near the spot. It is flat land, dirt.
The tank is/will be situated 4m from the house (flat house).
I already have a 3/4HP pump and it is connected to the water and I am not using gravity feed.
The new tank, like the old one, is to be placed on flat land next to each other.
There will be space for additional tanks...no need for storage room under the tank.

music madness crew

Postby music madness crew » April 11th, 2020, 8:00 am

You can consider using concrete blocks and steel grating, I have a tank stand that is galvanized pipe and had wood for the tanks to rest on, the wood was changed to grating that costed way less than the wood to replace, simple and not too expensive.

Ryan197912

Postby Ryan197912 » April 11th, 2020, 8:04 am

Ok..size of 1000 gallon tank is approximately 6 feet x 6 feet. A full 1000 gallon tank weighs about 10000lbs...so cast a trench with steel..set 6" concrete blocks in cement ..2 rows..install starter bars.
Fill box with fill material..preferably sandfill...wet...compact.
Lay out steel every 1' and brc.
Mix approximately 1/2 yard cement cast top.
Keep wet for 2-3 days.

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2020, 8:48 am

keep in mind if they are connected together at base the taller tank will flow into shorter tank to equalize height
so the 400 will over flow
u can use one way valves but it doesn’t work well imo

Postby 88sins » April 11th, 2020, 9:08 am

pugboy wrote:keep in mind if they are connected together at base the taller tank will flow into shorter tank to equalize height

Not really.
Once when installed both tanks will be filling from the top, the smaller tank will need a check valve placed at the outlet to prevent gravity filling the smaller tank via the pressure from the larger tank via the smaller tank outlet. That same check valve will also prevent the pressure from the pump being pushed back into the tank from the tank outlet, allowing the system to hold pressure so that when the pump reaches its set pressure it will cut off and only come on when a tap is opened and pressure drops.
That's a easy setup OP. Any particular reason you don't want to DIY? Hardest things would be digging the trench and mixing the actually concrete, and since as you say the ground is flat depending on what you have already even digging the trench ain't going to be much work.

How high from the dirt is the top of the existing platform you currently have? And do you want to just join the new one to the existing on and keep the same height?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 11th, 2020, 9:29 am

pugboy wrote:keep in mind if they are connected together at base the taller tank will flow into shorter tank to equalize height

Not really.
Once when installed both tanks will be filling from the top, the smaller tank will need a check valve placed at the outlet to prevent gravity filling the smaller tank via the pressure from the larger tank via the smaller tank outlet. That same check valve will also prevent the pressure from the pump being pushed back into the tank from the tank outlet, allowing the system to hold pressure so that when the pump reaches its set pressure it will cut off and only come on when a tap is opened and pressure drops.
That's a easy setup OP. Any particular reason you don't want to DIY? Hardest things would be digging the trench and mixing the actually concrete, and since as you say the ground is flat depending on what you have already even digging the trench ain't going to be much work.

How high from the dirt is the top of the existing platform you currently have? And do you want to just join the new one to the existing on and keep the same height?

the 400 gallon isn't on a concrete base platform, it is on levelled concrete bricks. not sure i could do that for a 1000 gallon also...with the added weight ?
DIY? i eh know nah...i am not so good at those things??
i guess with help , I can do it.

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2020, 10:10 am

nah the 1000 need a flat surface
400 could go on anything
i see somebody put 400 one 3 c purlins already
it stretch between the purlins and did not leak.

better you do the 1000 base properly and eventually get rid of the 400 and get another 1000

Postby adnj » April 11th, 2020, 10:30 am

If you are going to build a new base on grade, you may as well build it at 12 ft by 6 ft.

There is a Small Building Code that covers how to construct a platform. The link is here:

[URL]https://www.scribd.com/doc/20748625/Trinidad-Tobago-Small-Building-Code-Draft
[/URL]

You will need about 60 blocks, 6 bags of cement, about 12 1/2" rebars, a yard or gravel, about 3 bags of sand for the mortar, and 3 or 4 lengths of boxing board. That should give you an idea of materials cost.

Postby RedVEVO » April 11th, 2020, 10:58 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:At this point, it is just to hold one 1000 gallon water tank.
I already have a 400 gallon water tank on a smaller base near the spot. It is flat land, dirt.
The tank is/will be situated 4m from the house (flat house).
I already have a 3/4HP pump and it is connected to the water and I am not using gravity feed.
The new tank, like the old one, is to be placed on flat land next to each other.
There will be space for additional tanks...no need for storage room under the tank.

Gravity feed works when there is no electricity .
The base does not have to be high since you already have 1000 gallon pressure etc.

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2020, 11:10 am

yeah 1000 gal does give plenty more pressure
no need for pump at all

Postby Gladiator » April 11th, 2020, 11:16 am

Guys ft head for a 1000 gal tank is only 3.4 psi at ground level

For a standard pipe it would be about 2.1 psi... You cannot get any usable pressure from a 1000 gallon sitting on the ground.

You need to have a pump.

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2020, 11:23 am

yuh go have to put the shower at knee height

Postby adnj » April 11th, 2020, 11:49 am

The inlet of a 1000 gallon tank is 6.5 ft with a pressure of 2.8 PSI at the base.

A five gallon bucket on your roof has higher water pressure.

For 40 PSI standard household minimum pressure, you need a full 1000 gallon tank on a 86 ft stand.

Postby 88sins » April 11th, 2020, 12:19 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
The base does not have to be high since you already have 1000 gallon pressure etc.

Someone ordered a jackass?

Dear King Toolumhead Jr.
A tank on level ground, no matter the volume, will not "Gravity feed" into a house. At best some water will get to the lowest tap, and when the water level in the tank reaches the level of that tap that's the end. Couple that with the fact that OP already has a pump, so it's just a matter of building a base and connecting the tank to the existing system.

Look some free advice.
Stick to what you good at, taking piggy in yuh bambam in lieu of paying rent & begging your landlord to not evict you.
Know yuh strengths, and stay in your lane.

Postby Gladiator » April 11th, 2020, 12:48 pm

He should stick to makeup lunch menus and not makeup engineering... The latter could have dire concequences
RedVEVO wrote:

Dear King Toolumhead Jr.
A tank on level ground, no matter the volume, will not "Gravity feed" into a house. At best some water will get to the lowest tap, and when the water level in the tank reaches the level of that tap that's the end. Couple that with the fact that OP already has a pump, so it's just a matter of building a base and connecting the tank to the existing system.

Look some free advice.
Stick to what you good at, taking piggy in yuh bambam in lieu of paying rent & begging your landlord to not evict you.

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2020, 1:02 pm

allyuh trying to get person back on meds

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 11th, 2020, 1:19 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Dear King Toolumhead Jr.

Look some free advice.

Postby maj. tom » April 11th, 2020, 1:47 pm

RedVEVO is truly a dumbass. That is the entire principle of aqueducts and water towers. The water pressure by gravity can never be pushed higher than the potential energy of the height of the source of the water. Where the extra energy would come from without a pump?

Ryan197912

Postby Ryan197912 » April 11th, 2020, 1:51 pm

That escalated quickly.. :lol:

linton

Postby linton » April 11th, 2020, 2:31 pm

This was going good , good information and the usual fool comes to derail it. What is really wrong with him ? He's doing the same thing all over. Giving wrong info spoiling the discussions .

Postby Gladiator » April 11th, 2020, 3:29 pm

A good reference chart applicable to the discussion...

Postby adnj » April 11th, 2020, 5:14 pm

^^ Nice.

As an aside, I am all for a gravity + pump system for those times that you lose power.

But you don't need your entire reserve capacity to be elevated. A small tank near roof level will still give you enough water pressure.

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2020, 5:34 pm

do t forget a rainwater collection is always a good idea
if op move to 2x1000 use the 400 on a tall stand to collect roof gutter

Postby 88sins » April 11th, 2020, 5:42 pm

adnj wrote:^^ Nice.

As an aside, I am all for a gravity + pump system for those times that you lose power.

But you don't need your entire reserve capacity to be elevated. A small tank near roof level will still give you enough water pressure.

Funny joke.
90% of the time, this doesn't work, and 9% of the time it does it doesn't work well. Only in 1% of applications does it function properly.
Because most residential homes water lines are at largest 3/4" pipe, coming out of a 3/4" outlet and feeding into the 1 1/4 intake of the pump, and before that water reaches inside the it must first overcome the combined resistance of all the 90 degree turns in the system and most importantly the pumps impeller, as well as the reduced bore of angle valves that most people use to connect taps and toilets to their system.

Only way to get a totally power independent flow would be to first get the tank high enough to build sufficient pressure, then split the line at the tank outlet, and run one to the pump intake and then the other on the pump outlet with a check valve to stop the flow from entering the pump via the pump outlet. This way, your system will only have to overcome your 90 degree turns and reduced line bores, and once the base of the tank is above the highest outlet in the house you will get a pump free gravity fed supply from your reserve to the shower and every outlet below it.

Postby 88sins » April 11th, 2020, 5:44 pm

pugboy wrote:do t forget a rainwater collection is always a good idea
if op move to 2x1000 use the 400 on a tall stand to collect roof gutter

Nuttn wrong with that, as long as he eh try to bathe and soap up with it.
He go be rinsing for awhile.

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2020, 5:45 pm

and also the springs of any one way valves