COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 2 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby Kenjo » March 15th, 2020, 10:33 am

hydroep wrote:People accustomed taking their sick days in the Public Service so I doubt there's anything the authorities can do about that (waiting to see if Duke going to ask for more days seeing this is a "special circumstance").

As it stands, workers in the Private Sector would have a harder time of it which means the risk of spread would be higher there.

Let's see what Ropehead has to say at the press conference today...:|

They are releasing some draft guidelines and a special ‘ pandemic ‘ leave is to be put out . Men was assuming this world wide disease would not have been applied here

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2020, 10:41 am

nervewrecker wrote:What bothering me is I developed a bad cough, liking the place unusually cold (I am feeling warm) and have some body pains. Its not getting better, its getting worst.
Had a 3 day long headache.

Hoping its just the flu and just rest I lacking.

well, according to boxy, u call them they come to u.

Gladiator wrote:
boxy wrote:That is EXACTLY what is being done. You are not supposed to go to the hospital if u have the cold and suspect it's covid 19 the Ministry memo states to call first when u do they will send a team. They of all people know u can't ask people to come to the hospital because it will make matters worse someone comming in with a broken hand will end up getting it. Stop assuming that our public health officials are trying to sabotage the procedure.
They will also have family friends who may be endangered indirectly due to that. Be responsible and read and pay attention to ONLY official memos and press releases.
I literally had to leave a whatsapp group cause people gang up on me for calling out some idiot that posted a meme saying hot water kills the virus in early stages and to drink plenty of it. People took that seriously because a picture with words said so wtf we going to school and getting educated for?
sMASH wrote:@ boxy.
they all are treating it as a false alarm until u get confirmed. by that time it would have already being spread.
those things kick in AFTER u get confirmed. what i am talking about is concerning limiting exposure before u get confirmation, i.e. when u suspect it, but have to get tested and awaiting results. if a person has it, still has to go get tested.
all i am saying, dont let them GO to the hospital, dedicate a few lab techs and commandeer a few corporation vehicles, for a couple months, and go to the person and swab them en situ of their self quarantine.

They discussed this on the radio on Friday and said it was actually the protocol for Guyana and not Trinidad...

If you have the memo please post it...thanks

im not saying they are sabotaging the procedure, im saying their procedure is insufficient and unnecessarilly encouraging cross contamination, and redundant sterilization activity.

Postby Redman » March 15th, 2020, 10:42 am

ru$$ell wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:What bothering me is I developed a bad cough, liking the place unusually cold (I am feeling warm) and have some body pains. Its not getting better, its getting worst.

try and isolate and see if you can get tested man

Which of those symptoms match the corona early symptoms?

Postby bluefete » March 15th, 2020, 10:44 am

X2. My main concern with this virus is its possible impact on the lungs of people who get it.

Pneumonia is one of the leading causes of death from this virus.

Some people who get better are showing signs of breathing problems.

However, most people will be fine.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/ ... t-covid-19

ru$$ell wrote:

Postby gastly369 » March 15th, 2020, 10:45 am

Get tested bai...

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2020, 10:47 am

Fever(feeling cold) and body aches are usual flu symptoms which you don’t get with a cold.
Cough is also side effect which also happens with cold.

What more important is identifying person whom may have had close contact with you last few days and before.

ru$$ell wrote:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 15th, 2020, 10:48 am

COVID 19 kills 70 people a day while the seasonal flu kills 1000 people a day.

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2020, 10:58 am

where is the second covid patient from?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » March 15th, 2020, 11:06 am

Nerve chew a piece of garlic... seriously.. every day. I was stuffy last night and 5 minutes everything clear up.. today I good. If after you still unwell then move on to next level of care and attention.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » March 15th, 2020, 11:14 am

sMASH wrote:where is the second covid patient from?

Unconfirmed, but heard its south.

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2020, 11:16 am

Redman wrote:
ru$$ell wrote:

Did some reading and it looks more like the flu than the virus.

It's kinda relieving.

Gunna hit a shot of pincheon Inna few

Postby mero » March 15th, 2020, 11:25 am

boxy wrote:
sMASH wrote:How u getting tested? U have to go to the normal medical facilities in the first place, then wait till u get back results. In the interim u spread.
Then u have to dedicate resources to track down all those u were in contact with at the hospital.

They need to test separately, call the number and they come to u to swab, and u self isolate till results.
Bro since Feb they have been updating their fb page and putting out press releases
Stop getting your news from third party sources
Every MC grievance you had is addressed either yesterday or days-weeks before. Social media is actively working against us and is like Allyuh don't care to understand separate memes from reality nahFB_IMG_1584277937694.jpegFB_IMG_1584277942494.jpeg

Lol big up man like boxy yes. Tuners really aren’t that smart as they pretend to be. Actually most of the highest forms of fact avoiding retards seem to concentrate and thrive here. Men does make up dey own news, rely on dey father zoom or read KOTPNM Fb page for d “facts”

All the best to you cuz you gonna have to repeat every single ting what you said over n over all week n throughout this Covid situation to big men who should know better but they choose to be fully dunce in the name of politics.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 15th, 2020, 11:36 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Ministry of Labour to hold press conference tomorrow (Sunday 15th) at 10am

7d723e6b-3058-4bb3-a6db-4b28fe017f71.jpg

UPDATE: T&T MoL GUIDELINES FOR EMPLOYERS/EMPLOYEES FOR COVID-19

1) Children are not to be at workplaces/compound/vehicle etc.

2) All parents are encouraged to use support systems (babysitter, family, etc.)

3) Employers are to implement remote work policies.

4) Employers are to explore options of shift work/ or rostering.

5) One parent is encouraged to stay at home and look after the child or children.

6) If work arrangements can’t be made, the employee is to stay at home and can’t be penalized or not be paid in such an instance.

7) If you are not genuinely sick don’t stay away from work.

8) Pandemic leave for Public Officers (contract or not), fixed terms employees, short term, OJT, officeholders who are with service commission, freelancers, persons employed less than a year, daily paid, etc.

9) Mechanisms in place for Public officers with no more sick leave can get an extension of sick leave with full pay.

10) Minister of Labour advises private employers with the union to seek guidance with respect to sick leave clearance for employees who need Pandemic leave. If there is no union, seek guidance from the Ministry (Conciliation Advisory and Advocacy Division). 299 0300 ext 2043, 2124.

#COVID19 #Guidelines #MinistryOfLabour #TTT
Ministry of Labour and Small Enterprise Development

Postby Gladiator » March 15th, 2020, 11:40 am

mero wrote:
boxy wrote:
sMASH wrote:How u getting tested? U have to go to the normal medical facilities in the first place, then wait till u get back results. In the interim u spread.
Then u have to dedicate resources to track down all those u were in contact with at the hospital.

They need to test separately, call the number and they come to u to swab, and u self isolate till results.
Bro since Feb they have been updating their fb page and putting out press releases
Stop getting your news from third party sources
Every MC grievance you had is addressed either yesterday or days-weeks before. Social media is actively working against us and is like Allyuh don't care to understand separate memes from reality nahFB_IMG_1584277937694.jpegFB_IMG_1584277942494.jpeg

Lol big up man like boxy yes. Tuners really aren’t that smart as they pretend to be. Actually most of the highest forms of fact avoiding retards seem to concentrate and thrive here. Men does make up dey own news, rely on dey father zoom or read KOTPNM Fb page for d “facts”

All the best to you cuz you gonna have to repeat every single ting what you said over n over all week n throughout this Covid situation to big men who should know better but they choose to be fully dunce in the name of politics.

Rather than criticize your fellow tuners, learn from this that the public has serious reservations in taking information from the official sources due to mistrust in the authorities of the day.

Personally I would like to see the politicians take a step back and let the professionals disseminate the information and speak on the media. That news conference yesterday for example should have been led by the chief medical officer.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » March 15th, 2020, 11:50 am

instead of posting sheit on tuner whole day , use your pc to help the cause na
https://foldingathome.org/2020/03/15/co ... ple-terms/

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 15th, 2020, 11:55 am

Redman wrote:
ru$$ell wrote:

Did some reading and it looks more like the flu than the virus.

It's kinda relieving.

Gunna hit a shot of pincheon Inna few

Hope you feel better soon.
You can try this online assessment to see if you should get tested
https://myhealth.alberta.ca/Journey/COV ... sment.aspx

Postby redmanjp » March 15th, 2020, 12:30 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:COVID 19 kills 70 people a day while the seasonal flu kills 1000 people a day.

COVID hasn't spread as nearly as widely as flu yet- watch what happens if/when it does- a 1% fatality rate would mean it's 10 times more deadly than flu which has about a 0.1% rate.

eKeith

Postby eKeith » March 15th, 2020, 12:45 pm

Postby 88sins » March 15th, 2020, 12:51 pm

hydroep wrote:So you've decided to self isolate but the company "gives you permission" to come in and get important work done. Of course if you do that you risk infecting your co-workers. What do you do?...:?

If you are absolutely certain you've been exposed to infection, then it depends on which you feel is more important to you, your boss profit and the companys well being or your life and your coworkers lives.

My advice?
If you know you have a reason to isolate yourself due to probably being exposed, keep yuh ass home in yuh house before you go to work and everybody else walk out (effectively shutting the business down), or worse thay remain and you infect everyone, or even worse, somebody fcuk u up cuz u showing them

Postby The_Honourable » March 15th, 2020, 12:57 pm

With regards to private schools

Hospital Visiting Rules

Hand Dryers

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 15th, 2020, 1:13 pm

I think some of you all in here in addition to those in authority need to look at updates on Aljazeera...all that bs about mild flu will go right out the window..

Spain has 2000 new cases
Iran has more deaths in just one day
Chaos at every airport in the US

List goes on

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 15th, 2020, 1:20 pm

redmanjp wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:COVID 19 kills 70 people a day while the seasonal flu kills 1000 people a day.

COVID hasn't spread as nearly as widely as flu yet- watch what happens if/when it does- a 1% fatality rate would mean it's 10 times more deadly than flu which has about a 0.1% rate.

But there is a vaccine for flu, not for novel coronavirus.

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/03/14/heal ... index.html

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » March 15th, 2020, 1:37 pm

2 new cases in Jamaica. One of the person's travelled through Trinidad

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/news ... -confirmed

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 15th, 2020, 2:19 pm

So what is the ministry saying, if I have COVID 19 verified by a hospital I have to stay home from work and my employer HAVE to pay me? until when exactly? and what do I do if the employer refuses to pay me which they most likely will not do?

QM

Postby QM » March 15th, 2020, 2:55 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So what is the ministry saying, if I have COVID 19 verified by a hospital I have to stay home from work and my employer HAVE to pay me? until when exactly? and what do I do if the employer refuses to pay me which they most likely will not do?

From the announcement today, you dont need to be verified with COVID-19 to stay home and claim pandemic leave. However, the way they are doing this is to the employers and employees detriment. Since many employees will abuse this and stay home excessively claiming they have no support system for their kids, in return the employer will pay for a period of time until they either get legal advice/ bankrupt/ never pay it. Then find a way to dismiss said employee. Employee have no job, employer have no money to pay other employees. Then all employees have no job or reduced working hours etc.

A lot of businesses will probably come together to get legal advice, because what they are expecting the private sector to do, is pay extended sick leave when NIB should be paying. They are also expecting employers to pay for persons who just decide to stay home without any checks and balances.

This entire process is not being handled with seriousness. Their focus at this time should be closing the ports of entry, malls, cinemas, anywhere people can meet in groups larger than five. Only groceries and pharmacies should be open right now. Every other business should be opened if its reasonably safe to do so.

Focus on tracing and testing. We have only tested 77 as of last notice? Much more needs to be done. First world countries scampering to close of borders and lockdown, with their first world medical infrastructure...

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 15th, 2020, 3:20 pm

Covid.JPG
'

For those of you wondering if you possibly have Covid.

Btw what is the procedure or getting tested? I don't have time to what all these nonsensical press conferences, i just need some bullet point info on this specifically.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 15th, 2020, 3:25 pm

Some good news, as of now it seems the outbreak has been stopped mostly in China. This is nothing short of miraculous given the density and population of China's cities.
china.JPG

Also, for many of you who are panicking about getting Covid-19, yes it's highly contagious, but at the same time, it's not super contagious compared to many other diseases.
rnaught.JPG

The USA is so far behind other countries in preparedness and testing that a severe outbreak there is just waiting to happen.
testing.JPG

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 15th, 2020, 3:28 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Covid.JPG'

For those of you wondering if you possibly have Covid.

Btw what is the procedure or getting tested? I don't have time to what all these nonsensical press conferences, i just need some bullet point info on this specifically.

Basically call the nearest health center and don't get an answer/get told to call somewhere else/get told to fcuk off or similar.

Remember there is no virus in TnT, its all imported.

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2020, 3:46 pm

matr1x wrote:I just going to random places and cough. Juss so.
I'm going to the bank tomorrw.
Revering straight through the front door and telling em load up the tray with money or I coughing on people.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 15th, 2020, 4:03 pm

^ Not surprising America has no free health care maybe the only country without a national health care service, this has led to mass exploitation by the private medical sector to milk money out of people with 0 sh!ts given to people health.