COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19”

Postby maj. tom » March 13th, 2020, 7:43 am

Dotish Trinis start hoarding gas yet this morning?

Postby sMASH » March 13th, 2020, 7:48 am

viedcht wrote:Where do I send the wreath?
randolphinshan wrote:
Zetski wrote:I have a lil sore throat and my temp a lil high :|

i hope it is just the regular cold

Rip bro
Coffee and crix eh sell put yet, so we could still organize

Postby pugboy » March 13th, 2020, 7:53 am

what about places of mass crowding like cinemas ?

Postby maj. tom » March 13th, 2020, 7:56 am

Dehydration is the enemy with flu-like viruses.

So drink your salt water, coconut water and mix the ORS packets you can buy at the pharmacy. Stay hydrated with them so you are peeing almost clear every time. Make high protein soups (chicken foot, cow heel) so your body can have a good source of protein to ramp up antibody production.

Postby sMASH » March 13th, 2020, 8:00 am

adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Africa may not have the virus, but it have everything else

africa dont have a way to detect it accurately. the mild cases are normal cold virus, the harsh cases passed off as famine, or some other disease.
same ting like garden and doubles, imburt know them injun have money, he just wasnt sure how much.
Perhaps you were being sarcastic but...

----------

The World Health Organization (WHO) has rushed to beef up the ability of African countries to test for the virus and train health professionals in caring for people affected by it. Only Senegal and South Africa had labs that could test for the virus at the end of January, but 37 countries now have testing capability.

Read more: https://www.newscientist.com/article/2236760-we-dont-know-why-so-few-covid-19-cases-have-been-reported-in-africa/#ixzz6GZFwuHXS
I wasn't being sarcastic. Long time ah man did jess drop down and dead, now we know it's heart disease.
Africa may very well have cases but they are being missed diagnosed because of the lack of health care infra structure to test properly and the resemblance to typical corona viruses so mild cases are pssed off as sumting else

Postby sMASH » March 13th, 2020, 8:01 am

pugboy wrote:what about places of mass crowding like cinemas ?
Go at ur own risk.

Postby Chimera » March 13th, 2020, 8:12 am

Rowley even in the country? He always missing when it have problems here

abbow

Postby abbow » March 13th, 2020, 8:15 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Rowley even in the country? He always missing when it have problems here

man gone to stock up on provisions....

Postby maj. tom » March 13th, 2020, 8:29 am

Canada's Prime Minister in isolation. PM of Canada's wife Sophie Grégoire Trudeau tested positive for COVID-19.

https://globalnews.ca/news/6670203/soph ... -positive/

Postby aaron17 » March 13th, 2020, 8:36 am

sMASH wrote:
viedcht wrote:Where do I send the wreath?
randolphinshan wrote:
Zetski wrote:I have a lil sore throat and my temp a lil high :|

i hope it is just the regular cold

Rip bro
Coffee and crix eh sell put yet, so we could still organize
Doh forget cheese

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 13th, 2020, 8:40 am

Jamaica now has 8 confirmed cases of Covid 19. The new cases include two males, aged 63 and 67, who arrived in the island on March 7 from Trinidad and Tobago and who had travelled from Malaysia by way of Dubai and London.

http://www.loopjamaica.com/content/six- ... soar-eight

Postby teems1 » March 13th, 2020, 8:46 am

Those Malaysians had to take the world tour?

There are direct flights to Kingston from London.

Were they here for Carnival?

Postby sMASH » March 13th, 2020, 8:52 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Jamaica now has 8 confirmed cases of Covid 19. The new cases include two males, aged 63 and 67, who arrived in the island on March 7 from Trinidad and Tobago and who had travelled from Malaysia by way of Dubai and London.

thier interactivity history for the past two weeks would be interesting to analyze, but, i would like to focus on their time spent here, and interacting with people who came here.

if they could have set up a web site where u can back track their movement history for all trini cases. it would be cool, and useful.

Postby hydroep » March 13th, 2020, 8:59 am

U.K. projects 5% mortality rate. PM Johnson in "brutally honest" speech says people should be prepared to lose their loved ones...:|

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3rmMh2pLKAc

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 13th, 2020, 9:12 am

I don't see the sense in the statement that he came in monday night and was under self quarantine immediately and then wednesday developed symptoms. Why would you self quarantine if you had no symptoms? If he was quarantined, why was he still exposed to his children and now the school has to shut down for 2 weeks?

Postby sMASH » March 13th, 2020, 9:43 am

Musical Doc wrote:I don't see the sense in the statement that he came in monday night and was under self quarantine immediately and then wednesday developed symptoms. Why would you self quarantine if you had no symptoms? If he was quarantined, why was he still exposed to his children and now the school has to shut down for 2 weeks?

u can have it with out displaying symptoms. and, if u see that u were in a situation that u might have been in contact with it, u might opt to self quarantine out of an abundance of caution. and then, when he actually began displaying symptoms, he got tested and his hunch was correct.

u dont put on a seatbelt because u know this trip ending in an accident. u put it on, and most times u didnt need it. same thing with him quarantining him self. he analyzed is his risk, and decided the likely hood was significant, and took a precautionary step.

the germans are smart people.

i would think more people did this, and did not get any symptoms, so there was nothing to report, so we didnt got to hear.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 13th, 2020, 9:45 am

3 AATT officers have been sent on 14 days sick leave. They are expected to be quarantined

Postby Redman » March 13th, 2020, 9:51 am

Musical Doc wrote:I don't see the sense in the statement that he came in monday night and was under self quarantine immediately and then wednesday developed symptoms. Why would you self quarantine if you had no symptoms? If he was quarantined, why was he still exposed to his children and now the school has to shut down for 2 weeks?

Arrive monday night
Feeling mash up-jet lag?Long crappy flight? slight sore throat.-Stay home and chill/spend time with family
Wake Wed-still have sore throat-check doctor.

I dont see anything wrong.

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19”

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 13th, 2020, 10:03 am

sMASH wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Jamaica now has 8 confirmed cases of Covid 19. The new cases include two males, aged 63 and 67, who arrived in the island on March 7 from Trinidad and Tobago and who had travelled from Malaysia by way of Dubai and London.

thier interactivity history for the past two weeks would be interesting to analyze, but, i would like to focus on their time spent here, and interacting with people who came here.

if they could have set up a web site where u can back track their movement history for all trini cases. it would be cool, and useful.

Yup it’s called CONTACT TRACING

https://www.who.int/features/qa/contact-tracing/en/

Postby matr1x » March 13th, 2020, 10:09 am

Its alleged that someone in Trinidad have it and was claiming to rubbing his nose and touching surfaces wherever he went

Postby MaxPower » March 13th, 2020, 10:11 am

matr1x wrote:Its alleged that someone in Trinidad have it and was claiming to rubbing his nose and touching surfaces wherever he went

Typical Trinidadian

Postby aaron17 » March 13th, 2020, 10:48 am

Well the pos run this morning was quiet...I guess most of the peeps took time off to panic buy stuff.

Postby Rovin » March 13th, 2020, 11:20 am

was gonna buy a lil bit of regular groceries like normal yesterday but when i hear of d panic & long lines me eh bother , going today , hopefully d lines eased up ...
Last edited by Rovin on March 13th, 2020, 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 13th, 2020, 11:21 am

Rovin wrote:was gonna buy a lil bit of groceries like normal yesterday but when i hear of d panic & long lines me eh bother , going today , hopefully d lines eased up ...

fat chance

Postby Rovin » March 13th, 2020, 11:23 am

i might get thru by d 10 items or under 20 items cashier - i go tell allyuh how it went

i seeing on fb ppl lined up this morning by pennywise & then seeing a bunch entering with big trolleys - wtf ....

Postby toyolink » March 13th, 2020, 11:25 am

The covid19 making its way into T&T was never in doubt.
What I have observed is that symptoms individuals may experience upon contracting covid19 are also identical to the flu virus which we have present since about Aug 2019 which accounted for in-excess of 40 deaths which in the majority resulted from respiratory distress and derived complications.
One must wonder if this monster may have been around prior to yesterday and was undetected because people just felt it was the terrible flu which has been with us for quite sometime now.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 13th, 2020, 11:33 am

toyolink wrote:The covid19 making its way into T&T was never in doubt.
What I have observed is that symptoms individuals may experience upon contracting covid19 are also identical to the flu virus which we have present since about Aug 2019 which accounted for in-excess of 40 deaths which in the majority resulted from respiratory distress and derived complications.
One must wonder if this monster may have been around prior to yesterday and was undetected because people just felt it was the terrible flu which has been with us for quite sometime now.

Same thing I had said a while back in a post. Late last year when there were deaths from respiratory failure, they didn't know what was the cause because it wasn't the H1N1. They were taking samples from the dead bodies for further testing. So it is possible.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 13th, 2020, 11:33 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Rovin wrote:was gonna buy a lil bit of groceries like normal yesterday but when i hear of d panic & long lines me eh bother , going today , hopefully d lines eased up ...

fat chance

Went Massy in Trinicity last night. Place ram out but was there after closing. All the cashier lines had long queues however no one was going to the 1-10 lines but I did and so was able to cash a full cart in a few mins.
Never know unless you try.

They had everything except toilet paper and those fancy disinfectants (Lysol etc). The bottled water aisle was empty but they had pallets of bottled water across in the appliances section.

VII

Postby VII » March 13th, 2020, 11:37 am

Brazil President tests positive..

Postby Dizzy28 » March 13th, 2020, 11:43 am

VII wrote:Brazil President tests positive..

And he met Trump not but a few days ago.