Denk Pharma German Metformin vs CDAP anybody here has experience with both?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 24th, 2020, 7:52 am

Hi guys was wondering those of us who take metformin daily, have you noticed any difference between both these tables from the different sources? I noticed CDAP has stopped giving the good health2000 brand from Canada even tho its made in India. We are now getting this really generic ones from India in a big bag and I seem skeptical about it. Have you guys ever did tests with both the German and Indian medications? Are there any significant differences? can the Indian drug be trusted? a card of the metformin costs $3.50 from Health 2000 made in India while the German made denk metformin costs $7 not sure if it is worth the money

death365

Re: Denk Pharma German Metformin vs CDAP anybody here has experience with both?

Postby death365 » February 24th, 2020, 7:57 am

If u can afford it buy the non generic ones.

Also ask ur doc if u can take the time released one... It controls better

Postby maj. tom » February 24th, 2020, 9:27 am

I'm guessing that Germany's pharmaceutical manufacturing industry standards are much higher than India's. There have been many anecdotal complaints about the generic medicines from India not working well, and last year i read in the Guardian how there was a batch of a contaminated eye injection from India that bypassed Ministry of Health approvals and used private locally and people went blind.

The delivery system also matters quite a lot, even though the active generic medicine is the same when the original patent expires. This is how Voltaren Emulgel is much more effective compared to the generic Olfen cream, though it's the same drug. Eye drops drugs made by Alcon are more effective (and more expensive) than the ones made generic by other companies. I have found that Advil from Pfizer works more effectively than generic ibuprofen. The delivery package can still be well patented and is half of R&D for developing a drug.

I would definitely go with "Made in Germany" over "Made in India" if i had the choice.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 24th, 2020, 9:59 am

gulophage better $80 ah box

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 24th, 2020, 11:21 am

using nifedipine from Denk pharma. Once a pharmacist gave me a generic, no big difference - but I'm more comfortable with the Denk

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 24th, 2020, 7:48 pm

maj. tom wrote:I'm guessing that Germany's pharmaceutical manufacturing industry standards are much higher than India's. There have been many anecdotal complaints about the generic medicines from India not working well, and last year i read in the Guardian how there was a batch of a contaminated eye injection from India that bypassed Ministry of Health approvals and used private locally and people went blind.

The delivery system also matters quite a lot, even though the active generic medicine is the same when the original patent expires. This is how Voltaren Emulgel is much more effective compared to the generic Olfen cream, though it's the same drug. Eye drops drugs made by Alcon are more effective (and more expensive) than the ones made generic by other companies. I have found that Advil from Pfizer works more effectively than generic ibuprofen. The delivery package can still be well patented and is half of R&D for developing a drug.

I would definitely go with "Made in Germany" over "Made in India" if i had the choice.

Very good point, I went with the Made in Germany Denk Metformin, you really do get a peace of mind when buying German medication. Funny enough I have already tested metformin from India today the CDAP ones and it did literally nothing, tried Denk Pharma German Metformin and dropped my blood sugar all the way to normal levels.

I think that says a whole lot

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 24th, 2020, 7:49 pm

screwbash wrote:gulophage better $80 ah box

Where is this made and how many tablets come in a box? is it really better than German Metformin? doh tell me this made in India eh.

Postby rspann » February 24th, 2020, 7:56 pm

Glugophage is not the trade name for Metformin ?

Postby pugboy » February 24th, 2020, 8:21 pm

i think so
tbh met form in is a very old uncomplicated drug
like aspirin
so the denk should be fine

btw ed you sure is not placebo effect you got ?
you should do a blind test and ser

Postby RedVEVO » February 24th, 2020, 8:29 pm

The German one is better .

The others come from China and India and are NOT tested in Trinidad .

So be careful what you consuming ..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 24th, 2020, 8:35 pm

pugboy wrote:i think so
like aspirin

I did some research and from what I saw when humidity hits these metformin it can significantly reduce its potency, so when the government gets the generic ones from India in the big bottles and start to bag it out in zip lock bag this means it isn't vacuum sealed like the ones in the cards. Which would explain why the results tends to be bad, I tested it last year and also same thing, doesn't appear to work.

But you are right I do think the health 2000 from India in the sealed cards should give more or less the same effect as the German one. Something I did notice tho the Indian ones can often cause a bowel movement quicker than the German Denk version.

I wouldn't trust the CDAP metformin unless they giving you the health 2000 brand because the ones they bag out in zip lock bags don't do anything my brother complained about the same thing it does NOTHING for him either. He now uses Denk Pharma from Germany

Postby RedVEVO » February 24th, 2020, 8:37 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
pugboy wrote:i think so
like aspirin

I did some research and from what I saw when humidity hits these metformin it can significantly reduce its potency, so when the government gets the generic ones from India in the big bottles and start to bag it out in zip lock bag this means it isn't vacuum sealed like the ones in the cards. Which would explain why the results tends to be bad, I tested it last year and also same thing, doesn't appear to work.

But you are right I do think the health 2000 from India in the sealed cards should give more or less the same effect as the German one. Something I did notice tho the Indian ones can often cause a bowel movement quicker than the German Denk version.

I wouldn't trust the CDAP metformin unless they giving you the health 2000 brand because the ones they bag out in zip lock bags don't do anything my brother complained about the same thing it does NOTHING for him either. He now uses Denk Pharma from Germany

ED you are marvelous !!

The Germans are perfectionists .

Postby rspann » February 24th, 2020, 9:00 pm

So where your Vraylar made?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 24th, 2020, 9:39 pm

ED, can I ask you yuh bizniz? ; are you on insulin as well as tabs?

Was on glucophage in the 90s but it gave me some distress so it was removed from my prescription, never really used it since

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 25th, 2020, 7:26 am

viedcht wrote:ED, can I ask you yuh bizniz? ; are you on insulin as well as tabs?

Was on glucophage in the 90s but it gave me some distress so it was removed from my prescription, never really used it since

No once I eat healthy and exercise I just need metformin to keep my sugar perfect, I do also use lisinopril for pressure, both stuff runs in my family. The indian pressure medications seem to work fine but I wanna try the German one and test it to compare. I think I might be reversing diabetes because I notice the more weight I lose the lower it gets I am sometimes asked by the nurses if I sure I am diabetic I keep saying yes I am cause I wouldn't make up stuff like that.

I can't do cycling anymore so I bought a $10 skipping rope on Amazon and do skipping now, its a lot of fun and extremely good full body workout. You really don't need any expensive equipment at all for regular exercise, everyday I try to increase the number of skips, so far I can do 300 skips without taking a breather I wanna reach to the point where I can do 30 minutes without stopping. But skipping real hard boy no joke

I can do 30 pushups without stopping and 5 pull ups. Every week I increase it by as much as I Can

I wanna reach the point where I don't have an ounce of fat on me, I thankfully got rid of the nasty obesity but I am still very overweight according to my BMI, but thats ok one step at a time slowly but surely, the nasty fat must go once and for all, I have seen enough fat people in hospitals at Mt Hope hanging on for their life me eh want that nah, besides it looks nasty and doesn't look like how humans are supposed to look. My mission is to get skinny in 3 years time. The skinnier you are the longer your life expectancy also Thicc = Obese. A Gyul recently telling me I eh need to lose no more weight how I not fat I just thick I shook my damn head she saying that cause she blasted fat and calling she-self thicc. Steups them eh catching me with that nonsense nah, far as I know medically speaking thicc = overweight and obese which = more lifestyle diseases

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 25th, 2020, 8:22 am

Glad to know your journey to healthier living working out well

Yuh lucky enough not to become fully dependent on other meds like most borderline diabetic patients in Trinidad. From personal experience most trinis think just popping tabs and continuing their unadjusted lifestyle magically stymies their chronic disease

Postby pugboy » February 25th, 2020, 8:51 am

How come you cant do cycling anymore ?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 25th, 2020, 9:17 am

viedcht wrote:Glad to know your journey to healthier living working out well

Yuh lucky enough not to become fully dependent on other meds like most borderline diabetic patients in Trinidad. From personal experience most trinis think just popping tabs and continuing their unadjusted lifestyle magically stymies their chronic disease

Yup and it feels so amazing to be able to climb and get out of low vehicles with little effort now, when I see fat people struggle to get out of vehicles it reminds me why I made the right choice. A lot of people I know on CDAP medication and they continue to eat fast food and sit down all day and not make any attempt to lose weight and their condition just keeps getting worse clogging up the public hospitals. Thankfully when I go to Mt Hope for any reason it is NOT for lifestyle disease related so my wait time is very short and I get amazing treatment, I intend to do everything to prevent myself from ending up like people in stretchers waiting to die because they didn't control their weight and diet and sugar level went out of control etc

BTW a lot of Trinis do not know or they do not care about the fact that these lifestyle cdap medications can have serious side effects which can destroy your life completely and it is the same even for brand names. Less of this sh!t we take the better but we have to control it via diet and exercise
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on February 25th, 2020, 9:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 25th, 2020, 9:28 am

pugboy wrote:How come you cant do cycling anymore ?

Injury....

But it is healing slowly so hopefully can get back to cycling by next year. For now tho skipping is perfect and it burns more calories than cycling. I used to love cycling to work 20 miles a day and coming back against the wind on evenings, man what a damn workout I also cut out rice and stuff from my diet cause rice is bad for blood sugar. At one point my sugar level ended up getting too low lol when the nurse check it for me in the health center she said with that kind of cycling and diet don't even bother to take diabetic medications. :lol:

Ever since then my sugar has never gone above 140 even after drinking supligen and thing. It has somehow returned to pre diabetic levels, I read that it is a result of fat covering the pancreas once the fat is removed diabetes often is reversed in a lot of people. One of the things I learned the hard way is high blood sugar and obesity levels decreases your immune system which increases infection and its spread through the body. Which is why so many people in this country have all kinda thing like kidney failure, amputated feet etc.

Yes if you are diabetic you need to try and avoid injury, what most people don't know is avoiding injury is a small part of it because it can never be truly avoided no matter what you do. The ideal solution is keeping blood sugar under control via diet and exercise for all your life, so when you do get injury its no biggie. I wish this was taught in schools in all honesty, they teach you to eat healthy and exercise but they never tell you WHY and how things can happen when you don't do it and the process by which it happens.....

Postby pugboy » February 25th, 2020, 10:30 am

like you get a long term injury but yet you can do high impact rope jumping ?
a good machine exercise is a rowing machine, probably the best cardio machine ever.

Postby De Dragon » February 25th, 2020, 11:35 am

rspann wrote:So where your Vraylar made?

Isn't Vraylar an antidepressant?

Postby rspann » February 25th, 2020, 11:41 am

That question wasn't for ED . Read over the context.

Postby ismithx » February 25th, 2020, 3:10 pm

pugboy wrote:like you get a long term injury but yet you can do high impact rope jumping ?
a good machine exercise is a rowing machine, probably the best cardio machine ever.

There are styles of skipping that don’t incur much impact

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » February 25th, 2020, 8:19 pm

Didnt read through the entire thread, but based on the original question and last post

1. MTF Denk and Glucophage have the lowest side effect profile (primarily nausea). Efficacy is near equivalent, so if the CDAP drug doesnt bug you, it's fine to use.

2. Skipping if done properly is low impact. The problem is most jump too high and with straight knees. Slight bend and barely an inch or two off the ground is ideal for routine skipping.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 25th, 2020, 8:37 pm

^ Correct I have no issues with skipping, it is very slight jump and I mainly fall tip toe my heels don't touch the ground, it is incredibly low impact if you do it properly. In comparison if I run my knees hurt due to my weight, never an issue skipping well except that it really hard to skip but that is a good thing its a killer calorie exercise and amazingly it works out the muscles in your ENTIRE body you wouldn't have guessed how much of your body it works out but its a complete workout. I think maybe only swimming beats it

jedismurf99

Postby jedismurf99 » April 27th, 2022, 7:54 am

I know this is a couple years later, but Metformin Denk just showed up on CDAP, albeit in very limited quantities.