Strugglerzinc wrote:What help do we need? We have more than enough resources to handle this minor situation.
Drea wrote:^^^^ It's not really about international aid but more like regional support... Even a simple thing as lending a hand or saying IF you need assistance we are here. Even if we are capable of mitigating and dealing with the devastation many hands make quick work. But Trinidad is mother helper... 2 mins after disaster strikes we are there ready to dip into our purses.
eliteauto wrote:What help could they offer realistically? I suppose if we needed manpower they could offer but as it stands we don't. Nor should we look at that with any disdain IMO. we're larger, richer and more self-reliant than many of the countries we assist so it's a non issue
hong kong phooey wrote:Guys , Forgive my lack of knowledge, but what help has the Caribbean islands offered to Trinidad seeing that Trinidad is normally one of the first island to send relief their way in a disaster.
desifemlove wrote:hong kong phooey wrote:Guys , Forgive my lack of knowledge, but what help has the Caribbean islands offered to Trinidad seeing that Trinidad is normally one of the first island to send relief their way in a disaster.
we're richer, supposedly.
It's a bit embarrassing for Venezuela or Grenada to give support when we boast how better off we are then they are.
daron wrote:Why don't some of those contractors who received over $2B in contracts don't offer to help all those in need? It's the least they can do
They don't or barely want to pay there employee & supplier.
Far as Help or Give back.
They might clam they were affected & need Help.
hong kong phooey wrote:desifemlove wrote:hong kong phooey wrote:Guys , Forgive my lack of knowledge, but what help has the Caribbean islands offered to Trinidad seeing that Trinidad is normally one of the first island to send relief their way in a disaster.
It's a bit embarrassing for Venezuela or Grenada to give support when we boast how better off we are then they are.
people might laugh but in a few years trinis will be heading to Grenada , Guyana ,Suriname etc.
loads of Trinidad business men already buying properties in Guyana.
While our government just trying to tax the people to gain income these other countries diversifying there economy.
why the price of oil is low, and rigs are out of work they are taking advantage of the situation .
Grenada is about to start drilling a new well the rig is almost there (I guess there will be loads of Trinis on it )
Both Guyana and Suriname both had positive finds so by the time oil prices goes back up they will be ready to come online.
desifemlove wrote:hong kong phooey wrote:Guys , Forgive my lack of knowledge, but what help has the Caribbean islands offered to Trinidad seeing that Trinidad is normally one of the first island to send relief their way in a disaster.
RedVEVO wrote:desifemlove wrote:hong kong phooey wrote:Guys , Forgive my lack of knowledge, but what help has the Caribbean islands offered to Trinidad seeing that Trinidad is normally one of the first island to send relief their way in a disaster.
Why is it embarrassing ?
Are you ever going to educate yourself and move out of your OJT mindset ?
ALL countries have an inherent responsibility to assist each other in times of disaster.
It is done through diplomatic channels or via relief organizations.
Even the flooding problem we have in Trinidad can be solved . It can financed externally at peppercorn rates
as part of developmental programs .
However when the finance arrives it is up to the Gov't to decide how funds are allocated - or not.
Hence Rowley running to Tobago and hiding and saying he doing "wuk" and "busy" etc.