Help from Neighboring Countries

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 21st, 2017, 11:02 pm

Guys , Forgive my lack of knowledge, but what help has the Caribbean islands offered to Trinidad seeing that Trinidad is normally one of the first island to send relief their way in a disaster.

shotta 20

Re: Help from Neighboring Countries

Postby shotta 20 » June 21st, 2017, 11:04 pm

N.o.f.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 21st, 2017, 11:41 pm

They probably trying to see what they could get from this

Postby eliteauto » June 22nd, 2017, 6:02 am

What help could they offer realistically? I suppose if we needed manpower they could offer but as it stands we don't. Nor should we look at that with any disdain IMO. we're larger, richer and more self-reliant than many of the countries we assist so it's a non issue

Postby maj. tom » June 22nd, 2017, 6:42 am

If it were a hurricane instead of a storm, believe me, we would need the aid.

But they should at least offer, you know? Diplomacy.

Postby timelapse » June 22nd, 2017, 7:28 am

Venezuela was already doing this, they sent their womanpower in advance :roll:

Postby Les Bain » June 22nd, 2017, 8:14 am

Woulda been a good question to put towards my do-gooder fiends who headed up the islands a time for hurricane relief and Haiti for earthquake aid, and get some nice facebook galleries one time.

All one of them did so far was wish god blessings to the island before the storm.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 22nd, 2017, 8:29 am

What help do we need? We have more than enough resources to handle this minor situation.

Postby ismithx » June 22nd, 2017, 8:33 am

^^ seconded

Postby j.o.e » June 22nd, 2017, 8:53 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:What help do we need? We have more than enough resources to handle this minor situation.

This

Drea

Postby Drea » June 22nd, 2017, 10:21 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:What help do we need? We have more than enough resources to handle this minor situation.

I understand that we may be financially better off than most of the other island but like it was mentioned before at least on offer or even an expression of interest. The news didn't even at one point say well the prime minister of so and so expressed concern or best wishes nothing.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » June 22nd, 2017, 10:30 am

^^ It's the thought that counts

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 22nd, 2017, 11:09 am

best they keep dey money yes...

it may very well end up paying for a new sewer system for a stadium instead of assisting the person of south trinidad.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 22nd, 2017, 11:16 am

Granted, flooding and personal property damage is a terrible thing, but this does not really count as a major incident to warrant international aid.

Drea

Postby Drea » June 22nd, 2017, 11:21 am

^^^^ It's not really about international aid but more like regional support... Even a simple thing as lending a hand or saying IF you need assistance we are here. Even if we are capable of mitigating and dealing with the devastation many hands make quick work. But Trinidad is mother helper... 2 mins after disaster strikes we are there ready to dip into our purses.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 22nd, 2017, 11:27 am

Drea wrote:^^^^ It's not really about international aid but more like regional support... Even a simple thing as lending a hand or saying IF you need assistance we are here. Even if we are capable of mitigating and dealing with the devastation many hands make quick work. But Trinidad is mother helper... 2 mins after disaster strikes we are there ready to dip into our purses.

fully agree with this & above where posted that its d thought that counts

T&T come like d big sawatee in d region who cud always afford to help others so when disaster strikes us they must be say well we cud handle we stories , at least d other PMs cud say well i hear allyuh get hit , sorry for ur losses & if allyuh need anything we dey fuh yuh ....

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » June 22nd, 2017, 12:32 pm

What we need?
A new Prime Minister

Enforcement of our Laws as many issues are being left to rot

A Chief Justice who can appoint persons to our Judicial bench, so we can prosecute offenders. Nothing is happening. If he resigns now he getting ALL his perks. Just blocking competent persons from being appointed. Frank Rampersad for Chief Swift Justice

The help we getting from these island boys like Ralph and others is to spend we money. They just want to know when the Revolving ATM go be reopened

Half theie population here helping. Problem is they helping themselves to our patrimony .......................

Postby Gladiator » June 22nd, 2017, 10:25 pm

eliteauto wrote:What help could they offer realistically? I suppose if we needed manpower they could offer but as it stands we don't. Nor should we look at that with any disdain IMO. we're larger, richer and more self-reliant than many of the countries we assist so it's a non issue

TT donates US$2M aid for Hurricane Katrina victims
Thursday, September 15 2005

VICTIMS of Hurricane Katrina will receive aide in the sum of US$2 million courtesy the Trinidad and Tobago Government.

According to a statement from the Prime Minister’s office, the donation is to be made to the US government for relief to victims in the states of Louisiana, Alabama and Mississippi, which were affected by the hurricane earlier this month.

However, when contacted yesterday, Minister of Finance Conrad Enill could not say how and when the funds would be disbursed, nor from where the funds would come.

The minister would not say if the money was to be specifically donated to affected Trinidad and Tobago nationals, or to be added to cash donations from other countries to be disbursed in aid of all victims.

So far, more than 90 countries have offered various forms of assistance to the victims.

Meanwhile, Opposition Leader Basdeo Panday told Newsday that while the Government’s gesture to assist people in difficulty was commendable, he hoped that Prime Minister Patrick Manning would extend the same courtesy to the "needy in Trinidad and Tobago that he extends to foreigners."

badstyles16

Postby badstyles16 » June 23rd, 2017, 12:27 am

Why don't some of those contractors who received over $2B in contracts don't offer to help all those in need? It's the least they can do

daron

Postby daron » June 23rd, 2017, 4:45 am

Why don't some of those contractors who received over $2B in contracts don't offer to help all those in need? It's the least they can do

They don't or barely want to pay there employee & supplier.
Far as Help or Give back.
They might clam they were affected & need Help.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 23rd, 2017, 6:02 am

So, how exactly do we know that our neighbouring countries did not offer assistance through the proper diplomatic channels?

Grenada supposed to take out an advertisement in the newspapers or put a sticky on 2NR to appease the 2NR population?

Postby desifemlove » June 23rd, 2017, 6:46 am

hong kong phooey wrote:Guys , Forgive my lack of knowledge, but what help has the Caribbean islands offered to Trinidad seeing that Trinidad is normally one of the first island to send relief their way in a disaster.

we're richer, supposedly.

It's a bit embarrassing for Venezuela or Grenada to give support when we boast how better off we are then they are.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 23rd, 2017, 9:36 am

desifemlove wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:Guys , Forgive my lack of knowledge, but what help has the Caribbean islands offered to Trinidad seeing that Trinidad is normally one of the first island to send relief their way in a disaster.

It's a bit embarrassing for Venezuela or Grenada to give support when we boast how better off we are then they are.

people might laugh but in a few years trinis will be heading to Grenada , Guyana ,Suriname etc.
loads of Trinidad business men already buying properties in Guyana.
While our government just trying to tax the people to gain income these other countries diversifying there economy.
why the price of oil is low, and rigs are out of work they are taking advantage of the situation .
Grenada is about to start drilling a new well the rig is almost there (I guess there will be loads of Trinis on it )
Both Guyana and Suriname both had positive finds so by the time oil prices goes back up they will be ready to come online.

Jaipaulsingh

Postby Jaipaulsingh » June 23rd, 2017, 9:40 am

But god is ah trini. We don't need help from dem peasants.

Postby RedVEVO » June 23rd, 2017, 9:42 am

daron wrote:Why don't some of those contractors who received over $2B in contracts don't offer to help all those in need? It's the least they can do

They don't or barely want to pay there employee & supplier.
Far as Help or Give back.
They might clam they were affected & need Help.

So you want citizens to give $$$ to Gov't ? Again ..

You ever hear about tax ?

Postby RedVEVO » June 23rd, 2017, 9:48 am

hong kong phooey wrote:
desifemlove wrote:

people might laugh but in a few years trinis will be heading to Grenada , Guyana ,Suriname etc.
loads of Trinidad business men already buying properties in Guyana.
While our government just trying to tax the people to gain income these other countries diversifying there economy.
why the price of oil is low, and rigs are out of work they are taking advantage of the situation .
Grenada is about to start drilling a new well the rig is almost there (I guess there will be loads of Trinis on it )
Both Guyana and Suriname both had positive finds so by the time oil prices goes back up they will be ready to come online.

Trini have already invested in Grenada - long time.

As I have said before - the rich leave TT long time.

Guyana has had robust trade with Trinidad for dinosaur years .

Like you sleeping and flood wake you up :|

Postby RedVEVO » June 23rd, 2017, 10:05 am

desifemlove wrote:

Why is it embarrassing ?

Are you ever going to educate yourself and move out of your OJT mindset ?

ALL countries have an inherent responsibility to assist each other in times of disaster.

It is done through diplomatic channels or via relief organizations.

Even the flooding problem we have in Trinidad can be solved . It can financed externally at peppercorn rates
as part of developmental programs .

However when the finance arrives it is up to the Gov't to decide how funds are allocated - or not.

Hence Rowley running to Tobago and hiding and saying he doing "wuk" and "busy" etc.

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » June 23rd, 2017, 5:06 pm

Under all seriousness tho, why we even have an army? Ent they supposed to be all over helpin out during these kinda situations?

Postby desifemlove » June 24th, 2017, 6:47 am

RedVEVO wrote:
desifemlove wrote:

Why is it embarrassing ?

Are you ever going to educate yourself and move out of your OJT mindset ?

ALL countries have an inherent responsibility to assist each other in times of disaster.

It is done through diplomatic channels or via relief organizations.

Even the flooding problem we have in Trinidad can be solved . It can financed externally at peppercorn rates
as part of developmental programs .

However when the finance arrives it is up to the Gov't to decide how funds are allocated - or not.

Hence Rowley running to Tobago and hiding and saying he doing "wuk" and "busy" etc.

nah i'm educated in political sci. and yes it is embarrassing, since relief organisations don't typically work in more developed states.

ent you the one who said that the UNC didn't cause the recession, when negative growth started under them, and then i'm the one who is politically and economically uneducated? hahahha

Postby desifemlove » June 24th, 2017, 7:14 am

also, no. there is a moral obligation, but not a legal one. No country HAS to offer aid, and many only do since they have signed treaties to do so. Some countries also are pretty selective as to whom receives their aid. There are many who provide NO aid at all. It's all part of the concept of sovereignty, so the "inherent responsibility" is pretty moot.

Trump is cutting aid budgets, and it's the USA's right as a sovereign country. He could readily get his GOPers in Congress to repeal ALL US aid treaties, and for him to pass Executive Orders banning all foreign aid. Legally, they have every right, but morally yes, this is questionable.

But then you're the politics know-all ent, but then i've seen you say the British Queen rules "England", when England hasn't been independent since 1707, and the UK (i can call the country it's proper name) has no constitution. But cool, i guess boasting about big wuk, but having a piecemeal/selective understanding of sheit is cool, right?

perhaps gang up with HSA/PSA/prostate-blood-test-count/Duke's ting to say i post news stories, when both of you do plenty. #bigwukweakknowledge