Project Restore hope!!!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Project Restore hope!!!

Postby *KRONIK* » September 28th, 2010, 12:00 pm

Greetings fellow mitsubishi owners...
i thought my days of Mitsubishi Mayhem were over when i sold my CK last year...
but... LO! and Behold!
I have been blessed with another Mitsubishi!
CS3 this time....
the only difference is that this one needs help...
the car is a local model... early 2001...Cedia shape CS3

the previous owner refused to maintain the vehicle...
currenty the vehicle is doing 145,XXXkm and absolutely nothing on the car was ever serviced...

the timing belt needs to be changed...
the brakes fluid black...
the air filter so black it turn sticky...
radiator has a rust paste in it...
the interior in a state...seats and door skins buss up...
any any other problem u can think of...

the upside is that the car has no electrical problems and the chassis straight..(no accidents)

but due to my inablity to do better right now...
i have begun PROJECT "RESTORE HOPE"

ill be trying my best on a very limited budget to restore this vehicle to a marketable point..

ill will appreciate any advice, input, information and assistance from any fellow mitsubishi owners...
part nos.
prices
best place to look for parts
etc

ill post pics and update accordingly....as the vehicle progresses...

peace out...

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Re: Project Restore hope!!!

Postby Rudman » September 28th, 2010, 12:14 pm

Dat sounding like "Project Lost Cause"........ :shock:

I cah believe you give up your bess CK lancer and have to start over with dat CS heap. I hope you know what you in for, it done sounding like dat CVT will hit you for six if dat fluid ent change as yet.

Good luck.

triniangie

Postby triniangie » September 28th, 2010, 2:35 pm

good luck...
will love to see sme pics (even a few vids!!!) n the follow up with this 'project'

pato

Postby pato » September 28th, 2010, 3:04 pm

Rudman wrote:I hope you know what you in for, it done sounding like dat CVT will hit you for six if dat fluid ent change as yet.

Well i'm not sure how your budget is right now but maybe you can even swap the transmission out completely and put in a box , there was a guy on the forums recently selling a manual ecu, maybe you can check it out, something to think about further down the road when you have the car up and running.Good luck and hope for the best ....i guess.

Post up some pics ....engine bay...etc etc.

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » September 28th, 2010, 6:30 pm

that is y i aint seeing yuh anywhere, u still living grande?

Postby *KRONIK* » September 29th, 2010, 7:28 am

SCHOLARS wrote:that is y i aint seeing yuh anywhere, u still living grande?

yup! still in grande but not i the same house...
same area tho...
a lil further up the road...

pato wrote:
Rudman wrote:I hope you know what you in for, it done sounding like dat CVT will hit you for six if dat fluid ent change as yet.

Well i'm not sure how your budget is right now but maybe you can even swap the transmission out completely and put in a box , there was a guy on the forums recently selling a manual ecu, maybe you can check it out, something to think about further down the road when you have the car up and running.Good luck and hope for the best ....i guess.

Post up some pics ....engine bay...etc etc.

needs to stay lady driven..so it will stay auto...
ill pics the necessary pics and info as things progress...

Rudman wrote:Dat sounding like "Project Lost Cause"........ :shock:

I cah believe you give up your bess CK lancer and have to start over with dat CS heap. I hope you know what you in for, it done sounding like dat CVT will hit you for six if dat fluid ent change as yet.

Good luck.

Rudy...
i not appreciating ur input...
no need to be so judgemental...
yea the CK was nice...
but i sold it to get a newer vehicle...
20100411185827_DSC00473.JPG
20100411185827_DSC00473.JPG (48.56 KiB) Viewed 2851 times

but sometimes, in life u need to make sacrifices for the ones you love and even if it means giving them ur new vehicle, to make sure they safe on the road....
then so be it...

and that
Rudman wrote:CS heap

is now my heap...
beggars cant be choosers and its the best that i can afford at this current time...
so i chose to "RESTORE" it...

the CVT pulls very strong and has no slippage or any sort of indication it will give out soon...

Rudman

Postby Rudman » September 29th, 2010, 7:48 am

Sorry man for sounding judgemental, didn't know these were the changes that you had to make over the past year. I favour a CK over a CS lancer any day however, that's my personal bias, that's the point of view I was writing from.

So you got marrid recently?

triniangie

Postby triniangie » September 29th, 2010, 12:05 pm

*KRONIK* - u got a swift sport?!

i was thinking about trading my CK2 for one...

Postby *KRONIK* » September 29th, 2010, 1:29 pm

triniangie wrote:*KRONIK* - u got a swift sport?!

i was thinking about trading my CK2 for one...

not a sport..
just a regular 1.5...auto...

Postby crazybalhead » September 29th, 2010, 2:30 pm

The lady is a handicap??? Why Auto?

Postby *KRONIK* » September 29th, 2010, 2:50 pm

plenty rush hour driving...

Rudman

Postby Rudman » September 29th, 2010, 4:37 pm

Alright, lets see here. I ain't no CS expert, ah set ah dem go fall in this thread just now. All Lancer maintenance go follow the same general guidelines, more or less.

Seeing this is virgin territory and nothing has been interfered with on this car, its all about setting priorities and sticking to it, no matter how overwhelming the other problems may seem at times. With limited funds,this would be my priority list if I had to tackle this maintenance/restoration project.

1). Change Timing belt. You have no choice but to do this first, because this is way overdue and it makes no sense tackling other things on the car, only to have the timing belt buss on you, major headache. Of course, this means changing all other associated timing belt things like cam and crankshaft seals, tensioner and maybe the water pump depending on its current condition and your funds. You might as well change the other belts while you are at it.
For godness sakes, inspect the main crankshaft pulley while its off and make sure the harmonic damper and keyway isn't damaged. If there are signs that the pulley is on its way out, make note and source one to change in the future. Yes, I know it's the most expensive thing to tackle first on the car, but timing belt buss, game over.

2). Brakes. Very important, I don't want you to die on us. Flush out that black fluid ASAP, bleeding all four corners and topping back with clean, fresh fluid, DOT 3 or 4. Castrol has a nice Low moisture Activity (LMA) fluid for small money. About 500ml of brake fluid will flush out most systems, use fluid from a sealed container.
Check and change your brake pads/shoes as required and adjust your handbrake to 3-5 clicks. Make sure none of the calipers and pistons are leaking any fluid.

3). Cooling system. This shouldn't cost much to drain, flush out all dat nice rusty paste and refill. The Prestone premix or the Shell concentrate diluted with distilled water should do you nicely.

4). The basics. This is where you will change your oil and oil filter, spark plugs, that yucky air and fuel filter.

5). CVT Fluid change. This should be next when the money is avaliable. Don't skimp, get the Mitsubishi Dia Queen (or whatever de hell it is for dem retarded CVTs). It will cost some dollars, so plan for this.

6). Suspension. By now, if yuh ent give up on the car and set fire to it, then tackle whatever suspension issues you will discover on the car. Check for the usual, leaking shocks, worn cradle bushings, worn tie rods and steering end links. Check the lower ball joint. You should check all the rubber bushings in the back of the car as well and replace as necessary.

7). Engine mounts. By now, one or two of the engine mounts would have given way, so inspect all 4 and see which ones need changing.

Addressing these 7 areas should take care of most of the mechanical integrity issues that this car should have. The CS fellas will fine tune this list, but doing this list should restore the car to some measure of respectibility.

My 2 cents.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 29th, 2010, 10:51 pm

i basically listed those above as priority...
i changed out some blown bulbs and fuses today.... so no babylons could stop me bout lights...

i gonna start the cooling system by weekend...

then a tune up... (plugs, air filter, throttle body clean out, another oil change)

followed by a complete overhaul of the brakes (new seals for M/C and calipers/drums) and fresh fluid.

i already have 2/4 mounts...so i need the next 2 and i good to go....

i trying to source the timing belt/tensioner/waterpump/acc belts/ for next week or following week

leaving bushings for last...but steering ends etc will be dealt with soon...

Postby *KRONIK* » October 1st, 2010, 4:20 pm

so tune up went down today....

plugs changed, cleaned out the coil packs, air filter changed and throttle body cleaned out...

car is running much smoother, starts easier etc....

no pics...cuz the mechanic was short on staff and i had to do all the work my self, so mih hands was dutty....

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » October 2nd, 2010, 9:30 am

just to correct Rudy, the CVT should be using the ATF SPIII not the DiaQueen. it's usually written on the label on the head of the funny plastic tranny dipstick. verify before you buy, DiaQueen may not be best for you (it isn't recommended for me & my 2007 CS3A)

Rudman

Postby Rudman » October 3rd, 2010, 10:06 am

^Thanks for the correction, I really couldn't remember what the CVT was using.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 3rd, 2010, 11:54 am

cooling system flushed...
radiator flushed, radiator cap cleaned, coolant resevoir cleaned, and fresh coolant run thru and tested for leaks...
everything A-OK

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » October 3rd, 2010, 12:32 pm

cool scene, what kinda coolant you used?

Postby *KRONIK* » October 3rd, 2010, 2:35 pm

one in a yellow bottle...
the car has a full metal radiator and no thermostat....
so coolant type wouldnt really matter....

Rudman

Postby Rudman » October 3rd, 2010, 3:27 pm

^Wha? Dat radiator was changed already by the previous owner?
Why no thermostat?

Postby *KRONIK* » October 3rd, 2010, 6:18 pm

the radiator was changed by the previous owner...
the thermostat was removed because it was trippin...
no harm there...

Postby ronsin1 » October 4th, 2010, 4:00 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:the thermostat was removed because it was trippin...

EH?

Postby crazybalhead » October 4th, 2010, 4:22 pm

ronsin1 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:the thermostat was removed because it was trippin...

EH?

Ah feel Kronik was
:drinking: :drinking: :drinking:

Postby *KRONIK* » October 4th, 2010, 4:46 pm

the thermostat was stickin...but not restricitng flow 100% so the temperature was runnin slighty hotter than usual but not overheating

Postby ronsin1 » October 4th, 2010, 5:31 pm

^^^ do we have to go through why the thermostat is necessary again. This was a hot topic on many occasion

aye n@ti educate the man nah

Postby *KRONIK* » October 4th, 2010, 5:42 pm

I not having any of those issues...currently...
i had them with the CK
i will be replacing it when i have the other more important issues sorted out...

Return to “MITSUBISHI”